DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites wherein each of the plurality of solar cells is “a segment of a solar cell substrate.” It is unclear what a segment of a solar cell substrate is. It is unclear what a solar cell substrate is. Is it a substrate underlying solar cells or is it something else?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giron (US 20150136207 A1) in view of Yaoi (US 20130240012 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Giron discloses a solar cell module comprising (see Figs. 1-4 [0053]-[0071]):
a plurality of solar cells (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 2, 6 [0061]) spaced apart from each other and arranged in a first direction (top to bottom in plane view along A-A’ direction in Fig. 1) and a second direction (left to right in plane view of Fig. 1) perpendicular to the first direction;
a connection member (5 and/or 7 [0064]) electrically connecting the plurality of solar cells, wherein the plurality of solar cells is sealed by a resin layer (3 [0060]) having a curved-face shape and is arranged along the curved-face shape and a solar cell group in which the connection member electrically connects first solar cells (see Fig. 1, series and parallel interconnection shown).
However, Giron does not disclose in the plurality of solar, solar cells which are adjacent to each other in the first direction are electrically connected in series with each other and in the plurality of solar cells, solar cells that are adjacent to each other in the second direction are electrically connected in parallel with each other.
Yaoi discloses an interconnection scheme (see Fig. 6B and see annotated drawing below) between solar cells in rows and columns where the plurality of solar cells that are adjacent to each other in the first direction are electrically connected in series with each other and second solar cells, in the plurality of solar cells, that are adjacent to each other in the second direction, are electrically connected in parallel with each other and an edge electrode wire connected to the connection member, close to an edge of the solar cell group, wherein:
the connection member includes a first connection member and a second connection member, the first solar cells are connected in series with each other by the first connection member disposed in the first direction, the second solar cells are connected in parallel with each other by the second connection member disposed in the second direction, and the connection member is connected to the edge electrode wire via an intermediate connection wire other and further discloses that this interconnection scheme aids suppressing the influence of a shaded area in each photovoltaic module as well so as to further improve resistance to shaded areas ([0030] [0103])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the interconnection scheme between solar cells in rows and columns of Giron so that the plurality of solar cells that are adjacent to each other in the first direction are electrically connected in series with each other and second solar cells, in the plurality of solar cells, that are adjacent to each other in the second direction, are electrically connected in parallel by using the interconnection scheme wiring scheme as disclosed by Yaoi because this aids suppressing the influence of a shaded area in each photovoltaic module as well so as to further improve resistance to shaded areas.
Giron discloses that an edge electrode wire (7) can have an extension direction (see Fig. 1).
Yaoi shows an edge electrode wire out of a module (See M1, in Fig. 7B) which extends in a second direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art at the time of firing to have the edge electrode wire of modified Giron to extend in the second direction because extending an electrode wire is known and extending it in a direction will make it is easier for access and interconnection.
Regarding claim 6, modified Giron discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Giron discloses a solar power generation system comprising module above (see rejection of claim 1), the solar module installed on an installation surface having a curved shape (see 1, in Fig. 2, [0059]).
Regarding claim 8, modified Giron discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Giron discloses wherein the installation surface is a surface of a vehicle ([0059]).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giron (US 20150136207 A1) in view of Yaoi (US 20130240012 A1) as applied to claims 1, 6, and 8 above and in further view of Zhang (US 20220384667 A1).
Regarding claim 10, modified Giron discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Giron does discloses that the solar cell can be formed of monocrystalline silicon, however, does not disclose that it is a segment of a silicon wafer sheet.
Zhang discloses that solar cells which can be interconnected intro string can be formed from a single large silicon sheet ([0055]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have the solar cells of Giron be formed in a manner as disclosed by Zhang because Zhang discloses that solar cell modules can be formed of solar cell strings which are formed from solar cell pieces of a single sheet.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that Giron and Yaoi, either singly or in any combination thereof, do not disclose, teach, or suggest, at least, "an edge electrode wire connected to the connection member and disposed, along the second direction, close to an edge of the solar cell group, wherein: the connection member includes a first connection member and a second connection member, the first solar cells are connected in series with each other by the first connection member disposed in the first direction, the second solar cells are connected in parallel with each other by the second connection member disposed in the second direction, and the connection member is connected to the edge electrode wire via an intermediate connection wire," as recites in claim 1.
The rejection has been modified of Giron in view of Yaoi to have the above claimed feature, please see additional mapping provided and annotated Fig. 6b of Yaoi above.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DEVINA PILLAY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/DEVINA PILLAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726