DETAILED ACTION
This is in reply to an application filed on 1/22/2024. Claims 1-7, 12, 14-21, 24, 31, and 34-35 are pending.
Preliminary Amendment
The preliminary amendment submitted on 1/22/2024 is acknowledged and considered accordingly.
Priority
Foreign Priority benefit claimed under Title 35, United States Code, § 119 have been acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement PTO-1449
The Information Disclosure Statement submitted by applicant on 1/22/2024, 10/21/2024, 04/04/2025, 10/14/2025, and 03/02/2026 have all been considered. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Form PTO-1449 signed and attached hereto.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 12, 14, 18-20, 24, 31, 34, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US20250331050 A1 to Thangarasa et al., (hereinafter Thangarasa).
Claim 1. A method for controlling a service, performed by a user equipment (UE) and comprising:
obtaining priority configuration information, (i.e., UE receiving CG-SDT configuration)
(Thangarasa: See Figure 1, #102, and para[0080] a wireless device (i.e., UE) first obtains information about preconfigured resources for SDTs (e.g., CG-SDT configurations) by receiving a message from the network node associated with cell 1)
wherein the priority configuration information (i.e., CG-SDT configuration) is configured to indicate priorities of a small data transmission (SDT) service and of other services;
(Thangarasa: See para[0149] CG-SDT configuration (i.e., priority configuration information) may indicate UE to always prioritize the data transmission in the CG-SDT resources over the reception of the paging message (i.e., other service). On the other hand, if the UL data has a very low priority, the UE may be indicated to always prioritize the reception of the paging message (i.e., other service) over the small data transmission in the CG-SDT resources)
determining a scheduling indication (i.e., a paging configuration/message indicating paging occasions and reception resources) sent by a base station for scheduling the other services (i.e., paging) in a process of performing the SDT service; and
(Thangarasa: see para[0083]-[0085], and Fig. 1, #104, UE receives from the network (i.e., BS) a paging configuration, that includes configuration information about paging reception resources)
determining whether to continue performing the SDT service based on the priority configuration information (i.e., CG-SDT configuration) and the scheduling indication (i.e., a paging configuration indicating paging occasions and reception resources).
(Thangarasa: See para[0149] CG-SDT configuration (i.e., priority configuration information) may indicate UE to prioritize the data transmission in the CG-SDT resources over the reception of the paging message. If the UL data has a very low priority, the UE may be indicated to always prioritize the reception of the paging message over the small data transmission in the CG-SDT resources)
Claim 2. The method according to claim 1, wherein the other services comprise a paging service.
(Thangarasa: See para[0149] CG-SDT configuration (i.e., priority configuration information) may indicate UE to prioritize the data transmission in the CG-SDT resources over the reception of the paging message (i.e., paging service). If the UL data has a very low priority, the UE may be indicated to always prioritize the reception of the paging message (i.e., paging service) over the small data transmission in the CG-SDT resources)
Claim 12. The method according to claim 1, wherein obtaining the priority configuration information comprises one of:
receiving the priority configuration information sent by the base station; or determining the priority configuration information based on a protocol.
(Thangarasa: See Figure 1, #102, and para[0080] a wireless device (i.e., UE) first obtains information about preconfigured resources for SDTs (e.g., CG-SDT configurations) by receiving a message from the network node associated with cell 1)
Claim 14. The method according to claim 1, wherein the SDT service comprises at least one of:
4-step random access channel (4-step RACH) SDT; 2-step random access channel (2-step RACH) SDT; or configure grant (CG) SDT. (Thangarasa: See para[0024] UE uses 2-step RA type for SDT procedure as well as 4-Step RA type for SDT procedure
Claim 18. The method according to claim 1, further comprising:
receiving a SDT resource configuration sent by the base station; and performing the SDT service based on the SDT resource configuration. (Thangarasa: See para[0149] CG-SDT configuration (i.e., priority configuration information) may indicate UE to always prioritize the data transmission in the CG-SDT resources over the reception of the paging message. On the other hand, if the UL data has a very low priority, the UE may be indicated to always prioritize the reception of the paging message over the small data transmission in the CG-SDT resources)
Claim 19. A method for controlling a service, performed by a base station and comprising:
sending priority configuration information (i.e., CG-SDT configuration) to a user equipment (UE), wherein the priority configuration information (i.e., CG-SDT configuration) is configured to indicate priorities of a small data transmission (SDT) service and of other services; and performing the SDT service. (Thangarasa: See para[0149] CG-SDT configuration (i.e., priority configuration information) may indicate UE to always prioritize the data transmission in the CG-SDT resources over the reception of the paging message. On the other hand, if the UL data has a very low priority, the UE may be indicated to always prioritize the reception of the paging message over the small data transmission in the CG-SDT resources)
Claim 20. The method according to claim 19, wherein the other services comprise a paging service. (Thangarasa: See para[0149] CG-SDT configuration (i.e., priority configuration information) may indicate UE to always prioritize the data transmission in the CG-SDT resources over the reception of the paging message (i.e., a paging service). On the other hand, if the UL data has a very low priority, the UE may be indicated to always prioritize the reception of the paging message (i.e., a paging service) over the small data transmission in the CG-SDT resources)
Claim 24. The method according to claim 20, wherein the priority configuration information comprises: priority information of the SDT service being different from priority information of the paging service, and
(Thangarasa: See para[0149] CG-SDT configuration (i.e., priority configuration information) may indicate UE to always prioritize the data transmission in the CG-SDT resources over the reception of the paging message. On the other hand, if the UL data has a very low priority, the UE may be indicated to always prioritize the reception of the paging message over the small data transmission in the CG-SDT resources)
the method further comprises one of: continuing to perform the SDT service; or abandoning the SDT service and performing the paging service.
(Thangarasa: See para[0149] CG-SDT configuration (i.e., priority configuration information) may indicate UE to always prioritize the data transmission in the CG-SDT resources over the reception of the paging message. On the other hand, if the UL data has a very low priority, the UE may be indicated to always prioritize the reception of the paging message over the small data transmission in the CG-SDT resources)
Claim 31. The method according to claim 19, further comprising: sending a SDT resource configuration to the UE.
(Thangarasa: See Figure 1, #102, and para[0080] a wireless device (i.e., UE) first obtains information about preconfigured resources for SDTs (e.g., CG-SDT configurations) by receiving a message from the network node associated with cell 1)
Claim 34. A communication device, (i.e., UE) comprising:
a processor; and a memory storing a computer program executable by the processor; (Thangarasa: See Figure 5, UE having processing circuitry, and memory that can run different application programs) wherein the processor is configured to:
obtain priority configuration information, (i.e., UE receiving CG-SDT configuration)
(Thangarasa: See Figure 1, #102, and para[0080] a wireless device (i.e., UE) first obtains information about preconfigured resources for SDTs (e.g., CG-SDT configurations) by receiving a message from the network node associated with cell 1)
wherein the priority configuration information (i.e., CG-SDT configuration) is configured to indicate priorities of a small data transmission (SDT) service and of other services;
(Thangarasa: See para[0149] CG-SDT configuration (i.e., priority configuration information) may indicate UE to always prioritize the data transmission in the CG-SDT resources over the reception of the paging message. On the other hand, if the UL data has a very low priority, the UE may be indicated to always prioritize the reception of the paging message over the small data transmission in the CG-SDT resources)
determine a scheduling indication (i.e., obtaining paging configuration, including paging reception resources, from the network) sent by a base station for scheduling the other services (i.e. paging) in a process of performing the SDT service; and
(Thangarasa: see para[0083]-[0084], and Fig. 1, #104, UE obtains paging configuration, that includes configuration information about paging reception resources, from the network)
determine whether to continue performing the SDT service based on the priority configuration information and the scheduling indication.
(Thangarasa: See para[0149] CG-SDT configuration (i.e., priority configuration information) may indicate UE to always prioritize the data transmission in the CG-SDT resources over the reception of the paging message. On the other hand, if the UL data has a very low priority, the UE may be indicated to always prioritize the reception of the paging message over the small data transmission in the CG-SDT resources)
Claim 35. A communication device, (i.e., UE) comprising:
a processor; and a memory storing a computer program executable by the processor; wherein the processor is configured to perform the method according to claims 19.
(Thangarasa: See Figure 5, UE having processing circuitry, and memory that can run different application programs)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-7 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20250331050 A1 to Thangarasa et al., (hereinafter Thangarasa) in view of US 20210014011 A1 to Xiong et al., (hereinafter Xiong).
Claim 3. Thangarasa teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein determining the scheduling indication (i.e., a paging configuration/message indicating paging occasions and reception resources) sent by the base station for scheduling the other services (i.e., paging) however, Thangarasa does not seem to explicitly disclose that such message comprises a scheduling information, such as DCI, via a PDCCH scrambled by P-RNTI as understood alternatively by:
receiving a scheduling information (i.e., DCI sent via a paging PDCCH that is scrambled by P-RNTI) sent by the base station via a paging radio network temporary identity physical downlink control channel (P-RNTI PDCCH),
wherein the scheduling information (i.e., DCI sent via a paging PDCCH that is scrambled by P-RNTI) is configured to indicate the UE to receive messages in a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH); and
determining the scheduling information (i.e., DCI sent via a paging PDCCH that is scrambled by P-RNTI) as a scheduling indication, sent by the base station, for scheduling the other services (i.e., paging) in case that the scheduling information indicates the UE to receive a paging radio resource control (RRC) message for triggering the paging service in the PDSCH.
However, in a similar field, Xiong teaches:
receiving a scheduling information (i.e., DCI sent via a paging PDCCH that is scrambled by P-RNTI) sent by the base station via a paging radio network temporary identity physical downlink control channel (P-RNTI PDCCH), (Xiong: See para[0400]-[0403] UE detects a paging PDCCH scrambled by a P-RNTI sent by BS that includes a DCI, wherein different bit field of DCI indicates different indications that UE needs to perform)
wherein the scheduling information (i.e., DCI sent via a paging PDCCH that is scrambled by P-RNTI) is configured to indicate the UE to receive messages in a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH); and (Xiong: See para[0400]-[0403] UE detects a paging PDCCH scrambled by a P-RNTI sent by BS including a DCI, in order to trigger the UE to establish uplink synchronization and transmit data in a downlink PDSCH.)
determining the scheduling information (i.e., DCI sent via a paging PDCCH that is scrambled by P-RNTI) as a scheduling indication, sent by the base station, for scheduling the other services (i.e., paging) in case that the scheduling information (i.e., DCI) indicates the UE to receive a paging radio resource control (RRC) message for triggering the paging service in the PDSCH. (Xiong: See para[0116] for the PDDCH may indicate a UE action. For example, the PDCCH may indicate the UE to receive the PDSCH by indicating a DCI that includes paging message scheduling information (e.g., paging RRC message for paging in the PDSCH) or to perform contention-based random access such as 4-step RACH or 2-step RACH or UE to establish RRC connection)
Thangarasa teaches different techniques related to small data transmission wherein a UE receives CG-SDT configuration and paging configurations/message from base station. (Thangarasa: See para[0149])
Xiong teaches techniques related to small data transmission by a base station, wherein PDCCH includes scheduling information scheduling PDSCH via separate bit fields of a DCI of the PDCCH. (Xiong: See para[0400]-[0403])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to have included DCI of PDCCH as taught by Xiong, with the teachings of Thangarasa, in order to benefit from enhancement ability of having a DCI transmitted in a PDCCH to a UE, wherein different bits of such DCI will indicate a different UE action to be performed by UE, such as to receive the PDSCH or to perform contention-based random access such as 4-step RACH or 2-step RACH or to establish RRC connection in PDSCH. (Xiong: See para[0116])
Claim 4. Thangarasa teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein determining the scheduling indication (i.e., a paging configuration/message indicating paging occasions and reception resources) sent by the base station for scheduling the other services (i.e., paging) however, Thangarasa does not seem to explicitly disclose that such message comprises a scheduling information, such as DCI, via a PDCCH scrambled by P-RNTI as understood alternatively by:
receiving the scheduling information (i.e., DCI sent via a paging PDCCH that is scrambled by P-RNTI) sent by the base station via a P-RNTI PDCCH,
wherein the scheduling information(i.e., DCI sent via a paging PDCCH that is scrambled by P-RNTI) is configured to indicate the UE to receive messages in a PDSCH; and
determining the scheduling information (i.e., DCI sent via a paging PDCCH that is scrambled by P-RNTI) as a scheduling indication sent by the base station for scheduling the other services (i.e., paging) in case the scheduling information does not indicate the UE to receive a short message in the PDSCH. (i.e., DCI sent via a paging PDCCH that is scrambled by P-RNIT, includes only a paging message scheduling information and not a short message)
However, in a similar field, Xiong teaches:
receiving the scheduling information (i.e., DCI sent via a paging PDCCH that is scrambled by P-RNTI) sent by the base station via a P-RNTI PDCCH, (Xiong: See para[0400]-[0403] UE detects a paging PDCCH scrambled by a P-RNTI sent by BS that includes a DCI, wherein different bit field of DCI indicates different indications that UE needs to perform)
wherein the scheduling information(i.e., DCI sent via a paging PDCCH that is scrambled by P-RNTI) is configured to indicate the UE to receive messages in a PDSCH; and (Xiong: See para[0400]-[0403] UE detects a paging PDCCH scrambled by a P-RNTI sent by BS including a DCI, in order to trigger the UE to establish uplink synchronization and transmit data in a downlink PDSCH.)
determining the scheduling information (i.e., DCI sent via a paging PDCCH that is scrambled by P-RNTI) as a scheduling indication sent by the base station for scheduling the other services (i.e., paging) in case the scheduling information does not indicate the UE to receive a short message in the PDSCH. (i.e., DCI sent via a paging PDCCH that is scrambled by P-RNIT, includes only a paging message scheduling information and not a short message)
(Xiong: See para[0116] for the PDDCH may indicate a UE action. For example, the PDCCH may indicate the UE to receive the PDSCH by indicating a DCI that includes paging message scheduling information (e.g., paging RRC message for paging in the PDSCH) or to perform contention-based random access such as 4-step RACH or 2-step RACH or UE to establish RRC connection)
Thangarasa teaches different techniques related to small data transmission wherein a UE receives CG-SDT configuration and paging configurations/message from base station. (Thangarasa: See para[0149])
Xiong teaches techniques related to small data transmission by a base station, wherein PDCCH includes scheduling information scheduling PDSCH via separate bit fields of a DCI of the PDCCH. (Xiong: See para[0400]-[0403])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to have included DCI of PDCCH as taught by Xiong, with the teachings of Thangarasa, in order to benefit from enhancement ability of having a DCI transmitted in a PDCCH to a UE, wherein different bits of such DCI will indicate a different UE action to be performed by UE, such as to receive the PDSCH or to perform contention-based random access such as 4-step RACH or 2-step RACH or to establish RRC connection in PDSCH. (Xiong: See para[0116])
Claim 5. The method according to claim 3, wherein the scheduling information comprises downlink control information (DCI).
(Xiong: See para[0400]-[0403] UE detects a paging PDCCH scrambled by a P-RNTI sent by BS that includes a DCI, wherein different bit field of DCI indicates different indications that UE needs to perform)
Thangarasa teaches different techniques related to small data transmission wherein a UE receives CG-SDT configuration and paging configurations/message from base station. (Thangarasa: See para[0149])
Xiong teaches techniques related to small data transmission by a base station, wherein PDCCH includes scheduling information scheduling PDSCH via separate bit fields of a DCI of the PDCCH. (Xiong: See para[0400]-[0403])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to have included DCI of PDCCH as taught by Xiong, with the teachings of Thangarasa, in order to benefit from enhancement ability of having a DCI transmitted in a PDCCH to a UE, wherein different bits of such DCI will indicate a different UE action to be performed by UE, such as to receive the PDSCH or to perform contention-based random access such as 4-step RACH or 2-step RACH or to establish RRC connection in PDSCH. (Xiong: See para[0116])
Claim 6. The method according to claim 3, wherein the priority configuration information comprises:
priority information of the SDT service being different from priority information of the paging service.
(Thangarasa: See para[0149] CG-SDT configuration (i.e., priority configuration information) may indicate UE to always prioritize the data transmission in the CG-SDT resources over the reception of the paging message. On the other hand, if the UL data has a very low priority, the UE may be indicated to always prioritize the reception of the paging message over the small data transmission in the CG-SDT resources. See Figure 1, for two different and separate configurations being received.)
Claim 7. The method according to claim 6, wherein determining whether to continue performing the SDT service based on the priority configuration information and the scheduling indication comprises one of:
ignoring a reception in the PDSCH indicated by the scheduling indication;
receiving the paging RRC message in the PDSCH based on the scheduling indication, and ignoring the paging RRC message received;
(Xiong: See para[0116] for the PDDCH may indicate a UE action. For example, the PDCCH may indicate the UE to receive the PDSCH by indicating a DCI that includes paging message scheduling information (e.g., receiving paging RRC message in the PDSCH) or for UE to establish RRC connection (e.g., UE to ignore the paging RRC message received))
receiving the paging RRC message in the PDSCH based on the scheduling indication, and ignoring the paging RRC message received in case that the paging RRC message indicates an identifier of the UE;
receiving the paging RRC message in the PDSCH based on the scheduling indication, and ignoring the paging service triggered by the UE based on the paging RRC message in case that the paging RRC message indicates an identifier of the UE;
or
receiving the paging RRC message in the PDSCH based on the scheduling indication, abandoning the SDT service, and triggering the paging service based on the paging RRC message in case that the paging RRC message indicates an identifier of the UE.
Thangarasa teaches different techniques related to small data transmission wherein a UE receives CG-SDT configuration and paging configurations/message from base station. (Thangarasa: See para[0149])
Xiong teaches techniques related to small data transmission by a base station, wherein PDCCH includes scheduling information scheduling PDSCH via separate bit fields of a DCI of the PDCCH. (Xiong: See para[0400]-[0403])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to have included DCI of PDCCH as taught by Xiong, with the teachings of Thangarasa, in order to benefit from enhancement ability of having a DCI transmitted in a PDCCH to a UE, wherein different bits of such DCI will indicate a different UE action to be performed by UE, such as to receive the PDSCH or to perform contention-based random access such as 4-step RACH or 2-step RACH or to establish RRC connection in PDSCH. (Xiong: See para[0116])
Claim 21. Thangarasa teaches the method according to claim 20, however, Thangarasa does not seem to explicitly disclose:
further comprising one of:
sending scheduling information to a UE (i.e., DCI sent via a paging PDCCH that is scrambled by P-RNTI) via a paging radio network temporary identity physical downlink control channel (P-RNTI PDCCH),
wherein the scheduling information (i.e., DCI sent via a paging PDCCH that is scrambled by P-RNTI) indicates the UE to receive a paging RRC message for triggering the paging service in a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH); or
sending scheduling information (i.e., DCI sent via a paging PDCCH that is scrambled by P-RNTI) to a UE via a P-RNTI PDCCH, wherein the scheduling information does not indicate the UE to receive a short message in the PDSCH.
However, in a similar field, Xiong teaches:
sending scheduling information to a UE (i.e., DCI sent via a paging PDCCH that is scrambled by P-RNTI) via a paging radio network temporary identity physical downlink control channel (P-RNTI PDCCH), (Xiong: See para[0400]-[0403] UE detects a paging PDCCH scrambled by a P-RNTI sent by BS that includes a DCI, wherein different bit field of DCI indicates different indications that UE needs to perform)
wherein the scheduling information (i.e., DCI sent via a paging PDCCH that is scrambled by P-RNTI) indicates the UE to receive a paging RRC message for triggering the paging service in a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH); or (Xiong: See para[0400]-[0403] UE detects a paging PDCCH scrambled by a P-RNTI sent by BS including a DCI, in order to trigger the UE to establish uplink synchronization and transmit data in a downlink PDSCH.)
sending scheduling information (i.e., DCI sent via a paging PDCCH that is scrambled by P-RNTI) to a UE via a P-RNTI PDCCH, wherein the scheduling information does not indicate the UE to receive a short message in the PDSCH.
Thangarasa teaches different techniques related to small data transmission wherein a UE receives CG-SDT configuration and paging configurations/message from base station. (Thangarasa: See para[0149])
Xiong teaches techniques related to small data transmission by a base station, wherein PDCCH includes scheduling information scheduling PDSCH via separate bit fields of a DCI of the PDCCH. (Xiong: See para[0400]-[0403])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to have included DCI of PDCCH as taught by Xiong, with the teachings of Thangarasa, in order to benefit from enhancement ability of having a DCI transmitted in a PDCCH to a UE, wherein different bits of such DCI will indicate a different UE action to be performed by UE, such as to receive the PDSCH or to perform contention-based random access such as 4-step RACH or 2-step RACH or to establish RRC connection in PDSCH. (Xiong: See para[0116])
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20250331050 A1 to Thangarasa et al., (hereinafter Thangarasa) in view of US 20220361278 A1 to TSAI et al., (hereinafter TSAI).
Claim 15. Thangarasa teaches the method according to claim 1, however, it does not explicitly disclose SRB may be configured for an SDT as understood by:
wherein a bearing type corresponding to the SDT service comprises at least one of:
a data radio bearer (DRB); a signaling radio bearer (SRB); a master cell group radio bearer (MCGRB); a secondary cell group radio bearer (SCGRB); or a split bear.
However, in a similar field, TSAI, in para[0099] teaches SRB1 and SRB2 and/or SRB3 are configured for SDT procedure by UE in addition to SDT DRBs that are configured for SDT. (TSAI: See para[0099])
Thangarasa teaches different techniques related to small data transmission wherein a UE receives CG-SDT configuration and paging configurations/message from base station. (Thangarasa: See para[0149])
TSAI teaches SRB1 and SRB2 and/or SRB3 are configured for SDT procedure by UE in addition to SDT DRBs that are configured for SDT. (TSAI: See para[0099])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to have included SRB1, SRB2 and/or SRB3 being configured for SDT procedure by UE, as taught by TSAI, with the teachings of Thangarasa, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a UE that is configured with SRB1, SRB2 and/or SRB3 for SDT procedure by UE, with the SDT teachings of Thangarasa, in order to benefit from enhancement of having both SRBs and DRBs as being configured for SDT procedure by UE. (TSAI: See para[0099])
Claim 16. Thangarasa teaches the method according to claim 1, however, it does not explicitly disclose SRB or DRB may be configured for an SDT as understood by:
wherein a bearing identifier corresponding to the SDT service comprises at least one of: DRB-1; or SRB-1.
However, in a similar field, TSAI, in para[0099] teaches SRB1 and SRB2 and/or SRB3 are configured for SDT procedure by UE in addition to SDT DRBs that are configured for SDT. (TSAI: See para[0099])
Thangarasa teaches different techniques related to small data transmission wherein a UE receives CG-SDT configuration and paging configurations/message from base station. (Thangarasa: See para[0149])
TSAI teaches SRB1 and SRB2 and/or SRB3 are configured for SDT procedure by UE in addition to SDT DRBs that are configured for SDT. (TSAI: See para[0099])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to have included SRB1, SRB2 and/or SRB3 being configured for SDT procedure by UE, as taught by TSAI, with the teachings of Thangarasa, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a UE that is configured with SRB1, SRB2 and/or SRB3 for SDT procedure by UE, with the SDT teachings of Thangarasa, in order to benefit from enhancement of having both SRBs and DRBs as being configured for SDT procedure by UE. (TSAI: See para[0099])
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20250331050 A1 to Thangarasa et al., (hereinafter Thangarasa) in view of US 20240276498 A1 to Yue et al., (hereinafter Yue).
Claim 17. Thangarasa teaches the method according to claim 1, however, it does not explicitly disclose a subsequent data is transmitted after receiving a confirmation for an initial data transmission from the base station, as understood by:
wherein a performing phase corresponding to the SDT service comprises at least one of:
an initial data sending phase comprising starting from triggering the SDT service to initially send data to receiving confirmation information for initially sent data from the base station; or
a subsequent data sending phase comprising starting from receiving the confirmation information for initially sent data from the base station to receiving a connection release message sent by the base station.
However, in a similar field Yue teaches:
wherein a performing phase corresponding to the SDT service comprises at least one of:
an initial data sending phase comprising starting from triggering the SDT service to initially send data to receiving confirmation information for initially sent data from the base station; or
a subsequent data sending phase comprising starting from receiving the confirmation information for initially sent data from the base station to receiving a connection release message sent by the base station.
(Yue: See para[0075]-[0080] teaches UE initiates a first SDT data transmission, and receives a confirmation from the network device, after which UE performs a subsequent transmission (Yue: See para[0075]-[0080])
Thangarasa teaches different techniques related to small data transmission wherein a UE receives CG-SDT configuration and paging configurations/message from base station. (Thangarasa: See para[0149])
Yue teaches methods for handling small data transmission, wherein a UE initiates a first SDT data transmission, and receives a confirmation from the network device for the first data transmission, after which, UE performs a subsequent transmission (Yue: See para[0075]-[0080])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to have included, as taught by Yue, with the teachings of Thangarasa, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a UE that transmit a subsequent uplink data after receiving a confirmation of the initial SDT uplink transmission the network device. (Lohr: See para[0133])
Conclusion
/M. E./
Examiner, Art Unit 2477
/GREGORY B SEFCHECK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477