DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the third lens" in line 2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination, the recitation of “the third lens” in line 2 of the claim will be broadly interpreted as “a lens mount.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6, 10-11, 13-15, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (CN 113126304).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses smart glasses (Fig. 1; page 8, para [0033]), comprising:
a frame (200, Fig. 1; page 19, para [0051]);
an imaging system (300, Fig. 1; page 9, para [0034]) comprising:
an image source (such as a waveguide of 300, Fig. 1; page 9, para [0034]) configured to emit light for forming an image, and
an optical assembly (320, Fig. 6; page 26, para [0065]) configured to change an optical path of the light to project light in a direction of a first side of the image source (320 is configured to change an optical path of light to project light in a direction toward a side of the user’s eyes, Fig. 6, page 26, para [0067]), the image source and optical assembly being both provided on the frame (waveguide image source and optical assembly 320 are being both provided on the frame 200, Figs. 4-6); and
a first lens (100, Fig. 4; page 15, para [0045]) provided on the frame (200, Fig. 4) and located on a second side of the image source (such as side facing away from the user’s eyes, Fig. 4), with a gap being formed between the first lens (100, Figs. 4 and 13) and the optical assembly (300, Figs. 4 and 13), and the gap being sealed to create a sealed space (100 is sealed at 250 to create a sealed space, Fig. 13; page 15, para [0045]).
Regarding claim 2, Wang discloses smart glasses with all the limitations above and further discloses wherein the imaging system (300, Fig. 4) further comprises:
a housing (400, Figs. 1 and 4; page 19, para [0051]) configured to accommodate the optical assembly (320, Figs. 1, 4, 6), and having a first inner cavity (inner cavity of 400, Fig. 4) and a first end opening (opening of 400 facing users’ eyes, Figs. 1 and 4) and a second end opening (opening of 400 facing 100, Fig. 4) in communication with the first inner cavity (inner cavity of 400, Figs. 1 and 4), the first end opening (opening of 400 facing user’s eyes, Figs. 1 and 4) and the second end opening (opening of 400 facing 100, Fig. 4) being arranged opposite to each other, the optical assembly (320, Figs. 1, 4, and 6) blocking the first end opening (320 blocking opening of 400 facing user’s eyes, Figs. 1 and 4) of the first inner cavity (inner cavity of 400, Fig. 4), and the first lens (100, Fig. 4) blocking the second end opening (100 blocks the second opening of 400 facing 100, Fig. 4) of the first inner cavity (inner cavity of 400, Fig. 4) to create the sealed space in the first inner cavity (100 and 320 are sealed at 250 to create a sealed space via the sealing of 100 at 250, Fig. 1, 4, 13; page 15, para [0045]).
Regarding claim 6, Wang discloses smart glasses with all the limitations above and further discloses wherein the imaging system (300, Fig. 4) further comprises:
a housing (400, Figs. 1 and 4; page 19, para [0051]) configured to support the optical assembly (320, Figs. 1, 4, 6), and having a first end located on a first side of the housing (an end of 400 facing user’s eyes, Fig. 4) and a second end located on a second side of the housing (an end of 400 facing 100, Fig. 4), wherein the second end is in sealing connection with the first lens (100 is sealed at 250 and therefore the end of 400 facing 100 is sealed, Fig. 4); a portion of the second end adjacent to the image source is adjacent to an edge of the first lens (the end of 400 facing 100 is adjacent to the image source of 320 and is adjacent to an edge of 100, Figs. 1, 4 and 6), and a portion of the second end away from the image source is adjacent to a center of the first lens (a portion of end of 400 facing 100 is away from the image source of 320 and is adjacent to a center of the first lens 100, Figs. 1, 4, and 6).
Regarding claim 10, Wang discloses smart glasses with all the limitations above and further discloses wherein the first lens (100, Fig. 4) is confined within an enclosure region defined by an inner wall of the frame (first lens 100 is confined within an enclosure region defined by an inner wall of the frame 200, Fig. 13), and an overall outer edge of the first lens is connected to the inner wall of the frame (overall outer edge of the first lens 100 is connected to the inner wall of the frame 200, Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 11, Wang discloses smart glasses with all the limitations above and further discloses wherein the optical assembly (320, Fig. 6) extends at least partially into the enclosure region (320 of 300 extends at least partially into the enclosure region defined by an inner wall of 200, Figs. 1, 4, and 6), and a maximum width of the gap is less than the thickness of the frame (maximum width of the gap between 100 and 300 is less than the thickness of the frame 200, Figs. 1, 4, and 13).
Regarding claim 13, Wang discloses smart glasses with all the limitations of claim 1 above and further discloses wherein the frame (200, Fig. 4) has a lens cavity running therethrough (lens cavity of 200 accommodating 100, Figs. 4 and 13) and a third end opening (opening end of 200 facing user’s eyes, Fig. 4) and a fourth end opening (opening end of 200 facing away from user’s eyes, Fig. 4) in communication with the lens cavity, the third end opening and the fourth end opening being arranged opposite to each other (opening end of 200 facing user’s eyes and opening end of 200 facing away from user’s eyes being arranged opposite to each other, Fig. 4), and the first lens blocking the fourth end opening (100 blocking the fourth end opening of 200 facing away from user’s eyes, Fig. 4); and
the smart glasses further comprise a fourth lens (lens portion of 320 facing user’s eyes, Figs. 4 and 6) and a protective cover (housing portion of 320, Fig. 6; page 26, para [0065]), wherein the fourth lens (lens portion of 320 facing user’s eyes, Figs. 4 and 6) adjoins the optical assembly (320, Figs. 4 and 6), and both are located at the third end opening (both the fourth lens portion of 320 and the housing portion of 320 are located a the third end opening of 200 facing user’s eyes, Fig. 4); and the protective cover (housing portion of 320, Fig. 6) is arranged between the frame (200, Figs. 1, 4, and 6) and the optical assembly (optical assembly in 320, Figs. 1, 4, and 6) at least from a first side of the frame, to block the third end opening together with the fourth lens and the optical assembly to create the sealed space (opening of 200 facing user’s eyes is blocked by the protective cover of housing portion of 320 together with the fourth lens portion of 320 and the optical assembly 320 to create the sealed space via the first lens 100 being sealed at 250, Figs. 1, 4, 6, and 13; page 15, para [0045]).
Regarding claim 14, Wang discloses smart glasses with all the limitations of claim 13 above and further discloses wherein the imaging system (300, Fig. 4) further comprises a housing (310, Fig. 6; page 26, para [0065]) connected to the frame (200, Figs. 4 and 6), the optical assembly (320, Figs. 4 and 6) being provided on the housing (320 provided on the housing 310, Fig. 6), the fourth lens (lens portion of 320 facing user’s eyes, Figs. 4 and 6) being sealed to a peripheral wall of the housing (lens portion of 320 facing user’s eyes being sealed to a peripheral wall of the housing 310 via the outer housing portion of 320, Fig. 6); and the protective cover (housing portion of 320, Fig. 6) is sealed to the frame (200, Figs. 4 and 6) and the housing (310, Fig. 6) to block the third end opening of the lens cavity together with the fourth lens, the housing, and the optical assembly (the third end opening of lens cavity of 200 facing user’s eyes is blocked by the protective cover of housing portion of 320 sealed to the frame 200 and the housing 310 together with the fourth lens portion of 320, the housing 310, and the optical assembly 320 to create the sealed space via the first lens 100 being sealed at 250, Figs. 1, 4, 6, and 13; page 15, para [0045]).
Regarding claim 15, Wang discloses smart glasses with all the limitations above and further discloses wherein the frame (200, Fig. 4) has a lens cavity running therethrough (lens cavity of 200 accommodating 100, Figs. 4 and 13), and a third end opening (opening end of 200 facing user’s eyes, Fig. 4) as well as a fourth end opening (opening end of 200 facing away from user’s eyes, Fig. 4) in communication with the lens cavity, the third end opening and the fourth end opening being arranged opposite to each other (opening end of 200 facing user’s eyes and opening end of 200 facing away from user’s eyes being arranged opposite to each other, Fig. 4), and the first lens blocking the fourth end opening of the lens cavity (100 blocking the fourth end opening of 200 facing away from user’s eyes, Fig. 4); and
the imaging system (300, Fig. 4) further comprises a one-piece general housing (combination of: 310 and housing portion of 320, Fig. 6; page 26, para [0065]), the general housing comprising a first housing portion (housing portion of 320, Fig. 6) and a second housing portion (housing portion of 310, Fig. 6), wherein the optical assembly (such as optical components in 320, Fig. 6) is provided on the first housing portion (housing portion of 320, Fig. 6), and the first housing portion is provided at the third end opening of the lens cavity (housing portion of 320 is provided at the third end opening of the lens cavity of 200 facing the user’s eyes, Figs. 1, 4, and 6), the second housing portion (housing portion of 310, Fig. 6) is arranged between the frame (200, Fig. 1, 4, and 6) and the optical assembly (optical assembly in 320, Figs. 1, 4, and 6) at least from a first side of the frame, and the general housing and the optical assembly together block the third end opening of the lens cavity to create the sealed space (such as housing portion of 320 and optical components of 320 block the third end opening of the lens cavity of 200 facing the user’s eyes to create the sealed space since 320 is sealed at 250 via the sealing of 100 at 250, Figs. 1, 4, 6, and 13; page 15, para [0045]).
Regarding claim 18, Wang discloses smart glasses (Fig. 1; page 8, para [0033]), comprising:
a frame (200, Fig. 1; page 19, para [0051]);
an imaging system (300, Fig. 1; page 9, para [0034]) comprising:
an image source (such as a waveguide of 300, Fig. 1; page 9, para [0034]) configured to emit light for forming an image,
an optical assembly (320, Fig. 6; page 26, para [0065]) configured to change an optical path of the light to project light in a direction of a first side of the image source (320 is configured to change an optical path of light to project light in a direction toward a side of the user’s eyes, Fig. 6, page 26, para [0067]), and
a housing (400, Figs. 1 and 4; page 19, para [0051]) configured to support the optical assembly (320, Figs. 1, 4, and 6); and
a protective lens (100, Fig. 4; page 15, para [0045]), the optical assembly (320, Figs. 4 and 6), the housing (400, Figs. 1 and 4) and the protective lens (100, Fig. 4) together defining a sealed space (since 100 and 320 are sealed at 250 to create a sealed space via the sealing of 100 at 250, Figs. 1, 4, 6, and 13; page 15, para [0045]).
Regarding claim 19, Wang discloses smart glasses with all the limitations of claim 18 above and further discloses wherein the housing (400, Figs. 1 and 4) has an end facing toward a second side (an end of 400 facing 100, Fig. 4) of the image source (such as a waveguide of 300, Fig. 1), the protective lens (100, Fig. 4) is provided on the frame (200, Fig. 4) and is located on the second side of the image source (protective lens 100 is provided on the frame 200 located on the second side facing away from the user’s eyes, Fig. 4), a gap (gap between 100 and 320, Figs. 4 and 6) is formed between the protective lens (100, Fig. 4) and the optical assembly (320, Figs. 4 and 6), an end of the housing is in sealing connection with the protective lens (end of housing 400 facing 100 is in sealing connection with the protective lens 100 since the protective lens 100 is sealed at 250, Figs. 1, 4, 13; page 15, para [0045]) to seal the gap to create the sealed space (gape between 100 and 320 is sealed via the sealing of 100 at 250, Figs. 1, 4, 13; page 15, para [0045]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5, 7-9, 12, 16-17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN 113126304) in view of Huang (CN 213240670).
Regarding claim 3, Wang discloses smart glasses with all the limitations of claim 2 above but does not expressly disclose a second lens provided at a position in the first inner cavity (inner cavity of 400, Fig. 4) and close to the second end opening (opening of 400 facing 100, Fig. 4), to enclose the sealed space together with the housing (400, Fig. 4) and the first lens (100, Fig. 4); and a third lens provided at the first end opening (opening of 400 facing user’s eyes, Fig. 4) to block the first end opening. However, Huang discloses smart glasses (Fig. 1; page 7, para [0021]) comprising a second lens (13, Figs. 1 and 7; page 7, para [0022]) provided at a position in a first inner cavity (311, Figs. 1 and 7; page 11, para [0028]) and close to a second end opening (opening of 311 at side of 13, Fig. 7), to enclose a sealed space together with a housing (313, Fig. 7; page 12, para [0029]) and a first lens (22, Fig. 7; page 12, para [0030]; sealed space of 311 together with the housing 313 and the first lens 22, Fig. 7); and a third lens (12, Fig. 7; page 12, para [0030]) provided at a first end opening (opening of 311 at side of 12, Fig. 7) to block the first end opening (third lens 12 blocks the first end opening of 311 at side of 12, Fig. 7) in order to provide a head-mounted device that uses fewer structural components and reduces weight (page 14, para [0034]).
Therefore, before the time of the effective filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the smart glasses (Wang: Fig. 1) of Wang with the second lens (Huang: 13, Figs. 1 and 7) and third lens (Huang: 12, Figs. 1 and 7) of Huang such that the second lens (Huang: 13, Figs. 1 and 7) is provided at a position in the first inner cavity (Wang: inner cavity of 400, Fig. 4; Huang: inner cavity 311, Figs. 1 and 7) and close to the second end opening (Wang: opening of 400 facing 100, Fig. 4; Huang: opening of 311 at side of 13, Fig. 7), to enclose the sealed space together with the housing (Wang: 400, Fig. 4; Huang: 313, Fig. 7) and the first lens (Wang: 100, Fig. 4; Huang: 22, Fig. 7); and the third lens (Huang: 12, Figs. 1 and 7) provided at the first end opening (Wang: opening of 400 facing user’s eyes, Fig. 4; Huang: opening of 311 at side of 12, Fig. 7) to block the first end opening in order to obtain the benefits of providing a head-mounted device that uses fewer structural components and reduces weight as taught by Huang (page 14, para [0034]).
Regarding claim 4, Wang discloses smart glasses with all the limitations of claim 1 above and further discloses wherein the imaging system (300, Fig. 4) further comprises:
a housing (400, Figs. 1 and 4; page 19, para [0051]) configured to support the optical assembly (320, Figs. 1, 4, and 6) and having an end facing toward the second side (an end of 400 facing 100, Fig. 4), the end being in sealing connection with the first lens (400 is in sealing connection with the first lens 100 via the first lens 100 being sealed at 250, Figs. 1, 4, 6, and 13).
Wang does not expressly disclose that the optical assembly (320, Figs. 4 and 6) comprises:
a second lens provided in the housing (400, Figs. 1 and 4) close to the end (end of 400 facing 100, Fig. 4) and defining the gap with the first lens (gap between 100 and 400, Fig. 4), wherein the second lens, the housing (400, Figs. 1 and 4) and the first lens (100, Fig. 4) together enclose the sealed space; and a third lens forming an exterior of the smart glasses and facing the direction of the first side (side facing user’s eyes, Figs. 1 and 4). However, Huang discloses smart glasses (Fig. 1; page 7, para [0021]) comprising an optical assembly (Fig. 7; page 10, para [0026]) having a second lens (13, Figs. 1 and 7; page 7, para [0022]) provided in a housing (313, Fig. 7; page 12, para [0029]) close to an end (end of 311 facing away from user’s eyes, Fig. 7) and defining a gap with a first lens (22, Fig. 7; page 12, para [0030]), wherein the second lens (13, Fig. 7), the housing (313, Fig. 7) and the first lens (22, Fig. 7) together enclose a sealed space (311, Fig. 7; page 11, para [0028]); and a third lens (12, Fig. 7; page 12, para [0030]) forming an exterior of the smart glasses (Figs. 1, 4, and 7) and facing a direction of a first side (side facing user’s eyes, Figs. 1, 4, and 7) in order to provide a head-mounted device that uses fewer structural components and reduces weight (page 14, para [0034]).
Therefore, before the time of the effective filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the smart glasses (Wang: Fig. 1) of Wang with the second lens (Huang: 13, Figs. 1 and 7) and third lens (Huang: 12, Figs. 1 and 7) of Huang such that the second lens (Huang: 13, Figs. 1 and 7) is provided in the housing (Wang: 400, Figs, 1 and 4; Huang: 313, Fig. 7; page 12, para [0029]) close to an end (Wang: end of 400 facing 100, Fig. 4; Huang: end of 311 facing away from user’s eyes, Fig. 7) and defining a gap with a first lens (Wang: gap between 100 and 400, Fig. 4; Huang: 22, Fig. 7; page 12, para [0030]), wherein the second lens (Huang: 13, Fig. 7), the housing (400, Fig. 4; Huang: 313, Fig. 7) and the first lens (Wang: 100, Fig. 4; Huang: 22, Fig. 7) together enclose a sealed space (Huang: 311, Fig. 7; page 11, para [0028]); and a third lens (Huang: 12, Fig. 7; page 12, para [0030]) forming an exterior of the smart glasses (Wang: Figs. 1, 4, and 7; Huang: Fig. 7) and facing a direction of a first side (Wang: side of user’s eyes, Figs. 1 and 4; Huang: side facing user’s eyes, Figs. 1, 4, and 7) in order to obtain the benefits of providing a head-mounted device that uses fewer structural components and reduces weight as taught by Huang (page 14, para [0034]).
Regarding claim 5, Wang as modified by Huang discloses smart glasses with all the limitations of claim 3 above but does not expressly disclose wherein the image source (Wang: such as a waveguide of 300, Fig. 1; page 9, para [0034]) is provided on the housing (Wang: 400, Fig. 4) and configured to project light to the third lens (Huang: 12, Figs. 1 and 7); the third lens (Huang: 12, Figs. 1 and 7) is configured to reflect the light emitted by the image source (Wang: such as a waveguide of 300, Fig. 1); and the second lens (Huang: 13, Figs. 1 and 7) is configured to reflect light projected by the third lens (Huang: 12, Figs. 1 and 7), such that the light is projected through the third lens (Huang: 12, Figs. 1 and 7) toward the direction of the first side (Wang: side of the user’s eyes, Fig. 6; Huang: at side of 12, Fig. 7) of the image source. However, Huang discloses a configuration wherein an image source (Huang: 21, Fig. 7; page 12, para [0030]) is provided on the housing (Huang: 313, Fig. 7) and configured to project light to the third lens (Huang: 12, Figs. 1 and 7-8); the third lens (Huang: 12, Figs. 1 and 7-8) is configured to reflect the light emitted by the image source (Huang: 21, Figs. 7-8); and the second lens (Huang: 13, Figs. 1 and 7-8) is configured to reflect light projected by the third lens (Huang: 12, Figs. 1 and 7-8), such that the light is projected through the third lens (Huang: 12, Figs. 1 and 7-8) toward the direction of the first side (Huang: toward side of 12, Figs. 7-8) of the image source (Huang: 21, Figs. 7-8) in order to direct image light toward the user’s eyes (Huang: Figs. 7-8; page 13, para [0032]).
Therefore, before the time of the effective filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the image source (Wang: such as a waveguide of 300, Fig. 1; page 9, para [0034]) of Wang as modified by Huang with the image source (Huang: 21, Fig. 7; page 12, para [0030]) of Huang such that the image source (Huang: 21, Fig. 7) is provided on the housing (Wang: 400, Fig. 4; Huang: 313, Fig. 7) and configured to project light to the third lens (Huang: 12, Figs. 1 and 7); the third lens (Huang: 12, Figs. 1 and 7) is configured to reflect the light emitted by the image source (Huang: 21, Fig. 7); and the second lens (Huang: 13, Figs. 1 and 7) is configured to reflect light projected by the third lens (Huang: 12, Figs. 1 and 7), such that the light is projected through the third lens (Huang: 12, Figs. 1 and 7) toward the direction of the first side (Wang: side of the user’s eyes, Fig. 6; Huang: at side of 12, Fig. 7) of the image source in order to obtain the benefits of directing image light toward the user’s eyes as taught by Huang (Huang: Figs. 7-8; page 13, para [0032]).
Regarding claim 7, Wang discloses smart glasses with all the limitations of claim 2 above but does not expressly disclose wherein the smart glasses further comprise a support provided on a first side of the frame (200, Figs. 1 and 4) and connected to the frame and the housing (400, Figs. 1 and 4); the housing (400, Figs. 1 and 4) further has a side opening in communication with the first inner cavity (inner cavity of 400, Fig. 4), and the image source (such as a waveguide of 300, Fig. 1) is arranged at the side opening and projects light into the first inner cavity through the side opening; and the support covers the side opening to confine the image source in the side opening. However, Huang discloses smart glasses (Fig. 1; page 7, para [0021]) comprising a support (inner support 34, Fig. 3) and a protective cover (32, Figs. 1 and 6-7; page 8, para [0023]) provided on a first side of a frame (30, Figs. 1 and 7; page 7, para [0023]) and connected to the frame and a housing (313, Figs. 1 and 7; page 12, para [0029]); the housing (313, Figs. 1 and 7) further has a side opening (such as opening accommodating 21, Fig. 7) in communication with a first inner cavity (311, Fig. 7; page 11, para [0028]), and an image source (21, Fig. 7; page 12, para [0030]) is arranged at the side opening (opening accommodating 21, Fig. 7) and projects light into the first inner cavity (21 projects light into the first inner cavity 311, Figs. 7-8) through the side opening; and the support (inner support 34, Figs. 3 and 7) covers the side opening (inner support 34 covers the opening accommodating 21, Figs. 3 and 7) to confine the image source in the side opening (inner support 34 functions to confine the image source 21 in the side opening of 311 that accommodates 21, Figs. 3 and 7) in order to define and provide a support structure for the first inner cavity (311, Fig. 7; page 8, para [0023]).
Therefore, before the time of the effective filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the smart glasses (Wang: Fig. 1) of Wang with the support (Huang: inner support 34, Fig. 3) and protective cover (Huang: 32, Figs. 1 and 6-7) of Huang provided on a first side of a frame (Wang: 200, Figs. 1 and 4; Huang: 30, Figs. 1 and 7; page 7, para [0023]) and connected to the frame and a housing (Wang: 400, Figs. 1 and 4; Huang: 313, Figs. 1 and 7; page 12, para [0029]); the housing (Wang: 400, Figs. 1 and 4; Huang: 313, Figs. 1 and 7) further is further configured to have a side opening (Huang: such as opening accommodating 21, Fig. 7) in communication with a first inner cavity (Wang: inner cavity of 400, Fig. 4; Huang: 311, Fig. 7; page 11, para [0028]), and to provide the image source (Huang: 21, Fig. 7; page 12, para [0030]) of Huang arranged at the side opening (Huang: opening accommodating 21, Fig. 7), wherein the image source (Huang: 21, Fig. 7) projects light into the first inner cavity (Wang: inner cavity of 400, Fig. 4; Huang: 21 projects light into the first inner cavity 311, Figs. 7-8) through the side opening; and the support (Huang: inner support 34, Figs. 3 and 7) covers the side opening (Huang: inner support 34 covers a lateral side of the side opening accommodating 21, Figs. 3 and 7) to confine the image source in the side opening (Huang: inner support 34 functions to confine the image source 21 in the side opening of 311 that accommodates 21, Figs. 3 and 7) in order to define and provide a support structure for the first inner cavity as taught by Huang (Wang: inner cavity of 400, Fig. 4; Huang: 311, Fig. 7; page 8, para [0023]).
Regarding claim 8, Wang as modified by Huang discloses smart glasses with all the limitations of claim 7 above and further discloses wherein the smart glasses (Wang: Figs. 1 and 4) further comprise a protective cover (Huang: 32, Figs. 1 and 6-7) arranged at least on an outer side of the support (Huang: inner support 34, Figs. 3 and 6-7), such that the protective cover (Huang: 32, Figs. 1 and 6-7), together with the housing (Wang: 400, Figs. 1 and 4; Huang: 313, Fig. 7), retains the image source (Huang: 21, Figs. 6-7) and the support (Huang: inner support 34, Figs. 3 and 6-7) inside the smart glasses.
Regarding claim 9, Wang as modified by Huang discloses smart glasses with all the limitations of claim 8 above and further discloses wherein the frame (Wang: 200, Figs. 1 and 4), the first lens (Wang: 100, Fig. 4), the protective cover (Huang: 32, Figs. 1 and 6-7), a lens mount (Wang: 420, Figs. 1 and 7; page 20, para [0052]), and the housing (Wang: 400, Figs. 1 and 4) each have a portion that forms an exterior of the smart glasses (Wang : Figs. 1 and 7).
Regarding claim 12, Wang as modified by Huang discloses smart glasses with all the limitations of claim 3 above and further discloses wherein the optical assembly (Wang: 320, Fig. 6) comprises a second lens (Huang: 13, Figs. 1 and 7), and the imaging system (Huang: 21, Fig. 7) further comprises a housing (Huang: combination of: 313, 31, 32, 33, Figs. 6-7; page 8, para [0023]), the second lens (Huang: 13, Figs. 1 and 7) being provided in the housing (Huang: combination of: 313, 31, 32, 33, Figs. 6-7), wherein a wall of the housing extends to the first lens (Huang: such as wall 31 extends to the first lens 22, Figs. 6-7 of Huang; the first lens 100 of Wang, Figs. 1 and 4) and is sealed to the first lens (Wang: 100, Figs. 1 and 4; Huang: 22, Fig. 7), and the second lens (Huang: 13, Figs. 1 and 7), the housing (Huang: combination of: 313, 31, 32, 33, Figs. 6-7), and the first lens (Wang: 100, Figs. 1 and 4; Huang: 22, Fig. 7) together create the sealed space (Huang: sealed space of first lens 22, second lens 13, and housing 313/31/32/33, Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 16, Wang discloses smart glasses (Fig. 1; page 8, para [0033]), comprising:
a frame (200, Fig. 1; page 19, para [0051]);
a first lens (100, Fig. 4; page 15, para [0045]) provided on the frame (200, Fig. 4) and forming an exterior of the smart glasses;
an imaging system (300, Fig. 1; page 9, para [0034]) comprising:
an image source (such as a waveguide of 300, Fig. 1; page 9, para [0034]) configured to emit light for forming an image, and
an optical assembly (320, Fig. 6; page 26, para [0065]) configured to change an optical path of the light.
Wang does not expressly disclose a second lens and a third lens, the third lens forming an exterior of the smart glasses; and a housing configured to support the imaging system, the second lens being arranged in the housing, and the second lens, the housing and the first lens together enclosing a sealed space. However, Huang discloses smart glasses (Fig. 1; page 7, para [0021]) comprising an imaging system (Figs. 6-7) having a first lens (22, Fig. 7; page 12, para [0030]), a second lens (13, Figs. 1 and 7; page 7, para [0022]) and a third lens (12, Fig. 7; page 12, para [0030]), the third lens (12, Fig. 7) forming an exterior of the smart glasses; and a housing (combination of: 313, 31, 32, 33, Fig. 7; page 8, para [0023]) configured to support the imaging system, the second lens (13, Figs. 1 and 7) being arranged in the housing (combination of: 313, 31, 32, 33, Fig. 7), and the second lens (13, Figs. 1 and 7), the housing (combination of: 313, 31, 32, 33, Fig. 7) and the first lens (Wang: 100, Fig. 4; Huang: 22, Fig. 7) together enclosing a sealed space (sealed space defined by 313/31/32/33, second lens 13, and first lens 22, Fig. 7) in order to provide a head-mounted device that uses fewer structural components and reduces weight (page 14, para [0034]).
Therefore, before the time of the effective filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the smart glasses (Wang: Fig. 1) of Wang with the second lens (Huang: 13, Figs. 1 and 7), third lens (Huang: 12, Figs. 1 and 7), and housing (Huang: combination of: 313, 31, 32, 33, Fig. 7) of Huang such that the third lens (Huang: 12, Fig. 7) forms an exterior of the smart glasses; and the housing (Huang: combination of: 313, 31, 32, 33, Fig. 7; page 8, para [0023]) is configured to support the imaging system (Wang: 300, Fig. 4), the second lens (Huang: 13, Figs. 1 and 7) being arranged in the housing (Huang: combination of: 313, 31, 32, 33, Fig. 7), and the second lens (Huang: 13, Figs. 1 and 7), the housing (Huang: combination of: 313, 31, 32, 33, Fig. 7) and the first lens (Wang: 100, Fig. 4; Huang: 22, Fig. 7) together enclosing a sealed space (Huang: sealed space defined by 313/31/32/33, second lens 13, and first lens 22, Fig. 7) in order to obtain the benefits of providing a head-mounted device that uses fewer structural components and reduces weight as taught by Huang (page 14, para [0034]).
Regarding claim 17, Wang as modified by Huang discloses smart glasses with all the limitations above and further discloses wherein the housing (Huang: combination of: 313, 31, 32, 33, Fig. 7) having an end in sealing connection with the first lens to create the sealed space (Huang: housing 313/31/32/33 has an end in sealing connection with the first lens 22, Fig. 7; sealing connection wit the first lens 100, Fig. 4 of Wang).
Regarding claim 20, Wang discloses smart glasses with all the limitations of claim 19 above but does not expressly disclose a second lens and a third lens, the second lens is provided in the housing (400, Figs. 1 and 4), close to the end of the housing (end of housing 400 facing 100, Fig. 4), and defines a gap with the protective lens (100, Fig. 4); the second lens, the housing (400, Figs. 1 and 4) and the protective lens (100, Fig. 4) together enclose the sealed space, and the third lens forms an exterior of the smart glasses.
However, Huang discloses smart glasses (Fig. 1; page 7, para [0021]) comprising a protective lens (22, Fig. 7; page 12, para [0030]), a second lens (13, Figs. 1 and 7; page 7, para [0022]), a third lens (12, Fig. 7; page 12, para [0030]), and a housing (combination of: 313, 31, 32, 33, Fig. 7; page 8, para [0023]), the second lens (13, Fig. 7) is provided in the housing (combination of: 313, 31, 32, 33, Fig. 7), close to an end of the housing (end of housing comprising 13, Fig. 7), and defines a gap with the protective lens (22, Fig. 7); the second lens (13, Fig. 7), the housing (combination of: 313, 31, 32, 33, Fig. 7) and the protective lens (22, Fig. 7) together enclose a sealed space (sealed space defined by 313/31/32/33, second lens 13, and protective lens 22, Fig. 7), and the third lens (12, Fig. 7) forms an exterior of the smart glasses (12 forms an exterior of the smart glasses, Fig. 7) in order to provide a head-mounted device that uses fewer structural components and reduces weight (page 14, para [0034]).
Therefore, before the time of the effective filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the smart glasses (Wang: Fig. 1) of Wang with the second lens (Huang: 13, Figs. 1 and 7) and the third lens (Huang: 12, Figs. 1 and 7) of Huang such that the second lens (Huang: 13, Fig. 7) is provided in the housing (Wang: 400, Fig. 4; Huang: 313/31/32/33, Fig. 7), close to the end of the housing (Wang: end of 400 facing 100, Fig. 4; Huang: end of housing 313/31/32/33 comprising 13, Fig. 7), and defines a gap with the protective lens (Huang: second lens 13 and protective lens 22 defines a gap, Fig. 7; second lens 13 of Huang defines a gap with the protective lens 100, Fig. 4 of Wang); the second lens (Huang: 13, Figs. 1 and 7), the housing (Wang: 400, Fig. 4; Huang: 313/31/32/33, Fig. 7) and the protective lens (Wang: 100, Fig. 4; Huang: 22, Fig. 7) together enclose the sealed space (Huang: sealed space defined by 313/31/32/33, second lens 13, and protective lens 22, Fig. 7; Wang: protective lens 100, Fig. 4), and the third lens (Huang: 12, Fig. 7) forms an exterior of the smart glasses in order to obtain the benefits of providing a head-mounted device that uses fewer structural components and reduces weight as taught by Huang (page 14, para [0034]).
Conclusion
/PAUL C LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871