DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 01/22/2024. These drawings are approved.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-7 are as originally filed.
Claim Interpretation
The claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function.
The term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that.”
The term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are as follows:
Claim
Means for or Step for
Functional Language
Structure or Material
Disclosure Support
1
n/a
“mixing equipment that mixes”
“a non-lithium alkali metal salt into the cathode active material”
[0039]
1
n/a
“roaster that roasts”
“a mixture”
[0025]
1
n/a
“mixing equipment kneads”
“the alkali metal salt into the cathode active material while grinding”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 6, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “kneads” in at Claim 1 has an English definition which broadly reads on working and pressing into a mass with synonyms that include sculpting and forming (see “Merriam Webster”). The specification does not recite any formation or pressure to the cathode active material and alkali metal salt. Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term “kneads” in claim 1 is used by the claim to mean mixing into the active material while avoiding agglomeration of the alkali metal salt (based on the specification in at least [0048]) while the accepted meaning is “to form.” The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term.
The term “kneading” in at Claim 5 has an English definition which broadly reads on working and pressing into a mass with synonyms that include sculpting and forming (see “Merriam Webster”). The specification does not recite any formation or pressure to the cathode active material and alkali metal salt. Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term “kneading” in claim 5 is used by the claim to mean mixing into the active material while avoiding agglomeration of the alkali metal salt (based on the specification in at least [0048]) while the accepted meaning is “to form.” The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term.
Claims dependent on any of the rejected claims are likewise rejected under this statute.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by RU 2 685 290 C1, based on the machine translation.
Claim 1 is drawn to a system or apparatus. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. Additionally, the manner of operating the device does not differentiate apparatus claims from the prior art. See MPEP § 2114. In this case, Claim 1 is drawn to the following:
mixing equipment capable of kneading two solids while grinding one of the solids
mixing equipment capable of mixing the two solids to form a mixture
a roaster capable of roasting the mixture
The preamble states that the mixture is immersed in water, but the body of the claim does not recite any structural limitations for immersing. If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states the intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is no significance to claim construction. See MPEP § 2111.02. The limitations of processing a waste lithium-ion battery whose cathode active materials that contain phosphorus and an alkali metal salt refer to intended use of the system. Language in the claim that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed or does not limit a claim to a particular structure does not limit the scope of a claim or claim limitation, for example statements of intended use or field of use. See MPEP § 2106.
RU 2 685 290 C1 (RU ‘290) teaches crushing petroleum coke to particles in the presence of sodium chloride, sodium carbonate, and manganese dioxide and granulating in the presence of ammonium nitrate solution, oxidative firing including calcination, and leaching with water and sulfuric acid (abstract). The crushing and granulating reads on the broadest teaching of being capable of kneading since no kneading apparatus is recited. RU ‘290 teaches mixing equipment capable of kneading while grinding and mixing as claimed and roaster for “oxidative roasting” (page 3). RU ‘290 anticipates the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 4, RU ‘290 teaches a grinding machine as a granulator (page 4).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 112768753 A, based on the machine translation.
Claim 1 is drawn to a system or apparatus. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. Additionally, the manner of operating the device does not differentiate apparatus claims from the prior art. See MPEP § 2114. In this case, Claim 1 is drawn to the following:
mixing equipment capable of kneading two solids while grinding one of the solids
mixing equipment capable of mixing the two solids to form a mixture
a roaster capable of roasting the mixture
The preamble states that the mixture is immersed in water, but the body of the claim does not recite any structural limitations for immersing. If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states the intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is no significance to claim construction. See MPEP § 2111.02. The limitations of processing a waste lithium-ion battery whose cathode active materials that contain phosphorus and an alkali metal salt refer to intended use of the system. Language in the claim that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed or does not limit a claim to a particular structure does not limit the scope of a claim or claim limitation, for example statements of intended use or field of use. See MPEP § 2106.
CN 112768753 A (CN ‘753) teaches obtaining a crystallized mixed material, adding alkali metal halide into the mixed material, uniformly grinding in an atmosphere of a protective gas such as nitrogen, and roasting (page 2). The mixing and grinding reads on the broadest teaching of being capable of kneading since no kneading apparatus is recited and the atmosphere has no moisture because of the protective gas. CN’ 753 teaches mixing equipment capable of kneading while grinding and mixing as claimed and a roaster. CN ‘753 anticipates the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 4, CN ‘753 teaches a grinder (page 2).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN ‘753.
CN ‘753 teaches obtaining a crystallized mixed material, adding alkali metal halide into the mixed material, uniformly grinding in an atmosphere of a protective gas such as nitrogen, and roasting (page 2). The mixing and grinding reads on the broadest teaching of being capable of kneading since no kneading apparatus is recited and the atmosphere has no moisture because of the protective gas. CN’ 753 teaches mixing equipment capable of kneading while grinding and mixing as claimed and a roaster. Regarding the limitation of “immersing the roasted product in water …” if the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states the intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is no significance to claim construction. See MPEP § 2111.02. CN ‘753 anticipates the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN ‘753 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of SU 1266657 A1, based on the machine translation.
CN ‘753 discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, CN ‘753 does not teach the mixer has a receiving container that moves in a different direction than the mixer as claimed.
SU 1266657 A1 (SU ‘657) teaches an installation for mechanical grinding powder wherein the drum of the installation rotates in the opposite direction of the paddle stirrer (abstract). The drum of the installation reads on the receiving the container and the paddle stirrer reads on the mixer. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the installation of SU ‘657 as the mixer in CN ‘753, since SU ‘657 teaches faster grinding and activation of the materials being processed (abstract).
Regarding Claim 6, CN ‘753 teaches a grinder (page 2).
Claims 3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN ‘753 in view of SU ‘657 as applied to claims 1 and 2 above.
CN ‘753 in view of SU ‘657 discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, CN ‘753 in view of SU ‘657 does not specifically recite a first feeder and a second feeder as in Claim 3. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the source of crystallized mixture and alkali metal halide would come from two different feeders, since the crystallized mixture is formed from a prior step S1 (page 2). The limitation of “configured … are fed into the receiving container concurrently” is an intended use of the claimed system.
Regarding Claim 7, CN ‘753 teaches a grinder (page 2).
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 8-14 of copending Application No. 18/291,045 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the preamble of the reference application is different than that of the instant invention. However, one carrying out the system in accord with the reference application claims would in fact carry out the system fully within the scope of the instant claims. Thus, no patentable distinction is seen between the system as presently claimed and the system as defined in the claims of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 5 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7of copending Application No. 18/291,045 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the preamble of the reference application is different than that of the instant invention. However, one carrying out the method in accord with the reference application claims would in fact carry out the method fully within the scope of the instant claims. Thus, no patentable distinction is seen between the method as presently claimed and the method as defined in the claims of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. CN 110323509 A (CN ‘509) teaches recovering valuable elements from lithium-ion battery cathode materials by mixing crushed cathode with an alkaline salt and roasting [0012-0016]. The roasted produced is mixed with water [0024]. The alkaline salt includes sodium hydroxide, sodium oxide, sodium peroxide, sodium carbonate, sodium bicarbonate, potassium hydroxide, potassium oxide, potassium peroxide, potassium carbonate, and potassium bicarbonate [0032]. The mixture is uniform [0051]. CN 111392750 A (CN ‘750) teaches removing and recycling lithium from waste lithium-ion batteries. Crushed waste lithium-ion battery cell is mixed with solid sodium hydroxide and solid oxidant, roasted, and leached in water (abstract). CN 110323509 A (CN ‘509) teaches recovering valuable elements from lithium-ion battery cathode materials by mixing crushed cathode with an alkaline salt and roasting [0012-0016]. The roasted produced is mixed with water [0024]. The alkaline salt includes sodium hydroxide, sodium oxide, sodium peroxide, sodium carbonate, sodium bicarbonate, potassium hydroxide, potassium oxide, potassium peroxide, potassium carbonate, and potassium bicarbonate [0032]. The mixture is uniform [0051].
Tima M. McGuthry-Banks
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1733
/Tima M. McGuthry-Banks/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733