DETAILED ACTION
Claim 1, 4, 14-16, 19 have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hao et al. (US20220302979) in view of Ramireddy et al. (US20220029676 herein Rami).
Regarding claim 1, 14, 16 Hao teaches A user equipment (UE), comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE ([0049-50] “The memories 242 and 282 may store data and program codes for BS 110 a and UE 120 a …The controller/processor 280 and/or other processors and modules at the UE 120 a may perform or direct the execution of processes for the techniques described herein”) to:
receive a set of reference signals based on at least one resource setting configuring the UE for a channel state information (CSI) measurement ([0052] “A UE (e.g., such as a UE 120 a) may be configured by a BS (e.g., such as a BS 110) for CSI reporting. The BS may configure the UE with a CSI reporting configuration or with multiple CSI report configurations. The BS may provide the CSI reporting configuration to the UE via higher layer signaling, such as radio resource control (RRC) signaling (e.g., via a CSI-ReportConfig information element (IE))”, [0054] “The CSI report configuration may configure the time and frequency resources used by the UE to report CSI. For example, the CSI report configuration may be associated with CSI-RS resources for channel measurement (CM), interference measurement (IM), or both. The CSI report configuration may configure CSI-RS resources for measurement (e.g., via a CSI-ResourceConfig IE). ”, (Examiner’s Note: the CSI-RS resources for channel measurement (CM), interference measurement (IM), or both ==set of reference signals based on at least one resource));
determine a set of CSI feedback parameters based on the set of reference signals and at least one report setting configuring the UE for CSI reporting ([0059] “The UE may report the CSI feedback based on the CSI report configuration and the CSI report trigger. For example, the UE may measure the channel associated with CSI for the triggered CSI-RS resources. Based on the measurements, the UE may select a preferred CSI-RS resource. The UE reports the CSI feedback for the selected CSI-RS resource. LI may be calculated conditioned on the reported CQI, PMI, RI and CRI; CQI may be calculated conditioned on the reported PMI, RI and CRI; PMI may be calculated conditioned on the reported RI and CRI; and RI may be calculated conditioned on the reported CRI”, (Examiner’s Note: measure the channel associated with CSI for the triggered CSI-RS resources ==set of reference signal);
and transmit a CSI report to a network, wherein the CSI report comprises information for at least one layer based on the set of reference signals ([0059] “([0059] “The UE may report the CSI feedback based on the CSI report configuration and the CSI report trigger”, [0057-58] “The BS may have a plurality of transmit (TX) beams. The UE can feed back to the BS an index of a preferred beam, or beams, of the candidate beams. For example, the UE may feed back the precoding vector w for the l-th layer…the Type II codebook (e.g., which may be designed for single panel), the PMI is a linear combination of beams; it has a subset of orthogonal beams to be used for linear combination and has per layer),
wherein: a codebook type is configured via a codebook configuration ([0056] “The CSI report configuration can also configure the CSI parameters (sometimes referred to as quantities) to be reported. Codebooks may include Type I single panel, Type I multi-panel, and Type II single panel. Regardless which codebook is used, the CSI report may include at least the channel quality indicator (CQI), precoding matrix indicator (PMI), CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI), and rank indicator (RI)”);
and the CSI report includes at least one CSI part comprising the set of CSI feedback parameters ([0070] “The UE may report the CSI in uplink control information (UCI). In some examples, the CSI is reported in a two-part UCI. In some examples, in the UCI part one the UE may transmit RI, CQI, the number of non-zero coefficients (NNZC). In some examples, in the UCI part two the UE may transmit for the supported layers (e.g., layers 0 to RI-1) the SD beam selection, FD basis selection, coefficient selection, strongest coefficient indication (SCI), and/or coefficient quantization. The SD beam selection may indicate the selected beams (e.g., the subset of 2L beams)”, [0065] “the UE may be configured to report FD compressed precoder feedback to reduce overhead of the CSI report”) (Examiner’s Note: one CSI part is equivalent to part one of the UE may transmit for example CQI, UE may report the CSI == CSI feedback, the UE report CSI information is the UE providing the feedback information, and that CSI information can contain multiple parts),
wherein the set of CSI feedback parameters corresponds to at least one of: a transformed spatial domain information of at least one dimension; a transformed frequency domain information of at least one dimension; and a transformed time domain information of at least one dimension ([0078] “According to certain aspects, the CSI may be compressed in the frequency domain in addition to SD and TD compression. FIG. 15 is a diagram showing example precoder matrix feedback with SD, TD, and FD compression, in accordance with certain aspects of the present disclosure. The linear combination coefficients may be compressed in the TD domain, (Examiner’s Note: SD is equivalent to spatial domain, FD is equivalent to frequency domain and TD is equivalent to time domain”),
Hao does not explicitly teach wherein the transformed spatial domain information, the transformed frequency domain information and the transformed time domain information is transformed based on a discrete Fourier transformation (DFT).
Rami teaches wherein the transformed spatial domain information, the transformed frequency domain information and the transformed time domain information is transformed based on a discrete Fourier transformation (DFT) ([0065] “one or more transmit-side spatial beam components of the composite Doppler-delay-beam three-stage precoder, one or more delay components of the composite Doppler-delay-beam three-stage precoder, and one or more Doppler-frequency components of the composite Doppler-delay-beam three-stage precoder, calculate either one or more of a channel quality indicator, CQI, and/or a precoder matrix indicator, PMI, and/or a rank indicator, RI, using the explicit CSI and the composite Doppler-delay-beam three-stage precoder with the selected Doppler-delay-beam precoder matrix (W), and report to the transmitter the CSI feedback including either one or more of the CQI, and/or the PMI and/or the RI, wherein the PMI and RI are used to indicate the Doppler-delay-beam three-stage composite precoder matrix for the configured antenna ports, wherein the communication device comprises one or more parameters (D, F), the parameter indicating a number of delay components, like delay DFT vectors (Du (l)), and/or a number of Doppler-frequency components, like Doppler DFT vectors (Fu (l)) ”).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hao to incorporate the teachings of Rami. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to increase the efficiency of the system.
Regarding claim 15, Hao teaches A base station, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the base station ([0049-50] “The memories 242 and 282 may store data and program codes for BS 110 a… For example, as shown in FIG. 2, the controller/processor 240 of the BS 110 a has a CSI manager 241 that may be configured for CSI reporting with TD compression, according to aspects described herein”) to:
transmit a set of reference signals based on at least one resource setting configuring the base station for a channel state information (CSI) measurement ([0052] “A UE (e.g., such as a UE 120 a) may be configured by a BS (e.g., such as a BS 110) for CSI reporting. The BS may configure the UE with a CSI reporting configuration or with multiple CSI report configurations. The BS may provide the CSI reporting configuration to the UE via higher layer signaling, such as radio resource control (RRC) signaling (e.g., via a CSI-ReportConfig information element (IE))”, [0054] “The CSI report configuration may configure the time and frequency resources used by the UE to report CSI. For example, the CSI report configuration may be associated with CSI-RS resources for channel measurement (CM), interference measurement (IM), or both. The CSI report configuration may configure CSI-RS resources for measurement (e.g., via a CSI-ResourceConfig IE), (Examiner’s Note: the signal using CSI-RS resources for channel measurement (CM), interference measurement (IM), or both ==set of reference signals based on at least one resource)”)),
wherein a set of CSI feedback parameters is determined based on the set of reference signals and at least one report setting configuring the base station for CSI reporting ([0059] “The UE may report the CSI feedback based on the CSI report configuration and the CSI report trigger. For example, the UE may measure the channel associated with CSI for the triggered CSI-RS resources. Based on the measurements, the UE may select a preferred CSI-RS resource. The UE reports the CSI feedback for the selected CSI-RS resource. LI may be calculated conditioned on the reported CQI, PMI, RI and CRI; CQI may be calculated conditioned on the reported PMI, RI and CRI; PMI may be calculated conditioned on the reported RI and CRI; and RI may be calculated conditioned on the reported CRI”, ”, (Examiner’s Note: measure the channel associated with CSI for the triggered CSI-RS resources ==set of reference signal));
and receive a CSI report at a network, wherein the CSI report comprises information for at least one layer based on the set of reference signals ([0059] “([0059] “The UE may report the CSI feedback based on the CSI report configuration and the CSI report trigger”, (Examiner’s Note: the UE is reporting to the BS as previously configured), [0057-58] “The BS may have a plurality of transmit (TX) beams. The UE can feed back to the BS an index of a preferred beam, or beams, of the candidate beams. For example, the UE may feed back the precoding vector w for the l-th layer…the Type II codebook (e.g., which may be designed for single panel), the PMI is a linear combination of beams; it has a subset of orthogonal beams to be used for linear combination and has per layer),
wherein: a codebook type is configured via a codebook configuration ([0056] “The CSI report configuration can also configure the CSI parameters (sometimes referred to as quantities) to be reported. Codebooks may include Type I single panel, Type I multi-panel, and Type II single panel. Regardless which codebook is used, the CSI report may include at least the channel quality indicator (CQI), precoding matrix indicator (PMI), CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI), and rank indicator (RI)”);
the CSI report includes at least one CSI part comprising the set of CSI feedback parameters ([0070] “The UE may report the CSI in uplink control information (UCI). In some examples, the CSI is reported in a two-part UCI. In some examples, in the UCI part one the UE may transmit RI, CQI, the number of non-zero coefficients (NNZC). In some examples, in the UCI part two the UE may transmit for the supported layers (e.g., layers 0 to RI-1) the SD beam selection, FD basis selection, coefficient selection, strongest coefficient indication (SCI), and/or coefficient quantization. The SD beam selection may indicate the selected beams (e.g., the subset of 2L beams)”, [0065] “the UE may be configured to report FD compressed precoder feedback to reduce overhead of the CSI report”) (Examiner’s Note: one CSI part is equivalent to part one of the UE may transmit for example CQI, UE may report the CSI == CSI feedback, the UE report CSI information is the UE providing the feedback information, and that CSI information can contain multiple parts) ;
the set of CSI feedback parameters corresponds to at least one of: a transformed spatial domain information of at least one dimension; a transformed frequency domain information of at least one dimension; and a transformed time domain information of at least one dimension ([0078] “According to certain aspects, the CSI may be compressed in the frequency domain in addition to SD and TD compression. FIG. 15 is a diagram showing example precoder matrix feedback with SD, TD, and FD compression, in accordance with certain aspects of the present disclosure. The linear combination coefficients may be compressed in the TD domain, (Examiner’s Note: SD is equivalent to spatial domain, FD is equivalent to frequency domain and TD is equivalent to time domain”)
Hao does not explicitly teach wherein the transformed spatial domain information, the transformed frequency domain information and the transformed time domain information is transformed based on a discrete Fourier transformation (DFT).
Rami teaches wherein the transformed spatial domain information, the transformed frequency domain information and the transformed time domain information is transformed based on a discrete Fourier transformation (DFT) ([0065] “one or more transmit-side spatial beam components of the composite Doppler-delay-beam three-stage precoder, one or more delay components of the composite Doppler-delay-beam three-stage precoder, and one or more Doppler-frequency components of the composite Doppler-delay-beam three-stage precoder, calculate either one or more of a channel quality indicator, CQI, and/or a precoder matrix indicator, PMI, and/or a rank indicator, RI, using the explicit CSI and the composite Doppler-delay-beam three-stage precoder with the selected Doppler-delay-beam precoder matrix (W), and report to the transmitter the CSI feedback including either one or more of the CQI, and/or the PMI and/or the RI, wherein the PMI and RI are used to indicate the Doppler-delay-beam three-stage composite precoder matrix for the configured antenna ports, wherein the communication device comprises one or more parameters (D, F), the parameter indicating a number of delay components, like delay DFT vectors (Du (l)), and/or a number of Doppler-frequency components, like Doppler DFT vectors (Fu (l)) ”).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hao to incorporate the teachings of Rami. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to increase the efficiency of the system.
Regarding claim 2, 17 Hao teaches wherein the codebook type comprises a Type-II codebook ([0056] “The CSI report configuration can also configure the CSI parameters (sometimes referred to as quantities) to be reported. Codebooks may include Type I single panel, Type I multi-panel, and Type II single panel”).
Regarding claim 3, 18 Hao teaches wherein the transformed time domain information is reported in a form of an indication of at least one column of a matrix based on a transformation matrix of at least one dimension ([0074] “Each group contains a subset of NZCs, and within each group, the NZCs and their bitmap are mapped following any order of SD bases, FD bases or subbands, TD bases, layers. In an illustrative example, referring to FIG. 10, if the cube is split in half vertically, then one group can include the coefficients for the FD bases 0 to (M/2-1) across all of the SD bases and layers, and the other group can include the coefficients for the remaining FD bases (M/2 to (M-1)) across all of the SD bases and layer. In this case, the coefficient mapping includes {bitmap of (column 0, slice 0), bitmap of (column 1, slice 0), . . . , bitmap of (column ┌M/2┐-1, slice 0), bitmap of (column 0, slice 1), . . . , bitmap of (column ┌M/2┐-1, slide 1)”).
Regarding claim 4, 19 Hao teaches wherein the transformation matrix of at least one dimension is a DFT matrix of at least one dimension ([0067] “The Wf,0 H matrix 630 is composed of the basis vectors (each row is a basis vector) used to perform compression in frequency domain. In the example shown, both the Wf,0 H matrix 630 at layer 0 and the Wf,1 H matrix 660 at layer 1 include M=4 FD basis (illustrated as shaded rows) from N3 candidate DFT basis.”).
Regarding claim 5, 20, Hao teaches wherein a number of dimensions of the at least one dimension is two ([0078] “According to certain aspects, the CSI may be compressed in the frequency domain in addition to SD and TD compression. FIG. 15 is a diagram showing example precoder matrix feedback with SD, TD, and FD compression, in accordance with certain aspects of the present disclosure. The linear combination coefficients may be compressed in the TD domain, (Examiner’s Note: SD is equivalent to spatial domain, FD is equivalent to frequency domain and TD is equivalent to time domain”).
Regarding claim 6, Hao teaches wherein a first dimension of two dimensions of the two-dimensional transformation matrix corresponds to the transformed time domain, and a second dimension of the two dimensions of the two-dimensional transformation matrix corresponds to one of the transformed frequency domain and the transformed spatial domain ([0078] “According to certain aspects, the CSI may be compressed in the frequency domain in addition to SD and TD compression. FIG. 15 is a diagram showing example precoder matrix feedback with SD, TD, and FD compression, in accordance with certain aspects of the present disclosure. The linear combination coefficients may be compressed in the TD domain, (Examiner’s Note: SD is equivalent to spatial domain, FD is equivalent to frequency domain and TD is equivalent to time domain”).
Regarding claim 7, Hao does not teach wherein a subset of dimensions of the at least one dimension of the transformation matrix is oversampled with an oversampling factor of an integer value that is greater than or equal to one.
Rami teaches wherein a subset of dimensions of the at least one dimension of the transformation matrix is oversampled with an oversampling factor of an integer value that is greater than or equal to one ([0202] “wherein the second codebook (Ω2) comprises a second oversampled DFT-codebook matrix of size S×SO2 from which the delay vectors du,d (l) are selected, where S refers to the number of configured sub-bands/PRBs, or subcarriers, and O2 refers to the oversampling factor O2=1, 2, . . . ,).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hao to incorporate the teachings of Rami. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to increase the efficiency of the system.
Regarding claim 8, wherein the indication of the at least one column of the matrix based on the transformation matrix corresponding to the transformed time domain information is drawn from a codebook of combinatorial values ([0078] “For each specific TD basis, the UE may report a subset of the total 2LM coefficients. In some examples, a bitmap may be used to indicate position. The UE may report each NZC after quantization. In some examples, the UE may report up to K0 coeffcients per layer KNZ,l≤K0. In some examples, the UE may report up to 2K0 coefficients across all layers Σl=0 RI-1 KNZ,l≤2K0”),
wherein each value of the codebook of combinatorial values corresponds to a distinct combination of columns of the at least one column of the matrix ([0058] “For the Type II codebook (e.g., which may be designed for single panel), the PMI is a linear combination of beams; it has a subset of orthogonal beams to be used for linear combination and has per layer, per polarization, amplitude and phase for each beam. The preferred precoder for a layer can be a combination of beams and associated quantized coefficients, and the UE can feedback the selected beams and the coefficients to the BS”).
Regarding claim 10, Hao teaches wherein the transformed time domain information is common for a subset of layers of the at least one layer of the CSI report ([0085] “The coefficients for each FD basis (m=0, 1 . . . , M-1) can be mapped following the order SD bases, layers, TD basis, and FD bases. In this example, for a first FD basis m, the coefficients associated with a TD basis are mapped across all reported layers, then, for a next TD basis the coefficients across the layers are mapped, until the coefficients for all the reported TD basis are mapped”).
Regarding claim 11, Hao teaches wherein the subset of the layers corresponds to all layers of the at least one layer of the CSI report ([0085] “The coefficients for each FD basis (m=0, 1 . . . , M-1) can be mapped following the order SD bases, layers, TD basis, and FD bases. In this example, for a first FD basis m, the coefficients associated with a TD basis are mapped across all reported layers, then, for a next TD basis the coefficients across the layers are mapped, until the coefficients for all the reported TD basis are mapped”).
Regarding claim 12, Hao teaches wherein a number of indices of the transformed time domain information is based on a number of received reference signals at the UE ([0097] “the UE sends the one or more CSI reports to the BS based on the measurements, the one or more CSI reports providing time domain (TD) compressed CSI feedback including at least linear combination coefficients associated with TD bases used for the TD compression”, [0085] “The coefficients for each FD basis (m=0, 1 . . . , M-1) can be mapped following the order SD bases, layers, TD basis, and FD bases. In this example, for a first FD basis m, the coefficients associated with a TD basis are mapped across all reported layers, then, for a next TD basis the coefficients across the layers are mapped, until the coefficients for all the reported TD basis are mapped. Then, the coefficients for the next FD basis m+1 can be mapped in the same manner”)).
Regarding claim 13, Hao teaches wherein a bitmap corresponding to each layer of the at least one layer is reported that identifies non-zero coefficients for each layer corresponding to at least one of the transformed spatial domain, the transformed frequency domain, and the transformed time domain ([0085] “According to certain aspects, the mapping includes a bitmap and quantization. For the third illustrative example, the mapping may include, for each FD basis, a bitmap indicating the associated SD basis, layer, and TD basis, followed by the quantized coefficients for the associated SD basis, layer, and TD basis indicated by the bitmap. If the coefficients are grouped, then the mapping may include the bitmap for a first group followed by the quantization of the first group; then the bitmap for a second group, followed by the quantization of the second group, and so on. Each group contains a subset of NZCs. Within each group, the NZCs and their bitmap are mapped following the order of SD bases, layers, TD bases, and FD bases”).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hao in view of Rami further in view of Park et al. (US2019132031).
Regarding claim 9, Hao, Rami does not teach wherein a number of columns of the distinct combination of columns corresponding to the codebook of the combinatorial values is configured via a higher-layer signaling from the network.
Park teaches wherein a number of columns of the distinct combination of columns corresponding to the codebook of the combinatorial values is configured via a higher-layer signaling from the network [0318] “Here, N1, N2, o1, o2 which are port layout information and an oversampling factor may be informed to the UE by the base station via higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling), [0317] “a total size of the codebook may be determined as LN1N2o1o2, where L denotes a size of co-phasing illustrated in (17-d) of Equation 17”).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Hao, Rami to incorporate the teachings of Park. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to reduce feedback overhead.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant Argument
The Applicant has amended Claim 1 to recite: "wherein at least one of the transformed spatial domain information, the transformed frequency domain information and the transformed time domain information is transformed based on a discrete Fourier transformation (DFT)." The amendment is supported at least by paragraphs 54, 60, 74, 76, 81, and 84. Hao does not teach the recitations of amended Claim 1.
Examiner Response
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner has incorporate a new reference Rami. The combination of Hao in view of Rami teaches “wherein at least one of the transformed spatial domain information, the transformed frequency domain information and the transformed time domain information is transformed based on a discrete Fourier transformation (DFT).". See updated rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.T.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411