2. It would be of great assistance to the office if all incoming papers pertaining to a filed application carried the following items:
i. Application number (checked for accuracy, including series code and serial no.).
ii. Group art unit number (copied from most recent Office communication).
iii. Filing date.
iv. Name of the examiner who prepared the most recent Office action.
v. Title of invention.
vi. Confirmation number (See MPEP § 503).
3. The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages, paragraph and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
4. Claim interpretation: When multiple limitations are connected with “OR”, one of the limitations doesn’t have any patentable weight since both of the limitations are optional.
5. Claim status: Claims 1-12 & 20-37 are pending. Claims 13-19 are cancelled.
Claim Rejection- 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 10, 12, 20, 22-28, 31 & 33-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (Pub No. 2024/0348106) and further in view of Wang et al (Pub No. 2023/0079376).
Regarding claim 1, Jiang discloses an apparatus for wireless communication (Fig. 13 & 18), the apparatus comprising: a receiver configured to receive, from a device, a charging signal that is based on one or more time domain taps (Para. 120-122: Wireless charging configuration and receive charging signals at time domain resources) & (Fig. 13 & 15 & Para. 194) and a transmitter configured to transmit, to the device, a feedback signal associated with the charging signal (Para. 69: feedback signal regarding the charging signal and stop charging signals), wherein the feedback signal indicates at least one parameter that is detected by the apparatus (Para. 199-200: Feedback information and wireless charging configuration & Para. 205-206 & 210: parameter[Wingdings font/0xE0]signal quality of the charging signals, charging distance) and that is associated with the one or more time domain taps (Para. 194: Time domain resources of wireless charging) & (Para. 121-122).
Jiang is silent regarding that the charging signal is associated with a data signal.
Wang et al discloses a charging signal can be associated with a data signal (Para. 227-228 & 234: The charging device 10 sends a communication signal representing the communication data to the charged device 20) and a transmitter configured to transmit, to the device, a feedback signal associated with the charging signal (Para. 217: Feedback signal to the charging device) & (Para. 112 & Para. 115).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the device charging system of Wang’s disclosure with the wireless charging configuration, as taught by Jiang. Doing so would have resulted in flexible connection between a node and a communication device to control charge signal and data signals while maintain minimum interference in the system.
Regarding claim 3 & 12 & 22 & 33, Jiang discloses the charging signal is based on one or more of a number of the one or more time domain taps (Para. 38: Charging request), a location of at least one of the one or more time domain taps (Para. 36: location), a power of at least one of the one or more time domain taps (Para. 43: power & Para. 120-123: charging signals at time domain resources).
Regarding claim 4 & 23 & 34, Jiang discloses the receiver is further configured to receive an indication modifying a number of the one or more time domain taps to change an energy level associated with the charging signal (Para. 36: Energy level in the wave & Para. 43 & 48: Charging power and charging speed change).
Regarding claim 5 & 27 & 35, Jiang is silent regarding the charging signal is punctured at one or more first puncturing locations to enable transmission of at least a first portion of a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) to enable estimation of the charging signal.
Wang et al discloses the charging signal is punctured at one or more first puncturing locations to enable transmission of at least a first portion of a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) to enable estimation of the charging signal (Para. 106 & 108: Demodulation signals and current charging state of the device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the demodulation signal between charging devices to adjust charging signal properly.
Regarding claim 6 & 36 & 28, Jiang teaches a first number of the one or more first puncturing locations is based on a second number of the one or more time domain taps (Para. 36 & 47: device locations & Para. 120-122).
Regarding claim 10, Jiang discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a first device (Fig. 13 & 18), the method comprising: a receiver configured to receive, from a device, a charging signal that is based on one or more time domain taps (Para. 120-122: Wireless charging configuration and receive charging signals at time domain resources) & (Fig. 13 & 15 & Para. 194) and a transmitter configured to transmit, to the device, a feedback signal associated with the charging signal (Para. 69: feedback signal regarding the charging signal and stop charging signals), wherein the feedback signal indicates at least one parameter that is detected by the apparatus (Para. 199-200: Feedback information and wireless charging configuration & Para. 205-206 & 210: parameter[Wingdings font/0xE0]signal quality of the charging signals, charging distance) and that is associated with the one or more time domain taps (Para. 194: Time domain resources of wireless charging) & (Para. 121-122).
Jiang is silent regarding that the charging signal is associated with a data signal.
Wang et al discloses a charging signal can be associated with a data signal (Para. 227-228 & 234: The charging device 10 sends a communication signal representing the communication data to the charged device 20) and a transmitter configured to transmit, to the device, a feedback signal associated with the charging signal (Para. 217: Feedback signal to the charging device) & (Para. 112 & Para. 115).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the device charging system of Wang’s disclosure with the wireless charging configuration, as taught by Jiang. Doing so would have resulted in flexible connection between a node and a communication device to control charge signal and data signals while maintain minimum interference in the system.
Regarding claim 31, Claim 31 corresponds to claim 1 and is analyzed accordingly.
Regarding claim 20, Jiang discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a first device (Fig. 13 & 18), the method comprising: transmitting a charging signal that is based on one or more time domain taps (Para. 120-122: Wireless charging configuration and receive charging signals at time domain resources) & (Fig. 13 & 15 & Para. 194) and receiving, from a device based on the charging signal, a feedback signal associated with the charging signal (Para. 69: feedback signal regarding the charging signal and stop charging signals), wherein the feedback signal indicates at least one parameter that is detected by the third device and that is associated with the one or more time domain taps (Para. 199-200: Feedback information and wireless charging configuration & Para. 205-206 & 210: parameter[Wingdings font/0xE0]signal quality of the charging signals, charging distance) and that is associated with the one or more time domain taps (Para. 194: Time domain resources of wireless charging) & (Para. 121-122).
Jiang is silent regarding that the transmitting a data signal to a second device.
Wang et al discloses transmitting a data signal to a second device (Para. 227-228 & 234: The charging device 10 sends a communication signal representing the communication data) and a transmitter configured to transmit, to the device, a feedback signal associated with the charging signal (Para. 217: Feedback signal to the charging device) & (Para. 112 & Para. 115).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the device charging system of Wang’s disclosure with the wireless charging configuration, as taught by Jiang. Doing so would have resulted in flexible connection between a node and a communication device to control charge signal and data signals while maintain minimum interference in the system.
Regarding claim 24, Jiang discloses the charging signal is deterministically generated by the first device based on a set of parameters that are common to a plurality of user equipment (UE) devices including the second device, that are specified by a wireless communication protocol, or both (Fig. 13 & Para. 36).
Regarding claim 25, Jiang discloses transmitting a control message indicating the set of parameters, wherein the control message includes a configuration message, a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) message (Para. 57: Broadcasting system message), downlink control information (Para. 59: DL signal message). (Note: Examiner taking official notice that MAC CE message is well known in wireless communication system).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to use MAC CE message for configuring network deice for further data transmission.
Regarding claim 26, Jiang discloses the charging signal is randomly or pseudo-randomly generated by the first device (Fig. 3).
Claims 2 & 11 & 21 & 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (Pub No. 2024/0348106), in view of Wang et al (Pub No. 2023/0079376) and further in view of Davydov et al (Pub No. 2023/0079376).
Regarding claim 2 & 11 & 21 & 32, Jiang discloses the at least one parameter includes one or more of a statistical mean associated with the one or more time domain taps, a variance associated with the one or more time domain taps (Para. 120-123: charging signals at time domain resources).
Jiang is silent regarding the cross-tap correlation data includes one or more of a mean vector or a covariance matrix.
Davydov et al discloses the cross-tap correlation data includes one or more of a mean vector or a covariance matrix (Para. 39: covariance matrix linear average) & (Para. 31 & 34).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the data correlation to determine the matrix in the wireless system to generate optimum data connection between devices.
Claim 7-9, 29-30 & 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (Pub No. 2024/0348106), in view of Wang et al (Pub No. 2023/0079376) and further in view of Sankar (Pub No. 2017/0098957).
Regarding claim 7 & 37, Jiang is silent regarding the apparatus comprises energy harvesting (EH) circuitry configured to perform an EH operation based on energy supplied from both the charging signal and the DMRS, and wherein the EH circuitry comprises: a converter circuit configured to transduce alternating current (AC) energy to direct current (DC) energy; and a filter circuit coupled to a first output of the converter circuit, wherein a second output of the filter circuit is coupled to provide harvested energy to one or more of a battery or other circuitry.
Sankar discloses the apparatus comprises energy harvesting (EH) circuitry configured to perform an EH operation based on energy supplied from both the charging signal and the DMRS (Para. 6 & 45: Charging and demodulating signals), and wherein the EH circuitry comprises: a converter circuit configured to transduce alternating current (AC) energy to direct current (DC) energy (Para. 6 & 80: AC energy to direct current DC energy); and a filter circuit coupled to a first output of the converter circuit, wherein a second output of the filter circuit is coupled to provide harvested energy to one or more of a battery or other circuitry (Para. 6 & 80: filter circuit and converter for harvesting energy for the battery) & (Para. 42).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the battery charging mechanism in a wireless system to charge battery wirelessly.
Regarding claim 8 & 29, Jiang discloses receiver is further configured to receive, from the device, a configuration message configuring the apparatus with one or more of: a first set of ports for receiving the to enable energy harvesting based on the charging signal (Para. 57-58: wireless charging message).
Jiang is silent regarding demodulating signal for energy harvesting.
Sankar discloses demodulating signal for energy harvesting (Para. 6 & 45: Charging and demodulating signals).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the battery charging mechanism in a wireless system to charge battery wirelessly.
Regarding claim 9 & 30, Jiang is silent regarding the data signal is punctured at one or more second puncturing locations to enable transmission of at least a second portion of the DMRS.
Sankar discloses the data signal is punctured at one or more second puncturing locations to enable transmission of at least a second portion of the DMRS (Para. 6 & 45: Charging and demodulating signals & Para. 34: device area).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the battery charging mechanism in a wireless system to charge battery wirelessly.
Another Prior Art
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Another prior art, Wan (US 2021/0281099) discloses A wireless transmitting circuit is configured to transmit a wireless charging signal. A communication control circuit is configured to receive a first feedback signal from a receiving apparatus and adjust, according to the first feedback signal, a voltage and a current corresponding to a transmission power of the wireless charging signal, the first feedback signal is a feedback signal corresponding to an output current of a wireless receiving circuit.
Response to Arguments
8. i. Applicant’s arguments, with regards to claim 1 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
ii. Applicant argues “The cited references fail to disclose or suggest -a receiver configured to receive, from a device, a charging signal that is based on one or more time domain taps and that is associated with a data signal”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant arguments because prior art either expressly or inherently discloses a receiver configured to receive, from a device, a charging signal that is based on one or more time domain taps and that is associated with a data signal.
Jiang discloses a receiver configured to receive, from a device, a charging signal that is based on one or more time domain taps (time domain taps- A time domain resources. A time domain resources of wireless charging, frequency domain resources of wireless charging, an identifier of a wireless charging signal. Wireless charging configuration and receive charging signals at time domain resources. The wireless charging signal in the wireless charging beam is used for charging itself according to an identifier of the wireless charging signal) & (Fig. 13 & 15 & Para. 120-122 & Para. 194). Wang et al discloses a charging signal can be associated with a data signal (The charging device 10 sends a communication signal representing the communication data to the charged device 20. The charging device 10 sends a communication signal representing the communication data to the charged device 20- Para. 227-228 & 234).
iii. On page 9, applicant argues- applicant's specification, a time domain tap “may also be referred to...as a time domain filter coefficient or a time domain filter tap”.
In response to applicant’s argument that the references fail to show certain features of applicant’s invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., domain filter coefficient / a time domain filter tap) are not recited in the rejected claim. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
iv. The cited references fail to disclose or suggest “a transmitter configured to transmit, to the device, a feedback signal associated with the charging signal, wherein the feedback signal indicates at least one parameter that is detected by the apparatus and that is associated with the one or more time domain taps”.
Jiang discloses the feedback signal indicates at least one parameter that is detected by the apparatus and a feedback signal associated with the charging signal (Feedback information and wireless charging configuration & parameter[Wingdings font/0xE0]signal quality of the charging signals, charging distance- see para. Para. 199-200 Para. 205-206 & 210. In order to charge the device, the system detect charging criterion) and (one or more time domain taps-Time domain resources of wireless charging) & (Para. 194 & 121-122). (Abstract: sending a wireless charging request to a network device for requesting the network device to provide a wireless charging configuration for the terminal, wherein the wireless charging request carries first auxiliary information, and the first auxiliary information at least indicates a wireless charging configuration expected by the terminal for assisting the network device to determine the wireless charging configuration)
Wang also discloses a feedback signal associated with the charging signal (Feedback signal to the charging device- Para. 112-217 & Para. 115).
v. For above reason, examiner maintain the rejection.
CONCLUSION
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MD K TALUKDER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648