DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The RCE filed 3/6/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 4, 6, 8-10, 13, 15, and 17-20 remain pending in the application, and claims 5 and 14 were cancelled. This communication is a Non Final Office Action on the on merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that Chu does not teach “selecting one” of a plurality of motion sequences, nor determining “unreachability” based on affordance maps. In light of the amendment to claim limitations, and the specification of how the intermediate states are determined, an additional reference is introduced for clarity of the rejection, and to address the modified limitations.
Therefore, Applicant' s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 10 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references and/or rationale being used in the current rejection.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 10 objected to because of the following informalities: the newly amended limitation ". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 9-10, 13, 15, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu et al., hereinafter Chu (NPL Reference: Recognizing object affordances to support scene reasoning for manipulation tasks) in view of Gonzalez Aguirre et al., hereinafter Gonzales Aguirre (Document ID: US 20200324409 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Chu teaches a method for operating an autonomous machine in a physical environment, and an autonomous system, the method and system comprising:
detecting an object within the physical environment (see at least Page 10: “. In the experiment setting, the sensor input includes depth information. Image areas with target affordances are mapped to 3D space for manipulation planning and execution.” Additionally, the object is detected in the final paragraph on page 10 before analysis occurs. See also FIG. 2);
performing pose estimation on the object so as to determine an initial state of the object (see at least Page 10: “the grasp center is computed by averaging the grasp-able pixels, with grasping orientation determined by fitting a line to predicted pixels”. See also FIG. 2 for detecting an object and its initial state.);
identifying a task that requires that the autonomous machine interact with the object (see at least FIG.2 and the caption wherein the example task is to place objects sequentially into a bowl);
based on the task, determining a goal state of the object (see at least FIG.2 and the caption wherein the plan is crucially linked to the known goal state of the object. See also Page 5: “The provision of a specified goal state”);
determining a plurality of intermediate states associated with the object, the intermediate states defining respective motion sequences for the object to reach the goal state from the initial state, wherein determining the plurality of intermediate states is based on the initial state, a pose associated with the goal state of the object which is determined by performing the pose estimation, and the task (see at least Page 7: “Goal-oriented manipulation may require an agent to achieve a goal state via a sequence of atomic actions, with each action involving an intermediate state change of the objects in the environment and/or the manipulator.” The actions are determined based on the “initial state and goal state descriptions” as well as a “domain definition” that includes the task and its corresponding effects. See also the generation of “a list of executable atomic actions for a robotic manipulator” for respective motion sequences. For a pose of the goal state see at least Page 10-11: “For experiments involving the grasp affordance, the grasp center is computed by averaging the grasp-able pixels, with grasping orientation determined by fitting a line to predicted pixels.” The pose of the object in the goal state is thus known to the system. Finally, see at least the section “Affordance with modified PDDL pipeline” on Page 11 which details methodology for using a “state keeper module” to work between states to work towards a goal),
Chu teaches on Page 11 within the section “Affordance for Task-Oriented Grasping” the generation of an affordance map and depth image for objects, and details the exemplary task types. See also Pages 12-13 which outline successes in each scenario as necessitating multiple steps reached with the intermediate states. Chu also teaches evaluating success of task based manipulation in the Manipulation Results and Discussion sections beginning on Page 14. But Chu does not explicitly teach that determining the plurality of intermediate states further comprises:
generating an affordance map associated with the object, the affordance map defining properties of object that indicate actions that can be taken involving the object,
based on the affordance map, determining that the goal state of the object is not reachable without reaching at least one of the plurality of intermediate states;
selecting one of the motion sequences, so as to define a selected motion sequence;
Instead, Gonzalez Aguirre, whose invention pertains to generating a plan for interacting with an object with an end effector, teaches in P [0022] “the intended flow of actions” which is also based on perceiving “specific characteristics of an object having a variable size, objects having different material properties, objects have different surface characteristics, etc.),”, as a definition to an “affordance-compelling manner”. In P [0030] Gonzalez Aguirre demonstrates that “The robot modeler 106 may further rank actions according to feasibility and force to identify actions that have the highest probability of success and based on particular metrics”, and P [0034] shows that an atomic action sequence is a series of “macro-plans” that define the overall constraints or “operational limits corresponding to the specific domain and task”. Finally, in P [0036] “The mission planner 108 may determine a resulting symbolic plan with attributes and active subsets of actions based on the one or more maps of the map and semantics generator 104”, for selecting a motion sequence to define a selected motion sequence.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the affordance planning and success evaluation for task completion of Chu with the affordance planning and mission constraints of Gonzalez Aguirre in order to utilize known methods of object affordance analysis involving object properties alongside mission constraints to "to avoid failure of the mission" as in P [0035] of Gonzalez Aguirre. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that Gonzalez Aguirre also develops atomic-actions for an overall motion sequence, and be motivated to modify the atomic action sequence of Chu with the operational limits that change in real time based on the "specific domain and task" as in P [0034] of Gonzalez Aguirre.
In view of the modification, Chu finally teaches
the autonomous machine performing the selected motion sequence, thereby fulfilling the task (see at least the Abstract: “execution completes the target task.”).
Regarding claim 10 specifically, Chu teaches
an autonomous machine configured to operate in a physical environment (robotic manipulator);
a processor (see at least FIG. 8 and Page 10 for description of a “7-DoF robotic manipulator” which processors sensor information as is known in the art); and
a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the autonomous system to perform the steps above (see at least FIG. 8 and Page 10 for description of a “7-DoF robotic manipulator” which processors sensor information and necessarily needs memory to execute the steps).
Regarding claims 4 and 13, modified Chu teaches the method as recited in claim 1, and the system as recited in claim 12, and Chu further teaches determining the plurality of intermediate steps further comprises:
performing an affordance analysis on the object so as to determine a plurality of feasible actions for the autonomous machine in completing the task (see at least FIG. 2 and the caption: “Together with a pre-trained object detector, both objects and affordances in the robot’s view are identified” See also Page 3: “convert the recognized affordances (and objects) into executable action primitives based on simple specifications”).
Regarding claims 6 and 15, modified Chu teaches the method as recited in claim 1, and the system as recited in claim 10, and in view of the modification, Chu further teaches the method and the system further comprising:
based on the affordance map and task, generating at least one intermediate state of the plurality of intermediate states, the at least one additional intermediate state enabling the goal state to be reachable (see at least the section “Affordance with modified PDDL pipeline” on Page 11 which details methodology for using a “state keeper module” to work between states to work towards a goal, as well as on Page 13: “A successful cut through string trial requires the manipulator to first grasp the target tool without dropping it, and then fully cut the string with the target”); and
augmenting the affordance map with the at least one additional intermediate state (see at least the section “Affordance as Auxiliary Task and Attribute” which defines a real time process for augmenting an affordance map while performing auxiliary, or intermediate, tasks.).
Regarding claims 9 and 18, modified Chu teaches the method as recited in claim 1, and the system as recited in claim 10, and in view of the modification Chu teaches performing the selected motion sequence further comprises:
executing a first state transition of the plurality of state transitions (see at least Page 7 for executing a first state transition using “a state keeper”); and
before executing a second state transition of the plurality of state transitions that directly follows the first state transition, determining whether a first intermediate state associated with the first state transition is reached (see at least Page 7 wherein the description of “state persistence” using the state keeper ensure that the robot determines an intermediate state is reached before continuing in the pursuit of a final goal state).
Claim(s) 8 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu in view of Gonzalez Aguirre, and further in view of Mandlekar et al., hereinafter Mandlekar (Document ID: US 11958529 B2).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Chu teaches the method as recited in claim 5, and the system as recited in claim 14, and Chu teaches known methods for decision making on Page 8 in the section “Baseline Methods”. But Chu and Gonzalez Aguirre do not explicitly teach selecting one of the motion sequences further comprises:
solving a Markov decision problem defined by the initial state, the goal state, and the plurality of the intermediate states.
Instead, Mandlekar teaches in Col 6, Line 3 the use of a Markov Decision Process for a robot manipulation task that considers the initial state, the next state(s) and the reward or goal state.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the affordance analysis for task based robotic manipulation of Chu and Gonzalez Aguirre with the Markov Decision Process of Mandlekar in order to execute a design choice to use known methods of decision making for organizing robot motion.
Claim(s) 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu in view of Gonzalez Aguirre, and further in view of Buerger et al., hereinafter Buerger (Document ID: US 20190351542 A1) .
Regarding claims 19 and 20, Chu teaches the method as recited in claim 1, and the system as recited in claim 10, and Gonzalez Aguirre teaches in P [0030] the ability to rank actions on particular metrics. But Chu and Gonzalez Aguirre do not explicitly teach selecting one of the motion sequences comprises:
determining that the selected motion sequence defines a path that is shorter than the other motion sequences.
Instead, Buerger, whose invention pertains to considering a cost analysis for a robotic system, teaches a method for constraining robots to perform tasks according to shortest paths traversed in P [0081].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the affordance analysis for task based robotic manipulation of Chu and Gonzalez Aguirre with the cost analysis for task allocation to a robot of Buerger in order to execute a design choice that selects robot motion paths based minimizing costs and promoting efficiency as in Buerger.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Document ID: US 20220168899 A1
Invention pertains to seeking an occluded object for picking and placing.
Document ID: US 12406194 B1
Invention pertains to processing objects and indicating actions that can be performed by a human or robot.
/D.E./Examiner, Art Unit 3656
/KHOI H TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656