DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary amendment filed 1/22/2024 is made of record. Claims 1-13 and 15 are amended; and claim 14 is cancelled. Accordingly, claims 1-13 and 15 are currently pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Banno et al (WO 2019/093204 A1).
It is noted that WO 2019/093204 A1 (WO) is being utilized for date purposes. However, since WO is not in English, EP equivalent for WO, namely, Banno et al (EP 3 708 635 A1) is referred to in the body of the rejection below. All column and line citations are to the US equivalent.
Regarding claim 1, Banno et al disclose flame retardant resin composition (title) which reads on flame retardant composition in present claim 1. See example 2, wherein the composition comprises 70 pars by weight of polypropylene resin (i.e., reads on polypropylene polymer and its amount in present claim 1), 12 parts by weight of melamine pyrophosphate, 18 parts by weight of piperazine pyrophosphate (for a total of 30 parts by weight - i.e., read on nitrogen-containing flame retardant and its amount in present claim 1), and 1 part by weight of hydrous magnesium silicate (Table 1, paragraph 0092) which reads on the synergist comprising Mg in present claim 1. When the component (C) (i.e., hydrous magnesium silicate) is not present in comparative examples, it exhibited insufficient flame retardancy (paragraph 0093).
Regarding claim 2, see example 2, wherein the composition comprises hydrous magnesium silicate (Table 1, paragraph 0092). It is noted that hydrous magnesium silicate is Sepiolite.
Regarding claims 3-5, see example 2, wherein the flame retardant composition comprises 12 parts by weight of melamine pyrophosphate, 18 parts by weight of piperazine pyrophosphate (Table 1 and paragraph 0092) which reads on nitrogen containing flame retardant comprises first nitrogen-containing phosphate (FR1) and second nitrogen-containing phosphate (FR-2) in present claim 3, a ratio of FR1 and FR2 is 40:60 in present claim 4; FR1 is melamine polyphosphate in present claim 5 and FR2 is piperazine pyrophosphate in present claim 5.
Regarding claim 6, see example 2, wherein the composition does not include ammonium polyphosphate (i.e., reads on flame retardant composition is free of ammonium polyphosphate in present claim 6).
Regarding claim 7, . see example 2, wherein the composition comprises 70 parts by weight of polypropylene resin, 12 parts by weight of melamine pyrophosphate, 18 parts by weight of piperazine pyrophosphate, and 1 part by weight of hydrous magnesium silicate (i.e., reads on overall amount of polypropylene, nitrogen-containing flame retardant and flame retardant synergist together make-up more than 90 wt% of the flame retardant polypropylene composition in present claim 7).
Regarding claim 13, see example 2, wherein the composition is free of halogens (Table 1 and paragraph 0092).
Regarding claim 15, Banno et al teach that by molding the flame retardant resin composition, a molded article with excellent flame retardancy can be obtained (paragraph 0082).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banno et al (WO 2019/093204 A1) in view of Aarnio-Winterhof et al (US 2019/0177520 A1 - hereafter Winterhof et al).
The discussion with respect to Banno et al in paragraph 5 above is incorporated here by reference. Additionally, Banno et al teach that out of the various types of resins, form the view point of imparting excellent flame retardancy, it is preferable to use a polyolefin-based resin such as polypropylene random copolymer, and polypropylene impact copolymer (paragraph 0077).
Banno et al are silent with respect to the polypropylene species of present claims.
However, Winterhof et al teaches polymer composition with flame retardant activity (abstract). Preferably the polymer of propylene is a copolymer of propylene (paragraph 0050). The total comonomer content is 0.5 to 20 wt% and is preferably selected from ethylene and/or C4-C8 α-olefin comonomers (paragraph 0066) which reads on present claim 8. Preferably, the PP polymer is a heterophasic copolymer of PP which comprises polypropylene matrix component and an elastomeric propylene copolymer component which is dispersed in said polypropylene matrix (paragraphs 0050-0051). The elastomeric copolymer comprises propylene and one or more of ethylene and/or C4-C8 α-olefin comonomers (paragraph 0062) which reads on present claim 9. The heterophasic copolymer of polypropylene has a xylene cold soluble (XCS) fraction of 5 to 25 wt% (paragraph 0073) which reads on present claim 10. The polypropylene composition has an MFR of 1 to 25.0 g/10 min when measured according to ISO 1133 (at 230 0C with 2.16 kg load) (paragraph 0108) which reads on present claim 12. Therefore, in light of the teachings in WInterhof et al and given that Banno contemplates preferably using a polypropylene resin in its composition, it would have been obvious to one skilled in art prior to the filing of present application to include any of the polypropylenes, of Winterhof et al, in the flame retardant composition, of Banno et al, absent evidence to the contrary.
Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banno et al (WO 2019/093204 A1) in view of Tranninger et al (EP 2 738 214 A1).
The discussion with respect to Banno et al in paragraph 5 above is incorporated here by reference. Additionally, Banno et al teach that out of the various types of resins, form the view point of imparting excellent flame retardancy, it is preferable to use a polyolefin-based resin such as polypropylene random copolymer, and polypropylene impact copolymer (paragraph 0077).
Banno et al are silent with respect to the polypropylene species of present claims.
However, Tranninger et al teach tiger modifier being a heterophasic polypropylene composition comprising a propylene homopolymer and elastomeric propylene copolymer (abstract). The polymer reduces flow marks in injection molded systems (paragraph 0003). The heterophasic polypropylene (i.e., reads on heterophasic propylene copolymer in present claim 9) composition comprises a matrix being a propylene homopolymer (i.e., reads on matrix being a polymer of propylene in present claim 9) and dispersed therein the elastomeric propylene copolymer (paragraph 0017). The elastomeric propylene copolymer comprises monomers copolymerizable with propylene, in particular ethylene and/or C4-C10 α-olefins (paragraph 0027) which reads on elastomer in present claim 9 The xylene cold soluble fraction (XCS) of the heterophasic is preferably in the range of 11.0 to 35.0 wt% (paragraph 0026) which reads on XCS in present claim 10. The comonomer content of XCS fraction of the heterophasic polypropylene composition is in the range of 20.0 to 60.0 wt% (paragraph 0013) which reads on the comonomer content in present claim 11. See examples (page 20, Table 3a) wherein the compositions have MFR in the range of 8.3 to 13.0 g/mol (i.e., reads on MFR of the polypropylene composition in present claim 12). Therefore, in light of the teachings in Tranninger et al and given that Banno et al teach that its flame retardant composition is best used with resins such as polypropylene, it would have been obvious to one skilled in art prior to the filing of present application to include the heterophasic polypropylene composition, of Tranninger et al, in the flame retardant resin composition, of Banno et al, for above mentioned advantages.
Conclusion
/KARUNA P REDDY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764