DETAILED ACTION
This is in reply to an application filed on 01/22/2024. Claims 1-9 are pending.
Preliminary Amendment
The preliminary amendment submitted on 01/22/2024 is acknowledged and considered accordingly.
Information Disclosure Statement PTO-1449
The Information Disclosure Statement submitted by applicant on 1/22/2024, 7/2/2025, and 09/26/2025 have all been considered. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Form PTO-1449 signed and attached hereto.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220117004 A1 to Lee et al., (hereinafter Lee) in view of US 20230224891 A1 to Noh et al., (hereinafter Noh).
Claim 1. A terminal (i.e., UE/Smartphone) comprising:
a receiving section (i.e., a transceiver, see Fig 13, #106) that attempts to receive a first synchronization block (i.e., first SSB);
(Lee: See Fig. 11, #B00 and #B01, para[0075], and para[0118], UE receiving SSB (i.e., first SSB) and a first SIB (i.e., SIB1), wherein the field “pdcch-ConfigSIB1” of SIB1, indicates where the UE may find SS/PBCH block).
and a control section (i.e., processor) that controls reception of a second synchronization signal block, (i.e., SSB2)
(Lee: See Fig. 6, and para[0127] up to “L” number of SSBs may be transmitted to UE by BS. See Fig. 6 for SSB1 and SSB2 being transmitted in SS burst 0 and SS burst 1 repeatedly)
Although Lee teach and suggest that multiple SS blocks (SSBs) can be transmitted to UE repeatedly (Lee: See Fig. 6, Fig. 7, and para[0132]-[0133]), however, it does not explicitly disclose that the reception of the second SSB is based on the “reception results” of the first SSB block, as understood by:
based on a reception result of the first synchronization signal block.
However, in a similar field, Noh, in para[0206]-[0207] teaches that when UE fails to receive a particular SSB (i.e., first/second SSB) transmitted by a base station at a time, then the UE will receives the SSB during the next period or when a period has passed. (Noh: See para[0206]-[0207]).
Lee teaches methods for transmitting/receiving wireless signals wherein when UE enters a new cell, then UE receives an SSB that includes PBCH. (Lee: See para[0075])
Noh teaches methods for UE receiving downlink and uplink resources, including SSB, and in case UE does not receive SSB, or fails to receive the SSB transmitted by BS, then UE shall receive the SSB during the next period, or after a period has passed. (Noh: See para[0206]-[0207])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling, to have included the technique of UE reception failure of SSB, as taught by Noh, with the teachings of Lee, in order to benefit from enhancement of having a UE that based on lack of reception of SSB during a first time, is able to receive the SSB during a next period or after a period has passed. (Noh: See para[0206]-[0207])
Claim 2. The terminal according to claim 1, wherein when the first synchronization signal block is received, the control section (i.e., processor) uses a first random access channel occasion (i.e., first RO) corresponding to the first synchronization signal block to control transmission of a first preamble. (i.e., “RA preamble” transmission) (Lee: See Fig. 11, # B05, “RA preamble” being transmitted from UE to Network/BS after first SSB is received by UE. See para[0209] UE transmit the “RA preamble by determining a specific RA occasion (i.e., first RO) before transmitting the RA preamble)
Claim 3. The terminal according to claim 1, wherein when the second synchronization signal block is received, the control section (i.e., processor) uses a second random access channel occasion corresponding to the second synchronization signal block to control transmission of a second preamble. (i.e., “RA preamble” transmission) (Lee: See Fig. 11, # B05, “RA preamble” being transmitted from UE to Network/BS after first SSB is received by UE. See para[0209] UE transmit the “RA preamble by determining a specific RA occasion (i.e., first RO) before transmitting the RA preamble. It is understood that above processes can be repeated for second SSB, third SSB, etc.)
Claim 4. The terminal according to claim 1, wherein when reception of the first synchronization signal block has failed (i.e., failed to receive first SSB), the control section (i.e., processor) controls reception of the second synchronization signal block.
(Noh: See para[0206]-[0207] when UE fails to receive SSB (i.e., first SSB) transmitted by a base station at a time, then the UE will receives the SSB (i.e., second SSB) during the next period or after a period has passed.)
Lee teaches methods for transmitting/receiving wireless signals wherein when UE enters a new cell, then UE receives an SSB that includes PBCH. (Lee: See para[0075])
Noh teaches methods for UE receiving downlink and uplink resources, including SSB, and in case UE does not receive SSB, or fails to receive the SSB transmitted by BS, then UE shall receive the SSB during the next period, or after a period has passed. (Noh: See para[0206]-[0207])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling, to have included the technique of UE reception failure of SSB, as taught by Noh, with the teachings of Lee, in order to benefit from enhancement of having a UE that based on lack of reception of SSB during a first time, is able to receive the SSB during a next period or after a period has passed. (Noh: See para[0206]-[0207])
Claim 5. A radio communication method for a terminal, (i.e., UE/Smartphone) the radio communication method comprising:
attempting to receive a first synchronization block; (i.e., receiving first SSB) and
(Lee: See Fig. 11, #B00 and #B01, para[0075], and para[0118], UE receiving SSB (i.e., first SSB) and a first SIB (i.e., SIB1), wherein the field “pdcch-ConfigSIB1” of SIB1, indicates where the UE may find SS/PBCH block).
controlling reception of a second synchronization signal block, (i.e., SSB2)
(Lee: See Fig. 6, and para[0127] up to “L” number of SSBs may be transmitted to UE by BS. See Fig. 6 for SSB1 and SSB2 being transmitted in SS burst 0 and SS burst 1 repeatedly)
Although Lee teach and suggest that multiple SS blocks (SSBs) can be transmitted to UE repeatedly (Lee: See Fig. 6, Fig. 7, and para[0132]-[0133]), however, it does not explicitly disclose that the reception of a particular SSB is based on the “reception results” related to when attempting to receive the first SSB block, as understood by:
based on a reception result of the first synchronization signal block.
However, in a similar field, Noh, in para[0206]-[0207] teaches that when UE fails to receive a particular SSB (i.e., reception result is failure) that is transmitted by a base station at a time, then the UE will receives the SSB (i.e., the 2nd SSB) during the next period or after a period has passed. (Noh: See para[0206]-[0207]).
Lee teaches methods for transmitting/receiving wireless signals wherein when UE enters a new cell, then UE receives an SSB that includes PBCH. (Lee: See para[0075])
Noh teaches methods for UE receiving downlink and uplink resources, including SSB, and in case UE does not receive SSB, or fails to receive the SSB transmitted by BS, then UE shall receive the SSB during the next period, or after a period has passed. (Noh: See para[0206]-[0207])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling, to have included the technique of UE reception failure of SSB, as taught by Noh, with the teachings of Lee, in order to benefit from enhancement of having a UE that based on lack of reception of SSB during a first time, is able to receive the SSB during a next period or after a period has passed. (Noh: See para[0206]-[0207])
Claim 6. A base station comprising:
a transmitting section (i.e., a transceiver, see Fig 13, #206) that transmits a first synchronization block and a second synchronization signal block; (i.e., transmitting 1st/2nd SSB) and
(Lee: See Fig. 6, Fig. 7 for SSB1 and SSB2 being sent to UE. See also Fig. 11, #B00 for Network (i.e, base station) transmitting SSB (i.e., 1st/2nd SSB) to UE)
a control section (i.e., a processor, see Fig 13, #202) that controls reception of a signal (i.e., RA preamble) based on the second synchronization signal block, (i.e., controls RA preamble reception, that is transmitted by UE, which is based on 1st/2nd SSB)
(Lee: See Fig. 6, Fig. 7 for SSB1 and SSB2 being sent to UE. See also Fig. 11, #B05 for Network (i.e, base station) receiving RA preamble (B05) generated based on the SSB (i.e., 1st/2nd SSB) that UE has received)
Although Lee teach and suggest that multiple SS blocks (SSBs) can be transmitted to UE repeatedly (Lee: See Fig. 6, Fig. 7, and para[0132]-[0133]), however, it does not explicitly disclose that the reception of the second SSB is based on the “reception results” of the first SSB block, as understood by:
based on a reception result of the first synchronization signal block.
However, in a similar field, Noh, in para[0206]-[0207] teaches that when UE fails to receive a particular SSB (i.e., first/second SSB) transmitted by a base station at a time, then the UE will receives the SSB during the next period or when a period has passed. (Noh: See para[0206]-[0207]).
Lee teaches methods for transmitting/receiving wireless signals wherein when UE enters a new cell, then UE receives an SSB that includes PBCH. (Lee: See para[0075])
Noh teaches methods for UE receiving downlink and uplink resources, including SSB, and in case UE does not receive SSB, or fails to receive the SSB transmitted by BS, then UE shall receive the SSB during the next period, or after a period has passed. (Noh: See para[0206]-[0207])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling, to have included the technique of UE reception failure of SSB, as taught by Noh, with the teachings of Lee, in order to benefit from enhancement of having a UE that based on lack of reception of SSB during a first time, is able to receive the SSB during a next period or after a period has passed. (Noh: See para[0206]-[0207])
Claim 7. The terminal according to claim 2, wherein when the second synchronization signal block is received, the control section uses a second random access channel occasion corresponding to the second synchronization signal block to control transmission of a second preamble. (i.e., “RA preamble” transmission)
(Lee: See Fig. 11, # B05, “RA preamble” being transmitted from UE to Network/BS after first SSB is received by UE. See para[0209] UE transmit the “RA preamble by determining a specific RA occasion (i.e., first RO) before transmitting the RA preamble. It is understood that above processes can be repeated for second SSB, third SSB, etc.)
Claim 8. The terminal according to claim 2, wherein when reception of the first synchronization signal block has failed, (i.e., failed to receive first SSB) the control section (i.e., processor) controls reception of the second synchronization signal block. (Noh: See para[0206]-[0207] when UE fails to receive SSB (i.e., first SSB) transmitted by a base station at a time, then the UE will receives the SSB (i.e., second SSB) during the next period or after a period has passed.)
Lee teaches methods for transmitting/receiving wireless signals wherein when UE enters a new cell, then UE receives an SSB that includes PBCH. (Lee: See para[0075])
Noh teaches methods for UE receiving downlink and uplink resources, including SSB, and in case UE does not receive SSB, or fails to receive the SSB transmitted by BS, then UE shall receive the SSB during the next period, or after a period has passed. (Noh: See para[0206]-[0207])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling, to have included the technique of UE reception failure of SSB, as taught by Noh, with the teachings of Lee, in order to benefit from enhancement of having a UE that based on lack of reception of SSB during a first time, is able to receive the SSB during a next period or after a period has passed. (Noh: See para[0206]-[0207])
Claim 9. The terminal according to claim 3, wherein when reception of the first synchronization signal block has failed, (i.e., failed to receive first SSB) the control section (i.e., processor) controls reception of the second synchronization signal block. (Noh: See para[0206]-[0207] when UE fails to receive SSB (i.e., first SSB) transmitted by a base station at a time, then the UE will receives the SSB (i.e., second SSB) during the next period or after a period has passed.)
Lee teaches methods for transmitting/receiving wireless signals wherein when UE enters a new cell, then UE receives an SSB that includes PBCH. (Lee: See para[0075])
Noh teaches methods for UE receiving downlink and uplink resources, including SSB, and in case UE does not receive SSB, or fails to receive the SSB transmitted by BS, then UE shall receive the SSB during the next period, or after a period has passed. (Noh: See para[0206]-[0207])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling, to have included the technique of UE reception failure of SSB, as taught by Noh, with the teachings of Lee, in order to benefit from enhancement of having a UE that based on lack of reception of SSB during a first time, is able to receive the SSB during a next period or after a period has passed. (Noh: See para[0206]-[0207])
Conclusion
6. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MAJID ESMAEILIAN whose telephone number is (571)270-7830. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Chirag G. Shah can be reached on 571-272-3144. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/M. E./
Examiner, Art Unit 2477
/GREGORY B SEFCHECK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477