DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Baran et al. (US Patent Application Publication 20140126158 A1).
As per claim 1, Baran teaches a building controller (along 96 or 136) receiving base 80, for receiving a building controller (along 96 or 136), wherein the building controller (along 96 or 136) includes a building controller housing 36 that houses (shown in figure 4) a building controller electrical connector (20 along 96 or 136) that includes a spring contact (184 and 194, see paragraph 69 and 78) extending outside of the building controller housing 36, the building controller (along 96 or 136) receiving base 80 comprising: a base housing (along 80 of 32) including one or more attachment features 64 for releasably securing the building controller (along 96 or 136) to the base housing (along 80 of 32); a base electrical connector (shown in figure 26) housed by the base housing (along 80 of 32), the base electrical connector (shown in figure 26) includes a spring contact (184 and 194, see paragraph 69 and 78) extending outside of the base housing (along 80 of 32) at a location that is aligned (see figure 1 and 2) with the spring contact (184 and 194, see paragraph 69 and 78) of the building controller electrical connector (20 along 96 or 136) when the building controller (along 96 or 136) is secured to the base housing (along 80 of 32) via the one or more attachment features 64; and the base electrical connector (shown in figure 26) further comprises a first terminal pin (shown in figure 25 along end portions of 92) that extends outside of the base housing (along 80 of 32) and is accessible (along back portion shown in figure 2) from outside of the base housing (along 80 of 32).
As per claim 2, Baran teaches a building controller (along 96 or 136) receiving base 80, wherein the base electrical connector (shown in figure 26) further comprises a terminal receiving slot (shown in figure 25 along within end portions of 92) that extends outside of the base housing (along 80 of 32) and is accessible (along back portion shown in figure 2) from outside of the base housing (along 80 of 32), wherein the first terminal pin (shown in figure 25 along end portions of 92) is accessible (along back portion shown in figure 2) from a first side (along top or bottom portion of 36 shown in figure 4) of the base housing (along 80 of 32) and the terminal receiving slot (shown in figure 25 along within end portions of 92) is accessible (along back portion shown in figure 2) from a second opposing side (along top or bottom portion of 36 shown in figure 4) of the base housing (along 80 of 32).
As per claim 3, Baran teaches a building controller (along 96 or 136) receiving base 80, wherein the base electrical connector (shown in figure 26) comprises an electrically conductive bridge 180 housed by the base housing (along 80 of 32) that mechanically and electrically connects the first terminal pin (shown in figure 25 along end portions of 92) and the terminal receiving slot (shown in figure 25 along within end portions of 92).
As per claim 4, Baran teaches a building controller (along 96 or 136) receiving base 80, wherein the base housing (along 80 of 32) comprises a base platform (along 44) and a raised end (shown in figure 8, along top portion of 76), wherein the raised end (shown in figure 8, along top portion of 76) is configured to project upward from the base platform (along 44) and along at least part of a first side (along top or bottom portion of 36 shown in figure 4) of the building controller housing 36 when the building controller (along 96 or 136) is secured to the base housing (along 80 of 32) via the one or more attachment features 64, and wherein the spring contact (184 and 194, see paragraph 69 and 78) of the base electrical connector (shown in figure 26) extending outside of the base housing (along 80 of 32) at a location along the raised end (shown in figure 8, along top portion of 76) facing the first side (along top or bottom portion of 36 shown in figure 4) of the building controller (along 96 or 136) and in alignment with the spring contact (184 and 194, see paragraph 69 and 78) of the building controller electrical connector (20 along 96 or 136) when the building controller (along 96 or 136) is secured to the base housing (along 80 of 32) via the one or more attachment features 64.
As per claim 5, Baran teaches a building controller (along 96 or 136) receiving base 80, wherein the base electrical connector (shown in figure 26) further comprises a terminal receiving slot (shown in figure 25 along within end portions of 92) that extends outside of the base housing (along 80 of 32) and is accessible (along back portion shown in figure 2) from outside of the base housing (along 80 of 32), wherein the first terminal pin (shown in figure 25 along end portions of 92) is accessible (along back portion shown in figure 2) from a first side (along top or bottom portion of 36 shown in figure 4) of the base housing (along 80 of 32) and the terminal receiving slot (shown in figure 25 along within end portions of 92) is accessible (along back portion shown in figure 2) from a second opposing side (along top or bottom portion of 36 shown in figure 4) of the base housing (along 80 of 32).
As per claim 6, Baran teaches a building controller (along 96 or 136) receiving base 80, wherein the base electrical connector (shown in figure 26) comprises an electrically conductive bridge 180 housed by the base housing (along 80 of 32) that mechanically and electrically connects the first terminal pin (shown in figure 25 along end portions of 92), the terminal receiving slot (shown in figure 25 along within end portions of 92) and the spring contact (184 and 194, see paragraph 69 and 78) of the base electrical connector (shown in figure 26).
As per claim 7, Baran teaches a building controller (along 96 or 136) receiving base 80, wherein the base housing (along 80 of 32) defines a first terminal port 96 about the first terminal pin (shown in figure 25 along end portions of 92) for receiving a first terminal connector (along shown in figure 25 along end portions of 92), and the base housing (along 80 of 32) further defines a second terminal port 132 about the terminal receiving slot (shown in figure 25 along within end portions of 92) for receiving a second terminal connector (along shown in figure 25 along within end portions of 92).
As per claim 8, Baran teaches a building controller (along 96 or 136) receiving base 80, wherein the first terminal port 96 is a female port (shown in figure 25) and the second terminal port 132 is a male port.
As per claim 9, Baran teaches a building controller (along 96 or 136) receiving base 80, wherein the one or more attachment features 64 comprise a DIN rail 52 on a front (along right portion of 36 shown in figure 4) side of the base housing (along 80 of 32) that is configured to be received by a DIN rail receiving slot (shown in figure 2) on a back side 114 of the building controller housing 36 when the building controller (along 96 or 136) is secured to the base housing (along 80 of 32) via the one or more attachment features 64.
As per claim 10, Baran teaches a building controller (along 96 or 136) receiving base 80, wherein a back side 114 of the base housing (along 80 of 32) including a DIN rail receiving slot (shown in figure 2) for receiving a DIN rail 52 on a mounting surface (along mated connector pair, see paragraph 47 and 81).
As per claim 11, Baran teaches a modular building controller (along 96 or 136) (figure 1) receiving base 80, comprising: a main unit (mated connector pair, see paragraph 81), comprising: a main unit housing (along 80 of 32) including a front (along right portion of 36 shown in figure 4), a back (of 32) and at least a first side (along top or bottom portion of 36 shown in figure 4) and an opposing second side (along top or bottom portion of 36 shown in figure 4); a first plurality of electrical connectors (along 184, 193 and shown in figure 26) each extending between and accessible (along back portion shown in figure 2) from the first side (along top or bottom portion of 36 shown in figure 4) of the main unit housing (along 80 of 32) and the opposing second side (along top or bottom portion of 36 shown in figure 4) of the main unit housing (along 80 of 32); a second plurality of electrical connectors (along 184, 193 and shown in figure 26) each extending between and accessible (along back portion shown in figure 2) from the first side (along top or bottom portion of 36 shown in figure 4) of the main unit housing (along 80 of 32) and the opposing second side (along top or bottom portion of 36 shown in figure 4) of the main unit housing (along 80 of 32); wherein each electrical connector of the first plurality of electrical connectors (along 184, 193 and shown in figure 26) and the second plurality of electrical connectors (along 184, 193 and shown in figure 26) includes: an electrically conductive bridge 180 housed by the main unit housing (along 80 of 32); a spring contact (184 and 194, see paragraph 69 and 78) mechanically and electrically connected to the electrically conductive bridge 180, the spring contact (184 and 194, see paragraph 69 and 78) extends outside of the main unit housing (along 80 of 32) and is accessible (along back portion shown in figure 2) from outside of the main unit housing (along 80 of 32); wherein the spring contacts (184 and 194, see paragraph 69 and 78) of the first plurality of electrical connectors (along 184, 193 and shown in figure 26) and the spring contacts (184 and 194, see paragraph 69 and 78) of the second plurality of electrical connectors (along 184, 193 and shown in figure 26) are configured to electrically engage a second plurality of electrical connectors (along 184, 193 and shown in figure 26) on a controller when the controller is releasably received by the main unit (mated connector pair, see paragraph 81); and an extension unit 34, comprising: an extension unit housing 110 including a front (along right portion of 36 shown in figure 4), a back (of 32) and at least a first side (along top or bottom portion of 36 shown in figure 4) and an opposing second side (along top or bottom portion of 36 shown in figure 4); a first plurality of electrical connectors (along 184, 193 and shown in figure 26) each extending between and accessible (along back portion shown in figure 2) from the first side (along top or bottom portion of 36 shown in figure 4) of the extension unit housing 110 and the opposing second side (along top or bottom portion of 36 shown in figure 4) of the extension unit housing 110; a second plurality of electrical connectors (along 184, 193 and shown in figure 26) each extending between and accessible (along back portion shown in figure 2) from the first side (along top or bottom portion of 36 shown in figure 4) of the extension unit housing 110 and the opposing second side (along top or bottom portion of 36 shown in figure 4) of the extension unit housing 110; and wherein the extension unit 34 is releasably couplable mechanically and electrically to the main unit (mated connector pair, see paragraph 81), wherein when releasably coupled, each of the first plurality of electrical connectors (along 184, 193 and shown in figure 26) of the extension unit 34 are electrically connected to a corresponding one of the first plurality of electrical connectors (along 184, 193 and shown in figure 26) of the main unit (mated connector pair, see paragraph 81) and each of the second plurality of electrical connectors (along 184, 193 and shown in figure 26) of the extension unit 34 are electrically connected to a corresponding one of the second plurality of electrical connectors (along 184, 193 and shown in figure 26) of the main unit (mated connector pair, see paragraph 81).
As per claim 12, Baran teaches a modular building controller (along 96 or 136) (figure 1) receiving base 80, wherein the main unit (mated connector pair, see paragraph 81) has a first width (along 74 and 84) and the extension unit 34 has a second width (along 116 and 118) that is less than the first width (along 74 and 84).
As per claim 13, Baran teaches a modular building controller (along 96 or 136) (figure 1) receiving base 80, wherein: the first side (along top or bottom portion of 36 shown in figure 4) of the main unit housing (along 80 of 32) defines both a first terminal port 96 and a second terminal port 132 each for receiving a male terminal connector (along 92); and the second opposing side (along top or bottom portion of 36 shown in figure 4) of the main unit housing (along 80 of 32) defines both a first terminal port 96 and a second terminal port 132 each for receiving a female terminal port (along 96 or 136).
As per claim 14, Baran teaches a modular building controller (along 96 or 136) (figure 1) receiving base 80, wherein: the first side (along top or bottom portion of 36 shown in figure 4) of the extension unit housing 110 defines both a first terminal port 96 and a second terminal port 132 each for receiving a male terminal connector (along 92); and the second opposing side (along top or bottom portion of 36 shown in figure 4) of the extension unit housing 110 defines both a first terminal port 96 and a second terminal port 132 each for receiving a female terminal port (along 96 or 136).
As per claim 15, Baran teaches a modular building controller (along 96 or 136) (figure 1) receiving base 80, wherein the first terminal port 96 and second terminal port 132 of the main unit (mated connector pair, see paragraph 81) are configured to receive the first terminal port 96 and the second terminal port 132 of the extension unit 34.
As per claim 16, Baran teaches a modular controller assembly (figure 2), comprising: a base and a building controller (along 96 or 136), the base configured to releasably receive the building controller (along 96 or 136); the base comprising: a base housing (along 80 of 32) including a front (along right portion of 36 shown in figure 4), a back (of 32) and at least a first side (along top or bottom portion of 36 shown in figure 4) and an opposing second side (along top or bottom portion of 36 shown in figure 4), the base housing (along 80 of 32) including one or more attachment features 64 for releasably securing the building controller (along 96 or 136) to the base housing (along 80 of 32); an electrical connector (along 184, 193 and shown in figure 26) extending between and accessible (along back portion shown in figure 2) from the first side (along top or bottom portion of 36 shown in figure 4) of the base housing (along 80 of 32) and the second side (along top or bottom portion of 36 shown in figure 4) of the base housing (along 80 of 32), the electrical connector (along 184, 193 and shown in figure 26) including: an electrically conductive bridge 180 housed by the base housing (along 80 of 32); and a spring contact (184 and 194, see paragraph 69 and 78) mechanically and electrically connected to the electrically conductive bridge 180, the spring contact (184 and 194, see paragraph 69 and 78) extends outside of the base housing (along 80 of 32) and is accessible (along back portion shown in figure 2) from outside of the base housing (along 80 of 32); the building controller (along 96 or 136) comprising: a controller housing 36 including a front (along right portion of 36 shown in figure 4), a back (of 32) and at least a first side (along top or bottom portion of 36 shown in figure 4) and an opposing second side (along top or bottom portion of 36 shown in figure 4); a printed circuit board 92 housed by the controller housing 36; an electrical connector (along 184, 193 and shown in figure 26) electrically connected to the printed circuit board 92, the electrical connector (along 184, 193 and shown in figure 26) including a first spring contact (184, see paragraph 69), a second spring contact (194, see paragraph 78), and an electrically conductive bridge 180 mechanically and electrically connecting the first spring contact (184, see paragraph 69) and the second spring contact (194, see paragraph 78); and wherein the spring contact (184 and 194, see paragraph 69 and 78) of the electrical connector (along 184, 193 and shown in figure 26) of the base 84 is configured to electrically engage the first spring contact (184, see paragraph 69) of the electrical connector (along 184, 193 and shown in figure 26) of the building controller (along 96 or 136) when the building controller (along 96 or 136) is releasably secured to the base housing (along 80 of 32).
As per claim 17, Baran teaches a modular controller assembly (figure 2), wherein the building controller (along 96 or 136) is configured to be coupled to and/or uncoupled (shown in figure 1) from the base 84 while power (see paragraph 51) is connected to the base 84.
As per claim 18, Baran teaches a modular controller assembly (figure 2), wherein the one or more attachment features 64 of the base housing (along 80 of 32) comprise a DIN rail 52 on the front (along right portion of 36 shown in figure 4) of the base housing (along 80 of 32) that is configured to be received by a DIN rail receiving slot (shown in figure 2) on a back side 114 of the controller housing 36 when the building controller (along 96 or 136) is secured to the base housing (along 80 of 32) via the one or more attachment features 64, and the back (of 32) of the base housing (along 80 of 32) comprises a DIN rail receiving slot (shown in figure 2) for receiving a DIN rail 52 on a mounting surface (along mated connector pair, see paragraph 47 and 81).
As per claim 19, Baran teaches a modular controller assembly (figure 2), further comprising an extension unit 34, comprising: a housing 110 including a front (along right portion of 36 shown in figure 4), a back (of 32) and at least a first side (along top or bottom portion of 36 shown in figure 4) and an opposing second side (along top or bottom portion of 36 shown in figure 4); and an electrical connector (along 184, 193 and shown in figure 26) extending between and accessible (along back portion shown in figure 2) from the first side (along top or bottom portion of 36 shown in figure 4) of the housing 110 and the opposing second side (along top or bottom portion of 36 shown in figure 4) of the housing 110.
As per claim 20, Baran teaches a modular controller assembly (figure 2), wherein the extension unit 34 is configured to be releasably coupled mechanically (shown in figure 1) and electrically to the base 118, and is configured to selectively receive a second building controller (along 34).
Conclusion
/Nelson R. Burgos-Guntin/Examiner, Art Unit 2831
/ABDULLAH A RIYAMI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2831