DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Majewski et al. (US 8129641 B2).
In regard to claim 1, Majewski et al. discloses a connector configured to hold a busbar 22 in contact with another conductor in a high current power supply system, especially a battery unit with an electrode of a battery or with a further busbar 22, the connector (figures 10 and 11) comprising
a clamp 20, the clamp 20 having a transition section 27 connecting a first leg 24 arranged at one end of the transition section 27, to a second leg 21 arranged at the opposite end of the transition section 27, the transition section 27 and/or the first leg 24 being elastically deformable, the clamp 20 having a first state, in which a reference part of the first leg 24 is distanced from a reference part of the second leg 21 by a first amount, the clamp 20 having a second state, in which the reference part of the first leg 24 is distanced from the reference part of the second leg 21 by a second amount that is different from the first amount, the transitions section 27 and/or the first leg 24 being further elastically deformed in the second state (fig. 11) than in the first state (fig. 10), the transition section 27 having a width in a width direction that extends at an angle to a line that connects the one end with the opposite end of the transition section 27,
the connector further comprising a spacer 13, the spacer 13 being moveable between a first position (fig. 11) and a second position (fig. 12), the spacer 13 being in contact with a part of the first leg 24 when the clamp 20 is in the second state (fig. 11) and the spacer 13 is in the first position wherein the spacer 13
is designed to be rotated from the first position into the second position;
is designed to be moved linearly from the first position into the second position along a retraction direction, the retraction direction pointing at least partially in the width direction and/or at least partially pointing towards the transition section 27 (see figures 10 and 11);or
is designed to perform a combined rotational and linear movement from the first position into the second position.
(NOTE: the spacer 13 can perform a combined rotational and linear movement motion because it involves both linear (straight-line) motion and rotational motion happening at the same time).
In regard to claim 2, Majewski et al. discloses the second leg 21 is elastically deformable and wherein the second leg 21 is further elastically deformed in the second state than in the first state.
In regard to claim 4, Majewski et al. discloses a connector according to claim 1 and the other conductor (through 25), the busbar 22 being in contact with the other conductor.
In regard to claim 6, the recitation that “the clamp is the electrode of the battery” has not been given a significant patentable weight since it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Majewski et al.
In regard to claim 7, Majewski et al. does not disclose at least a part of the clamp 20 and/or at least a part of the spacer 13 is made from a material that has a lower electrical conductivity than the material that at least a part of the busbar 22 and/or the other conductor is made of, and/or the bending stiffness of at least a part of the clamp 20 is made lower than the bending stiffness of a part of the busbar 22 and/or a part of the other conductor.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Majewski et al. by constructing the clamp, the spacer and the busbar of the as-claimed material since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious engineering choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5, 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 8, 9 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
In regard to claim 3, the prior art fails to provide, teach or suggest
a casing (10) with an opening (17) for inserting a part of the busbar (4) into the casing,
a clearance being arranged in the casing between the opening for inserting a part of the busbar into the casing and a busbar abutment surface on the spacer when the clamp is in the second state and the spacer is in the first position.
In regard to claim 5, the prior art fails to provide, teach or suggest
a part of the busbar is arranged between the reference part of the first leg and the reference part of the second leg.
In regard to claim 8, the prior art fails to provide, teach or suggest
the steps of bringing a part of the busbar into contact with a busbar abutment surface on the spacer and moving the spacer from the first position towards the second position using the busbar.
In regard to claim 10, the prior art fails to provide, teach or suggest
a battery set comprising at least two battery units and the system according to claim 4.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
Conclusion
Tdt
1/29/2026
/THO D TA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834