DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Articulating Pick-Up Attachment for Self-Propelled Forage Harvester for Adapting to Ground Contour.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/867,116 (Pub. No: US 20250331463 A1), as well as claim 12 of copending Application No. 18/855,682 (Pub. No: US 20250248339 A1), and claim 14 of copending Application No. 18/710,769 (Pub. No: US 20250017143 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it is obvious that the narrower apparatus claims 1, 12, and 14 of the copending Applications No. covers all the limitations in the broader apparatus claim 1 of the instant application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 2-12 are provisionally rejected under the nonstatutory double patenting rejections because of their dependency on rejected claim 1.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9 lines 3-4 “with preferably degressively arranged pick-up implements (14)”. However, pick-up implements (14) are already set forth in claim 1 line 2, therefore this portion of claim 9 should be amended to read –and the pick-up implements (14) are designed as degressively arranged pick-up implements--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 7-9, and 12, the phrase "preferably" in each of the claims render them indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(c) and 2173.05(d). For purposes of examination, the examiner has omitted “preferably” from the interpretation of claims 1, 7-9, and 12 such that the limitations following the phrase are considered part of the claimed invention.
By virtue of their dependence on claim 1, this basis of rejection also applies to dependent claims 2-12.
Claims 4 and 5 recite the limitation "the guide elements" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. It is noted that guide elements are positively set forth in claim 3.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the machine frame" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitations "the folded condition" and “the unfolded condition” in lines 3 and 4, respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. It is noted that folding and unfolding of the pick-up attachment is set forth in claim 6.
Claim 7 recites “the pick-up attachment (10) in the folded condition has a transport width that is the maximum legally permissible, preferably 3 m” in lines 3-4. The metes and bounds of the claim are not clearly set forth as the “maximum legally permissible” transport width is not defined in terms of any definitive numerical value or range of values in the claim or specification. Furthermore, the legally permissible transport width varies in different countries leading to further confusion over the intended scope of the claim.
Claim 8 recites “wherein the pick-up attachment (10) has a transport width that corresponds to the working width”. It is unclear exactly what is being claimed in this case as “corresponds to” can be interpreted as either equivalent or proportional. For purposes of examination, the examiner has interpreted “that corresponds to” to mean –that is equivalent to--.
Claim 10 lines 2-3 “wherein the pick-up rotor (12) is joined rigidly to the machine frame (24) of the pick-up attachment” is contradictory to claim 1 lines 3-5 “the pick-up rotor (12) is assembled from several segments (18) joined to one another in at least partly articulated relationship for adaptation to the contours of the ground”. Thus, individual portions of pick-up 12 are configured to be movable relative to machine frame 24 at all times, even if a direct connection between a frame of the pick-up 12 and the frame 24 is rigid, i.e. such that pick-up 12 as a whole cannot pivot relative to frame 24. The Applicant must amend the claim language to make the structural relationship between elements clear.
Claims 10, 11, and 12 recite the limitation "the machine frame" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Knüsel (EP 3326448 A1).
It is noted that all citations to Knüsel (EP 3326448 A1) are in reference to the corresponding English-translated document attached by the Examiner under NPL documents.
Regarding claim 1, Knüsel discloses a pick-up attachment (200) for a self-propelled forage harvester (100, para. [0002] “forage harvester”), comprising a pick-up rotor (1) with pick-up implements (2) for picking up crops (FG) from the ground (Fig. 1), wherein the pick-up rotor is assembled from several segments (25a-25d) joined to one another in at least partly articulated relationship for adaptation to the contours of the ground (Fig. 3, para. [0035] “Ground adaptation is optimized by the flexible or articulated pickup roller” wherein sections 25a-25d are connected to each other with universal joints 26a-26c, para. [0028]).
Regarding claim 2, Knüsel discloses the pick-up attachment according to claim 1, wherein the pick-up rotor (1) is flexible over the entire working width (Fig. 3, para. [0024]).
Regarding claim 3, Knüsel discloses the pick-up attachment according to claim 1, wherein several guide elements (4c-4f) distributed over the working width are provided in order to guide the pick-up rotor (1) to and/or over the ground (para. [0011]).
Regarding claim 4, Knüsel discloses the pick-up attachment according to claim 1, wherein the guide elements (4c-4f) are disposed underneath and directly behind the pick-up rotor (1) (Fig. 1) within its effective working width (Figs. 3-4).
Regarding claim 5, Knüsel discloses the pick-up attachment according to claim 1, wherein the guide elements (4c-4f) are constructed at least partly as sliding disks (Figs. 2-3, para. [0008] formed as circular sliding disks).
Regarding claim 9, Knüsel discloses the pick-up attachment according to claim 1, wherein the pick-up rotor (1) is designed as a non-steered pick-up rotor (Fig. 1, see circular trajectory 3 of tines) and the pick-up implements (2) are designed as degressively arranged pick-up implements comprising degressively arranged tines (as seen in Fig. 1, conveyor tines 2 are angled away/bent counter to the direction of rotation R1).
Note - “a non-steered pick-up rotor” and “degressively arranged pick-up elements” have been interpreted as defined in Applicant’s specification: “In the non-steered design, the tines extend along a circular trajectory and can rotate around a fixed axis of rotation.” (page 9 last paragraph), and “Degressive means that the legs of the tines or spring tines are angled away or bent counter to the direction of rotation” (page 10 paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 10, Knüsel discloses the pick-up attachment according to claim 1, wherein the pick-up rotor (1) is joined rigidly to a machine frame.
Annotated Image of Knüsel Fig. 1
Claims 1-4, 6-7, and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Poettinger (DE 202010010038 U1).
It is noted that all citations to Poettinger (DE 202010010038 U1) are in reference to the corresponding English-translated document attached by the Examiner under NPL documents.
Regarding claim 1, Poettinger discloses a pick-up attachment (2) for a self-propelled forage harvester (note the preamble merely states the intended use of the invention. As Poettinger’s pick-up device is capable of use with a self-propelled forage harvester, it meets the claim), comprising a pick-up rotor (3) with pick-up implements (4) for picking up crops from the ground, wherein the pick-up rotor is assembled from several segments (3a, 3b, 3n) joined to one another in at least partly articulated relationship for adaptation to the contours of the ground (Fig. 3, para. [0043]).
Regarding claim 2, Poettinger discloses the pick-up attachment according to claim 1, wherein the pick-up rotor (3) is flexible over the entire working width (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 3, Poettinger discloses the pick-up attachment according to claim 1, wherein several guide elements (13) distributed over the working width are provided in order to guide the pick-up rotor (3) to and/or over the ground (Fig. 1-2, 5).
Regarding claim 4, Poettinger discloses the pick-up attachment according to claim 1, wherein the guide elements (13) are disposed underneath and/or directly behind the pick-up rotor (3) (Fig. 2) and/or within its effective working width (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 6, Poettinger discloses the pick-up attachment according to claim 1, wherein a machine frame (1a,1b,1c) of the pick-up attachment can be folded to a predetermined transport width and unfolded to a predetermined working width (para. [0053]).
Regarding claim 7, Poettinger discloses the pick-up attachment according to claim 1, wherein the pick-up attachment:
in the in the unfolded condition has a working width of 6 m (para. [0026] teaches each rotor segment 3a, 3b,…3n can have width between 0.5 and 3 meters, e.g. approx. 1 meter, six segments shown in Fig. 5 = approximately 6 meters), and
in the folded condition has a transport width that is a maximum legally permissible or 3 m (para. [0007] teaches it is desirable to provide a folding transport width to comply with the maximum permissible road width, and para. [0053] teaches outer machine units 1a, 1c are pivoted from the lowered working position shown in Fig. 5 into a raised transport position for road transport. Given the dimensions provided in para. [0026], a transport width of 3 m is readily obtained).
Regarding claims 11-12, Poettinger discloses the pick-up attachment according to claim 1, wherein the pick-up rotor of the pick-up attachment is combinable with a transverse reciprocating frame (linkage frame 14 connections to suspension points 9 and 10 extending in a transverse direction), which is disposed on the attachment side (Fig. 2), as per claim 11, wherein the pick-up rotor is in reciprocating or swinging operative communication with a machine frame (22) of the pick-up attachment via at least one swing arm (15,16,17), as per claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knüsel as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Dow (US 9386749 B1).
Regarding claim 8, Knüsel discloses the pick-up attachment according to claim 1, wherein the pick-up attachment (200) has a transport width that is equivalent to the working width (Knüsel teaches only one position which is therefore interpreted as both the working and transport position), but does not explicitly detail wherein this width is 3 m to at most 4.50 m
In the same field of endeavor, Dow discloses a similar pickup head for a forage harvester (col. 6 lines 57-58), wherein the overall width of the pickup head is 3 meters (col. 8 line 27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to design Knüsel’s pick-up attachment to comprise a similar width of 3 meters, as taught by Dow, in order to comply with the maximum legally permissible width to move safely down the highway in the United States and most European countries (Dow at col. 8 lines 27-30).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Boll (US 20210282325 A1) discloses a pivoting harvesting apparatus. Rieter (US 20150230407 A1) discloses a flexible harvested crop pick-up. Gantzer et al. (US 20140150396 A1) discloses an articulated pick-up device. Dow (US 20100037584 A1) discloses a foldable windrow merger. Der Lely discloses a foldable harvesting machine.
/JULIA C TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3671
/JOSEPH M ROCCA/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3671