DETAILED ACTION
This is in reply to an application filed on 01/22/2024. Claims 43-54 are pending.
Preliminary Amendment
The preliminary amendment submitted on 01/22/2024 is acknowledged and considered accordingly.
Information Disclosure Statement PTO-1449
The Information Disclosure Statement submitted by applicant on 01/22/2024 and 02/25/2025 has been considered. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Form PTO-1449 signed and attached hereto.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 43-44, 46-50, and 51-54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20200351033 A1 to Ryu et al., (hereinafter Ryu).
Claim 43. A method performed by a first terminal device (i.e., reception-UE (RX-UE)), comprising:
receiving a configuration information (i.e., reception-UE (RX-UE) receiving “resource pool information” from gNB, see Fig. 4 & Fig. 5) indicating a first number of slots for a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) transmission; (i.e., the “resource pool information” includes a resource slot/symbol index for PSFCH transmissions/reception) and
(Ryu: See Figures 4, and para[0128]-[0136] gNB, via “system information”, configures a “reception UE” (RX-UE) (i.e., first terminal device), by transmitting a “system information” including “resource pool information”, which contains a slot/symbol index, and a resource block (RB) including a start point and an end point for PSFCH transmissions/receptions. See also, para[0202] gNB may configure a PSFCH resource pool to the “reception UE” (RX-UE) via system information and RRC configuration)
attempting to transmit a PSFCH (i.e., RX-UE (i.e., first terminal device)) transmitting ACK/NACK via PSFCH) over the first number of slots (i.e., over the allocated slots for PSFCH transmission) in response to a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) reception. (i.e., after receiving PSSCH from another UE it transmits PSFCH)
(Ryu: See Fig. 8A, Fig. 4/5, and para[0178]-[0181] for the reception UE(RX-UE) (i.e., first terminal device) may transmit ACK/NACK via PSFCH to the transmission UE(TX-UE) after it receives SL data on PSSCH from the transmission UE(TX-UE))
Claim 44. The method of claim 43, wherein the attempting to transmit the PSFCH comprises:
attempting to transmit the PSFCH in a slot within the first number of slots in response to the PSSCH reception.
(Ryu: See Fig. 11, Fig. 4, Fig. 5, and para[0178]-[0181] the reception UE (RX-UE) (i.e., first terminal device) may transmit ACK/NACK via PSFCH to the transmission UE (TX-UE) after it receives SL data on PSSCH from the transmitting UE)
Claim 46. The method of claim 43, wherein the configuration information further indicates two start symbols for a PSSCH transmission within a slot.
(Ryu: See para[0224] and Fig. 11, wherein a slot, has two separate start PRB indexes for PSSCH transmissions that are for different UEs)
Claim 47. A method performed by a second terminal device (i.e., transmission UE (TX-UE)), comprising:
receiving a configuration information (i.e., Fig. 4 & Fig. 5, a transmission UE (TX-UE) (i.e., a second terminal device), receiving “resource pool information” from gNB) indicating a first number of slots for a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) reception; (i.e., the “resource pool information” includes a slot/symbol index and resources to be used for PSFCH transmissions/reception) and
(Ryu: See Figures 4, and para[0128]-[0136] gNB, via “system information”, configures a transmission UE (TX-UE)(i.e., a second terminal device), by transmitting a “system information” to them that includes “resource pool information”, including a slot/symbol index, or a resource block (RB), that has a start point and end point for PSFCH transmissions/receptions. See also, para[0204] gNB allocated resources for PSFCH to the transmission UE (TX-UE)(i.e., second terminal device) to be used for receiving PSFCH)
receiving a PSFCH (i.e., receiving ACK/NACK via PSFCH from first terminal device) on the first number of slots (i.e., over allocated slots for PSFCH reception) in response to a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) transmission. (i.e., after receiving PSSCH from another UE)
(Ryu: See Fig. 4/5, and para[0178]-[0181] for the reception UE (i.e., first terminal device) may transmit ACK/NACK via PSFCH to the transmission UE (TX-UE)(i.e., second terminal device) after it receives SL data on PSSCH from the transmitting UE (TX-UE)(i.e., second terminal device))
Claim 48. The method of claim 47, wherein the configuration information further indicates two start symbols for the PSSCH transmission within a slot.
(Ryu: See para[0224] and Fig. 11, wherein a slot, has two separate start PRB indexes for PSSCH transmissions that are for different UEs)
Claim 49. A first terminal device (i.e., reception-UE (RX-UE)) comprising a processor configured to cause the first terminal device to:
receive a configuration information(i.e., Fig. 4 & Fig. 5, reception-UE (RX-UE) receiving “resource pool information” from gNB) indicating a first number of slots for a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) transmission; (i.e., the “resource pool information” includes a resource slot/symbol index for PSFCH transmissions/reception) and
(Ryu: See Figures 4, and para[0128]-[0136] gNB, via “system information”, configures a “reception UE” (RX-UE) (i.e., first terminal device), by transmitting a “system information” including “resource pool information”, which contains a slot/symbol index, and a resource block (RB) including a start point and an end point for PSFCH transmissions/receptions. See also, para[0202] gNB may configure a PSFCH resource pool to the “reception UE” (RX-UE) via system information and RRC configuration)
attempt to transmit a PSFCH (i.e., RX-UE (i.e., first terminal device)) transmitting ACK/NACK via PSFCH) in a slot within the first number of slots (i.e., over allocated slots for PSFCH transmission) in response to a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) reception. (i.e., after receiving PSSCH from another UE)
(Ryu: See Fig. 8A, Fig. 4/5, and para[0178]-[0181] for the reception UE(RX-UE) (i.e., first terminal device) may transmit ACK/NACK via PSFCH to the transmission UE(TX-UE) after it receives SL data on PSSCH from the transmission UE(TX-UE))
Claim 50. The first terminal device of claim 49, wherein the processor is configured to cause the first terminal device to attempt to transmit the PSFCH by attempting to transmit the PSFCH in a slot within the first number of slots in response to the PSSCH reception.
(Ryu: See Fig. 4/5, and para[0178]-[0181] for the reception UE (i.e., first terminal device) may transmit ACK/NACK via PSFCH to the transmission UE after it receives SL data on PSSCH from the transmitting UE)
Claim 52. The first terminal device of claim 49, wherein the configuration information further indicates two start symbols for a PSSCH transmission within a slot.
(Ryu: See para[0224] and Fig. 11, wherein a slot, has two separate start PRB indexes for PSSCH transmissions that are for different UEs)
Claim 53. A second terminal device (i.e., transmission UE (TX-UE)) comprising a processor (Ryu: See Fig. 24, #2420 controller) configured to cause the first terminal device (i.e., para[0149], to cause RX-UE (i.e., the first terminal device) to receive resources from gNB) to:
receive a configuration information (i.e., Fig. 4 & Fig. 5, reception-UE (RX-UE) receiving “resource pool information” from gNB) indicating a first number of slots for a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) reception; (i.e., the “resource pool information” includes a slot/symbol index and resources to be used for PSFCH transmissions/reception) and
(Ryu: See Fig. 4, Fig. 5, and para[0128]-[0136] gNB, via “system information”, configures a “reception UE” (RX-UE) (i.e., first terminal device), by transmitting a “system information” including “resource pool information”, which contains a slot/symbol index, and a resource block (RB) including a start point and an end point for PSFCH transmissions/receptions. See also, para[0202] gNB may configure a PSFCH resource pool to the “reception UE” (RX-UE) via system information and RRC configuration. See para[0149] for )
receive a PSFCH (i.e., ACK/NACK via PSFCH for SL data) on the first number of slots (i.e., allocated slots for PSFCH transmission/reception) in response to a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) transmission. (i.e., after receiving PSSCH from another UE)
(Ryu: See Fig. 4/5, and para[0178]-[0181] for the reception UE (i.e., first terminal device) may transmit ACK/NACK via PSFCH to the transmission UE after it receives SL data on PSSCH from the transmitting UE)
Claim 54. The second terminal device of claim 53, wherein the configuration information further indicates two start symbols for the PSSCH transmission within a slot.
(Ryu: See para[0224] and Fig. 11, wherein a slot, has two separate start PRB indexes for PSSCH transmissions that are for different UEs)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 45 and 51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200351033 A1 to Ryu et al., (hereinafter Ryu) in view of US 20230328784 A1 to Lei et al., (hereinafter Lei).
Claim 45. Ryu teaches the method of claim 43, however, it does not seem to explicitly disclose that UE performs a channel access before and prior to transmitting PSFCH, as understood by:
wherein the attempting to transmit the PSFCH comprises: performing a channel access procedure before transmitting the PSFCH.
However, in a similar field, Lei, in para[0031] teaches UE determines a type of channel access it needs to perform for transmitting PSFCH, such as channel access type 2, and then transmits the PSFCH to another UE. (Lei: See Fig. 5B and para[0031])
Ryu teaches resource allocation methods for sidelink communication between different UE(s) by transmitting a “system information” that includes “resource pool information” for PSFCH transmissions. (See Figures 4, and para[0128]-[0136])
Lei teaches methods for sidelink burst transmissions wherein a UE first determines a channel access type it has to perform, such as channel access type 2, and then transmits the PSFCH to another UE. (Lei: See Fig. 5B and para[0031])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to have included channel access procedure performed by a UE, as taught by Lei, with the teachings of Ryu, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a UE that is capable of performing channel access procedure prior to transmission of PSFCH to another UE. (Lei: See Fig. 5B and para[0031])
Claim 51. Ryu teaches the first terminal device of claim 49, however, it does not seem to explicitly disclose that UE performs a channel access before and prior to transmitting PSFCH, as understood by:
wherein the processor is configured to cause the first terminal device to attempt to transmit the PSFCH by performing a channel access procedure before transmitting the PSFCH.
However, in a similar field, Lei, in para[0031] teaches UE determines a type of channel access it needs to perform for transmitting PSFCH, such as channel access type 2, and then transmits the PSFCH to another UE. (Lei: See Fig. 5B and para[0031])
Ryu teaches resource allocation methods for sidelink communication between different UE(s) by transmitting a “system information” that includes “resource pool information” for PSFCH transmissions. (See Figures 4, and para[0128]-[0136])
Lei teaches methods for sidelink burst transmissions wherein a UE first determines a channel access type it has to perform, such as channel access type 2, and then transmits the PSFCH to another UE. (Lei: See Fig. 5B and para[0031])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to have included channel access procedure performed by a UE, as taught by Lei, with the teachings of Ryu, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a UE that is capable of performing channel access procedure prior to transmission of PSFCH to another UE. (Lei: See Fig. 5B and para[0031])
Conclusion
8. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MAJID ESMAEILIAN whose telephone number is (571)270-7830. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Chirag G. Shah can be reached on 571-272-3144. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/M. E./
Examiner, Art Unit 2477
/GREGORY B SEFCHECK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477