DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 10, 11, 15, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Matsumura et al. (US20220345283).
Regarding claim 1, 10, Matsumura teaches A user equipment ("UE") apparatus, comprising :a transceiver; and a processor coupled to the transceiver, the processor configured to cause the apparatus ([0229] “For example, each of functions of the base station 10 and the user terminal 20 is implemented by causing the processor 1001 to perform operation by predetermined software (program) to be read on hardware such as the processor 1001 and the memory 1002”) to:
receive signaling information from a network ([0040] “An information element of the TCI state configured by higher layer signaling (“TCI-state IE” of RRC) may include one or a plurality of pieces of QCL information”), the signaling information indicating quasi-co-location ("QCL") information comprising at least one source reference signal ("RS") and at least one target RS for transmission to the network, reception from the network, or a combination thereof ([0032-33]” UE may determine, based on a TCI-state of a signal/channel or QCL assumption, at least one of a transmission beam (Tx beam) and a reception beam (Rx beam) of the signal/channel…The TCI state may be, for example, information regarding QCL between a target channel (in other words, a reference signal (RS) for the channel) and another signal (for example, another reference signal (RS)). The TCI state may be configured (instructed) by higher layer signaling, physical layer signaling, or a combination thereof”, [0145-0146] “ channel/signal (which may be referred to as a target RS) … Furthermore, an RS (source RS) having a QCL relation with the channel/signal may be, for example, a DL RS (for example, SSB, CSI-RS, TRS, and the like) … The association may be explicitly configured (or specified) by higher layer signaling (for example, RRC signaling, MAC CE, and the like)”),
the at least one source RS and the at least one target RS associated with one or more waveforms ([0173] “The radio access method may be referred to as a waveform. Note that, in the radio communication system 1, another radio access method (for example, another single carrier transmission method and another multi-carrier transmission method) may be used as UL and DL radio access methods”);
and apply the QCL information at the apparatus based on the one or more waveforms associated with the at least one source RS and the at least one target RS ([0032] “UE may determine, based on a TCI-state of a signal/channel or QCL assumption, at least one of a transmission beam (Tx beam) and a reception beam (Rx beam) of the signal/channel”).
Regarding claim 15, Matsumura teaches A network entity apparatus, comprising:a transceiver; and a processor coupled to the transceiver, the processor configured to cause the apparatus ([0229] “For example, each of functions of the base station 10 and the user terminal 20 is implemented by causing the processor 1001 to perform operation by predetermined software (program) to be read on hardware such as the processor 1001 and the memory 1002”) to:
determine signaling information indicating quasi-co-location ("QCL") information comprising at least one source reference signal ("RS") and at least one target RS for transmission to a network, reception from the network, or a combination thereof ([0032-33]” UE may determine, based on a TCI-state of a signal/channel or QCL assumption, at least one of a transmission beam (Tx beam) and a reception beam (Rx beam) of the signal/channel…The TCI state may be, for example, information regarding QCL between a target channel (in other words, a reference signal (RS) for the channel) and another signal (for example, another reference signal (RS)). The TCI state may be configured (instructed) by higher layer signaling, physical layer signaling, or a combination thereof”, [0145-0146] “ channel/signal (which may be referred to as a target RS) … Furthermore, an RS (source RS) having a QCL relation with the channel/signal may be, for example, a DL RS (for example, SSB, CSI-RS, TRS, and the like) … The association may be explicitly configured (or specified) by higher layer signaling (for example, RRC signaling, MAC CE, and the like)”),
the at least one source RS and the at least one target RS associated with one or more waveforms ([0173] “The radio access method may be referred to as a waveform. Note that, in the radio communication system 1, another radio access method (for example, another single carrier transmission method and another multi-carrier transmission method) may be used as UL and DL radio access methods”), ;
and transmit the QCL information to a user equipment ("UE") for application based on the one or more waveforms associated with the at least one source RS and the at least one target RS ([0032] “UE may determine, based on a TCI-state of a signal/channel or QCL assumption, at least one of a transmission beam (Tx beam) and a reception beam (Rx beam) of the signal/channel”).
Regarding claim 2, 11 Matsumura teaches wherein a waveform associated with the at least one source RS and a waveform associated with the at least one target RS are the same in the QCL information ([0148] -0150] “A correspondence relationship between the RS and the panel ID may be configured by being included in UL TCI state information, or may be configured by being included in at least one of resource configuration information, spatial relation information, and the like of the RS … A QCL type indicated by the UL TCI state may be the existing QCL type A-D, or may be another QCL type, or may include a predetermined spatial relation, an associated antenna port (port index), or the like … only by updating the spatial relation/UL-TCI state of one CC, the same effect as that obtained by updating the spatial relations/UL-TCI states of other CCs of the same group is obtained, so that it is possible to effectively reduce communication overhead related to updating of the TCI state”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 8, 9, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura in view of Venugopal et a. (US20210185688).
Regarding claims 3, 12 Matsumura does not teach wherein the processor is configured to cause the apparatus to use a waveform associated with the at least one source RS for transmission and reception of the at least one target RS in response to the waveform associated with the source RS being different from a waveform associated with the at least one target RS.
Venugopal teaches wherein the processor is configured to cause the apparatus to use a waveform associated with the at least one source RS for transmission and reception of the at least one target RS ([0087] “The table 900 shows source RSs, target RSs, and QCL type assumptions that may be configured by a valid UL-TCI state configuration. The target signal generally refers to a signal for which channel properties may be inferred by measuring those channel properties for an associated source signal. As noted above, a UE may use the source RS to determine various channel parameters, depending on the associated QCL type, and use those various channel properties (determined based on the source RS) to process the target signal”) in response to the waveform associated with the source RS being different from a waveform associated with the at least one target RS ([0088] “For the case of two source RSs, the different QCL types can be configured for the same target RS. In the illustrative example, SSB is associated with TypeC QCL for P-TRS, while CSI-RS for beam management (CSI-RS-BM) is associated with TypeD QCL”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Matsumura to incorporate the teachings of Venugopal. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve communications between access points and stations in a wireless network.
Regarding claim 8, Matsumura does not teach wherein at least two source RSs are indicated, each of the indicated source RSs associated with a waveform such that a first source RS of the at least two source RSs is used to indicate QCL assumption and a corresponding waveform for uplink and a second source RS of the at least two source RSs is used to indicate QCL assumption and a corresponding waveform for downlink.
Venugopal teaches wherein at least two source RSs are indicated, each of the indicated source RSs associated with a waveform such that a first source RS of the at least two source RSs is used to indicate QCL assumption and a corresponding waveform for uplink and a second source RS of the at least two source RSs is used to indicate QCL assumption and a corresponding waveform for downlink ([0083] “TCI states generally include configurations such as QCL-relationships, such as the relationships between the downlink (DL) source RSs in one CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) set and the target PDSCH demodulation reference signal (DMRS) ports”).
Regarding claim 9, Matsumura does not teach wherein at least two source RSs are indicated, the at least two RSs associated with a waveform, a first source RS of the at least two source RSs is used to indicate QCL assumption for uplink and a second source RS of the at least two source RSs is used to indicate QCL assumption for downlink, the associated waveform used for both uplink and downlink.
Venugopal teaches wherein at least two source RSs are indicated, the at least two RSs associated with a waveform, a first source RS of the at least two source RSs is used to indicate QCL assumption for uplink and a second source RS of the at least two source RSs is used to indicate QCL assumption for downlink, the associated waveform used for both uplink and downlink ([0098] “a base station (BS) and a user equipment (UE) may have a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) framework for downlink and/or uplink beam indication”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Matsumura to incorporate the teachings of Venugopal. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve communications between access points and stations in a wireless network.
Claim(s) 4-7, 13, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura in view of Khoshnevisan et al. (US20230379951 herein after Khosh).
Regarding claims 4, 13, Matsumura does not teach wherein the processor is configured to cause the apparatus to receive at least two QCL assumptions that are indicated to the apparatus, the first QCL assumption associated with a first waveform type and a second QCL assumption associated with a second waveform type.
Khosh teaches wherein the processor is configured to cause the apparatus to receive at least two QCL assumptions that are indicated to the apparatus, the first QCL assumption associated with a first waveform type and a second QCL assumption associated with a second waveform type ([0108] “The UE 602 may maintain two default QCL assumptions, as shown in FIG. 6F. The two default QCL assumption may be a UE capability, which may be conditioned on another UE capability to receive two beams simultaneously (e.g., in a frequency range (FR2), a millimeter wave (mmWave) frequency range). For example, the UE 602 may support mDCI in FR2, but not support two simultaneous beams reception and/or not support two default QCL assumptions. The default QCL assumption may correspond to the TCI states of lowest DCI codepoint of the DCI codepoints indicating two TCI states”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Matsumura to incorporate the teachings of Khosh. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to include improved and desirable quasi-colocation (QCL) assumption.
Regarding claim 5, 14, Matsumura teaches ([0148] -0150] “A correspondence relationship between the RS and the panel ID may be configured by being included in UL TCI state information, or may be configured by being included in at least one of resource configuration information, spatial relation information, and the like of the RS … A QCL type indicated by the UL TCI state may be the existing QCL type A-D, or may be another QCL type, or may include a predetermined spatial relation, an associated antenna port (port index), or the like … only by updating the spatial relation/UL-TCI state of one CC, the same effect as that obtained by updating the spatial relations/UL-TCI states of other CCs of the same group is obtained, so that it is possible to effectively reduce communication overhead related to updating of the TCI state”)
Matsumura does not teach wherein the processor is configured to cause the apparatus to select one of the two QCL assumptions, for the selected one of the two QCL assumptions.
Khosh teaches wherein the processor is configured to cause the apparatus to select one of the two QCL assumptions, for the selected one of the two QCL assumptions ([0108] “The UE 602 may maintain two default QCL assumptions, as shown in FIG. 6F. The two default QCL assumption may be a UE capability, which may be conditioned on another UE capability to receive two beams simultaneously (e.g., in a frequency range (FR2), a millimeter wave (mmWave) frequency range). For example, the UE 602 may support mDCI in FR2, but not support two simultaneous beams reception and/or not support two default QCL assumptions. The default QCL assumption may correspond to the TCI states of lowest DCI codepoint of the DCI codepoints indicating two TCI states”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Matsumura to incorporate the teachings of Khosh. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to include improved and desirable quasi-colocation (QCL) assumption.
Regarding claim 6, Matsumura does not teach wherein the processor is configured to cause the apparatus to schedule at least two instances of the at least one target RS transmission or reception, the first instance associated with the first waveform type and the second instance associated with the second waveform type.
Khosh teaches wherein the processor is configured to cause the apparatus to schedule at least two instances of the at least one target RS transmission or reception, the first instance associated with the first waveform type and the second instance associated with the second waveform type ([0106], [0107] “if the UE 602 determines, at 608 a, a time offset between the reception of the DCI and the corresponding PDSCH is equal to or larger than the threshold (e.g., timeDurationForQCL), then the UE 602 may apply the TCI state indicated in the DCI for the PDSCH, at 610 a. For example, the UE 602 can determine the receive beam for receiving the PDSCH based on the indicated TCI state, at 612…
If the UE 602 determines, at 608 b, that the time offset is less than the threshold (e.g., timeDurationForQCL), then the UE 602 applies a default QCL assumption for the PDSCH at 610 b. For example, the UE 602 can determine the receive beam for receiving the PDSCH based on the default QCL, at 614”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Matsumura to incorporate the teachings of Khosh. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to include improved and desirable quasi-colocation (QCL) assumption.
Regarding claim 7, Matsumura teaches wherein a Transmission Configuration Indicator ("TCI") indicates, to the at least one target RS, the at least one source RS, a QCL assumption type, and a waveform to be used for transmission or reception of the at least one target RS ([0032-33]” UE may determine, based on a TCI-state of a signal/channel or QCL assumption, at least one of a transmission beam (Tx beam) and a reception beam (Rx beam) of the signal/channel…The TCI state may be, for example, information regarding QCL between a target channel (in other words, a reference signal (RS) for the channel) and another signal (for example, another reference signal (RS)). The TCI state may be configured (instructed) by higher layer signaling, physical layer signaling, or a combination thereof”, [0145-0146] “ channel/signal (which may be referred to as a target RS) … Furthermore, an RS (source RS) having a QCL relation with the channel/signal may be, for example, a DL RS (for example, SSB, CSI-RS, TRS, and the like) … The association may be explicitly configured (or specified) by higher layer signaling (for example, RRC signaling, MAC CE, and the like)”, [0172] “a radio access method based on orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) may be used. For example, in at least one of downlink (DL) and uplink (UL), cyclic prefix OFDM (CP-OFDM), discrete Fourier transform spread OFDM (DFT-s-OFDM), orthogonal frequency division multiple access (OFDMA), single carrier frequency division multiple access (SC-FDMA), and the like may be used”).
Conclusion
/K.T.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411