Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/07/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “sized for placement within the patient” in line 2 should be amended to read –configured to be sized for placement within the patient--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “sized for placement within the patient” in line 2 should be amended to read –configured to be sized for placement within the patient--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “catheter device for insertion into a lumen” in line 2 should be amended to read –catheter device configured to for insertion into a lumen--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 and 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lampropoulos et al (US 5,458,571).
As to claims 1, 15 and 18, Lampropoulos teaches a device and method for collecting a biological sample in a patient (the device in fig.1-3, the device is more than capable to collect biological samples from body lumens, col.3, lines 25-50), the device comprising:
providing a catheter having an expandable member sized for placement within the patient (providing catheter 10 having expandable balloon inside lumen/artery, col.6, lines 1-20, fig.1-2),
the expandable member having a plurality of sizes in a plurality of states (the ballon having plurality of sizes when being deflated and being inflated with different pressures, col.6, lines 10-20, fig.1A-1C),
the expandable member designed to transition between a plurality of states including a collapsed state and a sampling state (inflated and deflated states of the balloon, as best seen in fig.1A-1B, col.6, lines 1-20);
and a tube extending from the expandable member (tube 38 of syringe 16 is extended through catheter 10 and its balloon, col.11, lines 1-10, fig.1-2);
a pressure source fluidly connected to the tube and configured to provide a pressure to the expandable member to actuate the expandable member to the plurality of sizes (syringe 16, col.10-col.11, fig.2);
a handle in fluid communication with the expandable member/catheter (handle 29 and plunger 24 of syringe 16, col.10-col.11, fig.2-3); and
an indicator configured to identify a size and status of the expandable member in response to the expandable member transitioning from one state to another/plurality of sizes (digital readout 66 having plurality of alphabetical/numerical indicators 68-72, that indicates plurality of parameters, such as, time, duration of inflation, inflation/deflation pressure, maximum inflation pressure reached, end of col.13-col.14, lines 1-20)(Examiner respectfully notes that indicating inflation and deflation pressure is an indication of collapsed and expandable/sampling state),
performing a procedure by pressurizing or depressurizing the expandable member (inflating and deflating of the balloon plurality of times, col.6, lines 10-20, fig.1);
wherein the indicator being independent from the handle (readout 66 is independent from handle 29 and plunger 24, as best seen in fig.2).
As to claim 2, Lampropoulos teaches the device, wherein the indicator is an immovable indicator (digital readout 66 having plurality of alphabetical/numerical indicators 68-72, is a digital read out and not movable, as best seen in fig.2).
As to claim 3, Lampropoulos teaches the device, wherein the indicator is a visual indicator that includes a plurality of icons, each of the plurality of icons corresponding to one of the plurality of states (digital readout 66 having plurality of visual alphabetical/numerical indicators 68-72, that indicates plurality of parameters, such as, time, duration of inflation, inflation/deflation pressure, maximum inflation pressure reached, end of col.13-col.14, lines 1-20) Examiner respectfully notes that indicating inflation and deflation pressure is an indication of collapsed and expandable/sampling state).
As to claim 4, Lampropoulos teaches the device, wherein the indicator further includes a processor configured and arranged to activate one of the plurality of icons based on a pressure within the device (processor 90 in controller 20 that controls pressure to the balloon and controls/activates the readout 66 to display specific parameters regarding the pressure in the balloon, col.13-col.14, and col.15-col.16, fig.2-4).
As to claim 5, Lampropoulos teaches the device, wherein the indicator further includes a memory to record at least one of pressure data and volumetric data during a procedure (component of controller 20 memory is updated to store the event that a note line was requested by the system user, col.13, lines 40-45, lines 54-56, col.14, lines 25-50, and memory 96 in col.15-16).
As to claim 6, Lampropoulos teaches the device, wherein the processor is configured and arranged to differentiate between inflation and deflation of the expandable member (processor 90 is programmed to differentiate between inflation and deflation of the balloon by displaying negative pressure for deflation and positive pressure of inflation, col.15-col.16, fig.1-2).
As to claim 7, Lampropoulos teaches the device, wherein the processor is configured and arranged to activate an icon associated with the sampling state only when the expandable member reaches a predetermined volumetric or pressure range as the expandable member is being deflated (processor 90 is programmed to differentiate between inflation and deflation of the balloon by displaying negative pressure for deflation and positive pressure of inflation, col.15-col.16, fig.1-2).
As to claim 8, Lampropoulos teaches the device, wherein the processor is configured to activate an icon associated with the sampling state only when the expandable member reaches a predetermined volumetric or pressure range and stays within a range for a duration of more than 3 seconds (digital processor 90 will cause the pressure display portion 72 to flash to signal the system user that the maximum positive pressure has been reached, col.16, lines 23-26, count will be output by digital processor 90 at time display portion 70, and will flash once the selected duration has been reached to signal the system user that positive inflation pressure has been applied for the desired length of time, col.16, lines 30-45, fig.2 and 4)(Examiner respectfully notes the selected duration can be more than seconds).
As to claim 9, Lampropoulos teaches the device, wherein the immovable indicator includes three icons digital (readout 66 having plurality of visual alphabetical/numerical indicators 68, 70 and 72, col.14, fig.2).
As to claim 10, Lampropoulos teaches the device, wherein the immovable indicator includes four icons (readout 66 having plurality of visual alphabetical/numerical indicators 68, 70 and 72, wherein indicator 72 displays two digital values, col.14, fig.2).
As to claim 13, Lampropoulos teaches the device, wherein the expandable member has a first volume in the sampling state (volume of balloon when deflated, as best seen in fig.1A, col.6 and col.13-14).
As to claim 14, Lampropoulos teaches the device, further including an indexing condition that corresponds to inflating the expandable member to a second volume, the second volume being greater than the first volume (volume of balloon when inflated having greater volume than deflated, as best seen in fig.1A-1B, col.6 and col.13-col.16).
As to claim 16, Lampropoulos teaches the device, the plurality of sizes includes a collapsed state, a sampling state, and an indexing state, and the expandable member having a different size and shape in each of the plurality of sizes (delated state, inflated state and state where the balloon/catheter reaches a specific location in the body lumen, col.6, and col.13-16, as best seen in fig.1-2).
As to claim 17, Lampropoulos teaches the device, wherein the indicator is an electronic visual indicator that includes a collapsed indicator, a sampling indicator, and an indexing indicator (digital readout 66 having plurality of alphabetical/numerical indicators 68-72, that indicates plurality of parameters, such as, time, duration of inflation, inflation/deflation pressure, maximum inflation pressure reached, col.6, and end of col.13-col.14, lines 1-20)(Examiner respectfully notes that indicating inflation and deflation pressure is an indication of collapsed and expandable/sampling state, and the balloon/catheter reaches a specific location in the body lumen, col.15-16, fig.1-2).
As to claim 19, Lampropoulos teaches the device, further comprising the step of differentiating between inflation and deflation of the expandable member (processor 90 is programmed to differentiate between inflation and deflation of the balloon by displaying negative pressure for deflation and positive pressure of inflation, col.15-col.16, fig.1-2), and activating an icon associated with the sampling state only when the expandable member reaches a predetermined volumetric or pressure range as the expandable member is being deflated (processor 90 in controller 20 that controls pressure to the balloon and controls/activates the readout 66 to display specific parameters regarding the pressure in the balloon, col.13-col.14, wherein display 72 flashes when inflation of the balloon reaches a selected pressure for a selected time, col.15-col.16, fig.2-4).
As to claim 20, Lampropoulos teaches the device, further comprising the step of recording at least one of volumetric data or pressure data during the procedure (in step 234, fig.6d, the programmed processor determine whether the inflation pressure reached any selected maximum positive pressure for inflation, if the user selected maximum inflation pressure is reached the program moves to step 238 and causes pressure display portion 72 on control panel 64 to begin flashing so as to signal the system user that the selected maximum inflation pressure has been reached, col.21, lines 45-58).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Lampropoulos et al (US 5,458,571).
As to claim 11, Lampropoulos teaches the invention substantially as above, wherein the immovable indicator includes a plurality of icons (readout indicators 66, fig.2), but failed to explicitly teach a plurality of icons arranged in a circle.
However, at the time the invention was made, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to arrange indicators 66 taught by Lampropoulos’s invention in a circle because the Applicant has not disclosed that the circle arrangement provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected the device of Lampropouloss inventiom and the Applicant’s invention, to perform equally well with either the indicators arrangement taught by Lampropoulos or the claimed circle arrangement because both devices would perform the same function of indicating/displaying the inflation/deflation pressure values.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to modify Lampropoulos’s invention to obtain the invention as specified in Claim 11because such a modification would have been considered a mere design consideration which fails to patentably distinguish over the prior art of Lampropoulos’s invention In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Lampropoulos et al (US 5,458,571), in view of Phung et al (US 2016/0128830).
As to claim 12, Lampropoulos teaches the invention substantially as above having a visual indicator, but failed to explicitly teach further comprising an audible indicator corresponding to the immovable indicator.
However, Phung discloses an analogous catheter device, wherein the device further comprising an audible indicator corresponding to the immovable indicator (audible indicators to prevent premature balloon catheter deployment, par.117).
As audible indicators are well-known in catheter art, so it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include an audible indicator in Lampropoulos’a invention, as taught by Phung’s invention, along with the digital indicator to monitor the pressure of the catheter’s balloon while being inflated, and to prevent premature balloon catheter deployment/balloon inflation, as taught by Phung’s invention (par.117).
Conclusion
/MAY A ABOUELELA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791