DETAILED ACTION
This is in reply to an amendment filed on 07/14/2026. Status of Claims are:
** Claims 43-45, 47, 49-51, 53, and 55-58 are pending.
** Claims 55-58 are new
** Claims 46, 48, 52, and 54 are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed in the amendment dated 07/14/2026, have been fully considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection. The reasons are set forth below.
Prior Art
U. S. Patent Pub No. US 20210176735 A1 issued to Deng et al., (hereinafter Deng).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 43, 44, 47, 49, 50, 53 and 55-58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200351033 A1 to Ryu et al., (hereinafter Ryu) in view of US 20210176735 A1 to Deng et al., (hereinafter Deng).
Claim 43. A method performed by a first terminal device (i.e., reception-UE (RX-UE)), comprising:
receiving a configuration information (i.e., reception-UE (RX-UE) receiving “resource pool information” from gNB, see Fig. 4 & Fig. 5) comprising first information indicating a first number of slots for a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) transmission; (i.e., the “resource pool information” includes a resource slot/symbol index for PSFCH transmissions/reception) and
(Ryu: See Figures 4, and para[0128]-[0136] gNB, via “system information”, configures a “reception UE” (RX-UE) (i.e., first terminal device), by transmitting a “system information” including “resource pool information”, which contains a slot/symbol index, and a resource block (RB) including a start point and an end point for PSFCH transmissions/receptions. See also, para[0202] gNB may configure a PSFCH resource pool to the “reception UE” (RX-UE) via system information and RRC configuration)
attempting to transmit a PSFCH (i.e., RX-UE (i.e., first terminal device)) transmitting ACK/NACK via PSFCH) over the first number of slots (i.e., over the allocated slots for PSFCH transmission) in response to reception of a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH). (i.e., after receiving PSSCH from another UE it transmits PSFCH)
(Ryu: See Fig. 8A, Fig. 4/5, and para[0178]-[0181] for the reception UE(RX-UE) (i.e., first terminal device) may transmit ACK/NACK via PSFCH to the transmission UE(TX-UE) after it receives SL data on PSSCH from the transmission UE(TX-UE))
Ryu does not explicitly disclose configuration information including two starting symbols for PSSCH transmission in a slot, as understood by:
wherein the configuration information further comprises information indicating two start symbols for the PSSCH transmission within a slot.
However, in a similar field, Deng in para[0092] and Fig.2, teaches a UE can be configured by Base Station (BS) with “sidelink time resource block” (STRB) starting positions, wherein the starting positions may be symbol 0 and symbol 7. See also, para[0107] for UE configuration includes “start symbol” and “number of symbols” for the PSSCH transmission instances in each slot.
Ryu teaches resource allocation methods for sidelink communication between different UE(s) by transmitting a “system information” that includes “resource pool information” for PSFCH transmissions. (See Figures 4, and para[0128]-[0136])
Deng teaches techniques related to a UE being configured by a Base Station (BS) with “sidelink time resource block” (STRB) starting positions, wherein the starting positions may be symbol 0 and symbol 7, and wherein configuration includes “start symbol” and “number of symbols” for PSSCH transmission instances in each slot. (Deng: See para[0092] and para[0107])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to have included sidelink configuration techniques, as taught by Deng, with the teachings of Ryu, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a UE configuration that includes “start symbols” in a slot that are used for PSSCH transmission by UE. (Deng: See Fig. 2, para[0092] and para[0107])
Claim 44. The method of claim 43, wherein the attempting to transmit the PSFCH comprises:
attempting to transmit the PSFCH in the slot within the first number of slots in response to the reception of the PSSCH.
(Ryu: See Fig. 11, Fig. 4, Fig. 5, and para[0178]-[0181] the reception UE (RX-UE) (i.e., first terminal device) may transmit ACK/NACK via PSFCH to the transmission UE (TX-UE) after it receives SL data on PSSCH from the transmitting UE)
Claim 47. A method performed by a second terminal device (i.e., transmission UE (TX-UE)), the method comprising:
receiving a configuration information (i.e., Fig. 4 & Fig. 5, a transmission UE (TX-UE) (i.e., a second terminal device), receiving “resource pool information” from gNB) comprising first information indicating a first number of slots for a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) reception; (i.e., the “resource pool information” includes a slot/symbol index and resources to be used for PSFCH transmissions/reception) and
(Ryu: See Figures 4, and para[0128]-[0136] gNB, via “system information”, configures a transmission UE (TX-UE)(i.e., a second terminal device), by transmitting a “system information” to them that includes “resource pool information”, including a slot/symbol index, or a resource block (RB), that has a start point and end point for PSFCH transmissions/receptions. See also, para[0204] gNB allocated resources for PSFCH to the transmission UE (TX-UE)(i.e., second terminal device) to be used for receiving PSFCH)
receiving a PSFCH (i.e., receiving ACK/NACK via PSFCH from first terminal device) on the first number of slots (i.e., over allocated slots for PSFCH reception) in response to a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) transmission. (i.e., after receiving PSSCH from another UE)
(Ryu: See Fig. 4/5, and para[0178]-[0181] for the reception UE (i.e., first terminal device) may transmit ACK/NACK via PSFCH to the transmission UE (TX-UE)(i.e., second terminal device) after it receives SL data on PSSCH from the transmitting UE (TX-UE)(i.e., second terminal device))
Ryu does not explicitly disclose configuration information includes two starting symbols for PSSCH transmission in a slot, as understood by:
wherein the configuration information further comprises information indicating two start symbols for the PSSCH transmission within a slot.
However, in a similar field, Deng in para[0092] and Fig.2, teaches a UE can be configured by Base Station (BS) with “sidelink time resource block” (STRB) starting positions, wherein the starting positions may be symbol 0 and symbol 7. See also, para[0107] for UE configuration includes “start symbol” and “number of symbols” for the PSSCH transmission instances in each slot.
Ryu teaches resource allocation methods for sidelink communication between different UE(s) by transmitting a “system information” that includes “resource pool information” for PSFCH transmissions. (See Figures 4, and para[0128]-[0136])
Deng teaches techniques related to a UE being configured by a Base Station (BS) with “sidelink time resource block” (STRB) starting positions, wherein the starting positions may be symbol 0 and symbol 7, and wherein configuration includes “start symbol” and “number of symbols” for PSSCH transmission instances in each slot. (Deng: See para[0092] and para[0107])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to have included sidelink configuration techniques, as taught by Deng, with the teachings of Ryu, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a UE configuration that includes “start symbols” in a slot that are used for PSSCH transmission by UE. (Deng: See Fig. 2, para[0092] and para[0107])
Claim 49. A first terminal device (i.e., reception-UE (RX-UE)) comprising a processor configured to cause the first terminal device to:
receive a configuration information (i.e., Fig. 4 & Fig. 5, reception-UE (RX-UE) receiving “resource pool information” from gNB) comprising first information indicating a first number of slots for a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) transmission; (i.e., the “resource pool information” includes a resource slot/symbol index for PSFCH transmissions/reception) and
(Ryu: See Figures 4, and para[0128]-[0136] gNB, via “system information”, configures a “reception UE” (RX-UE) (i.e., first terminal device), by transmitting a “system information” including “resource pool information”, which contains a slot/symbol index, and a resource block (RB) including a start point and an end point for PSFCH transmissions/receptions. See also, para[0202] gNB may configure a PSFCH resource pool to the “reception UE” (RX-UE) via system information and RRC configuration)
attempt to transmit a PSFCH (i.e., RX-UE (i.e., first terminal device)) transmitting ACK/NACK via PSFCH) in a slot within the first number of slots (i.e., over allocated slots for PSFCH transmission) in response to reception of a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH). (i.e., after receiving PSSCH from another UE)
(Ryu: See Fig. 8A, Fig. 4/5, and para[0178]-[0181] for the reception UE(RX-UE) (i.e., first terminal device) may transmit ACK/NACK via PSFCH to the transmission UE(TX-UE) after it receives SL data on PSSCH from the transmission UE(TX-UE))
Ryu does not explicitly disclose configuration information including two starting symbols for PSSCH transmission in a slot, as understood by:
wherein the configuration information further comprises information indicating two start symbols for the PSSCH transmission within a slot.
However, in a similar field, Deng in para[0092] and Fig.2, teaches a UE can be configured by Base Station (BS) with “sidelink time resource block” (STRB) starting positions, wherein the starting positions may be symbol 0 and symbol 7. See also, para[0107] for UE configuration includes “start symbol” and “number of symbols” for the PSSCH transmission instances in each slot.
Ryu teaches resource allocation methods for sidelink communication between different UE(s) by transmitting a “system information” that includes “resource pool information” for PSFCH transmissions. (See Figures 4, and para[0128]-[0136])
Deng teaches techniques related to a UE being configured by a Base Station (BS) with “sidelink time resource block” (STRB) starting positions, wherein the starting positions may be symbol 0 and symbol 7, and wherein configuration includes “start symbol” and “number of symbols” for PSSCH transmission instances in each slot. (Deng: See para[0092] and para[0107])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to have included sidelink configuration techniques, as taught by Deng, with the teachings of Ryu, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a UE configuration that includes “start symbols” in a slot that are used for PSSCH transmission by UE. (Deng: See Fig. 2, para[0092] and para[0107])
Claim 50. The first terminal device of claim 49, wherein the processor is configured to cause the first terminal device to attempt to transmit the PSFCH by attempting to transmit the PSFCH in the slot within the first number of slots in response to the reception of PSSCH.
(Ryu: See Fig. 4/5, and para[0178]-[0181] for the reception UE (i.e., first terminal device) may transmit ACK/NACK via PSFCH to the transmission UE after it receives SL data on PSSCH from the transmitting UE)
Claim 53. A second terminal device (i.e., transmission UE (TX-UE)) comprising a processor (Ryu: See Fig. 24, #2420 controller) configured to cause the second first terminal device (i.e., para[0149], to cause RX-UE (i.e., the first terminal device) to receive resources from gNB) to:
receive a configuration information (i.e., Fig. 4 & Fig. 5, reception-UE (RX-UE) receiving “resource pool information” from gNB) comprising first information indicating a first number of slots for a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) reception; (i.e., the “resource pool information” includes a slot/symbol index and resources to be used for PSFCH transmissions/reception) and
(Ryu: See Fig. 4, Fig. 5, and para[0128]-[0136] gNB, via “system information”, configures a “reception UE” (RX-UE) (i.e., first terminal device), by transmitting a “system information” including “resource pool information”, which contains a slot/symbol index, and a resource block (RB) including a start point and an end point for PSFCH transmissions/receptions. See also, para[0202] gNB may configure a PSFCH resource pool to the “reception UE” (RX-UE) via system information and RRC configuration. See para[0149] for )
receive a PSFCH (i.e., ACK/NACK via PSFCH for SL data) on the first number of slots (i.e., allocated slots for PSFCH transmission/reception) in response to a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) transmission. (i.e., after receiving PSSCH from another UE)
(Ryu: See Fig. 4/5, and para[0178]-[0181] for the reception UE (i.e., first terminal device) may transmit ACK/NACK via PSFCH to the transmission UE after it receives SL data on PSSCH from the transmitting UE)
Ryu does not explicitly disclose configuration information including two starting symbols for PSSCH transmission in a slot, as understood by:
wherein the configuration information further comprises information indicating two start symbols for the PSSCH transmission within a slot.
However, in a similar field, Deng in para[0092] and Fig.2, teaches a UE can be configured by Base Station (BS) with “sidelink time resource block” (STRB) starting positions, wherein the starting positions may be symbol 0 and symbol 7. See also, para[0107] for UE configuration includes “start symbol” and “number of symbols” for the PSSCH transmission instances in each slot.
Ryu teaches resource allocation methods for sidelink communication between different UE(s) by transmitting a “system information” that includes “resource pool information” for PSFCH transmissions. (See Figures 4, and para[0128]-[0136])
Deng teaches techniques related to a UE being configured by a Base Station (BS) with “sidelink time resource block” (STRB) starting positions, wherein the starting positions may be symbol 0 and symbol 7, and wherein configuration includes “start symbol” and “number of symbols” for PSSCH transmission instances in each slot. (Deng: See para[0092] and para[0107])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to have included sidelink configuration techniques, as taught by Deng, with the teachings of Ryu, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a UE configuration that includes “start symbols” in a slot that are used for PSSCH transmission by UE. (Deng: See Fig. 2, para[0092] and para[0107])
Claim 55. The method of claim 43, wherein the two start symbols within the slot are symbol 0 and symbol 7. (Deng: UE can be configured by Base Station (BS) with “sidelink time resource block” (STRB) starting positions, wherein the starting positions may be symbol 0 and symbol 7) (Deng: See para[0092] and Fig. 2)
Ryu teaches resource allocation methods for sidelink communication between different UE(s) by transmitting a “system information” that includes “resource pool information” for PSFCH transmissions. (See Figures 4, and para[0128]-[0136])
Deng teaches techniques related to a UE being configured by a Base Station (BS) with “sidelink time resource block” (STRB) starting positions, wherein the starting positions may be symbol 0 and symbol 7, and wherein configuration includes “start symbol” and “number of symbols” for PSSCH transmission instances in each slot. (Deng: See para[0092] and para[0107])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to have included sidelink configuration techniques, as taught by Deng, with the teachings of Ryu, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a UE configuration that includes “start symbols” in a slot that are used for PSSCH transmission by UE. (Deng: See Fig. 2, para[0092] and para[0107])
Claim 56. The method of claim 47, wherein the two start symbols within the slot are symbol 0 and symbol 7. (Deng: UE can be configured by Base Station (BS) with “sidelink time resource block” (STRB) starting positions, wherein the starting positions may be symbol 0 and symbol 7) (Deng: See para[0092] and Fig. 2)
Ryu teaches resource allocation methods for sidelink communication between different UE(s) by transmitting a “system information” that includes “resource pool information” for PSFCH transmissions. (See Figures 4, and para[0128]-[0136])
Deng teaches techniques related to a UE being configured by a Base Station (BS) with “sidelink time resource block” (STRB) starting positions, wherein the starting positions may be symbol 0 and symbol 7, and wherein configuration includes “start symbol” and “number of symbols” for PSSCH transmission instances in each slot. (Deng: See para[0092] and para[0107])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to have included sidelink configuration techniques, as taught by Deng, with the teachings of Ryu, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a UE configuration that includes “start symbols” in a slot that are used for PSSCH transmission by UE. (Deng: See Fig. 2, para[0092] and para[0107])
Claim 57. The first terminal device of claim 49, wherein the two start symbols within the slot are symbol 0 and symbol 7. (Deng: UE can be configured by Base Station (BS) with “sidelink time resource block” (STRB) starting positions, wherein the starting positions may be symbol 0 and symbol 7) (Deng: See para[0092] and Fig. 2)
Ryu teaches resource allocation methods for sidelink communication between different UE(s) by transmitting a “system information” that includes “resource pool information” for PSFCH transmissions. (See Figures 4, and para[0128]-[0136])
Deng teaches techniques related to a UE being configured by a Base Station (BS) with “sidelink time resource block” (STRB) starting positions, wherein the starting positions may be symbol 0 and symbol 7, and wherein configuration includes “start symbol” and “number of symbols” for PSSCH transmission instances in each slot. (Deng: See para[0092] and para[0107])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to have included sidelink configuration techniques, as taught by Deng, with the teachings of Ryu, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a UE configuration that includes “start symbols” in a slot that are used for PSSCH transmission by UE. (Deng: See Fig. 2, para[0092] and para[0107])
Claim 58. The second terminal device of claim 53, wherein the two start symbols within the slot are symbol 0 and symbol 7. (Deng: UE can be configured by Base Station (BS) with “sidelink time resource block” (STRB) starting positions, wherein the starting positions may be symbol 0 and symbol 7) (Deng: See para[0092] and Fig. 2)
Ryu teaches resource allocation methods for sidelink communication between different UE(s) by transmitting a “system information” that includes “resource pool information” for PSFCH transmissions. (See Figures 4, and para[0128]-[0136])
Deng teaches techniques related to a UE being configured by a Base Station (BS) with “sidelink time resource block” (STRB) starting positions, wherein the starting positions may be symbol 0 and symbol 7, and wherein configuration includes “start symbol” and “number of symbols” for PSSCH transmission instances in each slot. (Deng: See para[0092] and para[0107])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to have included sidelink configuration techniques, as taught by Deng, with the teachings of Ryu, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a UE configuration that includes “start symbols” in a slot that are used for PSSCH transmission by UE. (Deng: See Fig. 2, para[0092] and para[0107])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 45 and 51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200351033 A1 to Ryu et al., (hereinafter Ryu) in view of US 20210176735 A1 to Deng et al., (hereinafter Deng) and in further view of US 20230328784 A1 to Lei et al., (hereinafter Lei).
Claim 45. Ryu in view of Deng teaches the method of claim 43, however, it does not seem to explicitly disclose that UE performs a channel access before and prior to transmitting PSFCH, as understood by:
wherein the attempting to transmit the PSFCH comprises: performing a channel access procedure before transmitting the PSFCH.
However, in a similar field, Lei, in para[0031] teaches UE determines a type of channel access it needs to perform for transmitting PSFCH, such as channel access type 2, and then transmits the PSFCH to another UE. (Lei: See Fig. 5B and para[0031])
Ryu teaches resource allocation methods for sidelink communication between different UE(s) by transmitting a “system information” that includes “resource pool information” for PSFCH transmissions. (See Figures 4, and para[0128]-[0136])
Deng teaches techniques related to a UE being configured by a Base Station (BS) with “sidelink time resource block” (STRB) starting positions, wherein the starting positions may be symbol 0 and symbol 7, and wherein configuration includes “start symbol” and “number of symbols” for PSSCH transmission instances in each slot. (Deng: See para[0092] and para[0107])
Lei teaches methods for sidelink burst transmissions wherein a UE first determines a channel access type it has to perform, such as channel access type 2, and then transmits the PSFCH to another UE. (Lei: See Fig. 5B and para[0031])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to have included channel access procedure performed by a UE, as taught by Lei, with the teachings of Ryu in view of Deng, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a UE that is capable of performing channel access procedure prior to transmission of PSFCH to another UE. (Lei: See Fig. 5B and para[0031])
Claim 51. Ryu in view of Deng teaches the first terminal device of claim 49, however, it does not seem to explicitly disclose that UE performs a channel access before and prior to transmitting PSFCH, as understood by:
wherein the processor is configured to cause the first terminal device to attempt to transmit the PSFCH by performing a channel access procedure before transmitting the PSFCH.
However, in a similar field, Lei, in para[0031] teaches UE determines a type of channel access it needs to perform for transmitting PSFCH, such as channel access type 2, and then transmits the PSFCH to another UE. (Lei: See Fig. 5B and para[0031])
Ryu teaches resource allocation methods for sidelink communication between different UE(s) by transmitting a “system information” that includes “resource pool information” for PSFCH transmissions. (See Figures 4, and para[0128]-[0136])
Deng teaches techniques related to a UE being configured by a Base Station (BS) with “sidelink time resource block” (STRB) starting positions, wherein the starting positions may be symbol 0 and symbol 7, and wherein configuration includes “start symbol” and “number of symbols” for PSSCH transmission instances in each slot. (Deng: See para[0092] and para[0107])
Lei teaches methods for sidelink burst transmissions wherein a UE first determines a channel access type it has to perform, such as channel access type 2, and then transmits the PSFCH to another UE. (Lei: See Fig. 5B and para[0031])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to have included channel access procedure performed by a UE, as taught by Lei, with the teachings of Ryu in view of Deng, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a UE that is capable of performing channel access procedure prior to transmission of PSFCH to another UE. (Lei: See Fig. 5B and para[0031])
Conclusion
8. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MAJID ESMAEILIAN whose telephone number is (571)270-7830. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Chirag Shah can be reached on 571-272-3144. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/M. E./
Examiner, Art Unit 2477
/GREGORY B SEFCHECK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477