DETAILED ACTION
Note: The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Status of Claims
1. Claims 6-21 are pending and currently under consideration for patentability.
Claims 1-5 are preliminarily canceled via the January 22, 2024 claim amendment.
Priority
2. Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on January 22, 2024 and August 20, 2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
4. Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 5-6 of claim 1 recite “a around-torso direction” which is a grammatical error and should be corrected to ---[[a]]an around-torso direction---.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claim(s) 6, 7, 10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Suzuki et al. (US 6,069,097).
6. With regard to claim 6, Suzuki discloses a disposable wearable article (abstract; Figs.32, 33, 36, 37; col. 1, lines 18-26), comprising: an absorptive main body (main body, 121) in which an absorber is disposed between a top sheet and a back sheet (“has an absorbent housed between a liquid pervious top sheet and a liquid impervious back sheet”; col. 16, lines 55-57); a pair of flap parts (side bands, 124) that are provided in one of a front part and a back part disposed on both side of a crotch part of the absorptive main body (121), and extend to both sides in an around-torso direction (Fig. 37; col. 16, line 65 – col. 17, line 7); and a pair of fastener members (fasteners, 126) that are respectively provided in the pair of flap parts (124) at a distance from tip ends in the around-torso direction of the flap parts (124) to be attachably and detachably joined to an opposing part (bond area, 125) provided in the absorptive main body (121; col. 16, line 65 – col. 17, line 7), wherein each of the flap parts (124) is made of a thermoplastic nonwoven fabric (composite elastic material, 100; Figs. 32, 33), and includes, in an extending part between the tip end of the flap part (124) and the fastener member (126), a thermally-fused part (at area, 111) having bending rigidity of the nonwoven fabric (!00) increased by thermally fusing the nonwoven fabric (col. 10, line 66 – col. 11, lines 22; col. 15, lines 46-62; col. 16, lines 27-42).
7. With regard to claim 7, Suzuki discloses that the thermally-fused part (111) continuously extends from the extending part (of 100) into a region of the flap part (124) where the fastener (126) member is disposed (Figs. 32, 33, 37; col. 10, line 66 – col. 11, lines 22; col. 15, lines 46-62; col. 16, lines 27-42).
8. With regard to claims 10 and 15, Suzuki discloses that each of the flap parts (124) includes the thermally-fused part (111) formed adjacently to a whole region (110) between a first end and a second end, in a direction crossing the around-torso direction at a right angle, of the tip end of the flap part (Figs. 34, 37; col. 10, line 66 – col. 11, lines 22; col. 15, lines 46-62; col. 16, lines 27-42).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claim(s) 8, 9, 11-14 and 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki.
10. With regard to claims 8 and 11, while Suzuki discloses that each of the flap parts (124) includes the thermally-fused part (111) in a plural number linearly extending parallel to the tip end of the flap part (Figs. 33, 37; col. 10, line 66 – col. 11, lines 22; col. 15, lines 46-62; col. 16, lines 27-42), Suzuki fails to explicitly disclose that each of the flap parts includes the thermally-fused part in a plural number linearly extending at a right angle to the tip end of the flap part.
However, in an alternate embodiment (Fig.25), Suzuki discloses that each of the flap parts includes a bonded part (plurality of bond lines, 30) in a plural number linearly extending at a right angle (“perpendicular to machine direction” or “in parallel to the elongation direction”) to the tip end of the flap part (Fig. 25; col. 14, lines 39-65).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pattern of the thermally-fused part disclosed by Suzuki to be linearly extending at a right angle to the tip end of the flap part, similar to that disclosed in alternate embodiments of Suzuki, in order to limit or lower the property of elongation in a longitudinal direction at the location of the thermally-fused bond lines, as suggested by Suzuki in column 14, lines 59-65.
11. With regard to claims 9 and 12-14, Suzuki fails to explicitly disclose, within the same embodiment (of Figs. 32, 33), that that each of the flap parts includes the thermally-fused part formed in a lattice shape.
However, Suzuki discloses that each of the flap parts (124) includes a bonded part (bond sites, 31) formed in a lattice shape (Figs. 27, 37; col. 10, line 66 – col. 11, lines 22; col. 14, lines 47-53),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pattern of the thermally-fused part disclosed by Suzuki to be linearly extending at a right angle to the tip end of the flap part, similar to that disclosed in alternate embodiments of Suzuki, in order to substantially limit or reduce the elongation properties of the non-woven and elastic sheet at the location of the thermally-fused bond lattice, as suggested by Suzuki in column 14, lines 54-56.
12. With regard to claims 16-21, Suzuki discloses that each of the flap parts (124) includes the thermally-fused part (111) formed adjacently to a whole region (110) between a first end and a second end, in a direction crossing the around-torso direction at a right angle, of the tip end of the flap part (Figs. 34, 37; col. 10, line 66 – col. 11, lines 22; col. 15, lines 46-62; col. 16, lines 27-42).
Conclusion
13. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mattingly et al. (US PGPUB 2009/0157034) discloses an absorbent article having a function and partially encircling waistband.
LaVon et al. (US PGPUB 2013/0211363) discloses a disposable pull-on garment.
Wade et al. (US PGPUB 2015/0088088) discloses absorbent articles with textured laminate structure.
Baer et al. (US 5,938,650) discloses an absorbent core for absorbing body liquids.
Olsson et al. (US PGPUB 2006/0027306) discloses a method for producing prefastened absorbent product with elastic reclosable sides.
/ANDREW J MENSH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781