DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, & 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(2) as being anticipated by US 2021/0052955 hereinafter Morris.
In regards to Claim 1: An apparatus comprising:
a coupling portion configured to be releasably coupled to an abutment affixed to a recipient's body (Morris, Paragraph 115; Figure 16A Item 1652a & 1662a), the coupling portion comprising:
a substantially cylindrically symmetric body portion extending along a symmetry axis (Morris, Paragraph 115; Figure 16A Item 1652a), the body portion comprising an outer body surface having a recess extending around the symmetry axis (Morris, Paragraph 115; Figure 16A Item 1653a); and
a resilient member in the recess and extending around the symmetry axis, the resilient member extending outwardly past the outer body surface and configured to contact an inner abutment surface of the abutment, the resilient member configured to undergo compression by the inner abutment surface and an inner surface of the recess upon being releasably coupled to the abutment, the compression having a component substantially perpendicular to the symmetry axis (Morris, Paragraph 115; Figure 16A Item 1654a).
In regards to Claim 4: The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the coupling portion further comprises a first rigid surface (Morris, Paragraph 115 Figure 16A outside surface of Item 1652a) and the abutment comprises a second rigid surface (Morris, Paragraph 115 Figure 16A outside surface of Item 1662a), the coupling portion configured to press the first rigid surface against the second rigid surface with a force generated by the compression of the resilient member (Morris, Paragraph 17 & 115; Examiner interprets the embodiment of Figure 16A to have a compressed connection when connected).
In regards to Claim 9: The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the coupling portion comprises a male component (Morris, Figure 16A end portion of Item 1652a) and the abutment comprises a female component (Morris Figure 16A the receptacle portion of Item 1662a) configured to mate with the male component of the coupling portion, or the coupling portion comprises a female component and the abutment comprises a male component configured to mate with the female component of the coupling portion (Morris, Paragraph 115).
Claim(s) 19-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(2) as being anticipated by US 4,498,461 hereinafter Hakansson.
In regards to Claim 19: A method comprising:
attaching a device to an abutment affixed to a recipient's body by moving the device along a first direction towards the abutment such that a ring-shaped elastically compressible member is compressed between an inner perimeter of the ring-shaped elastically compressible member and an outer perimeter of the ring-shaped elastically compressible member (Hakansson, Figure 7 Item 74; Column 6 Lines 1-16; Examiner Interprets the figure to show a device that is coupled using the same method described in the claim language.); and
detaching the device from the abutment without damaging the device and/or the abutment (Hakansson, Figure 7 Item 74; Column 6 Lines 1-16; Examiner Interprets The device to be removable without any permanent/destructible components (e.g. rivets, one-time adhesives, etc. that would cause the detachment to be broken).).
In regards to Claim 20: The method of claim 19, wherein said detaching comprises moving the device along a second direction away from the abutment (Hakansson, Column 6 Lines 1-16; Examiner interprets the device described in figure 7 is removed by pulling on the device).
In regards to Claim 21: The method of claim 20, wherein the first direction and the second direction are substantially parallel to one another (Hakansson, Column 6 Lines 1-16; Figure 7; Examiner interprets both the first and second direction is perpendicular to axis 20).
In regards to Claim 22: The method of claim 20, wherein the first direction and the second direction are at a non-zero angle relative to one another (Hakansson, Column 6 Lines 1-16; Figure 7; Examiner interprets the Chamfers integrated into the coupling part 77 allow for the coupling and decoupling of the device to be accomplished at an off angle).
In regards to Claim 23: The method of claim 19, wherein the ring-shaped elastically compressible member comprises an O-ring, a C-clip, or a garter spring (Hakansson, Column 6 Lines 1-16; Figure 7 Item 74; Examiner interprets the silicone rubber O-ring to be elastic).
In regards to Claim 24: The method of claim 23, wherein the ring-shaped elastically compressible member is in a recess of the device or the abutment (Hakansson, Column 6 Lines 1-16; Figure 7 Item, 74; The silicone rubber O-ring is elastically compressible).
In regards to Claim 25: The method of claim 19, wherein said detaching comprises applying a torque to the device while the device is attached to the abutment such that an angle between a longitudinal axis of the device and a longitudinal axis of the abutment becomes greater than or equal to a predetermined value (Hakansson; Column 6 Lines 1-16; Examiner interprets putting torque on the device described in Hakansson in a manner that misaligns the axis of the abutment and the coupling device as a method that would promote removal of the device.).
In regards to Claim 26: The method of claim 19, further comprising, after attaching the device to the abutment, but before detaching the device from the abutment, transmitting vibrations from the device to the recipient's body via the abutment, the vibrations generated by the device in response to electrical signals indicative of sound detected by at least one microphone of the device (Hakansson; Column 6 Lines 43-53).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 6, 7, 12, & 13-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0152955 hereinafter Morris in view of US4,498,461 hereinafter Hakansson.
In regards to Claim 2: Morris teaches all of claim 1, but does not teach wherein the resilient member comprises an O-ring, a C-clip, or a garter spring.
Hakansson teaches wherein the resilient member comprises an O-ring, a C-clip, or a garter spring (Hakansson, Figure 7a Item 74; Column 6 Line 1-16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add O-ring taught in Hakansson teaches to the bone conduction coupling device taught in Morris, the motivation being to provide a secure connection between the coupling device and the abutment.
In regards to Claim 3: Morris teaches all of claim 1, but does not teach wherein the body portion, the recess, and the resilient member are substantially circularly symmetric about the symmetry axis.
Hakansson teaches wherein the body portion, the recess, and the resilient member are substantially circularly symmetric about the symmetry axis (Hakansson, Figure 7a; Column 6 Lines 1-16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add the geometry of the coupling mechanism taught in Hakansson to the coupling device of Morris, the motivation being to provide a locking mechanism that locks the device in place from every direction along a longitudinal axis.
In regards to Claim 6: Morris teaches all of claim 1, but does not teach wherein the coupling portion is configured to release from being coupled to the abutment upon tilting of the apparatus relative to the abutment by a predetermined angle.
Hakansson teaches wherein the coupling portion is configured to release from being coupled to the abutment upon tilting of the apparatus relative to the abutment by a predetermined angle (Hakansson, Figure 7; Column 6 Lines 1-16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add structure to allow for coupling release taught in Hakansson to the bone conduction coupling device taught in Morris, the motivation being to allow for safe removal of the device for maintenance.
In regards to Claim 7: Morris teaches all of claim 1, but does not teach wherein the compression of the resilient member reduces a distance between an inner perimeter of the resilient member and an outer perimeter of the resilient member.
Hakansson teaches wherein the compression of the resilient member reduces a distance between an inner perimeter of the resilient member and an outer perimeter of the resilient member (Hakansson, Figure 7 Item 74; Examiner interprets the O-ring of figure 7 to be deformable so that the inner and outer perimeter become closer together).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add the compression of the O-ring taught in Hakansson to the bone conduction coupling device taught in Morris, the motivation being to provide an O-ring that deforms enough to allow for the device to be coupled and uncoupled device without damaging the device.
In regards to Claim 12: A modified Morris teaches all of claims 1 & 10, but does not teach wherein the resilient member does not contact both the coupling portion and the abutment substantially continuously along the resilient member.
Hakansson teaches wherein the resilient member does not contact both the coupling portion and the abutment substantially continuously along the resilient member (Hakansson, Figure 7a Item 74 vs. 79).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add the O-ring that does not cover the whole coupling mechanism taught in Hakansson to the bone conduction coupling device taught in Morris, the motivation being to dampen the sound transmitted by the device when coupled and uncoupled.
In regards to Claim 13: A modified Morris teaches all of claims 1 & 10, but does not teach wherein the resilient member is configured to fit within grooves of the coupling portion and the abutment.
Hakansson teaches wherein the resilient member is configured to fit within grooves of the coupling portion and the abutment (Hakansson, Figure 7a Items 74 & 78).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add the groove within the abutment configured to mate with the O-ring taught in Hakansson to the bone conduction coupling device taught in Morris, the motivation being to provide an exact place for the coupling mechanism to lock into to ensure a complete connection.
In regards to Claim 14: A modified Morris teaches all of claim 14, and wherein the grooves are configured to facilitate axial fixation provided by the resilient member (Morris, Figure 16 Item 1653a; Examiner interprets the threads to allow for axial fixation when torque is applied to the device).
In regards to Claim 15: Morris teaches An apparatus comprising: a rigid body portion having a center axis (Morris, Paragraph 115; Figure 16 Item 1652a) and configured to be releasably attached to an abutment affixed to a recipient's body by moving the rigid body portion along the center axis towards the recipient's body (Morris, Paragraph 115; Figure 16 Item 1662a), the rigid body portion or the abutment comprising a channel completely encircling the center axis (Morris, Paragraph 115; Figure 16 Item 1653a & 1663b; Examiner Interprets each thread to create a channel that completely encompasses the coupling device.). Morris does not teach an elastically compressible element in the channel and completely encircling the center axis, the elastically compressible element configured to, upon the rigid body portion being releasably attached to the abutment, apply forces having substantially radial force components to both the rigid body portion and the abutment.
Hakansson teaches an elastically compressible element in the channel and completely encircling the center axis (Hakansson, Column 6 Lines 1-16; Figure 7 Groove in Item 79), the elastically compressible element configured to (Hakansson, Column 6 Lines 1-16; Figure 7 Item 74), upon the rigid body portion being releasably attached to the abutment, apply forces having substantially radial force components to both the rigid body portion and the abutment (Hakansson, Column 6 Lines 1-16; Examiner interprets the O-ring of Hakansson to be disengaged when torque is applied).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add the O-ring and accompanying groove as taught by Hakansson to the bone conduction coupling device taught by Morris, the motivation being to provide a secure lock that applies force in all latitudinal directions.
In regards to Claim 16: A modified Morris teaches all of claim 15, and wherein the elastically compressible element comprises an O-ring, a C-clip, or a garter spring (Hakansson, Figure 7 Item 74; Column 6 Lines 1-16).
In regards to Claim 17: A modified Morris teaches all of claim 15, and wherein the rigid body portion and the abutment are configured to be snap coupled to one another (Morris, Paragraph 115).
In regards to Claim 18: a modified Morris teaches all of claim 15, and a transducer configured to generate vibrational energy, the rigid body portion and the abutment configured to provide a transmission path for the vibrational energy from the transducer to the recipient's body (Morris, Paragraph 115; Figure 16A Item 1654a; Examiner interprets the coupling device mentioned in Morris as a device that transmits vibrations).
Claim(s) 5, 8, 10, & 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0152955 hereinafter Morris in view of an embodiment of Morris hereinafter Embodiment.
In regards to Claim 5: Morris teaches all of claim 1 & 4, but does not teach wherein the apparatus further comprises an actuator configured to generate vibrations, at least a portion of the vibrations transmitted to the recipient's body via the first rigid surface and the second rigid surface.
Embodiment teaches wherein the apparatus further comprises an actuator configured to generate vibrations, at least a portion of the vibrations transmitted to the recipient's body via the first rigid surface and the second rigid surface (Embodiment, Figure 4 Item 452; Paragraph 63).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add the vibrating actuator directly interacting with the abutment taught in an embodiment of Morris to the bone conduction coupling device taught in Morris, the motivation being to ensure direct physical transmission of the auditory vibration.
In regards to Claim 8: Morris teaches all of claim 1,but does not teach wherein the apparatus comprises an external portion of a percutaneous bone conduction auditory prosthesis.
Embodiment teaches wherein the apparatus comprises an external portion of a percutaneous bone conduction auditory prosthesis (Embodiment, Figure 4 Item 440).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add the external device taught in an embodiment of Morris to the bone conduction coupling device taught in Morris, the motivation being to ensure direct access to perform maintenance.
In regards to Claim 10: Morris teaches all of claim 1, but does not teach wherein the resilient member has a substantially non-circular shape.
Embodiment teaches wherein the resilient member has a substantially non-circular shape (Embodiment, Figure 7 Item 740).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add the coupling device taught in an embodiment of Morris to the bone conduction coupling device taught in Morris, the motivation being to create a keyhole like effect that allows the device to only be coupled in the correct orientation.
In regards to Claim 11: A modified Morris teaches all of claims 1 & 10, and wherein the resilient member has a substantially elliptical or polygonal shape and/or a wave-like perimeter varies in the radial direction relative to the symmetry axis and/or the axial direction relative to the symmetry axis (Morris, Figure 16A Item 1653; Examiner interprets that threads give the perimeter a wave-like appearance.).
Conclusion
/N.R.D./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791 /ALEX M VALVIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791