DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Below is the Final Action on the Merits for claims 9, 13 – 14, 16 and 18 – 19. Claims 1 – 8, 11 – 12, 15 and 17 are cancelled.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 and 13 – 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Somerville (US patent 1,568,298) in view of Kilker (US Patent No. 5,889,341).
The publication to Somerville discloses the invention as is claimed. Somerville discloses an assembly (fig. 1) for cleaning an optically translucent cover (2). The assembly comprising a wiper blade (19, fig. 3) for linear guiding over the optically translucent cover for cleaning such. Mounted linkages (13, fig. 1) are connected to the wiper blade via frame (17). The wiper blade is movable between a first position (shown fig. 1) at an upper region of the cover (2) and a second position at a lower region of the cover (2). See page 2, lines 1-6, describing movement of the blade to the second position. An electromagnetic drive in the form of electric solenoids (8, 9, 11, 12) are coupled to the mounted linkages. The solenoids include coils, in known fashion, which appear shown in figure 1 to move the mounted linkages; note frame (17, fig. 3) connecting the wiper blade (19) to the mounted linkage; Somerville discloses an electromagnetic drive (9) and a further electromagnetic drive (12), where each move the mounted linkage in opposite directions; said further electromagnetic drive (12) having a further coil through which the current flows and uses the supplied current to build up a further magnetic field (An electromagnetic drive in the form of electric solenoids (8, 9, 11, 12) are coupled to the mounted linkages. The solenoids include coils, in known fashion, which appear shown in figure 1 to move the mounted linkages), said further electromagnetic drive (12) having a further drive element, which is connected to said mounted linkage such that said further drive element moves said mounted linkage linearly (See page 2, lines 1-6, describing movement of the blade to the second position), the further magnetic field of said further coil that is building up is coupled to said further drive element such that a force acting on said further drive element is formed on a basis of the coupling and is transmitted to said wiper blade (19) by way of said mounted linkage in order to bring said wiper blade (19) from the second position into the first position in a further linear movement (See page 2, lines 1-6, describing movement of the blade to the second position).
With respect to claim 9, note that the claim is directed to an assembly for cleaning. The particular structure the assembly is to clean “an optically translucent cover” with a camera thereunder does not impart any particular structure to the assembly, at least none that differentiates from Somerville. Such at best relates to the intended use of the device. The assembly of Somerville could be used in such a manner if so desired
The publication to Somerville discloses all of the above recited subject matter with the exception of a drive element in the form of a permanent magnet provided on the mounted linkages, where a magnetic field of the coils of the solenoid acts with force on such drive element to move the linkage and thus the wiper blade between positions.
The publication to Kilker discloses a mounted linkage (13) includes a drive element (14) thereon in the form of a permanent magnet (Col. 6, lines 4 – 9) received within the coils (Col. 6, lines 4 – 9).
It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to provide the mounted linkage of Somerville with a drive element thereon, in the form of a permanent magnet, as clearly suggested by Kilker, to enhance/improve the force transmission from the coil to the linkage.
Regarding Claim 13, Somerville teaches a liquid cleaning agent being applied to said wiper blade and/or the optically translucent cover to improve a cleaning effect (Page 1, line 101 – page 2, line 19)
Regarding Claim 14, Somerville teaches the camera has a lighting cover (instant application teaches the translucent cover and the lighting cover as continuous – this the cover 2 is continuous with a lighting cover); and the assembly is configured to also clean an upper side of the lighting cover by a movement of said wiper blade (19) in addition to cleaning the optically translucent cover lighting disposed under said lighting cover and disposed in a vicinity of the camera (Fig. 2), said lighting cover is positioned such that an upper side of said lighting cover (2) likewise cleaned by a movement of said wiper-blade (19).
Somerville does not explicitly teach lighting disposed under the lighting cover, however, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of Sommerville to teach lighting disposed under the lighting cover, as claimed, since it has been held that omission of an element and its function in a combination where the remaining elements perform the same functions as before involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Claims 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Somerville (US patent 1,568,298) in view of Kilker (US Patent No. 5,889,341), as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Wallace et al (US patent 3,644,932).
The publications to Somerville and Ulbing disclose all of the above recited subject matter with the exception of the coil being part of a ferromagnetic core.
The publication to Wallace discloses solenoid construction (fig. 1) where the coil (1) is part of a ferromagnetic core (2, col. 1, lines 61-65). Such act to move the drive element/plunger (3) disposed therein.
It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to provide the core of the solenoid of the modified Somerville assembly as ferromagnetic, as clearly suggested by Wallace, to enhance/increase the force transference to the drive element therein. Wallace clearly contemplates ferromagnetic material for the core that supports the coil. Merely making the core of Somerville that surrounds the coil of such material appears entirely obvious. Making coil cores of ferromagnetic material is well-established, as suggested by Wallace.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Somerville (US patent 1,568,298) in view of Kilker (US Patent No. 5,889,341) and Rousseau (US Patent Publication No. 2017/0369039 A1).
Regarding Independent Claim 19, Somerville teaches a system comprising: an optically translucent cover (2); a lighting cover (2 - translucent cover and lighting cover are continuous as in instant application); an assembly for cleaning said optically translucent cover ( (Fig. 2)r, said assembly including: a wiper blade (19) for guiding over said optically translucent cover (2) for cleaning said optically translucent cover and for guiding over said lighting cover for cleaning an upper side of said lighting cover (2); a mounted linkage linkages (13, fig. 1) connected to said wiper blade (19), via said mounted linkage (13) said wiper blade (19) being moved over the optically translucent cover and said lighting cover (2) between a first position and a second position (See page 2, lines 1-6, describing movement of the blade to the second position); an electromagnetic drive (8, 9, 11, 12) coupled to said mounted linkage (13), said electromagnetic drive having a coil through which current flows and said coil using a supplied current to build up a magnetic field (An electromagnetic drive in the form of electric solenoids (8, 9, 11, 12) are coupled to the mounted linkages. The solenoids include coils, in known fashion, which appear shown in figure 1 to move the mounted linkages), said electromagnetic drive (9) further having a drive element (12), being connected to said mounted linkage (13) such that said drive element moves said mounted linkage linearly (Fig. 1), an electromagnetic drive (9) and a further electromagnetic drive (12), where each move the mounted linkage in opposite directions; said further electromagnetic drive (12) having a further coil through which the current flows and uses the supplied current to build up a further magnetic field (An electromagnetic drive in the form of electric solenoids (8, 9, 11, 12) are coupled to the mounted linkages. The solenoids include coils, in known fashion, which appear shown in figure 1 to move the mounted linkages) said further electromagnetic drive (12) having a further drive element, which is connected to said mounted linkage such that said further drive element moves said mounted linkage linearly (See page 2, lines 1-6, describing movement of the blade to the second position), the further magnetic field of said further coil that is building up is coupled to said further drive element such that a force acting on said further drive element is formed on a basis of the coupling and is transmitted to said wiper blade (19) by way of said mounted linkage in order to bring said wiper blade (19) from the second position into the first position in a further linear movement (See page 2, lines 1-6, describing movement of the blade to the second position).
The publication to Somerville discloses all of the above recited subject matter with the exception of a drive element in the form of a permanent magnet provided on the mounted linkages, where a magnetic field of the coils of the solenoid acts with force on such drive element to move the linkage and thus the wiper blade between positions and a camera system, a camera disposed under said optically translucent cover so as to be protected from environmental influences; lighting disposed under said lighting cover.
The publication to Kilker discloses a mounted linkage (13) includes a drive element (14) thereon in the form of a permanent magnet (Col. 6, lines 4 – 9) received within the coils (Col. 6, lines 4 – 9).
It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to provide the mounted linkage of Somerville with a drive element thereon, in the form of a permanent magnet, as clearly suggested by Kilker, to enhance/improve the force transmission from the coil to the linkage.
Lastly, Rousseau teaches a camera (Paragraph [0041]) disposed under said optically translucent cover (7) so as to be protected from environmental influences; lighting disposed under said lighting cover (7, lighting from camera).
It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of Somerville to further include a camera, as taught by Rousseau, since it has been held that omission of an element and its function in a combination where the remaining elements
perform the same functions as before involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicants Arguments/Remarks dated February 04, 2025 with respect to the rejection of claims 9 – 18 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Kilker.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/KATINA N. HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723