DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation located in claim 1 are: heat transfer device, conveying device, and energy unit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The term, control unit, does not have any structural features enumerated in the written disclosure of the invention.
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The term, control unit, does not have any structural features enumerated in the written disclosure of the invention and so the Office unsure as to exactly what it is.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Figure 1 is defined as two separate figures in the description of the drawings when only one figure was submitted.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the Fan of claim 5 must be shown or the feature canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Consadori et al. (US 2019/0212033).
Regarding claim 1, Consadori (C) discloses a device for heating room air and a liquid (100, Abstract, Figure 7), comprising: an air inlet (107,109), an air outlet (345), a liquid inlet (106), a liquid outlet (108), an energy unit (275), a heat transfer device (250), a medium container (200, radiator), a medium line (138), a conveying device (170, i.e., pump) and a control unit (350), wherein room air to be heated enters the device via the air inlet (107,109), wherein heated room air exits the device via the air outlet (345), wherein liquid to be heated enters the device via the liquid inlet (106), wherein heated liquid exits the device via the liquid outlet (108), wherein the energy unit produces thermal energy ([0208]), wherein the heat transfer device (250) transfers the thermal energy produced by the energy unit to the room air and/or the liquid, wherein the medium container serves to receive liquid and air (radiators contain both), wherein the medium line serves to conduct liquid and air (contents of the radiator), wherein the heat transfer device and the medium line are configured and arranged relative to each other such that the heat transfer device transfers thermal energy to the liquid present in the medium line, wherein the conveying device serves to move liquid and/or air from the medium container to the medium line ([0210,0242]), and from the medium line to the medium container, wherein the control unit controls the conveying device ([0242]), and wherein in case the device is intended to heat only room air in an air mode, the control unit, in a preparation step, controls the conveying device such that the conveying device moves air from an air cushion in the medium container through the medium line ([0210-0211]). As a clarification, because the radiator’s contents comprise air and water any mode of heating will have some air entrapped therewithin and thus pumped through the heating system, regardless of the name of the step.
Regarding claim 3, Consadori (C) discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein in the preparation step, the conveying device removes air from the air cushion and supplies it back to the medium container after the passage through the medium line ([0210-0211]). As a clarification, because the radiator’s contents comprise air and water any mode of heating will have some air entrapped therewithin and thus pumped through the heating system, regardless of the name of the step.
Regarding claim 4, Consadori (C) discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein in case the device is intended to heat either only liquid or liquid and room air, the control unit (350, [0210]) controls the conveying device such that liquid flows from the medium container to the medium line, and from the medium line to the medium container ([0209, 0211], i.e., loop).
Regarding claim 5, Consadori (C) discloses the device according to claim 1, further comprising a fan (325) for conveying the room air from the air inlet to the air outlet ([0307-0308]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Consadori et al. (US 2019/02112033) and Wickelmaier et al. (US 2015/0013781).
Regarding claim 2, Consadori (C) discloses the device according to claim 1, but not that the medium container, the conveying device, and the medium line are configured and adapted to each other such that an amount of air in the medium container, the conveying device, and the medium line remains substantially constant.
However, Wickelmaier (W) discloses a pressure compensating device (Abstract, Figure 1) that when installed in the medium line would ensure that the medium container, the conveying device, and the medium line are configured and adapted to each other such that an amount of air in the medium container, the conveying device, and the medium line remains substantially constant ([0069-0071]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application to modify the hydro furnace of Consadori by installing a pressure compensation device to stabilize the temperature and pressure of the medium to create a stable temperature profile of the medium to prevent scalding of the users.
Conclusion
/JOHN E BARGERO/Examiner, Art Unit 3762
/HELENA KOSANOVIC/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762