DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on October 2th 2025 have been entered. Claims 1-20 are currently pending. Applicants’ amendments to claims have overcome the objections set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on January 02th 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 9-11, 14-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sikes et al. (US 10673147 B2) in view of Esfahlani et al. (US 11601192 B2) and Fang et al. (US 20210408692 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Sikes et al. discloses a holographic leaky-wave antenna, comprising (Center Fed Cylindrical Waveguide Antenna 200 capable of holography; Paragraph 83 and figure 2A and 15 of Sikes et al.):
a first waveguide structure (Bottom guide 203 serves as a first waveguide structure; Paragraph 40 and figure 2A of Sikes et al.),
a first dielectric substrate (Top Guide 201 has a plastic layers like dielectric Rexolite, glass, and foam and thus serves as a dielectric substrate; Paragraph 46 and figure 2D),
a radiation layer (Antenna elements 206 form a first radiation layer on the top guide; Paragraph 40 and Figure 2A), and
a first reference electrode layer (Ground plane 414 in another embodiment of the invention; Figure 4a),
wherein the first dielectric substrate is arranged on the first waveguide structure and has a first gap with the first waveguide structure (Dielectric substrate and first waveguide are separated by a coupling element 207 which can be a perforated surface creating opening 209 that serve as gaps; Paragraph 42 and Figure 2A);
the first reference electrode layer is arranged on a side of the first waveguide structure distal to the first dielectric substrate (Ground plane 414 arranged on the side of the first waveguide 411 distal to a dielectric substrate 409; Figure 4A and Paragraph 62 of Sikes et al.);
the radiation layer is arranged on a side of the first dielectric substrate distal to the first waveguide structure, and has a plurality of slit openings therein(Antenna elements 206 can be a group of slot antennas, 612 in figure 8, that are arranged on the side of the first dielectric substrate opposite of the first waveguide as well as figure 4; Paragraph 64 and figure 2A of Sikes et al.) and
the holographic leaky-wave antenna further comprises a feeding port configured on the first waveguide structure (Center feed point 205 serves as a feeding port and is configured on the first waveguide structure and can be in a direction perpendicular to the feeding structure 1001 and first dielectric substrate as seen in figure 10a-b; Paragraph 40 and figure 2A).
Sikes et al. fails to disclose a plurality of feeding ports configured on the first waveguide structure, wherein the plurality of feeding ports extend through respective openings in the first reference electrode layer to be in a direction perpendicular to the first dielectric substrate and the first waveguide structure has a height less than ½ λg in the direction perpendicular to the first dielectric substrate, where λg is a wavelength of a wave in the first waveguide structure .
However, Esfahlani et al. discloses a plurality of feeding ports configured on the first waveguide structure, wherein the plurality of feeding ports extend through respective openings in the first reference electrode layer to be in a direction perpendicular to the first dielectric substrate (Meta surface antenna includes a plurality of feeding ports like port 1 and port 2 that are perpendicular to an antenna aperture and figure 10 further clarifies the feeding structure to be a coaxial structure an outer conductor is bolted to the ground and an inner probe that connects to a first waveguide after passing through the ground by an opening like a hole wherein said probe would be perpendicular to a first dielectric substrate of the antenna elements; Paragraph 28-49, 91, 119-126 as well as figure 1-3 and 10 of Esfahlani et al.).
Although Fang et al. fails to explicitly disclose the first waveguide structure has a height less than ½ λg in the direction perpendicular to the first dielectric substrate, where λg is a wavelength of a wave in the first waveguide structure. Fang et al. does disclose the first waveguide structure has a height perpendicular to the first dielectric substrate, where λg is a wavelength of a wave in the first waveguide structure (Antenna structure comprises a first dielectric 12 that can serve as a first waveguide and a second dielectric 11 that can serve as the first dielectric substrate wherein thickness of said substrate T12 may between 5μm and 5mm (half of the 10μm -10mm that combined substrates 11/12 would have when they serve together as dielectric 10) and said thickness may specifically be chosen depending on the operating band like a millimeter wave band where frequencies range from 30ghz to 300ghz and half wavelengths would be between 5mm-.5mm, which the thickness T12 can be set between; Paragraph 40-52 and figure 2 of Fang et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Sikes et al. to include a plurality of feeding ports configured on the first waveguide structure, wherein the plurality of feeding ports extend through respective openings in the first reference electrode layer to be in a direction perpendicular to the first dielectric substrate as taught by Esfahlani et al. to provide multiple beam patterns (Paragraph 33 of Esfahlani et al.) and enhance the capabilities of the antenna.
It would have been further obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Sikes et al. and Esfahlani et al. to have the first waveguide structure has a height less than ½ λg in the direction perpendicular to the first dielectric substrate, where λg is a wavelength of a wave in the first waveguide structure as taught by Fang et al. since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). The motivation stems from the fact that the thickness of the first waveguide can be set based on the operating band (Paragraph 43-45 and 52 of Fang et al.) which would improve the antenna performance.
Examiner’s note - Regarding the recitation that an element is “configured to” perform a function, it is the position of the office that such limitations are not positive structural limitations, and thus, only require the ability to so perform. In this case the prior art applied herein is construed as at least possessing such ability. When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.).
Regarding Claim 2, Sikes et al. fails to disclose a feeding structure configured to excite a microwave signal through the plurality of feeding ports.
However, Esfahlani et al. does disclose a feeding structure configured to excite a microwave signal through the plurality of feeding ports (Antenna can be fed through the plurality of feeding ports with a microwave signal; Paragraph 27 and 108).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Sikes et al. to include a feeding structure configured to excite a microwave signal through the plurality of feeding ports as taught by Esfahlani et al. to support different radiation beams and polarizations (Paragraph 28-33 of Esfahlani et al.).
Examiner’s note - Regarding the recitation that an element is “configured to” perform a function, it is the position of the office that such limitations are not positive structural limitations, and thus, only require the ability to so perform. In this case the prior art applied herein is construed as at least possessing such ability. When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.).
Regarding Claim 3, Sikes et al. fails to disclose an plurality of coaxial probes, each of which is installed at a position of one of the feeding ports.
However, Esfahlani et al. does disclose a plurality of coaxial probes, each of which is installed at a position of one of the feeding ports (Feeding ports can be fed with a Coaxial feed where a pin extends beyond the shielding of wire to act as a probe for the antenna ; Paragraph 119-126 and figure 10B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Sikes et al. to include a plurality of coaxial probes, each of which is installed at a position of one of the feeding ports as taught by Esfahlani et al. to feed a wave into the antenna (Paragraph 125 of Esfahlani et al.).
Regarding Claim 9, Sikes et al. further discloses the first waveguide structure comprises a slow-wave dielectric layer having the first gap with the first dielectric substrate (Waveguide 203 is made from a dielectric polymer polyethylene 215 which would serve as a slow-wave dielectric to slow the traveling wave and 203 has first gap with the first dielectric substate 201; Paragraph 40-46 of Sikes et al.).
Regarding Claim 10, Sikes et al. further discloses a supporting member, wherein both ends of the supporting member abut against the slow-wave dielectric layer and the first dielectric substrate, respectively (Coupling surface 207 has portions that serve as gaps and other portions that serve as a support member abutting against both the first dielectric 201 and slow wave dielectric 215 and serves to help couple them together).
Regarding Claim 11, Although, Sikes et al. fails to disclose the first gap has a thickness of 1mm to 1.4mm. Sikes et al. does disclose wherein the first gap has a thickness (Coupling surface and its gap can have a thickness up to 2mm; Paragraph 46 of Sikes et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Sikes et al. to have a first gap that has a thickness of 1mm to 1.4mm since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). The motivation would stem wanting to control the coupling of feed wave of the waveguides to the radiating elements (Paragraph 41 of Sikes et al.).
Regarding Claim 14, Sikes et al. further discloses a wave absorbing structure provided at a peripheral region of the first waveguide structure. (Dielectric waveguide 1012 has a RF absorber 1013 at the peripheral region in another embodiment of figure 10B of Sikes et al. and termination in the form of Eccosorb that serve as wave absorbing structures disposed on an edge of the first waveguide structure 203; Paragraph 40-46 and 103 as well as figure 2D and 10 of Sikes et al.).
Regarding Claim 15, Sikes et al. further disclose switching units provided on a side of the radiation layer distal to the first dielectric substrate, wherein the switching units are in one-to-one correspondence with the slit openings (Liquid Crystal 406 is placed over the radiating layer 407 specifically has a unit in one on one corresponding with the gap such that it can server as an on/off switching; Paragraph 62 and figure 4A of Sikes et al.).
Regarding Claim 16, Sikes et al. further discloses each of the switching units comprises any one of a PIN diodes, a variable reactance diode, a liquid crystal switch, or a MEMS switch (Switching unit are liquid crystal switches; Paragraph 62-63 and 68-74 as well as figure 4A of Sikes et al.).
Regarding Claim 18, Sikes et al. further discloses the plurality of slit openings are arranged in an array or in a spiral shape (Antenna elements are a group of slot antennas forming an array; Paragraph 67-68 and Figure 5B of Sikes et al.).
Regarding Claim 19, Sikes et al. further discloses the outline of the radiation layer comprises a rectangle or a circle (Shape of the cylindrical feed antenna can be circular, square, or any shape; Paragraph 67 and figure 5B).
Regarding Claim 20, Sikes et al. further discloses an electronic device, comprising the holographic leaky-wave antenna (Antenna system 400 comprises the leaky waveguide in figure 4A and said antennas can be implemented as part of metamaterial antenna systems for communications with satellite earth stations; Paragraph 64 of Sikes et al.).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sikes et al. (US 10673147 B2) in view of Esfahlani et al. (US 11601192 B2), Fang et al. (US 20210408692 A1), and Zhang et al. (CN 111585028 A).
Regarding Claim 4, Sikes et al. and Esfahlani et al. and Fang et al fail to disclose the feeding structure comprise SMA interfaces, each of which is installed at a position of one of the feeding ports.
Although, Zhang et al. does not disclose SMA interfaces, each of which is installed at a position of one of the feeding ports. Zhang et al. discloses a feeding structure comprising a SMA interface, each of which is installed at a position of the feeding port (Holographic radial waveguide antenna includes a coaxial feeding port 5 that is fed using a SMA Head; Pg. 3-5 of Zhang et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Sikes et al. and Esfahlani et al. and Fang et al to include a SMA interface, each of which is installed at a position of one of the feeding ports as taught by Zhang et al. since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 (CA7 1977). The motivation would stem from wanting to provide a secure and stable connection for all the probes of the plurality of ports.
Claim(s) 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sikes et al. (US 10673147 B2) in view of Esfahlani et al. (US 11601192 B2), Fang et al. (US 20210408692 A1), and Vitiello et al. (EP 3902060 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Sikes et al, Esfahlani et al., and Fang et al. fails to disclose the plurality of feeding ports comprise four feeding ports.
However, Vitiello et al. discloses a plurality of feeding ports comprising four feeding ports (Mulit-beam meta material antenna comprises 4 ports in sections Q1-4 for input pins to feed the antenna structure; Paragraph 27-57 and figure 2 of Vitello).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Sikes et al, Esfahlani et al., and Fang et al. to include a plurality of feeding ports comprising four feeding ports as taught by Vitiello et al. to generate multiple different antenna beams through the different ports (Paragraph 27-36 of Vitiello et al.).
Regarding Claim 6, Sikes et al, Esfahlani et al., and Fang et al. fails to disclose four feeding ports which are a first feeding port, a second feeding port, a third feeding port, and a fourth feeding port, a connection line between a center of the first feeding port and a center of the second feeding port is a first line segment, a connection line between a center of the third feeding port and a center of the fourth feeding port is a second line segment, and the first line segment and the second line segment are perpendicular to each other
However, Vitiello et al. does disclose four feeding ports which are a first feeding port, a second feeding port, a third feeding port, and a fourth feeding port, a connection line between a center of the first feeding port and a center of the second feeding port is a first line segment, a connection line between a center of the third feeding port and a center of the fourth feeding port is a second line segment, and the first line segment and the second line segment are perpendicular to each other (The four feeding ports can comprise line segments x1 and x2 that extend between the center of two opposite ports and these line segments are perpendicular to each other as seen in figure 2 of Vitiello et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Sikes et al, Esfahlani et al., and Fang et al. to have four feeding ports which are a first feeding port, a second feeding port, a third feeding port, and a fourth feeding port, a connection line between a center of the first feeding port and a center of the second feeding port is a first line segment, a connection line between a center of the third feeding port and a center of the fourth feeding port is a second line segment, and the first line segment and the second line segment are perpendicular to each other as taught by Vitiello et al. to generate multiple different antenna beams through the different ports (Paragraph 27-36 of Vitiello et al.).
Regarding Claim 7, Sikes et al, Esfahlani et al., and Fang et al. fail to disclose the center of first feeding port, the center of the second feeding port, the center of the third feeding port and the center of the fourth feeding port each have a same distance, which is a first distance, from a center of the first waveguide structure
However, Vitiello et al. discloses the center of first feeding port, the center of the second feeding port, the center of the third feeding port and the center of the fourth feeding port each have a same distance, which is a first distance, from a center of the first waveguide structure (All 4 input/port points are placed at an equal distance from the center of the array comprising a first waveguide structure in the form of a dielectric wherein said distance is 26.4mm form the center; Paragraph 40-46 and figure 2 of Vitiello et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Sikes et al, Esfahlani et al., and Fang et al. to have the center of first feeding port, the center of the second feeding port, the center of the third feeding port and the center of the fourth feeding port each have a same distance, which is a first distance, from a center of the first waveguide structure as taught by Vitiello et al. generate multiple different antenna beams through the different ports (Paragraph 27-36 of Vitiello et al.) which are separated from each other to minimize coupling (Paragraph 46 of Vitiello et al.).
Regarding Claim 8, Sikes et al, Esfahlani et al., and Fang et al. fail to disclose the first distance ranges from 3 mm to 8 mm.
Although, Vitiello et al. also fails to explicitly disclose the first distance ranges from 3 mm to 8 mm. Liu does disclose a first distance (All 4 input/port points are placed at an equal distance from the center of the array comprising a first waveguide structure in the form of a dielectric wherein said first distance is 26.4mm form the center; Paragraph 40-46 and figure 2 of Vitiello et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Sikes et al, Esfahlani et al., and Fang et al. to have a first distance that ranges from 3mm to 8mm since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). The motivation would stem from the fact that the position of the ports affects how the wave propagates and wanting to minimize the coupling between the ports (Paragraph 46 of Vitiello et al.).
Claim(s) 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sikes et al. (US 10673147 B2) in view of Esfahlani et al. (US 11601192 B2), Fang et al. (US 20210408692 A1), and Olfert et al. (US 20200044326 A1).
Regarding Claim 12, Sikes et al, Esfahlani et al., and Fang et al. fails to disclose a second waveguide structure disposed on a side of the radiation layer proximal to the first waveguide structure, and a second reference electrode layer disposed on a side of the second waveguide structure proximal to the first waveguide structure.
However, Olfert does discloses a second waveguide a second waveguide structure disposed on a side of the radiation layer proximal to the first waveguide structure, and a second reference electrode layer disposed on a side of the second waveguide structure proximal to the first waveguide structure (Antenna element layer disposed on a lower stack 204 wherein said element layer would be disposed on a second waveguide in the form of a upper dielectric that comprises a second reference electrode layer 506 on top of a first waveguide 506 with its own electrode layer 508; Paragraph 25-46 and figure 2-5 of Olfert) .
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Sikes et al, Esfahlani et al., and Fang et al. to disclose a second waveguide structure disposed on a side of the radiation layer proximal to the first waveguide structure, and a second reference electrode layer disposed on a side of the second waveguide structure proximal to the first waveguide structure as taught by Olfert so that the second waveguide can help control the propagation of RF energy (Paragraph 45-46 of Olfert).
Regarding Claim 13, Sikes et al, Esfahlani et al., and Fang et al. fails to disclose a second waveguide structure disposed on a side of the radiation layer proximal to the first waveguide structure, and a second reference electrode layer disposed on a side of the second waveguide structure proximal to the first waveguide structure.
However, Olfert does discloses a second waveguide a second waveguide structure disposed on a side of the radiation layer proximal to the first waveguide structure, and a second reference electrode layer disposed on a side of the second waveguide structure proximal to the first waveguide structure (Antenna element layer disposed on a lower stack 204 wherein said element layer would be disposed on a second waveguide in the form of a upper dielectric that comprises a second reference electrode layer 506 on top of a first waveguide 506 with its own electrode layer 508; Paragraph 25-46 and figure 2-5 of Olfert) .
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Sikes et al, Esfahlani et al., and Fang et al. to disclose a second waveguide structure disposed on a side of the radiation layer proximal to the first waveguide structure, and a second reference electrode layer disposed on a side of the second waveguide structure proximal to the first waveguide structure as taught by Olfert so that the second waveguide can help control the propagation of RF energy (Paragraph 45-46 of Olfert).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sikes et al. (US 10673147 B2) in view of Esfahlani et al. (US 11601192 B2), Fang et al. (US 20210408692 A1), and Sano et al. (US 20240250445 A1).
Regarding Claim 17, Sikes et al, Esfahlani et al., and Fang et al. fail to explicitly disclose each of the slit openings has a length of 0.4 λg and a width of 0.001 λg to 0.04 λg.
Although Sano et al. fails to explicitly disclose each of the slit openings has a length of 0.4 λg and a width of 0.001 λg to 0.04 λg. Sikes et al. does disclose each of the slit openings has a length and a width (Slot of the antenna structure can have a length about .5λ where λ is the wavelength of the wave that would propagate through the first waveguide structure 30 and slots can also have a width that can be changes as needed; Paragraph 95-106 and figure 1 of Sano et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Sikes et al, Esfahlani et al., and Fang et al. to have a slit opening that has a length of 0.4 λg and a width of 0.001 λg to 0.04 λg as taught by Sano et al. since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).The motivation would stem from the fact that the slot size determines the antennas performance and changing the length and width can improve the performance (Paragraph 106 of Sano et al.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20210203079A1 (SAZEGAR; Moshen et al.) relates to a configuration of an radial slot line waveguide antenna with tunable slots and RF absorbers.
US 11367965B2 (Ohtake; Tadashi et al.) relates to a configuration of a liquid crystal cover and scanning antenna employing the use of waveguides and slots.
WO 2016119727 A1 (LIU, RUOPENG et al.) discloses a multi-port structure.
US 10056922 B1 (Tsvelykh; Ivan et al.) discloses a multiple substrates stacked on top of each other.
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/GURBIR SINGH/Examiner, Art Unit 2845