DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
At the outset, it is noted that there is an error in the claim identifier for claim 12. For purposes of examination, the claim identifier is understood to be “Currently Amended”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 10, 12-14, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by United States Patent No. 2011/0268672 (Monzyk) (see IDS of 1/22/2024).
Regarding Claim 1, Monzyk discloses a method of treating produce comprising contacting the produce with a ferrate solution [0165].
As to Claim 2, given that Monzyk discloses a method of treating produce comprising contacting the produce with a ferrate solution to disinfect produce [0165], the method would naturally prolong shelf life [0165]
Regarding Claim 3, Monzyk disinfects the produce [0165].
As to Claim 4, Monzyk teaches the method decontaminates food products (i.e., treat contaminated foods) [0148].
Regarding Claim 5 the produce is a food [0165].
As to Claim 6, Monzyk teaches the produce is a meat [0165].
Regarding Claim 10, teaches the produce is a fruit [0165].
As to Claim 12, Monzyk teaches the produce is a vegetable [0165].
Regarding Claim 13, Monzyk teaches the vegetable is spinach [0165].
As to Claim 14, Monzyk teaches the vegetable is lettuce [0165].
As to Claim 16, Monzyk teaches the fruit and vegetables can be treated with ferrates and no indication that the fruit and vegetables are cooked (i.e., the fruit and vegetables are raw raw) [0165].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent No. 2011/0268672 (Monzyk) in view of F. Rivalta, Fish farm water treatment: new multi-approach for application of sodium ferrate, Il Pesce, No. 3 Anno 2017 (RIVALTA).
Monzyk discloses a method of treating produce comprising contacting the produce with a ferrate solution [0165] but silent as to seafood being treated, or the treatment being performed in a fishery.
Rivalta teaches on page 2 in the first paragraph that sodium ferrate can be used as a disinfectant in fishing farm and aquaculture systems. It would have been obvious to treat seafood with the ferrates of Monzyk in a fishery as Rivalta teaches that sodium ferrate can be used as a disinfectant.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method of Monzyk so that it can be used use in fisheries, as Takahashi teaches it is desirable to decrease bacterial contamination in fisheries used for the production of seafood.
Claim(s) 11, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent No. 2011/0268672 (Monzyk).
Monzyk discloses a method of treating produce comprising contacting the produce with a ferrate solution [0165].
As to Claim 11, Monzyk is silent as to berries. However, Monzyk teaches that fruit can be treated [0165]. It would have been obvious to treated berries as berries are a fruit.
As to Claim 15, Monzyk is silent as to sprouts. However, Monzyk teaches that vegetables can be treated [0165]. It would have been obvious to treated sprouts as sprouts are a vegetable.
Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent No. 2011/0268672 (Monzyk) in view of United States Published Patent Application No. 2011/0319489 (MAN) (see IDS of 1/22/2024).
Monzyk discloses a method of treating produce comprising contacting the produce with a ferrate solution [0165] but silent as to the treatment being performed in a field. Monzyk is also silent as to practicing the method in a facility.
Man teaches a method of using ferrates [0064] to decontaminate food such as vegetable. This includes in greenhouses [0031]. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to treat vegetables where the grow whether it is a greenhouse or field. Thus, it would have been obvious to treat vegetables in the field.
Man also teaches treating products and in processing facilities [0143]-[0145]. Thus, it would have been obvious to practice treat foods with ferrates in processing facilities to decontaminate the food.
Claim(s) 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent No. 2011/0268672 (Monzyk) in view of WO 2012/033850 (Pendred) (see IDS of 1/22/2024).
Monzyk is silent as to performing the method in in a grocery store or supermarket.
Pendred teaches using disinfectants/biocides in grocery stores or to prevent the contamination of foods and/or beverages. (pg. 3, first paragraph and pg. 4, first partial paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method of Monzyk in grocery stores and supermarkets, Pendred teaches it is desirable to prevent the contamination of food by applying disinfectants/biocides.
Conclusion
/PHILIP A DUBOIS/ Examiner, Art Unit 1791
/Nikki H. Dees/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1791