This Office Action is in response to communications filed on 1/22/2024
Claims 1-8, 10-21 are pending and presented for examination.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 202110859608.X, filed on 7/28/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 1/22/2024, 12/4/2024 & 1/16/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, these information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-4, 7, 10, 11, 15, 18 & 19 objected to because of the following informalities: these claims recite limitations using the terms “punctured” or “punched” interchangeably to have the same meaning. For clarity, one term should be selected and used throughout the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1-4, 7, 10, 11, 15, 18 & 19 use the terms “punctured” or “punched” interchangeably to have the same meaning. For the purpose of this review, examiner is interpreting “punctured” as having the same meaning as “punched”.
Several of the claims in the present application recite Markush groups in the format of “at least one of A, B or C” (see MPEP §2117). For the purpose of this review, the examiner is interpreting these Markush claims as a single element selection from a closed group of elements consisting of alternatives A, B or C.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-8, 10, 11, 15, 17-19 & 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jung et al. (US 20190364563)(herein after “Jung”).
Regarding claims 1, 10 & 11, Jung discloses
a data processing method ([0001] discloses a method for transmitting and receiving information to provide a plurality of services.); or
an electronic device (Fig 14 & [0178] discloses a UE), comprising:
at least one processor (Fig 14, [0179] & [0182] disclose the UE may include a controller 1430 that may include at least one processor); and
a memory communicably connected to the at least one processor, wherein: the memory stores an instruction executable by the at least one processor which, when executed by the at least one processor, causes the at least one processor to carry out a data processing method ([0031] disclose memory storing computer program instructions that can be executed via a processor of the computer to perform functions specified in flowchart blocks discloses in the invention (e.g. the processor in controller 1430 of Fig 14 may execute instructions stored in a memory that cause the processor to perform methods as disclosed by flowcharts such as in fig 9).); or
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing a computer program which, when executed by a processor, causes the processor to carry out a data processing method ([0033] discloses a storage medium, that may store “units” such as an FPGA or ASIC (i.e. a non-transitory computer -readable storage medium) that include program code and can reproduce CPUs 9i.e. processors) that may execute the program code (e.g. to carry out flowchart blocks such as in fig 9 as discussed in the previous paragraph above).);
wherein the method is, or wherein the memory storing instructions executable by the at least one processor or the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program, which when executed by the at least one processor, causes the at least one processor to carry out a data processing method, comprising;
acquiring, in response to detecting that received target data is punctured, feature information representing a decoding difficulty of the target data (Fig 9 & (0120]-[0122] disclose a UE, receiving data about an eMBB service (i.e. target data) and identification information (i.e. feature information) about resource allocation for a URLLC service. Fig 7 & [0085]-[0087] disclose that the identification information about resource allocation for a URLLC may be pre-indicated (referenced by number 750 in fig 7) by downlink control channel 712 and may indicate puncturing applies to a resource, such as allocating resource region 714 within symbols 1-4 of slot n through puncturing the eMBB service in resource region 714. Fig 7 & [0085]-[0087] and Fig 9 & [0124] disclose that the UE, in response to receiving the identification information with pre-indication 750 and detecting that eMBB data is punctured in resource region 714, acquires at least one piece of information indicating a high possibility of failure in decoding CBs within a buffered TB (i.e. acquires a decoding difficulty of the target data);
determining according to the feature information representing the decoding difficulty whether to decode the target data (Fig 9 & [0124] discloses the UE may decode CBs in the buffered TB, or determine to not perform decoding based on the at least one piece of information indicating a high possibility of failure to decode CBs in the buffered TB.); and
decoding the target data and sending information indicating whether the decoding is successful to a transmit end of the target data, in response to determining to decode the target data (Fig 8 & [0107] and Fig 9 & [0124] & [0126] disclose that the UE may determine to decode the CBs (i.e. the target data) in the buffered TB and may transmit a HARQ ACK/NACK to a base station.).
Regarding claim 2, Jung discloses wherein the feature information representing the decoding difficulty comprises at least one of: a proportion of the target data being punched (Fig 9 & [0124] discloses that the identification information may contain at least one piece of information indicating a high possibility of failure to decode CBs, and specifically the one piece of information may be that a large portion of eMBB resources (i.e. target data) are punctured for URLCC service.), a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) of the target data (Fig 3 & [0064] and [0040]-[0043] disclose that a DCI, as part of downlink control channel transmission, may contain MCS for data transmission in a TB.), a received signal strength of the target data (optional), or a received signal-to-noise ratio of the target data (optional).
Regarding claims 4, 15 & 19, Jung discloses wherein the feature information representing the decoding difficulty comprises the proportion of the target data being punched (Fig 9 & [0124] discloses that the identification information may contain at least one piece of information indicating a high possibility of failure to decode CBs, and specifically the one piece of information may be that a large portion of eMBB resources (i.e. target data) are punctured for URLCC service.), and acquiring the proportion of the target data being punched comprises:
acquiring a total quantity of time-frequency resource elements (REs) occupied by the target data from received physical resource occupation information of the target data (Fig 7 & [0083]-[0085] disclose a UE receiving downlink control channel information (i.e. identification information) transmitted by a base station indicating an eMBB service region 716 consisting of symbols 1-4 of slot n. Fig 1 & [0036] discloses that the eMBB service region 716 may be part of a physical resource block (PRB) spanning 12 subcarriers, and that a resource element (RE) consists of one symbol over one subcarrier. Thus disclosed is a UE being provided identification information (i.e. received physical resource occupation information) through downlink control channel information to determine (i.e. acquire) an eMBB service region 716 consisting of a total quantity of 4 symbols x 12 subcarriers = 48 REs.);
acquiring a quantity of REs occupied by a punched portion of the target data from received resource occupation information of the punched portion of the target data (Fig 7 & [0083]-[0085] disclose a UE receiving downlink control channel information (i.e. identification information) transmitted by a base station indicating a URLLC service region 714. Fig 7 & [0086] discloses that a region 714 for transmitting information for providing a URLLC service may be allocated in symbols 1 to 4 of slot n. [0078] discloses that the URLLC service region may include a portion of one symbol. A broadest reasonable interpretation of fig 7 is that the shown URLLC region 714 spans a portion comprising 4 of the 12 subcarriers over 2 symbols. Thus discloses is a UE being provided identification information (i.e. received physical resource occupation information) through downlink control channel information to determine (i.e. acquire) a URLLC service region 714 consisting of a quantity of 2 symbols x 4 subcarriers = 8 REs.); and
calculating the proportion of the target data being punched according to the quantity of REs occupied by the punched portion of the target data and the total quantity of REs occupied by the target data (Fig 9 & [0124] discloses a UE not performing decoding when a large proportion of resources is punctured for providing URLLC service. A broadest reasonable interpretation is that the UE calculates the proportion of resources being punctured for URLLC service to be based the quantity of REs occupied by the URLLC service region 714 (i.e. the punctured portion of the eMBB service region 716) being 8 REs, and the total quantity of REs occupied by the eMBB service region 716 being 48 REs, providing a proportion of 8/48 or 1/6.).
Regarding claims 6, 17 & 21, Jung discloses wherein decoding the target data and sending information indicating whether the decoding is successful to a transmit end of the target data comprises:
decoding the target data, and in response to the decoding being unsuccessful, sending information indicating that the decoding is unsuccessful to the transmit end of the target data (Fig 8 & [0109] and Fig 9 & [0124] & [0126] disclose that the UE may determine to decode the CBs (i.e. the target data) in the buffered TB and in response to at least one CB of the buffered TB failing to decode, may transmit information to a base station indicating CBs that have failed to be decoded.); and
after decoding the target data, and in response to the decoding being unsuccessful, sending information indicating that the decoding is unsuccessful to the transmit end of the target data, the method further comprises: receiving, from the transmit end of the target data, check information obtained based on an adaptive retransmission algorithm, wherein the check information is sent by the transmit end of the target data after receiving the information indicating that the decoding is unsuccessful (Fig 8 & [0109] discloses that after receiving the transmission from the UE indicating which CBs have failed to decode, the base station may perform retransmission (i.e. retransmit check information based on an adaptive retransmission algorithm) which is received by the UE in step 810.); and
re-decoding the target data according to the check information and sending information indicating whether the re-decoding is successful to the transmit end of the target data (Fig 11 & [0150] disclose that the UE may perform decoding based on retransmitted data and transmit ACK/NACK according to the decoding result.).
Regarding claims 7 & 18, Jung discloses wherein detecting that received target data is punctured comprises: receiving resource occupation information of the punched portion of the target data in a process of receiving the target data, wherein the resource occupation information of the punched portion of the target data is generated by the transmit end of the target data before punching the target data, and sent to a receive end of the target data (Fig 7 and [0082] & [0085]-[0087] disclose that the identification information about resource allocation for a URLLC service (i.e. resource occupation information) may be pre-indicated (referenced by number 750 in fig 7) by downlink control channel 712 (i.e. generated before the URLLC region 714 punctures the eMBB region 716), as part of an eMBB transmission in slot n, and sent to the UE through DL control channel 712.).
Regarding claim 8, Jung discloses wherein after determining according to the feature information representing the decoding difficulty whether to decode the target data, the method further comprises: discarding the target data in response to determining not to decode the target data (Fig 9 & [0124] discloses that when a UE determines not perform decoding because decoding is likely to fail, the UE may discard the buffered TB or some CBs (i.e. the target data).).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5, 12-14, 16 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US 20190364563)(herein after “Jung”) in view of Kilinc et al. (US 20190379491)(herein after “Kilinc”).
Regarding claim 3, Jung discloses the data processing method of claim 2.
Jung discloses wherein the feature information representing the decoding difficulty comprises the proportion of the target data being punched and the MCS of the target data (Fig 9 & [0124] discloses that the identification information may contain at least one piece of information indicating a high possibility of failure to decode CBs, and specifically the one piece of information may be that a large portion of eMBB resources (i.e. target data) are punctured for URLCC service.). Fig 3 & [0064] and [0040]-[0043] disclose that a DCI, as part of downlink control channel transmission, may contain MCS for data transmission in a TB.).
Jung fails to disclose wherein the feature information representing the decoding difficulty comprises the signal strength of the target data.
However, Kilinc teaches wherein the feature information representing the decoding difficulty comprises the signal strength of the target data ([0063] discloses that the probability that the receiver cannot decode punctured eMBB data may depend on a signal-to-noise ratio of the transmission. A signal-to-noise ratio represents a signal strength relative to a noise level.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the data processing method of claim 2, wherein the feature information representing the decoding difficulty comprises the proportion of the target data being punched and the MCS of the target data, as disclosed by Jung, wherein the feature information representing the decoding difficulty comprises the signal strength of the target data, as taught by Kilinc. The motivation to do so would have been to have a processing method wherein a UE receives identification information from a base station that indicates a probability of decoding code blocks (CBs) in a transport block (TB) comprising the proportion of eMBB data being punctured for URLLC data, MCS of the eMBB data and signal-to-noise ratio of the eMBB data so that the UE can use all three pieces of information to determine the probability of decoding CBs of the TB through a formula or look-up table, so that the UE can decide whether to attempt to decode the CBs of the TB or wait for the base station to send a retransmission of the punctured eMBB data before attempting to decode the CBs of the TB.
Regarding claims 5, 12, 14, 16 & 20 Jung discloses the data processing method of claims 1, 2 & 4 respectively, or the electronic device of claim 10, or the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 11.
Jung discloses wherein determining according to the feature information representing the decoding difficulty whether to decode the target data comprises:
acquiring a decoding decision corresponding to the feature information representing the decoding difficulty of the target data, wherein the decoding decision is decoding or not decoding (Fig 7 & [0085]-[0087] and Fig 9 & [0124] disclose that the UE, in response to receiving the identification information with pre-indication 750 and detecting that eMBB data is punctured in resource region 714, acquires at least one piece of information indicating a high possibility of failure in decoding CBs within a buffered TB. Fig 9 & [0124] disclose the UE may decode CBs in the buffered TB, or determine to not perform decoding (i.e. UE acquires a decoding decision wherein the coding decision is decoding or not decoding) based on the at least one piece of information indicating a high possibility of failure to decode CBs in the buffered TB.); and
determining to decode the target data in response to the decoding decision being decoding, or determining not to decode the target data in response to the decoding decision being not decoding (Fig 9 & [0124] disclose the UE may decode CBs in the buffered TB (i.e. UE determines to decode the target data in response to a decoding decision being decoding), or determine to not perform decoding (i.e. UE determines not to decode the target data in response to the decoding decision being not decoding) based on the at least one piece of information indicating a high possibility of failure to decode CBs in the buffered TB.).
Jung fails to disclose wherein the acquiring of the decoding decision corresponding to the feature information representing the decoding difficulty of the target data is according to a preset correspondence between the feature information representing the decoding difficulty and the decoding decision.
However, Kilinc teaches wherein the acquiring of the decoding decision corresponding to the feature information representing the decoding difficulty of the target data is according to a preset correspondence between the feature information representing the decoding difficulty and the decoding decision ([0063] discloses a UE may estimate the probability of decoding failure through a look up table indexed according to one or more of the decoding factors (i.e. a preset look up table mapping decoding factors, or feature information, to probability of decoding failure, or decoding difficulty).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the data processing method of claims 1, 2 & 4, or the device of claim 10, or the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 11, wherein determining according to the feature information representing the decoding difficulty whether to decode the target data comprises: acquiring a decoding decision corresponding to the feature information representing the decoding difficulty of the target data, wherein the decoding decision is decoding or not decoding; and determining to decode the target data in response to the decoding decision being decoding, or determining not to decode the target data in response to the decoding decision being not decoding, as disclosed by Jung, wherein the acquiring of the decoding decision corresponding to the feature information representing the decoding difficulty of the target data is according to a preset correspondence between the feature information representing the decoding difficulty and the decoding decision, as taught by Kilinc. The motivation to do so would have been to have a processing method, or an electronic device, or a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein a UE makes a decoding decision to decode or not to decode CBs of a TB based on received identification information from a base station that indicates a probability of decoding failure for the CBs in the TB, wherein the identification information may include a proportion of the target data being punctured based on a total quantity of REs occupied by an eMBB services and a quantity of REs occupied by a punctured portion for a URLLC service or a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) of the eMBB data, and using a preset look up table to map the identification information to a decoding decision so that all UEs in the network make consistent decoding decisions based on the preset look up table (e.g. that may be defined in a standards document) and the received identification information.
Regarding claim 13, Jung in view of Kilinc disclose the data processing method of claim 3.
Jung discloses wherein determining according to the feature information representing the decoding difficulty whether to decode the target data comprises:
acquiring a decoding decision corresponding to the feature information representing the decoding difficulty of the target data, wherein the decoding decision is decoding or not decoding (Fig 7 & [0085]-[0087] and Fig 9 & [0124] disclose that the UE, in response to receiving the identification information with pre-indication 750 and detecting that eMBB data is punctured in resource region 714, acquires at least one piece of information indicating a high possibility of failure in decoding CBs within a buffered TB. Fig 9 & [0124] disclose the UE may decode CBs in the buffered TB, or determine to not perform decoding (i.e. UE acquires a decoding decision wherein the coding decision is decoding or not decoding) based on the at least one piece of information indicating a high possibility of failure to decode CBs in the buffered TB.); and
determining to decode the target data in response to the decoding decision being decoding, or determining not to decode the target data in response to the decoding decision being not decoding (Fig 9 & [0124] disclose the UE may decode CBs in the buffered TB (i.e. UE determines to decode the target data in response to a decoding decision being decoding), or determine to not perform decoding (i.e. UE determines not to decode the target data in response to the decoding decision being not decoding) based on the at least one piece of information indicating a high possibility of failure to decode CBs in the buffered TB.).
Jung fails to disclose wherein the acquiring of the decoding decision corresponding to the feature information representing the decoding difficulty of the target data is according to a preset correspondence between the feature information representing the decoding difficulty and the decoding decision.
However, Kilinc teaches wherein the acquiring of the decoding decision corresponding to the feature information representing the decoding difficulty of the target data is according to a preset correspondence between the feature information representing the decoding difficulty and the decoding decision ([0063] discloses a UE may estimate the probability of decoding failure through a look up table indexed according to one or more of the decoding factors (i.e. a preset look up table mapping decoding factors, or feature information, to probability of decoding failure, or decoding difficulty).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the data processing method of claim 3 , wherein determining according to the feature information representing the decoding difficulty whether to decode the target data comprises: acquiring a decoding decision corresponding to the feature information representing the decoding difficulty of the target data, wherein the decoding decision is decoding or not decoding; and determining to decode the target data in response to the decoding decision being decoding, or determining not to decode the target data in response to the decoding decision being not decoding, as disclosed by Jung in view of Kilinc, wherein the acquiring of the decoding decision corresponding to the feature information representing the decoding difficulty of the target data is according to a preset correspondence between the feature information representing the decoding difficulty and the decoding decision, as taught by Kilinc. The motivation to do so would have been to have a processing method wherein a UE makes a decoding decision to decode or not to decode CBs of a TB based on received identification information from a base station that indicates a probability of decoding failure for the CBs in the TB, wherein the identification information may include a proportion of the target data being punctured and a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) of the eMBB data and a signal-to-noise ratio of a transmission of the eMBB data, and using a preset look up table to map the identification information to a decoding decision so that all UEs in the network make consistent decoding decisions based on the preset look up table (e.g. that may be defined in a standards document) and the received identification information.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Firoiu et al. (US 9209943) discloses Control Over Network Coding for Enhanced Radio Transport Optimization.
/JAMES P SEYMOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419