DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Unterberg (EP 2604651 A1, hereinafter referring to the attached ESPACENET translation).
Regarding claims 1-20, Unterberg teaches a novel rubber formulation ([0001]), comprising a rubber ([0024]) and an antioxidant such as N,N’-bis-1,4,-(1,4-dimethylpentyl)-p-phenylenediamine (77PD) ([0063]). 77PD reads on the claimed “amine-based antioxidant” because it has an identical structure to the claimed “general formula (1)” wherein “R1” – “R2” are both 1,4-dimethylpentyl groups. These 1,4-dimethylpentyl groups are saturated hydrocarbon groups having 7 carbons, and they therefore also read on the substituents stipulated upon within claims 4, 8, 11, and 17. Unterberg teaches that said antioxidant is included in amounts ranging from 0.1 to 5 phr ([0063]). This range falls just outside of the claimed range of “8 to 11 parts by mass per 100 parts by mass of the rubber component.” However, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close, on the grounds that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties (see MPEP 2144.05.I.). In this case, the prior art and claimed ranges differ by as little as 3 phr of antioxidant. Therefore, prima facie, one having ordinary skill in the art would expect the claimed composition to have the same properties as the composition of Unterberg.
Unterberg further teaches the incorporation of anti-aging agents such as polymerized 2,2,4-trimethyl-1,2-dihydroquinoline (TMQ) ([0062]), in amounts ranging from 0.1 to 5 phr, which encompasses the claimed range of “1.75 to 2.5 parts by mass,” establishing a prima facie case of obviousness. This anti-aging agent likewise reads on the specifically claimed antioxidant within claims 3 and 7.
Unterberg teaches that the rubber within the formulation is preferably a styrene/butadiene rubber or a polyisoprene rubber ([0035]), which reads on list of rubbers within claim 2.
Unterberg further teaches the incorporation of waxes in amounts ranging from 1 to 50 phr ([0066]), which overlaps the claimed ranges within claims 5, 9, 12, 14, 18, and 20, establishing prima facie cases of obviousness.
Unterberg teaches the formation of a tire from the inventive composition ([0094]), and therefore meets the limitations of claims 6, 10, 13, 15, 16, and 19.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant’s Remarks, filed July 18, 2026, with respect to the rejections of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Unterberg under 35 U.S.C. 103, as described above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSHUA CALEB BLEDSOE/Examiner, Art Unit 1762
/ROBERT S JONES JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1762