DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-8, 10-13, 15 and 17-20 are amended.
Claim(s) 21-26 are canceled.
Priority
As required by M.P.E.P.201.14(c), acknowledgement is made to applicant’s claim for priority based on application(s) SE2151086-2 submitted on August 30th, 2021.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on January 21st, 2024 follow the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure does not commence on a separate sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.52(b)(4) and 1.72(b). A new abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it contains a legal phraseology “comprises …” in line 4. The form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as "means" and "said," should be avoided. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Vannithamby (US 2015/0201342 A1) in view of Elkotby et al. (US 2023/0076409 A1) hereinafter “Elkotby”.
Regarding Claim 1,
Vannithamby discloses a method [see fig. 4, pg. 6, ¶53 lines 1-7, a method “400”], performed in a network node [see fig. 4, pg. 6, ¶53 lines 1-7, from a network perspective], for handling low energy conditions of an energy harvesting wireless device (WD) wherein the network node stored a UE context of the WD received during a registration procedure with the WD [see fig. 4, pg. 6, ¶53 lines 1-7, for communicating with an energy-harvesting device], the method [see fig. 4, pg. 6, ¶53 lines 1-7, the method “400”] comprising:
- receiving [see fig. 4: Step “402”, pg. 6, ¶54 lines 1-16, receiving], from the WD [see fig. 4: Step “402”, pg. 6, ¶54 lines 1-16, from user equipment of a wireless communication network], a message indicating that the WD has insufficient power level for performing regular radio operation for upcoming message exchange [see fig. 4: Step “402”, pg. 6, ¶54 lines 1-16, an indication (i.e. via in an RRC message) that the user equipment is an energy-harvesting device and/or energy storage information of the energy-harvesting device].
Although Vannithamby discloses receiving a message indicating that the WD has insufficient power level for performing regular radio operation for upcoming message exchange, Vannithamby does not explicitly teach a message “indicating that the UE context of the WD is to be preserved for a time period during which the power level is insufficient”.
However Elkotby discloses a method [see fig. 21, pgs. 18-19, ¶186 lines 1-5, a procedure], performed in a network node [see fig. 21, pgs. 18-19, ¶186 lines 1-5, including a RAN node], for handling low energy conditions of an energy harvesting wireless device (WD) wherein the network node stored a UE context of the WD received during a registration procedure with the WD [see fig. 21, pgs. 18-19, ¶186 lines 1-5, for a WTRU updating its ZE capability and request transition from RRC_INACTIVE over Uu air-interface to RRC_INACTIVE over ZE air-interface], the method [see fig. 21, pgs. 18-19, ¶186 lines 1-5, the procedure] comprising:
- receiving [see fig. 21: Step “1.a.”, pgs. 18-19, ¶186 lines 1-5; ¶188 lines 1-23, obtaining], from the WD [see fig. 21: Step “1.a.”, pgs. 18-19, ¶186 lines 1-5; ¶188 lines 1-23, from the WTRU], a message indicating that the WD has insufficient power level for performing regular radio operation for upcoming message exchange and indicating that the UE context of the WD is to be preserved for a time period during which the power level is insufficient [see fig. 21: Step “1.a.”, pgs. 18-19, ¶186 lines 1-5; ¶188 lines 1-23, (1) an RRCResumeRequest/RRCResumeRequest1 message that includes a new parameter (e.g. a ZETransitionRequest that is a single binary value), for example, to indicate a WTRU's intention/desire to transition to a ZE air-interface; and (2) a new message (e.g., specifically) for requesting RRC state operation transition to the supplementary ZE air-interface].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a message “indicating that the UE context of the WD is to be preserved for a time period during which the power level is insufficient” as taught by Elkotby in the system of Vannithamby to reduce paging load in the network and use radio resources more efficiently [see Elkotby, pg. 9, ¶107 lines 12-20].
Regarding Claim 2,
The combined system of Vannithamby and Elkotby discloses the method according to claim 1.
Vannithamby further discloses wherein the message indicating an insufficient power level for performing radio operation is indicative of expected properties of the upcoming message exchange [see fig. 4: Step “402”, pg. 6, ¶54 lines 1-16, the indication and/or energy storage information is received in an RRC message, or in a message received during device capability negotiation between the energy-harvesting device and the wireless communication network, or combinations thereof].
Regarding Claim 3,
The combined system of Vannithamby and Elkotby discloses the method according to claim 1.
Vannithamby further discloses wherein the method comprises:
- transmitting [see fig. 4: Step “406”, pg. 7, ¶58 lines 1-11, scheduling communication], to the WD [see fig. 4: Step “406”, pg. 7, ¶58 lines 1-11, with the energy-harvesting device], a message indicative of expected properties of the upcoming message exchange [see fig. 4: Step “406”, pg. 7, ¶58 lines 1-11, over the wireless communication network based on a scheduling policy that considers the energy storage information of the energy-harvesting device].
Regarding Claim 4,
The combined system of Vannithamby and Elkotby discloses the method according to claim 3.
Vannithamby further discloses wherein the properties of the upcoming message exchange comprise one or more of an expected traffic volume [see fig. 4: Step “406”, pg. 7, ¶58 lines 1-11, the scheduling policy is configured to consider instantaneous data rate and/or an average data rate of the harvesting device], an expected traffic condition and an expected energy level [see fig. 4: Step “406”, pg. 7, ¶58 lines 1-11, and energy storage capacity and/or energy storage level of the energy-harvesting device].
Regarding Claim 5,
The combined system of Vannithamby and Elkotby discloses the method according to claim 3.
Vannithamby further discloses wherein the message indicative of expected properties of the upcoming message exchange is one or more of a paging signal and a wake-up signal [see pg. 4, ¶34 lines 1-13, the MTC-IWF “54” is configured to trigger communication with one or more MTC devices (e.g., UE “15”) by sending a paging message with a triggering indication to the one or more MTC devices over the T5a/T5b reference point].
Regarding Claim 7,
The combined system of Vannithamby and Elkotby discloses the method according to claim 1.
Vannithamby further discloses wherein the message indicating the insufficient power level comprises a code indicative of a predetermined energy condition of the WD [see fig. 4: Step “402”, pgs. 6-7, ¶55 lines 1-15, the energy storage information includes one or more bits that correspond with a nominal value of one or more of an energy storage capacity or energy storage level of the energy-harvesting device].
Regarding Claim 8,
The combined system of Vannithamby and Elkotby discloses the method according to claim 1.
Vannithamby further discloses wherein the message indicating the insufficient power level is received via a channel access message [see fig. 4: Step “402”, pg. 6, ¶54 lines 1-16, the indication and/or energy storage information is received, for example, by receiving signaling sent by the energy-harvesting device].
Regarding Claim 9,
The combined system of Vannithamby and Elkotby discloses the method according to claim 8.
Vannithamby further discloses wherein the properties of the upcoming message exchange are represented in a bitmap format [see pg. 5, ¶45 lines 1-17, the network device differentiates the energy-harvesting device by assigning a value of one or more bits to identify the energy-harvesting device].
Regarding Claim 10,
Vannithamby discloses the method according to claim 1.
Vannithamby does not explicitly teach the method further comprising: “preserving the UE context for the WD while refraining from communicating with the WD during the time period”.
However Elkotby discloses preserving the UE context for the WD while refraining from communicating with the WD during the time period [see fig. 21: Step “1.a.”, pgs. 18-19, ¶186 lines 1-5; ¶188 lines 1-23, a RAN node, for example, after retrieving a WTRU CONTEXT from the last serving RAN node and on condition that such is different than a current WTRU CONTEXT, determines that the WTRU has not provided its ZE capability to the network].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “preserving the UE context for the WD while refraining from communicating with the WD during the time period” as taught by Elkotby in the system of Vannithamby for the same motivation as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 11,
The combined system of Vannithamby and Elkotby discloses the method according to claim 1.
Vannithamby discloses the method further comprising returning to regular radio operation upon [see pg. 7, ¶56 lines 1-6, the network initially receives an energy storage capacity (Ei) during device capability negotiation with the user equipment and subsequently the network receives an energy storage level (ei) of the energy-harvesting device in a subsequent message (e.g., RRC message) sent by the user equipment]:
- receiving a message from the WD indicating that the energy level is sufficient for performing radio operation [see pg. 7, ¶56 lines 1-6, multiple messages are received to provide the indication and/or the energy storage information].
Regarding Claim 12,
The combined system of Vannithamby and Elkotby discloses the method according to claim 1.
Vannithamby further discloses wherein the WD is operating in IDLE mode [see pg. 4, ¶38 lines 11-15, one or more MTC devices of the plurality of MTC devices (e.g., UE “15”) is in connected mode or idle mode when the triggering indication is sent by the MTC-IWF “54” to the plurality of MTC devices].
Regarding Claim 13,
Vannithamby discloses a method [see fig. 5, pg. 7, ¶59 lines 1-7, a method “500”], performed by an energy harvesting wireless device (WD) for handling low energy conditions of the WD [see fig. 5, pg. 7, ¶59 lines 1-7, from an energy-harvesting device perspective], wherein the WD has a UE context generated during a registration procedure with the network node stored in the network [see fig. 5, pg. 7, ¶59 lines 1-7, for communicating with a network], the method [see fig. 5, pg. 7, ¶59 lines 1-7, the method “500”] comprising:
- transmitting [see fig. 5: Step “502”, pg. 7, ¶60 lines 1-7, sending], to the network node [see fig. 5: Step “502”, pg. 7, ¶60 lines 1-7, by user equipment of a wireless communication network, for communicating with the network], a message indicating that the WD has insufficient power level for performing regular radio operation for upcoming message exchange [see fig. 5: Step “502”, pg. 7, ¶60 lines 1-7, an indication that the user equipment is an energy-harvesting device and/or energy storage information of the energy-harvesting device].
Although Vannithamby discloses transmitting, to the network node, a message indicating that the WD has insufficient power level, Vannithamby does not explicitly teach “determining whether an energy level of the WD is sufficient for performing regular radio operation for an upcoming message exchange” and transmitting a message “indicating that the UE context of the WD is to be preserved for a time period during which the power level is insufficient, upon determining that the energy level is insufficient for performing regular radio operation for the upcoming message exchange”.
However Elkotby discloses a method [see fig. 21, pgs. 18-19, ¶186 lines 1-5, a procedure], performed by an energy harvesting wireless device (WD) for handling low energy conditions of the WD [see fig. 21, pgs. 18-19, ¶186 lines 1-5, for a WTRU updating its ZE capability and request transition from RRC_INACTIVE over Uu air-interface to RRC_INACTIVE over ZE air-interface], wherein the WD has a UE context generated during a registration procedure with the network node stored in the network [see fig. 21, pgs. 18-19, ¶188 lines 1-23, after retrieving a WTRU CONTEXT from the last serving RAN node and on condition that such is different than a current WTRU CONTEXT, a RAN node determines that the WTRU has not provided its ZE capability to the network], the method [see fig. 21, pgs. 18-19, ¶186 lines 1-5, the procedure] comprising:
- determining whether an energy level of the WD is sufficient for performing regular radio operation for an upcoming message exchange [see fig. 21: Step “1.a.”, pgs. 18-19, ¶179 lines 1-23; ¶186 lines 1-5; ¶188 lines 1-23, the WTRU detects a trigger to transition from RRC_INACTIVE state operation over the Uu air interface to RRC_INACTIVE state over the ZE air interface (e.g. a ZE received signal strength is above a preconfigured/signaled threshold Tsig and a battery level is below another preconfigured/signaled threshold Tb)],
- upon determining that the energy level is insufficient for performing regular radio operation for the upcoming message exchange [see fig. 21: Step “1.a.”, pgs. 18-19, ¶179 lines 1-23; ¶186 lines 1-5; ¶188 lines 1-23, the WTRU (e.g., then) determines a configured low ZE feature transition priority and begins a WTRU-initiated state transition procedure], transmitting [see fig. 21: Step “1.a.”, pgs. 18-19, ¶186 lines 1-5; ¶188 lines 1-23, by transmitting], to the network node [see fig. 21: Step “1.a.”, pgs. 18-19, ¶186 lines 1-5; ¶188 lines 1-23, to the serving RAN node], a message indicating that the WD has insufficient power level for performing regular radio operation for upcoming message exchange and indicating that the UE context of the WD is to be preserved for a time period during which the power level is insufficient [see fig. 21: Step “1.a.”, pgs. 18-19, ¶186 lines 1-5; ¶188 lines 1-23, (1) an RRCResumeRequest/RRCResumeRequest1 message that includes a new parameter (e.g. a ZETransitionRequest that is a single binary value), for example, to indicate a WTRU's intention/desire to transition to a ZE air-interface; and (2) a new message (e.g., specifically) for requesting RRC state operation transition to the supplementary ZE air-interface].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a message “determining whether an energy level of the WD is sufficient for performing regular radio operation for an upcoming message exchange” and transmitting a message “indicating that the UE context of the WD is to be preserved for a time period during which the power level is insufficient, upon determining that the energy level is insufficient for performing regular radio operation for the upcoming message exchange” as taught by Elkotby in the system of Vannithamby to reduce paging load in the network and use radio resources more efficiently [see Elkotby, pg. 9, ¶107 lines 12-20].
Regarding Claim 14,
The combined system of Vannithamby and Elkotby discloses the method according to claim 13.
Vannithamby further discloses wherein the message indicating an insufficient power level for performing radio operation is indicative of expected properties of the upcoming message exchange [see fig. 4: Step “402”, pg. 6, ¶54 lines 1-16, the indication and/or energy storage information is received in an RRC message, or in a message received during device capability negotiation between the energy-harvesting device and the wireless communication network, or combinations thereof].
Regarding Claim 15,
The combined system of Vannithamby and Elkotby discloses the method according to claim 13.
Vannithamby further discloses wherein the method comprises:
- receiving [see fig. 4: Step “406”, pg. 7, ¶58 lines 1-11, scheduling communication], from the network node [see fig. 4: Step “406”, pg. 7, ¶58 lines 1-11, with the energy-harvesting device], a message indicative of expected properties of the upcoming message exchange [see fig. 4: Step “406”, pg. 7, ¶58 lines 1-11, over the wireless communication network based on a scheduling policy that considers the energy storage information of the energy-harvesting device].
Regarding Claim 16,
The combined system of Vannithamby and Elkotby discloses the method according to claim 14.
Vannithamby further discloses wherein the properties of the upcoming message exchange comprise one or more of an expected traffic volume [see fig. 4: Step “406”, pg. 7, ¶58 lines 1-11, the scheduling policy is configured to consider instantaneous data rate and/or an average data rate of the harvesting device], an expected traffic condition and an expected energy level [see fig. 4: Step “406”, pg. 7, ¶58 lines 1-11, and energy storage capacity and/or energy storage level of the energy-harvesting device].
Regarding Claim 17,
The combined system of Vannithamby and Elkotby discloses the method according to claim 14.
Vannithamby further discloses wherein the message indicative of expected properties of the upcoming message exchange is one or more of a paging signal or a wake-up signal [see pg. 4, ¶34 lines 1-13, the MTC-IWF 54 is configured to trigger communication with one or more MTC devices (e.g., UE 15) by sending a paging message with a triggering indication to the one or more MTC devices over the T5a/T5b reference point].
Regarding Claim 19,
The combined system of Vannithamby and Elkotby discloses the method according to claim 13.
Vannithamby further discloses wherein the message indicating the insufficient power level comprises a code indicative of a predetermined energy condition of the WD [see fig. 4: Step “402”, pgs. 6-7, ¶55 lines 1-15, the energy storage information includes one or more bits that correspond with a nominal value of one or more of an energy storage capacity or energy storage level of the energy-harvesting device].
Regarding Claim 20,
The combined system of Vannithamby and Elkotby discloses the method according to claim 13.
Vannithamby further discloses wherein the message indicating the insufficient power level is transmitted via a channel access message [see fig. 4: Step “402”, pg. 6, ¶54 lines 1-16, the indication and/or energy storage information is received, for example, by receiving signaling sent by the energy-harvesting device].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 18 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
United States Patent Application Publication:
ELSHAFIE et al. (US 2022/0352751 A1); see fig. 7, pgs. 11-16, ¶93-¶119.
/RUSHIL P. SAMPAT/Primary Examiner- TC 2400, Art Unit 2469