DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
The amendment filed on January 22, 2024 is acknowledged. Claims 3-4, 6-11, 15-20 have been amended. There are no new or cancelled claims. Claims 1-9, 10-18, 19-20 are pending. Claims 1-9, 19-20 will be examined on the merits herein.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-9, 19-20) in reply filed on June 3, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 10-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142 (b) as being drawn to nonelected invention, there being no allowance generic or linking claim.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority based on an application filed on July 26, 2021. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS)
The IDS submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-9, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gulla et al. (Pat. US 11180561 B2; hereafter Gulla; PTO-892).
As claims 1-2, 6, 19-20, Gulla teaches “the discovery and characterization of antibodies that bind the extracellular domain (ECD) of KLRG1 but do not interfere with its interaction with the ligands E-cadherin, N-cadherin, and R-cadherin. The antibodies described have been derived by mouse hybridoma technology, and can be humanized by grafting their complementary determining regions (CDRs) into a human framework. The antibodies described can be used as effective therapeutic agents. Various antibodies, or antigen-binding fragments of such antibodies, along with various therapeutic and/or diagnostic methods, among other features”. See abstract.
Gulla teaches humanized constructs, humanization was carried out by grafting the CDR of the mouse antibodies onto human framework sequences with the highest sequence homology. See Table 5, 8.
Gulla teaches “an antibody, or fragment thereof, that specifically binds to an extracellular domain of KLRG1, and which comprises a heavy chain variable region comprising three heavy chain complementarity determining regions (CDR-H1, CDR-H2 and CDR-H3) and a light chain variable region comprising three light chain complementary determining regions (CDR-L1, CDR-L2 and CDR-L3), wherein said antibody, or fragment thereof comprises: … SEQ ID NO:20 (CDR-L2), … SEQ ID NO:32 (CDR-L2)… SEQ ID NO:38 (CDR-L2), … SEQ ID NO:33 (CDR-L3)”. See claim 1.
Gulla teaches “The antibody, or fragment thereof, of claim 1, comprising …or h) the three heavy chain complementarity determining regions and the three light chain complementarity determining regions of iii); wherein the heavy chain variable region comprises SEQ ID NO:54 or a sequence at least 90% identical to SEQ ID NO:54; and the light chain variable region comprises SEQ ID NO:55 or a sequence at least 90% identical to SEQ ID NO:55. See claims 2, 8.
Gulla teaches SEQ ID NO: 54, ABC_HG1D03-VH. SEQ ID NO: 54 is 99.5% identical to SEQ ID NO: 4. See Table 5, and Figure below.
Gulla teaches SEQ ID NO: 31 (CDR-L1), SEQ ID NOs: 20, 32, 38 (CDR-L2) and SEQ ID NO: 33 (CDR-L3), ABC_G1D03, mouse antibodies. See Table 3. Gulla also teaches SEQ ID NO: 55 (ABC_HG1D03-VK), mouse grafted antibodies, humanized antibodies. SEQ ID NO:55 comprises the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 11 (CDR-L1), SEQ ID NO:12 (CDR-L2), and SEQ ID NO:13 (CDR-L3). See Table 3, 5, claims 1; and Figures below.
Gulla teaches SEQ ID NO: 55 is 97.5% identical to SEQ ID NO: 5. See claims 2,8; Table 5; and Figure below.
Gulla teaches “the antibody, or a fragment thereof, can comprise a monoclonal antibody, or a fragment thereof”. “The monoclonal antibody, or a fragment thereof, can specifically bind the epitope PLNFSRI (SEQ ID NO:56), or a fragment thereof, comprising at least five (5) contiguous amino acids. SEQ ID NO: 56 is 100% identical to SEQ ID NO: 14. See column 3; lines 52-55. “Peptide mapping of binding epitope of ABC_G1D03, showing binding of the antibody to a peptide sequence defined by the amino acids “PLNFSRI” (SEQ ID NO:56)”. See Figures 2, 3.
As claims 7-8, Gulla teaches “the antibody, or a fragment thereof, comprises a monoclonal antibody, or a fragment thereof, the monoclonal antibody, or a fragment thereof, can comprise a chimeric antibody, or a fragment thereof. In some embodiments in which the antibody, or a fragment thereof, comprises a monoclonal antibody, or a fragment thereof, the monoclonal antibody, or a fragment thereof, can comprise a humanized antibody or a fragment thereof”. See column 4; lines 39-47. “Binding of anti-KLRG1 monoclonal antibodies to cells that expressed human and cynomolgus-KLRG1 was carried out by FACS”. See for example, column 39; lines 65-67.
As claims 9, Gulla teaches “The KLRG1 can comprise human KLRG1 or Cyano KLRG1”. See column 3, lines 48-49. “The antibody, or a fragment of the antibody, can be such that the KLRG1 comprises human KLRG1 or Cyano KLRG1”. See column 6; lines 29-31.
As claims 19-20, Gulla teaches “a pharmaceutical composition comprises one or more of an antibody, or fragment of the antibody, a monoclonal antibody, or a fragment of the antibody, or derivative of either such antibody or fragment and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier”. See column 7, lines 38-46.
Gulla teaches “a kit comprises one or more of an antibody, or fragment of the antibody, a monoclonal antibody, or a fragment of the antibody, or derivative of either such antibody or fragment, and instructions for use”. See column 7, lines 47-54.
Claims 3-5 are rejected because they are dependent of claim 1.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 6-9, 19-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 7-13, 16-23 of U.S. Patent No. 11180561 B2.
‘561 discloses an antibody, or fragment thereof, that specifically binds to an extracellular domain of KLRG1, and which comprises SEQ ID NO:28 (CDR-H1), SEQ ID NO:29 (CDR-H2), SEQ ID NO:30 (CDR-H3), SEQ ID NO:32 (CDR-L2), and SEQ ID NO:33 (CDR-L3), SEQ ID NO:36 (CDR-H3), SEQ ID NO:31 (CRD-L1), SEQ ID NO:38 (CDR-L2), SEQ ID NO:20 (CDR-L2). See ‘561, claim 1; See Table 3 for sequences. See below Alignments for Sequence Similarities and Identity.
‘561 discloses a sequence at least 90% identical to SEQ ID NO:54; and the light chain variable region comprises SEQ ID NO:55 or a sequence at least 90% identical to SEQ ID NO:55.” See ‘561, claim 2.
‘561 discloses “the antibody, or fragment thereof, is a monoclonal antibody, or fragment thereof”. See ‘561, claim 3.
‘561 discloses the antibody, or fragment, thereof is a humanized antibody, or fragment thereof.” See ‘561, claim 7. See Alignments for Sequence Similarities and Identity.
‘561 discloses the antibody, or fragment thereof, of claim 3, comprising […] the three heavy chain complementarity determining regions and the three light chain complementarity determining regions of iii); wherein the heavy chain variable region comprises SEQ ID NO:54 or a sequence at least 95% identical to SEQ ID NO:54; and the light chain variable region comprises SEQ ID NO:55 or a sequence at least 95% identical to SEQ ID NO:55”. See ‘561, claim 8. See Alignments for Sequence Similarities and Identity.
‘561 discloses an antibody, or fragment thereof, that specifically binds to an extracellular domain of KLRG1, and which comprises a heavy chain comprising three heavy chain complementarity determining regions comprising SEQ ID NO:28 (CDR-H1), SEQ ID NO:29 (CDR-H2), and SEQ ID NO:30 (CDR-H3) and a light chain comprising three light chain complementary determining regions comprising SEQ ID NO:31 (CRD-L1), SEQ ID NO:32 (CDR-L2), and SEQ ID NO:33 (CDR-L3)”. See ‘561, claim 9. See Table 3 for Sequences. See Alignments for Sequence Similarities and Identity.
‘561 discloses claims the antibody, or fragment thereof, of claim 9, wherein said light chain comprises a light chain variable region comprising SEQ ID NO:55 or a sequence at least 90% identical to SEQ ID NO:55”. See ‘561, claim 10 and Table 3 for sequences. See Alignments for Sequence Similarities and Identity.
‘561 discloses the antibody, or fragment thereof, of claim 10, wherein said light chain variable region comprises SEQ ID NO:55 or a sequence at least 95% identical to SEQ ID NO:55”. See ‘561, claim 11.
‘561 discloses the antibody, or fragment thereof, of claim 9, wherein said light chain comprises a heavy chain variable region comprising SEQ ID NO:54 or a sequence at least 90% identical to SEQ ID NO:54. See ‘561, claim 12 and Table 3 for Sequences. See Alignments for Sequence Similarities and Identity.
‘561 discloses the antibody or fragment thereof of claim 12, wherein said heavy chain variable region comprises SEQ ID NO:54 or a sequence at least 95% identical to SEQ ID NO:54”. See ‘561, claim 13, and Table 3 for Sequences. See Alignments for Sequence Similarities and Identity.
‘561 discloses “An antibody, or fragment thereof, that specifically binds to an extracellular domain of KLRG1, and which comprises (a) a heavy chain comprising heavy chain complementarity determining regions comprising SEQ ID NO:28 (CDR-H1), SEQ ID NO:29 (CDR-H2), and SEQ ID NO:30 (CDR-H3); (b) a light chain comprising three light chain complementary determining regions comprising SEQ ID NO:31 (CRD-L1), SEQ ID NO:32 (CDR-L2), and SEQ ID NO:33 (CDR-L3); (c) wherein said heavy chain comprises a heavy chain variable region comprising SEQ ID NO:54 or a sequence at least 90% identical to SEQ ID NO:54; and (d) wherein said light chain comprises a light chain variable region comprising SEQ ID NO:55 or a sequence at least 90% identical to SEQ ID NO:55. See ‘561, claim 16 and Table 3 for sequences. See Alignments for Sequence Similarities and Identity.
‘561 discloses an extracellular domain of KLRG1, and which comprises (a) a heavy chain comprising heavy chain complementarity determining regions comprising SEQ ID NO:28 (CDR-H1), SEQ ID NO:29 (CDR-H2), and SEQ ID NO:30 (CDR-H3); (b) a light chain comprising three light chain complementary determining regions comprising SEQ ID NO:31 (CRD-L1), SEQ ID NO:32 (CDR-L2), and SEQ ID NO:33 (CDR-L3); (c) wherein said heavy chain comprises a heavy chain variable region comprising SEQ ID NO:54 or a sequence at least 90% identical to SEQ ID NO:54; and (d) wherein said light chain comprises a light chain variable region comprising SEQ ID NO:55 or a sequence at least 90% identical to SEQ ID NO:55. See ‘561, claim 16 and Table 3 for Sequences.
‘561 discloses the antibody or fragment thereof of claim 16, wherein said heavy chain variable region comprises SEQ ID NO:54 or a sequence at least 95% identical to SEQ ID NO:54; and said light chain variable region comprises SEQ ID NO:55 or a sequence at least 95% identical to SEQ ID NO:55. See ‘561, claim 17 and Table 3 for sequences. See Alignments for Sequence Similarities and Identity.
‘561 discloses “A pharmaceutical composition, comprising the antibody, or fragment thereof, and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier. See ‘561, claims 18-20.
‘561 discloses “A kit, comprising the antibody, or fragment thereof and packaging materials therefore.” See ‘561, claims 21-23.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the antibodies of SEQ ID NOs: 4, 11-13 (claim 1) and SEQ ID NOs: 5, 11-13 (claim 2) are the same antibodies of US 11180561 B2 (claims 1-3, 7-13, 16-17). The CDRs of SEQ ID NOs: 31-21 of US 11180561 B2 are 100% identical to SEQ ID NOs: 11-13 (claim 1-2) and SEQ ID NOs: 4-5 are at least 90 and/or 95% identical to SEQ ID NOs: 54-55 of US 11180561 B2.
Claims 19-23 drawn to a pharmaceutical composition, comprising at least one antibody, or fragment thereof, and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, and a kit, comprising at least one antibody, or fragment thereof, as claims 18-20 of US 11180561 B2.
Therefore, claims 1-2, 6-9, 19-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 7-13, 16-23 of U.S. Patent No. 11180561 B2.
Allowable Subject Matter
SEQ ID NOs: 6-7 were searched and are free of prior art. However, claims 3-5 are dependent of claim 1.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/PRICILA NMN HAUK TEODORO/Examiner, Art Unit 1645
/HEATHER CALAMITA/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1684