DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 14-24 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 14 and 21-22, Claim 14, line 2 recites “cylindrical housing main body”. However, claim 14 (line 8), and claims 21-22 recite “the housing main body”. It is not clear if the limitation “the housing main body” refers to the “cylindrical housing main body” or a different housing main body.
Regarding claim 15, the limitation “the pressure” lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 16, the limitation “the connection” lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 27, the limitation “cooled welding electrodes” is unclear because the claim does not provide objective boundaries for determining what constitutes an “cooled” welding electrode. The claim does not specify a temperature range or any other objective criteria for determining whether a welding electrode is “cooled”. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to determine the scope of the claimed invention with reasonable certainty.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14-25, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Meintschel et al. (DE 102014018999 A1; see attached machine translation).
Regarding claim 14, Meintschel discloses an energy storage cell (para 31, “battery cell 10”), comprising: a cylindrical housing main body (para 33, “casing elements 11a, 12a and the frame 13a form a cell housing of the battery cell 10 a” ) which extends along a longitudinal axis (fig. 7-8) and forms a chamber (para 34, “electrolyte space 19”) in which electrode material (para 34,” electrode pack 18”) is arranged; and a contact element (para 38, “two contact lugs 23a, 24a”), wherein the housing main body forms a first pole (para 38, “contact lug 23 a”) of the energy storage cell and is connected electrically conductively to the electrode material via the contact element; and a pressure weld by which the contact element is connected circumferentially to the housing main body (para 38).
Regarding claim 15, Meintschel discloses the pressure weld is a resistance weld (para 38).
Regarding claim 16, Meintschel discloses connection is a spot weld (para 38).
Regarding claim 17, Meintschel discloses “layers of cathode foil 20a, anode foil 22a and separator foil 21” may be wound. This results in an electrode coil. Meintschel also discloses contact element (“contact lugs”) arranged at the end of the electrode coil (fig. 7-8). The contact element forms the end face of the cylindrical electrode; thus, the contact lug necessarily has a round shape.
Regarding claim 18, Meintschel discloses the contact element has a contact surface which bears on an inner side of the main body (see annotated fig.1 below).
Regarding claim 19, Meintschel discloses the contact surface has one or more projections and/or recesses (see annotated fig.1 below).
Regarding claim 20, Meintschel discloses the contact element has or forms a contact web which is oriented away from a base surface of the contact element, and the contact surface is formed on the contact web (see annotated fig.1 below).
Regarding claim 21, Meintschel discloses the housing main body has an indentation or groove which is oriented toward the longitudinal axis and on which the contact surface bears (see annotated fig.1 below).
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 1: Annotated Fig. 7 from Meintschel et al.)]
Regarding claim 22, Meintschel discloses the housing main body has a bottom element, which is arranged adjoining the contact element on the housing main body (see annotated fig. 1 below).
Regarding claim 23, Meintschel discloses “the enveloping elements 11a, 12a form poles of the battery cell 10a and are provided for the introduction and/or removal of electrical power” (para 33). The disclosed battery cell necessarily includes poles of opposite polarity. Accordingly, Meintschel discloses the first pole is a negative pole of the energy storage cell. Further, Meintschel discloses a second pole is formed on a cover region of the energy storage cell (fig. 3-5).
Regarding 24, Meintschel discloses energy storage cell is a lithium-ion cell (para 31).
Regarding claim 25, Meintschel discloses a method for producing an energy storage cell (para 45-48), comprising the steps of: arranging a contact element on an electrode material (para 45-46); arranging the electrode material in a cylindrical housing main body(fig. 3-5); cohesively bonding the contact element to the housing main body circumferentially by pressure welding (para 45 and 38).
Regarding claim 26, Meintschel discloses performing pressure welding, specifically resistance spot welding (para 38). The housing main body is cylindrical and the welding is performed at an end portion of the housing (fig. 3-8), the welding necessarily extends along the circumference of the main body. Further, resistance spot welding necessarily involves welding from one side or two sides of the welding location. Accordingly, Meintschel discloses performing one-sided or two-sided welding along a circumference of the housing main body.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meintschel et al. (DE 102014018999 A1; see attached machine translation) in view of Flatter (US 4788407 A).
Regarding claim 27, Meintschel discloses pressure welding to bond the contact element to the housing main body (refer to rejection of claim 25). Meintschel does not disclose using cooled welding electrodes.
Flatter discloses cooled welding electrodes were known in the art for “removing heat generated during the welding operations” (para 4). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pressure welding process taught by Meintschel to incorporate cooled welding electrodes as taught by Flatter in order to “removing heat generated during the welding operations” (para 4).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Katsumoto et al. (WO 2021065335 A1) discloses an energy storage cell (para 18, “secondary battery”; fig. 1-4), comprising: a cylindrical housing main body (para 21, "container portion 11") which extends along a longitudinal axis and forms a chamber in which electrode material (para 21, "battery element 20") is arranged; and a contact element (para 18, “"an electrode terminal 30”), wherein the housing main body forms a first pole of the energy storage cell and is connected electrically conductively to the electrode material via the contact element (para 76); and a pressure weld by which the contact element is connected circumferentially to the housing main body (para 73).
/A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1746
/CHRISTOPHER T SCHATZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746