DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 2 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, “R1”, “R2”, and “R3” should read “R1”, “R2”, and “R3.” The “, ,” should read “,” (after the -C(O)-Het 1 structure).
Regarding claim 2, the “, ,” should read “,” (after the -C(O)-Het 1 structure). “preferablythe” should read “preferably the” (last line).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 Indefiniteness
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 8, 10, 12, 15, and 18, the term or phrases "preferably", “more preferably”, and “most preferably” render the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the term or phrases are mandatory limitations or merely an optional choice. The meters and bounds of the claim cannot be determined with reasonable certainty.
Regarding claim 12, the recitation of “NxS4-x (N4, N2S2, N3S)” is improper and confusing for multiple reasons. First, the variable “x” is undefined within the body of the claim, leaving the boundaries and mathematical constraints of the formula “NxS4-x“ impermissibly vague. Second, the use of parentheses introduces ambiguity, as it is unclear whether the expressions inside the parentheses are intended to be exemplary, restrictive, or synonymous with the preceding formula. Third, the specific chemical formulas listed within the parentheses appear as an improper recitation of preferred embodiments. Including preferred or exemplary embodiments within a claim limitation fails to define the exact metes and bounds of the claim, thereby rendering the claim indefinite.
The dependent claims fall therewith.
Clarification and/or amendment is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haberkorn et al. (WO 2019 154886; cited on PTO-892) in view of Vodela et al. (Chinese Chemical Letters, 2013; cited on PTO-892).
Regarding claims 1-4, 9-12, and 14, Haberkorn discloses a fibroblast activation protein (FAP) inhibitor compound such as FAPI-04
(page 55, Table 5). The FAPI-4 of Haberkorn and the 3BP-3412 compound of instant claim 14 share an identical backbone comprising DOTA (1,4,7,10-tetraazacyclododecane-N,N',N,N'-tetraacetic acid) chelator, piperazine linker, and quinoline core, except the right-hand terminal moiety. The FAPI-4 of Haberkorn contains a cyano group (-CN) attached to the pyrrolidine ring whereas the 3BP-3412 compound of instant claim 14 contains benzoxazole-2-carbonyl group attached to the pyrrolidine ring. Regarding claim 5, Haberkorn discloses that the DOTA-linker moiety (R6 or R7 of Haberkorn, R8-L of instant claim) can attached to the 7-quinolyl position (R7 of instant claim) (claim 3). Regarding claims 6-8, Haberkorn discloses that R6 or R7 can be R8-L, wherein L (linker) can comprise aryl (Lin1 of instant claims) and sulfonyl (Lin 2 of instant claims) (claim 1; page 15, lines 7-23). The linking positions can be at the 1,4-positions and the L can comprise the Lin2-Lin1 structure
of instant claim 8. Regarding claim 13, Haberkorn discloses that R8 can be a radioisotope or a radioactive drug (a biologic active compound modified by a radioisotope) (claim 9; page 19, lines 19-20). A radioisotope can be a cytotoxic agent (page 65, ¶ 2 of instant specification as filed). Regarding claims 15-17, Haberkorn discloses that the compound can be used for the diagnosis or treatment of a disease characterized by overexpression of FAP (abstract). Haberkorn discloses that the compound can comprise diagnostic or therapeutic radionuclides (claim 9; page 85, lines 13-14). Accordingly, Haberkorn discloses the same intended use of the compound as recited in instant claims 16 and 17. Regarding claim 18, Haberkorn discloses that a pharmaceutical composition can comprise the compound and a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient (claim 13).
Haberkorn does not disclose the -C(O)-Het 1 moiety
at R3 position.
Vodela discloses the structure of bezoxazol-2-carboxylic acid (1) and synthesis of its derivatives such as bezoxazol-2-carbonyl chloride (2) and Benzoxazole-2-carboxylic acid methyl ester (3)
(page 626, Scheme 1). Vodela discloses the substituted benzoxazoles can possess pharmaceutical activities such as antitumor and potential activity with lower toxicities in the chemotherapeutic approach (page 625, column 1, ¶¶ 1-2).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the compound of Haberkorn by replacing the cyano group (-CN) with benzoxazol-2-carbonyl group to prepare more effective pharmaceutical agent. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications and reasonably would have expected success because Vodela teaches benzoxazol-2-carbonyl group can be attached to another functional group. Further, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to utilize more stable heteroaryl ketone structure such as benzoxazol-2-carbonyl instead of cyano group at the terminal in order to enhance metabolic longevity and binding affinity. Additionally, synthesizing and evaluating both the R- and S-enantiomeric configurations (wedge and dash) to screen for optimal steric fit is a standard, routine optimization protocol in medicinal chemistry. Selecting the wedge orientation can be a mere choice of design modification resulting from routine screening. Therefore, the compound (3BP-3412) of instant claim14 is an obvious combination of the established core skeleton of Haberkorn with the terminal structure of Vodela, realized via conventional coupling method and routine stereochemical screening.
Conclusion
/JONG HWAN BAEK/Examiner, Art Unit 1618
/Michael G. Hartley/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1618