DETAILED ACTION
This is in reply to an amendment filed on 04/08/2026. Claims 1-9 are pending.
** Claims 1, 5 and 6 are amended
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 04/08/2026 have all been fully considered but they are moot in view of new grounds of rejection. The reasons are set forth below.
Prior Art
U.S. Patent Pub No. 20210067978 A1 to Cheraghi et al. (hereinafter Cheraghi).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220117004 A1 to Lee et al., (hereinafter Lee) in view of US 20210067978 A1 to Cheraghi et al., (hereinafter Cheraghi).
Claim 1. A terminal (i.e., UE/Smartphone) comprising:
a receiving section (i.e., a transceiver, see Fig 13, #106) that attempts to receive a first synchronization block (i.e., first SSB);
(Lee: See Fig. 11, #B00 and #B01, para[0075], and para[0118], UE receiving SSB (i.e., first SSB) and a first SIB (i.e., SIB1), wherein the field “pdcch-ConfigSIB1” of SIB1, indicates where the UE may find SS/PBCH block).
and a control section (i.e., processor) that controls reception of a second synchronization signal block, (i.e., SSB2)
(Lee: See Fig. 6, and para[0127] up to “L” number of SSBs may be transmitted to UE by BS. See Fig. 6 for SSB1 and SSB2 being transmitted in SS burst 0 and SS burst 1 repeatedly)
based on a reception result of the first synchronization signal block.
(Lee: See Fig. 11, # B05, “RA preamble” being transmitted from UE to Network/BS after first SSB is received by UE. See para[0209] UE transmit the “RA preamble by determining a specific RA occasion (i.e., first RO) before transmitting the RA preamble)
Although Lee teaches SSB(s) that are sent by Network and is received by UE, (Lee: See Fig. 11, # B05, “RA preamble” being transmitted from UE to Network/BS after first SSB is received by UE), however, Lee does not explicitly disclose that different beams, wherein one is narrower than the other, can be used to transmit SSB(s), as understood by:
wherein the first synchronization signal block is transmitted using a first beam, and the second synchronization signal block is transmitted using a second beam thinner than the first beam.
However, in a similar field, Cheraghi in para[0023]-[0025] teaches different beams can be used for transmission, such as transmission of synchronization signal blocks, wherein a second beam width is narrower than the first beam width. (Cheraghi: See para[0023]-[0025])
Lee teaches methods for transmitting/receiving wireless signals wherein when UE enters a new cell, then UE receives an SSB that includes PBCH. (Lee: See para[0075])
Cheraghi teaches hierarchical beam search methods, wherein different beams can be used for transmission purposes, such as transmission of synchronization signal blocks, wherein a second beam width is narrower than the first beam width. (Cheraghi: See para[0023]-[0025])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling, to have included the technique of different transmission beams, as taught by Cheraghi, with the teachings of Lee, in order to benefit from enhancement of having different transmission beams for transmission of synchronization signal blocks, wherein the second beam is narrower/thinner than the first beam. (Noh: See para[0206]-[0207])
Claim 2. The terminal according to claim 1, wherein when the first synchronization signal block is received, the control section (i.e., processor) uses a first random access channel occasion (i.e., first RO) corresponding to the first synchronization signal block to control transmission of a first preamble. (i.e., “RA preamble” transmission) (Lee: See Fig. 11, # B05, “RA preamble” being transmitted from UE to Network/BS after first SSB is received by UE. See para[0209] UE transmit the “RA preamble by determining a specific RA occasion (i.e., first RO) before transmitting the RA preamble)
Claim 3. The terminal according to claim 1, wherein when the second synchronization signal block is received, the control section (i.e., processor) uses a second random access channel occasion corresponding to the second synchronization signal block to control transmission of a second preamble. (i.e., “RA preamble” transmission) (Lee: See Fig. 11, # B05, “RA preamble” being transmitted from UE to Network/BS after first SSB is received by UE. See para[0209] UE transmit the “RA preamble by determining a specific RA occasion (i.e., first RO) before transmitting the RA preamble. It is understood that above processes can be repeated for second SSB, third SSB, etc.)
Claim 5. A radio communication method for a terminal, (i.e., UE/Smartphone) the radio communication method comprising:
attempting to receive a first synchronization block; (i.e., receiving first SSB) and
(Lee: See Fig. 11, #B00 and #B01, para[0075], and para[0118], UE receiving SSB (i.e., first SSB) and a first SIB (i.e., SIB1), wherein the field “pdcch-ConfigSIB1” of SIB1, indicates where the UE may find SS/PBCH block).
controlling reception of a second synchronization signal block, (i.e., SSB2)
(Lee: See Fig. 6, and para[0127] up to “L” number of SSBs may be transmitted to UE by BS. See Fig. 6 for SSB1 and SSB2 being transmitted in SS burst 0 and SS burst 1 repeatedly)
based on a reception result of the first synchronization signal block.
(Lee: See Fig. 11, # B05, “RA preamble” being transmitted from UE to Network/BS after first SSB is received by UE. See para[0209] UE transmit the “RA preamble by determining a specific RA occasion (i.e., first RO) before transmitting the RA preamble)
Although Lee teaches SSB(s) are sent by Network and is received by UE, (Lee: See Fig. 11, # B05, “RA preamble” being transmitted from UE to Network/BS after first SSB is received by UE), however, they do not explicitly disclose that different beams, having wherein one is narrower than the other, can be used to transmit SSB(s), as understood by:
wherein the first synchronization signal block is transmitted using a first beam, and the second synchronization signal block is transmitted using a second beam thinner than the first beam.
However, in a similar field, Cheraghi in para[0023]-[0025] teaches different beams can be used for transmission, such as transmission of synchronization signal blocks, wherein a second beam width is narrower than the first beam width. (Cheraghi: See para[0023]-[0025])
Lee teaches methods for transmitting/receiving wireless signals wherein when UE enters a new cell, then UE receives an SSB that includes PBCH. (Lee: See para[0075])
Cheraghi teaches hierarchical beam search methods, wherein different beams can be used for transmission purposes, such as transmission of synchronization signal blocks, wherein a second beam width is narrower than the first beam width. (Cheraghi: See para[0023]-[0025])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling, to have included the technique of different transmission beams, as taught by Cheraghi, with the teachings of Lee, in order to benefit from enhancement of having different transmission beams for transmission of synchronization signal blocks, wherein the second beam is narrower/thinner than the first beam. (Noh: See para[0206]-[0207])
Claim 6. A base station comprising:
a transmitting section (i.e., a transceiver, see Fig 13, #206) that transmits a first synchronization block and a second synchronization signal block; (i.e., transmitting 1st/2nd SSB) and
(Lee: See Fig. 6, Fig. 7 for SSB1 and SSB2 being sent to UE. See also Fig. 11, #B00 for Network (i.e, base station) transmitting SSB (i.e., 1st/2nd SSB) to UE)
a control section (i.e., a processor, see Fig 13, #202) that controls reception of a signal (i.e., RA preamble) based on the second synchronization signal block, (i.e., controls RA preamble reception, that is transmitted by UE, which is based on 1st/2nd SSB)
(Lee: See Fig. 6, Fig. 7 for SSB1 and SSB2 being sent to UE. See also Fig. 11, #B05 for Network (i.e, base station) receiving RA preamble (B05) generated based on the SSB (i.e., 1st/2nd SSB) that UE has received)
based on a reception result of the first synchronization signal block.
(Lee: See Fig. 11, # B05, “RA preamble” being transmitted from UE to Network/BS after first SSB is received by UE. See para[0209] UE transmit the “RA preamble by determining a specific RA occasion (i.e., first RO) before transmitting the RA preamble)
Although Lee teaches SSB(s) that are sent by Network and is received by UE, (Lee: See Fig. 11, # B05, “RA preamble” being transmitted from UE to Network/BS after first SSB is received by UE), however, they do not explicitly disclose that different beams, having wherein one is narrower than the other, can be used to transmit SSB(s), as understood by:
wherein the first synchronization signal block is transmitted using a first beam, and the second synchronization signal block is transmitted using a second beam thinner than the first beam.
However, in a similar field, Cheraghi in para[0023]-[0025] teaches different beams can be used for transmission, such as transmission of synchronization signal blocks, wherein a second beam width is narrower than the first beam width. (Cheraghi: See para[0023]-[0025])
Lee teaches methods for transmitting/receiving wireless signals wherein when UE enters a new cell, then UE receives an SSB that includes PBCH. (Lee: See para[0075])
Cheraghi teaches hierarchical beam search methods, wherein different beams can be used for transmission purposes, such as transmission of synchronization signal blocks, wherein a second beam width is narrower than the first beam width. (Cheraghi: See para[0023]-[0025])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling, to have included the technique of different transmission beams, as taught by Cheraghi, with the teachings of Lee, in order to benefit from enhancement of having different transmission beams for transmission of synchronization signal blocks, wherein the second beam is narrower/thinner than the first beam. (Noh: See para[0206]-[0207])
Claim 7. The terminal according to claim 2, wherein when the second synchronization signal block is received, the control section uses a second random access channel occasion corresponding to the second synchronization signal block to control transmission of a second preamble. (i.e., “RA preamble” transmission)
(Lee: See Fig. 11, # B05, “RA preamble” being transmitted from UE to Network/BS after first SSB is received by UE. See para[0209] UE transmit the “RA preamble by determining a specific RA occasion (i.e., first RO) before transmitting the RA preamble. It is understood that above processes can be repeated for second SSB, third SSB, etc.)
Claims 4, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220117004 A1 to Lee et al., (hereinafter Lee) in view of US 20210067978 A1 to Cheraghi et al., (hereinafter Cheraghi), and in further view of US 20230224891 A1 to Noh et al., (hereinafter Noh).
Claim 4. Lee in view of Cheraghi teaches the terminal according to claim 1, however, they do not seem to explicitly suggest:
wherein when reception of the first synchronization signal block has failed (i.e., failed to receive first SSB), the control section (i.e., processor) controls reception of the second synchronization signal block.
However, in a similar field, Noh teaches:
wherein when reception of the first synchronization signal block has failed (i.e., failed to receive first SSB), the control section (i.e., processor) controls reception of the second synchronization signal block. (Noh: See para[0206]-[0207] when UE fails to receive SSB (i.e., first SSB) transmitted by a base station at a time, then the UE will receive the SSB (i.e., second SSB) during the next period or after a period has passed.)
Lee teaches methods for transmitting/receiving wireless signals wherein when UE enters a new cell, then UE receives an SSB that includes PBCH. (Lee: See para[0075])
Cheraghi teaches hierarchical beam search methods, wherein different beams can be used for transmission purposes, such as transmission of synchronization signal blocks, wherein a second beam width is narrower than the first beam width. (Cheraghi: See para[0023]-[0025])
Noh teaches methods for UE receiving downlink and uplink resources, including SSB, and in case UE does not receive SSB, or fails to receive the SSB transmitted by BS, then UE shall receive the SSB during the next period, or after a period has passed. (Noh: See para[0206]-[0207])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling, to have included the technique of UE reception failure of SSB, as taught by Noh, with the teachings of Lee in view of Cheraghi, in order to benefit from enhancement of having a UE that based on lack of reception of SSB during a first time, is able to receive the SSB during a next period or after a period has passed. (Noh: See para[0206]-[0207])
Claim 8. Lee in view of Cheraghi teaches the terminal according to claim 2, however, they do not seem to explicitly disclose:
wherein when reception of the first synchronization signal block has failed, (i.e., failed to receive first SSB) the control section (i.e., processor) controls reception of the second synchronization signal block.
However, in a similar field, Noh teaches:
wherein when reception of the first synchronization signal block has failed, (i.e., failed to receive first SSB) the control section (i.e., processor) controls reception of the second synchronization signal block. (Noh: See para[0206]-[0207] when UE fails to receive SSB (i.e., first SSB) transmitted by a base station at a time, then the UE will receives the SSB (i.e., second SSB) during the next period or after a period has passed.)
Lee teaches methods for transmitting/receiving wireless signals wherein when UE enters a new cell, then UE receives an SSB that includes PBCH. (Lee: See para[0075])
Cheraghi teaches hierarchical beam search methods, wherein different beams can be used for transmission purposes, such as transmission of synchronization signal blocks, wherein a second beam width is narrower than the first beam width. (Cheraghi: See para[0023]-[0025])
Noh teaches methods for UE receiving downlink and uplink resources, including SSB, and in case UE does not receive SSB, or fails to receive the SSB transmitted by BS, then UE shall receive the SSB during the next period, or after a period has passed. (Noh: See para[0206]-[0207])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling, to have included the technique of UE reception failure of SSB, as taught by Noh, with the teachings of Lee in view of Cheraghi, in order to benefit from enhancement of having a UE that based on lack of reception of SSB during a first time, is able to receive the SSB during a next period or after a period has passed. (Noh: See para[0206]-[0207])
Claim 9. Lee in view of Cheraghi teaches the terminal according to claim 3, however, they do not seem to explicitly disclose:
wherein when reception of the first synchronization signal block has failed, (i.e., failed to receive first SSB) the control section (i.e., processor) controls reception of the second synchronization signal block.
However, in a similar field, Noh teaches:
wherein when reception of the first synchronization signal block has failed, (i.e., failed to receive first SSB) the control section (i.e., processor) controls reception of the second synchronization signal block.
(Noh: See para[0206]-[0207] when UE fails to receive SSB (i.e., first SSB) transmitted by a base station at a time, then the UE will receives the SSB (i.e., second SSB) during the next period or after a period has passed.)
Lee teaches methods for transmitting/receiving wireless signals wherein when UE enters a new cell, then UE receives an SSB that includes PBCH. (Lee: See para[0075])
Cheraghi teaches hierarchical beam search methods, wherein different beams can be used for transmission purposes, such as transmission of synchronization signal blocks, wherein a second beam width is narrower than the first beam width. (Cheraghi: See para[0023]-[0025])
Noh teaches methods for UE receiving downlink and uplink resources, including SSB, and in case UE does not receive SSB, or fails to receive the SSB transmitted by BS, then UE shall receive the SSB during the next period, or after a period has passed. (Noh: See para[0206]-[0207])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling, to have included the technique of UE reception failure of SSB, as taught by Noh, with the teachings of Lee in view of Cheraghi, in order to benefit from enhancement of having a UE that based on lack of reception of SSB during a first time, is able to receive the SSB during a next period or after a period has passed. (Noh: See para[0206]-[0207])
Conclusion
7. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MAJID ESMAEILIAN whose telephone number is (571)270-7830. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner' s supervisor, Chirag Shah can be reached on 571-272-3144. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/M. E./
Examiner, Art Unit 2477
/GREGORY B SEFCHECK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477