DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to communications filed on June 1, 2026. Claims 1 and 9 have been amended. Claims 1-10 are pending in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 6/1/2026 has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Krebs (US 2023/0171723).
Regarding Claim 1, Krebs teaches a method for forwarding synchronization information in a communication apparatus having at least two transceiver units (“Exemplary embodiments also provide a vehicle comprising the transceiver module or the plurality of transceiver modules” – See [0019]; “The transceiver modules receive, process and forward the time synchronization information to one another” – See [0065]; A vehicle comprises a plurality of transceiver modules, wherein the transceiver modules forward synchronization information to each other),
wherein the at least two transceiver units are synchronized to an apparatus time zone by a predetermined synchronization method using an apparatus clock of the communication apparatus (“The time synchronization information is based on the clock of the transceiver module that is performing the transmission” – See [0072]; “The method also comprises transmitting 150 a time synchronization signal for the further transceiver modules on the basis of the time synchronization between the mobile device and the transceiver module” – See [0035]; The clock of the vehicle’s/communication apparatus’ first transceiver module is used to synchronize with another transceiver module. Thus, at least two transceiver modules are synchronized to a time zone of the vehicle/communication apparatus),
and one of the at least two transceiver units receives in respective predetermined ranging sessions a time signal from an external device unit, which time signal comprises a device clock state of the device unit at a reference time in a device time zone (“The method can accordingly optionally comprise listening 110, in a predefined time slot, for a time synchronization signal from the mobile device. In FIGS. 2 to 6b, the predefined time slot is shown generally as the “UWB ranging time window”. In particular, two time intervals of this time window are of interest: a time interval in which a time synchronization packet (also referred to below as a PREPOLL signal) can be received, and a time interval in which a ranging start packet (also referred to below as a POLL signal) can be received” – See [0038]; “The following unencrypted PSDU (physical layer service data unit) can be used for the time synchronization packet” – See [0068]; “The payload contains the time synchronization information and the information about the accuracy of the time synchronization information. For example, RMARKER from the IEEE 802.15.4 standard is used here as the time reference” – See [0072]; A first one of the plurality of transceiver modules receives, as part of a ranging operation, a synchronization packet (time signal) from a mobile device (external device unit), wherein the synchronization packet includes a clock state of the mobile device associated with a reference time), the method comprising:
at the receiving transceiver unit, generating at each of the ranging sessions a synchronization dataset, which describes a time relationship between an apparatus clock state at the reference time in the apparatus time zone and the device clock state at the reference time in the device time zone (“The local clock is used to give the receiving of the RMARKER a time stamp, which results in the time stamp tRMARKER of accuracy accRMARKER” – See [0077]; “The PSDU time-stamp and accuracy fields can be decoded and saved as tOTHER_ANCHOR and accOTHER_ANCHOR” – See [0078]; The receiving transceiver module generates a synchronization dataset comprising various timestamps that describe a time relationship between the local clock state (apparatus clock state) in the vehicle’s time zone and the clock state at the mobile device in the device time zone),
at the receiving transceiver unit, initiating a synchronization session, in which the receiving transceiver unit defines a synchronization time grid in which a synchronization block is repeated periodically, in which a session round takes place (“The time synchronization information, for instance the time synchronization signal, for all the ranging sessions collected by the transceiver modules can be sent by means of UWB data packets. The data packets can be sent periodically in the time slices of a time grid after the (or each) ranging cycle” – See [0066]; the receiving transceiver performs a synchronization session using a defined time grid where the synchronization packets are periodically transmitted as part of a ranging cycle (session round)),
wherein the synchronization time grid is separate from a ranging time grid of the predetermined ranging sessions, such that the transfer of the synchronization dataset does not extend any time slot of the predetermined ranging sessions ensuring that the synchronization sessions are dedicated sessions conducted in parallel with and independent of the ranging sessions (See Fig. 5b; As shown in Fig. 5b, multiple UWB synchronization windows/time grids and UWB ranging windows/time grids are defined. The UWB synchronization windows and UWB ranging windows do not overlap (i.e., they are separate). The transfer of synchronization data does not extend any time slots of the ranging windows. Thus, the synchronization windows and ranging windows are independent, but conducted in parallel (i.e., they are both performed together periodically but do not overlap)),and
at the receiving transceiver unit, transferring in a predetermined session slot of the respective session round of the periodically repeating synchronization block a current synchronization dataset to at least one further transceiver unit of the at least two transceiver units (“one of the transceiver modules may have highly accurate time synchronization with the mobile device, and on the basis thereof, provide the other transceiver modules with a time synchronization signal, which they can then use to adapt their own time synchronization and thereafter have improved time synchronization with the mobile device. This can be done by using time slots” – See [0010]; “listening by means of the transceiver, in at least some of a plurality of time slots, for a time synchronization signal from a further transceiver module of the plurality of transceiver modules. Each time slot of the plurality of time slots is allocated to a transceiver module of a plurality of transceiver modules” – See [0021]; The receiving transceiver transfers the synchronization data to another transceiver module of the at least two transceiver modules in a predetermined slot of the ranging session).
Regarding Claim 2, Krebs teaches method of Claim 1. Krebs further teaches when the synchronization session is initiated, the receiving transceiver unit sets the at least one further transceiver unit to a receive mode in order to receive a first synchronization dataset (“Each anchor should acquire the PREPOLL signal by means of UWB in order to participate in the ranging, for instance by opening a RX time frame/window (a time frame/time window for receiving signals/data, for instance to receive data about the relevant transceiver), around the PREPOLL signal in each ranging cycle” – See [0063]; When the synchronization session is initiated, the receiving transceiver module sets the other transceiver module to a receive mode using the PREPOLL signal),
the at least one further transceiver unit receives the first synchronization dataset in the predetermined session slot of the session round of the periodically repeating synchronization block, the at least one further transceiver unit derives from the predetermined session slot the synchronization time grid according to a predetermined alignment method, and ascertains a time of a next session round (“Each anchor, once it has received the PREPOLL by means of UWB, should open a RX time frame around the POLL signal in each measurement cycle. Each anchor that has received the POLL signal in the current measurement cycle should use the POLL for synchronization with the UWB MAC (Medium Access Control) time grid” – See [0063]; “listening by means of the transceiver, in at least some of a plurality of time slots, for a time synchronization signal from a further transceiver module of the plurality of transceiver modules. Each time slot of the plurality of time slots is allocated to a transceiver module of a plurality of transceiver modules” – See [0021]; “The data packets can be sent periodically in the time slices of a time grid after the (or each) ranging cycle” – See [0066]; The other transceiver receives the synchronization data in its corresponding slot, derives the time grid, and ascertains time information of a next ranging cycle (session round)).
Regarding Claim 3, Krebs teaches method of Claim 2. Krebs further teaches that the receive mode is deactivated by the at least one further transceiver unit after receiving the first synchronization dataset, and is activated in a next session round of the periodically repeating session block (“a receive component of the transceiver can be activated in the time period intended for receiving signals, and deactivated otherwise … The receive component can be deactivated, for example, outside the time period” – See [0045]; The other transceiver deactivates its receive mode after the period for receiving signals until the next ranging cycle).
Regarding Claim 5, Krebs teaches the method of Claim 1. Krebs further teaches that in the synchronization dataset, the device clock state at the reference time in the device time zone is given as a block index of a synchronization block of the ranging session, which synchronization block starts or ends at the reference time (“the transceiver module processes (only) time synchronization packets that have a matching session ID and matching transceiver addresses” – See [0075]; “At the end of the UWB ranging time frame, the mobile device sends a “FINAL” signal, followed by a “FINAL_DATA” signal, which comprises the result of the distance measurement” – See [0062]; The state is given as a session ID (block index of a synchronization block of the ranging session), where the synchronization block ends at the reference time when a FINAL signal is sent).
Regarding Claim 6, Krebs teaches the method of Claim 1. Krebs further teaches that the synchronization dataset is received by one of the transceiver units that is acting as a relay transceiver unit, and is sent to the at least one further transceiver unit by the transceiver unit of the transceiver units that is acting as the relay transceiver unit (“BLE time synchronization takes place between the mobile device and anchor (transceiver module) 5 (via a BLE time synchronization signal from the mobile device) … Anchor 5 is allocated the fifth time interval in the UWB time synchronization time frame, and therefore the anchor transmits a time synchronization signal in this time frame, which is received and processed by anchor 6, as illustrated in FIG. 5a. This anchor in turn transmits a further time synchronization signal, which is received and processed by anchor 6” – See [0082]; The synchronization dataset is received by one of the transceivers (e.g., anchor 5) which acts as a relay to relay the synchronization dataset to a further transceiver (e.g., anchor 6)).
Claim 9 is rejected based on reasoning similar to Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 10, Krebs teaches the apparatus of Claim 9. Krebs further teaches a vehicle comprising a communication apparatus as claimed in claim 9 (“Exemplary embodiments also provide a vehicle comprising the transceiver module or the plurality of transceiver modules” – See [0019]; The communication apparatus, comprising the plurality of transceiver units, is located in a vehicle).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krebs (US 2023/0171723) in view of Ledvina et al. (US 2019/0135229).
Regarding Claim 4, Krebs teaches the method of Claim 3. Krebs teaches that one of the transceiver units receives from an external device unit a respective time signal, which time signal comprises the respective device clock state of the respective device unit at a respective reference time in the device time zone (“The method can accordingly optionally comprise listening 110, in a predefined time slot, for a time synchronization signal from the mobile device. In FIGS. 2 to 6b, the predefined time slot is shown generally as the “UWB ranging time window”. In particular, two time intervals of this time window are of interest: a time interval in which a time synchronization packet (also referred to below as a PREPOLL signal) can be received, and a time interval in which a ranging start packet (also referred to below as a POLL signal) can be received” – See [0038]; “The following unencrypted PSDU (physical layer service data unit) can be used for the time synchronization packet” – See [0068]; “The payload contains the time synchronization information and the information about the accuracy of the time synchronization information. For example, RMARKER from the IEEE 802.15.4 standard is used here as the time reference” – See [0072]; A first one of the plurality of transceiver modules receives, as part of a ranging operation, a synchronization packet (time signal) from a mobile device (external device unit), wherein the synchronization packet includes a clock state of the mobile device associated with a reference time),
wherein the transceiver unit generates a respective synchronization dataset, which describes a respective time relationship between the apparatus clock state at the respective reference time in the apparatus time zone and the respective device clock state at the respective reference time in the respective device time zone (“The local clock is used to give the receiving of the RMARKER a time stamp, which results in the time stamp tRMARKER of accuracy accRMARKER” – See [0077]; “The PSDU time-stamp and accuracy fields can be decoded and saved as tOTHER_ANCHOR and accOTHER_ANCHOR” – See [0078]; The receiving transceiver module generates a synchronization dataset comprising various timestamps that describe a time relationship between the local clock state (apparatus clock state) in the vehicle’s time zone and the clock state at the mobile device in the device time zone),
the transceiver unit transfers in a predetermined respective session slot of the session round of the periodically repeating synchronization block the synchronization dataset to the at least one transceiver unit (“one of the transceiver modules may have highly accurate time synchronization with the mobile device, and on the basis thereof, provide the other transceiver modules with a time synchronization signal, which they can then use to adapt their own time synchronization and thereafter have improved time synchronization with the mobile device. This can be done by using time slots” – See [0010]; “listening by means of the transceiver, in at least some of a plurality of time slots, for a time synchronization signal from a further transceiver module of the plurality of transceiver modules. Each time slot of the plurality of time slots is allocated to a transceiver module of a plurality of transceiver modules” – See [0021]; The receiving transceiver transfers the synchronization data to another transceiver module of the at least two transceiver modules in a predetermined slot of the ranging session).
Krebs does not explicitly teach performing these steps with respect to a further external device unit.
However, Ledvina teaches performing a ranging session between transceivers in a vehicle and a further external device unit (“The ranging setup handshake can include a negotiation about how to carry out the ranging, such as how often to range or how to schedule the ranging (e.g., when there are multiple vehicles or multiple mobile devices—round robin, one at a time, or other options). For instance, there may be multiple devices in the vicinity of the vehicle (e.g., family members all going to one car), or multiple vehicles in the vicinity of a mobile device (e.g., three cars in a garage). A mobile device may know it is connected to three different vehicles, and thus the mobile device may want a lower rate of range measurements to each vehicle (e.g., 25 milliseconds) or schedule a particular time/frequency to perform ranging with each vehicle. Similarly, a vehicle may perform such scheduling when multiple devices are near” – See [0065]; Ranging is performed between the vehicle and multiple mobile devices. Thus, the ranging is performed with respect to a first mobile device (external device unit) and a second mobile device (further external device unit)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Krebs to perform, with respect to a further external device unit, the steps of receiving a time signal, generating a synchronization dataset, and transferring the synchronization dataset to a further transceiver unit. Motivation for doing so would be to schedule the ranging sessions appropriately when there are multiple external device units nearby, such as when multiple family members are approaching a vehicle (See Ledvina, [0065]).
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krebs (US 2023/0171723) in view of Abraham et al. (US 2014/0293992).
Regarding Claim 7, Krebs teaches the method of Claim 1. Krebs further teaches that the synchronization dataset has an age value (“the estimated accuracy of the time synchronization can be continuously reduced in value (i.e. decreased) on the basis of the length of time since the last adaptation of the time synchronization, on the basis of an estimated accuracy of the time synchronization signal on which the last adaptation of the time synchronization is based, and on the basis of the accuracy of a clock of the transceiver module (and/or of the clock of the mobile device)” – See [0042]; The synchronization dataset has an estimated accuracy (age value) that is determined based on a length of time since the last adaptation of time synchronization).
Krebs does not explicitly teach that the age value describes a number of blocks since the synchronization dataset was generated.
However, Abraham teaches that the age value describes a number of blocks since the synchronization dataset was generated (“The STA 106 can set the synchronization time age indicator 564 to the synchronization time age indicator in the beacon received from the synchronization node, minus a number of discovery windows that have elapsed since the beacon was received” – See [0120]; The age value is defined as a number of discovery windows/blocks that have elapsed since the synchronization dataset was generated).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Krebs such that the age value describes a number of blocks since the synchronization dataset was generated. Motivation for doing so would be to enable the transceiver to track the age of the synchronization information using a small number of bits (See Abraham, [0119] and [0121]).
Regarding Claim 8, Krebs in view of Abraham teaches the method of Claim 7. Krebs further teaches that a fresh synchronization dataset is received by one of the transceiver units, the age value of the fresh synchronization dataset is compared with an age value of a synchronization dataset stored in the transceiver unit, and the synchronization dataset stored in the transceiver unit is overwritten by the fresh synchronization dataset if the age value of the fresh synchronization dataset is less than the age value of the synchronization dataset (“the estimated accuracy of the time synchronization can be continuously reduced in value (i.e. decreased) on the basis of the length of time since the last adaptation of the time synchronization, on the basis of an estimated accuracy of the time synchronization signal on which the last adaptation of the time synchronization is based, and on the basis of the accuracy of a clock of the transceiver module (and/or of the clock of the mobile device)” – See [0042]; “If the received time synchronization information is of higher quality (i.e. has a higher estimated accuracy) than the locally available time synchronization information, then the receiving transceiver apparatus replaces the local time synchronization information (i.e. the local time synchronization) with the received time synchronization information of higher quality” – See [0053]; The estimated accuracy of the synchronization dataset decreases based on a length of time that has elapsed since the last synchronization. Thus, when the transceiver receives a new/fresh synchronization dataset having higher accuracy, the stored synchronization dataset is replaced/overwritten by the new/fresh synchronization dataset).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed June 1, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 6-7 of the remarks, Applicant argues in substance that Krebs does not teach “wherein the synchronization time grid is separate from a ranging time grid of the predetermined ranging sessions, such that the transfer of the synchronization dataset does not extend any time slot of the predetermined ranging sessions ensuring that the synchronization sessions are dedicated sessions conducted in parallel with and independent of the ranging sessions,” as recited in independent claims 1 and 9.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to the amended limitations, the Examiner has cited additional passages from Krebs. For example, Fig. 5b of Krebs shows multiple UWB synchronization windows/time grids and UWB ranging windows/time grids being defined. The UWB synchronization windows and UWB ranging windows do not overlap (i.e., they are separate). The transfer of synchronization data does not extend any time slots of the ranging windows. Thus, the synchronization windows and ranging windows are conducted in parallel but are independent with respect to each other (i.e., they are both performed together periodically but do not overlap).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SCOTT M SCIACCA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478