DETAILED ACTION
DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/22/2024 and 02/20/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 18-19, 21, 23-26, 29, 32 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16, 17, 20, 22, 27-31, and 33-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhou et al. (USPGPub 2022/0217751).
As per claim 16, Zhou teaches a user equipment (UE) configured with a unified transmission configuration indicator (TCI) framework, (Zhou, see paragraph [0006], configuration indicator (TCI) state indication to a user equipment (UE)) comprising:
a processor; (Zhou, see paragraph [0097], one or more processors 720) and
a memory coupled with the processor, the processor configured to cause the UE to:
receive a configuration of one or more component carrier (CC) lists, wherein simultaneous TCI state update is supported for all CCs in each CC list (Zhou, see paragraph [0005], receiving a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state indication from a network, wherein the TCI state indication comprises at least one common multi-channel TCI state. Also see paragraph [0084], a common TCI state application time, in some cases, the beam indication(s) may include a common TCI state indication to be applied to all indicated CCs)
receive, for a CC list, an indication of common TCI state in one CC in the CC list to update TCI states of all CCs in the CC list, wherein TCI state ID(s) are included in an indication of common TCI state; (Zhou, see paragraph [0006], a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state indication to a user equipment (UE), wherein the TCI state indication comprises at least one common multi-channel TCI state and configuring a TCI state application time for the at least one common multi-channel TCI state based on one or more factors. Also see paragraph [0087], if the single CC belongs to a radio resource control (RRC) configured CC list, the TCI state indication (and beam indication) carried by the DCI may be applied to all CCs in that list. For example, when the single component carrier is associated with a RRC component carrier list) determine, for the CC list, an application time of the common TCI state, wherein the application time is based on a reference subcarrier spacing (SCS) (Zhou, see paragraph [0094], application time may be determined by a fixed rule while satisfying the largest TCI state application time among the individual TCI state application times for the different subsets of channel(s) and/or RS(s). In other words, in some cases, the TCI state application time is determined by a rule and is at least as long as the maximum channel-specific TCI state application time associated with a plurality of channels. Also see paragraph [0223], a subband may cover multiple RBs. NR may support a base subcarrier spacing (SCS) of 15 KHz and other SCS may be defined with respect to the base SCS (e.g., 30 kHz, 60 kHz, 120 kHz, 240 kHz) and apply the TCI state ID(s) included in the indication of common TCI state to all of CCs in the CC list after the determined application time (Zhou, see paragraph [0084], the TCI state application time is configured to be the same for the plurality of component carriers. In some cases, the TCI state application time may be configured for only a subset of the plurality of component carriers).
As per claim 17, Zhou teaches the UE of claim 16, wherein the processor is further configured to cause the UE to: receive a configuration of a reference CC in a Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) configuration when the reference CC is not configured with a TCI state pool (Zhou, see paragraph [0065], for example, a UE-specific or non-UE specific PDCCH, PDSCH, PUCCH, and/or PUSCH. In some cases, the PDSCH/PUCCH/PUSCH target channels may be dynamically scheduled by DCI, semi-statically activated by DCI or MAC-CE).
As per claim 20, Zhou teaches wherein one reference CC is configured for each CC list. (Zhou, see paragraph [0087], if the single CC belongs to a radio resource control (RRC) configured CC list, the TCI state indication (and beam indication) carried by the DCI).
As per claim 22,
[Rejection rational for claim 20 is applicable].
As per claim 27, Zhou teaches a base unite (Zhou, see paragraph [0006], a base station (BS)) comprising
a processor; (Zhou, see paragraph [0097], one or more processors 720) and
a memory coupled with the processor, the processor configured to cause the base unit to:
transmit a configuration of one or more component carrier (CC) lists, wherein a simultaneous transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state update is supported for all CCs in each CC list; (Zhou, see paragraph [0005], receiving a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state indication from a network, the TCI state indication comprises at least one common multi-channel TCI state. Also see paragraph [0084], a common TCI state application time, in some cases, the beam indication(s) may include a common TCI state indication to be applied to all indicated CCs) wherein transmit, for a CC list, an indication of common TCI state in one CC in the CC list to update TCI states of all CCs in the CC list, wherein TCI state ID(s) are included in an indication of common TCI state; (Zhou, see paragraph [0084], the TCI state application time is configured to be the same for the plurality of component carriers. In some cases, the TCI state application time may be configured for only a subset of the plurality of component carriers).
and
determine, for the CC list, an application time of the common TCI state, wherein the application time is based on a reference subcarrier spacing (SCS). (Zhou, see paragraph [0094], application time may be determined by a fixed rule while satisfying the largest TCI state application time among the individual TCI state application times for the different subsets of channel(s) and/or RS(s). In other words, in some cases, the TCI state application time is determined by a rule and is at least as long as the maximum channel-specific TCI state application time associated with a plurality of channels. Also see paragraph [0223], a subband may cover multiple RBs. NR may support a base subcarrier spacing (SCS) of 15 KHz and other SCS may be defined with respect to the base SCS (e.g., 30 kHz, 60 kHz, 120 kHz, 240 kHz).
As per claim 28, Zhou teaches the base unit of claim 27, wherein the processor is further configured to cause the base unit transmit a configuration of a reference CC in a Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) configuration when the reference CC is not configured with a TCI state pool (PDSCH) configuration when the reference CC is not configured with a TCI state pool (Zhou, see paragraph [0065], for example, a UE-specific or non-UE specific PDCCH, PDSCH, PUCCH, and/or PUSCH. In some cases, the PDSCH/PUCCH/PUSCH target channels may be dynamically scheduled by DCI, semi-statically activated by DCI or MAC-CE).
As per claim 29,
[Rejection rational for claim 16 is applicable].
As per claim 30, Zhou teaches the processor of claim 29, wherein the controller is further configured to cause the processor to: receive a configuration of a reference CC in a Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) configuration when the reference CC is not configured with a TCI state pool. (PDSCH) configuration when the reference CC is not configured with a TCI state pool (Zhou, see paragraph [0065], for example, a UE-specific or non-UE specific PDCCH, PDSCH, PUCCH, and/or PUSCH. In some cases, the PDSCH/PUCCH/PUSCH target channels may be dynamically scheduled by DCI, semi-statically activated by DCI or MAC-CE).
As per claim 31, and 33
[Rejection rational for claim 16 is applicable].
As per claim 34 and 35
[Rejection rational for claim 16 is applicable].
Conclusion
/HERMON ASRES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2449