2. It would be of great assistance to the office if all incoming papers pertaining to a filed application carried the following items:
i. Application number (checked for accuracy, including series code and serial no.).
ii. Group art unit number (copied from most recent Office communication).
iii. Filing date.
iv. Name of the examiner who prepared the most recent Office action.
v. Title of invention.
vi. Confirmation number (See MPEP § 503).
3. The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages, paragraph and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
4. Claim interpretation: When multiple limitations are connected with “OR”, one of the limitations doesn’t have any patentable weight since both of the limitations are optional.
5. Claim status: Claims 1-12 & 20-37 are pending. Claims 13-19 are cancelled.
Claim Rejection- 35 USC § 101
6. Claims 31-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. Claims 31-36 set forth a “computer readable medium”. However, the specification as originally filed does not explicitly define the computer readable medium (see Para. 146). The United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) is obliged to give claims their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification during proceedings before the USPTO. See In re Zletz, 893 F.2d 319 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (during patent examination the pending claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow). The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim drawn to a computer readable media (also called machine readable medium and other such variations) typically covers forms of non-transitory tangible media and transitory propagating signals per se in view of the ordinary and customary meaning of computer readable media, particularly when the specification is absent an explicit definition or is silent. See MPEP 2111.01. When the broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim covers a signal per se, the claim must be rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as covering non-statutory subject matter. See In re Nuijten, 500 F.3d 1346, 1356-57 (Fed. Cir. 2007) (transitory embodiments are not directed to statutory subject matter) and Interim Examination Instructions for Evaluating Subject Matter Eligibility Under 35 U.S.C. § 101, Aug. 24, 2009; p. 2.
Claim Rejection- 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 10, 12, 20, 22-28, 31 & 33-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (Pub No. 2024/0348106) and further in view of Wang et al (Pub No. 2023/0079376).
Regarding claim 1, Jiang discloses an apparatus for wireless communication (Fig. 13 & 18), the apparatus comprising: a receiver configured to receive, from a device, a charging signal that is based on one or more time domain taps (Para. 120-122: Wireless charging configuration and receive charging signals at time domain resources) & (Fig. 13 & 15 & Para. 194) and a transmitter configured to transmit, to the device, a feedback signal associated with the charging signal (Para. 69: feedback signal regarding the charging signal and stop charging signals), wherein the feedback signal indicates at least one parameter that is detected by the apparatus (Para. 199-200: Feedback information and wireless charging configuration & Para. 205-206 & 210: parameter[Wingdings font/0xE0]signal quality of the charging signals, charging distance) and that is associated with the one or more time domain taps (Para. 194: Time domain resources of wireless charging) & (Para. 121-122).
Jiang is silent regarding that the charging signal is associated with a data signal.
Wang et al discloses a charging signal can be associated with a data signal (Para. 227-228 & 234: The charging device 10 sends a communication signal representing the communication data to the charged device 20) and a transmitter configured to transmit, to the device, a feedback signal associated with the charging signal (Para. 217: Feedback signal to the charging device) & (Para. 112 & Para. 115).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the device charging system of Wang’s disclosure with the wireless charging configuration, as taught by Jiang. Doing so would have resulted in flexible connection between a node and a communication device to control charge signal and data signals while maintain minimum interference in the system.
Regarding claim 3 & 12 & 22 & 33, Jiang discloses the charging signal is based on one or more of a number of the one or more time domain taps (Para. 38: Charging request), a location of at least one of the one or more time domain taps (Para. 36: location), a power of at least one of the one or more time domain taps (Para. 43: power & Para. 120-123: charging signals at time domain resources).
Regarding claim 4 & 23 & 34, Jiang discloses the receiver is further configured to receive an indication modifying a number of the one or more time domain taps to change an energy level associated with the charging signal (Para. 36: Energy level in the wave & Para. 43 & 48: Charging power and charging speed change).
Regarding claim 5 & 27 & 35, Jiang is silent regarding the charging signal is punctured at one or more first puncturing locations to enable transmission of at least a first portion of a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) to enable estimation of the charging signal.
Wang et al discloses the charging signal is punctured at one or more first puncturing locations to enable transmission of at least a first portion of a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) to enable estimation of the charging signal (Para. 106 & 108: Demodulation signals and current charging state of the device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the demodulation signal between charging devices to adjust charging signal properly.
Regarding claim 6 & 36 & 28, Jiang teaches a first number of the one or more first puncturing locations is based on a second number of the one or more time domain taps (Para. 36 & 47: device locations & Para. 120-122).
Regarding claim 10, Jiang discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a first device (Fig. 13 & 18), the method comprising: a receiver configured to receive, from a device, a charging signal that is based on one or more time domain taps (Para. 120-122: Wireless charging configuration and receive charging signals at time domain resources) & (Fig. 13 & 15 & Para. 194) and a transmitter configured to transmit, to the device, a feedback signal associated with the charging signal (Para. 69: feedback signal regarding the charging signal and stop charging signals), wherein the feedback signal indicates at least one parameter that is detected by the apparatus (Para. 199-200: Feedback information and wireless charging configuration & Para. 205-206 & 210: parameter[Wingdings font/0xE0]signal quality of the charging signals, charging distance) and that is associated with the one or more time domain taps (Para. 194: Time domain resources of wireless charging) & (Para. 121-122).
Jiang is silent regarding that the charging signal is associated with a data signal.
Wang et al discloses a charging signal can be associated with a data signal (Para. 227-228 & 234: The charging device 10 sends a communication signal representing the communication data to the charged device 20) and a transmitter configured to transmit, to the device, a feedback signal associated with the charging signal (Para. 217: Feedback signal to the charging device) & (Para. 112 & Para. 115).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the device charging system of Wang’s disclosure with the wireless charging configuration, as taught by Jiang. Doing so would have resulted in flexible connection between a node and a communication device to control charge signal and data signals while maintain minimum interference in the system.
Regarding claim 31, Claim 31 corresponds to claim 1 and is analyzed accordingly.
Regarding claim 20, Jiang discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a first device (Fig. 13 & 18), the method comprising: transmitting a charging signal that is based on one or more time domain taps (Para. 120-122: Wireless charging configuration and receive charging signals at time domain resources) & (Fig. 13 & 15 & Para. 194) and receiving, from a device based on the charging signal, a feedback signal associated with the charging signal (Para. 69: feedback signal regarding the charging signal and stop charging signals), wherein the feedback signal indicates at least one parameter that is detected by the third device and that is associated with the one or more time domain taps (Para. 199-200: Feedback information and wireless charging configuration & Para. 205-206 & 210: parameter[Wingdings font/0xE0]signal quality of the charging signals, charging distance) and that is associated with the one or more time domain taps (Para. 194: Time domain resources of wireless charging) & (Para. 121-122).
Jiang is silent regarding that the transmitting a data signal to a second device.
Wang et al discloses transmitting a data signal to a second device (Para. 227-228 & 234: The charging device 10 sends a communication signal representing the communication data) and a transmitter configured to transmit, to the device, a feedback signal associated with the charging signal (Para. 217: Feedback signal to the charging device) & (Para. 112 & Para. 115).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the device charging system of Wang’s disclosure with the wireless charging configuration, as taught by Jiang. Doing so would have resulted in flexible connection between a node and a communication device to control charge signal and data signals while maintain minimum interference in the system.
Regarding claim 24, Jiang discloses the charging signal is deterministically generated by the first device based on a set of parameters that are common to a plurality of user equipment (UE) devices including the second device, that are specified by a wireless communication protocol, or both (Fig. 13 & Para. 36).
Regarding claim 25, Jiang discloses transmitting a control message indicating the set of parameters, wherein the control message includes a configuration message, a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) message (Para. 57: Broadcasting system message), downlink control information (Para. 59: DL signal message). (Note: Examiner taking official notice that MAC CE message is well known in wireless communication system).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to use MAC CE message for configuring network deice for further data transmission.
Regarding claim 26, Jiang discloses the charging signal is randomly or pseudo-randomly generated by the first device (Fig. 3).
Claims 2 & 11 & 21 & 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (Pub No. 2024/0348106), in view of Wang et al (Pub No. 2023/0079376) and further in view of Davydov et al (Pub No. 2023/0079376).
Regarding claim 2 & 11 & 21 & 32, Jiang discloses the at least one parameter includes one or more of a statistical mean associated with the one or more time domain taps, a variance associated with the one or more time domain taps (Para. 120-123: charging signals at time domain resources).
Jiang is silent regarding the cross-tap correlation data includes one or more of a mean vector or a covariance matrix.
Davydov et al discloses the cross-tap correlation data includes one or more of a mean vector or a covariance matrix (Para. 39: covariance matrix linear average) & (Para. 31 & 34).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the data correlation to determine the matrix in the wireless system to generate optimum data connection between devices.
Claim 7-9, 29-30 & 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (Pub No. 2024/0348106), in view of Wang et al (Pub No. 2023/0079376) and further in view of Sankar (Pub No. 2017/0098957).
Regarding claim 7 & 37, Jiang is silent regarding the apparatus comprises energy harvesting (EH) circuitry configured to perform an EH operation based on energy supplied from both the charging signal and the DMRS, and wherein the EH circuitry comprises: a converter circuit configured to transduce alternating current (AC) energy to direct current (DC) energy; and a filter circuit coupled to a first output of the converter circuit, wherein a second output of the filter circuit is coupled to provide harvested energy to one or more of a battery or other circuitry.
Sankar discloses the apparatus comprises energy harvesting (EH) circuitry configured to perform an EH operation based on energy supplied from both the charging signal and the DMRS (Para. 6 & 45: Charging and demodulating signals), and wherein the EH circuitry comprises: a converter circuit configured to transduce alternating current (AC) energy to direct current (DC) energy (Para. 6 & 80: AC energy to direct current DC energy); and a filter circuit coupled to a first output of the converter circuit, wherein a second output of the filter circuit is coupled to provide harvested energy to one or more of a battery or other circuitry (Para. 6 & 80: filter circuit and converter for harvesting energy for the battery) & (Para. 42).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the battery charging mechanism in a wireless system to charge battery wirelessly.
Regarding claim 8 & 29, Jiang discloses receiver is further configured to receive, from the device, a configuration message configuring the apparatus with one or more of: a first set of ports for receiving the to enable energy harvesting based on the charging signal (Para. 57-58: wireless charging message).
Jiang is silent regarding demodulating signal for energy harvesting.
Sankar discloses demodulating signal for energy harvesting (Para. 6 & 45: Charging and demodulating signals).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the battery charging mechanism in a wireless system to charge battery wirelessly.
Regarding claim 9 & 30, Jiang is silent regarding the data signal is punctured at one or more second puncturing locations to enable transmission of at least a second portion of the DMRS.
Sankar discloses the data signal is punctured at one or more second puncturing locations to enable transmission of at least a second portion of the DMRS (Para. 6 & 45: Charging and demodulating signals & Para. 34: device area).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the battery charging mechanism in a wireless system to charge battery wirelessly.
Conclusion
/MD K TALUKDER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648