DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16, 21, 22, 24, 27, 28 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maba Fertigteilindustrie (EP 1 441 073).
As to claim 16, Maba Fertigteilindustrie discloses a vehicle restraint system comprising:
a concrete barrier wall 4 having at least one through hole 5, a blind hole associated with the at least one through hole being arranged in a supporting surface 8 beneath the at least one through hole; and
a pin 7 arranged both within the at least one through hole and within the blind hole associated with the at least one through hole;
wherein the pin has a specifiable amount of play relative to the blind hole; and
wherein the specifiable amount of play of the pin relative to the blind hole corresponds to at least 5% of the diameter of the pin (dimples 26,27 and notches 30 comprise a depth and corresponding play of at least 5% of the diameter of pin 7; Figures 1-9; paragraphs [0031,0036]).
As to claim 21, Maba Fertigteilindustrie discloses a vehicle restraint system wherein the pin 7 is headless (Figures 1-9; paragraphs [0031,0036]).
As to claim 22, Maba Fertigteilindustrie discloses a vehicle restraint system wherein the upper end of the pin 7 is arranged within the at least one through hole 5 (Figures 1-9; paragraphs [0031,0036]).
As to claim 24, Maba Fertigteilindustrie discloses a vehicle restraint system wherein the pin 7 has a fluting 26,27,30 (Figures 1-9; paragraphs [0031,0036]).
As to claim 27, Maba Fertigteilindustrie discloses a vehicle restraint system wherein the at least one through hole 5 and the blind hole that is associated with the at least one through hole are arranged on only a first side of the concrete barrier wall 4 (Figures 1-9; paragraphs [0031,0036]).
As to claim 28, Maba Fertigteilindustrie discloses a vehicle restraint system wherein the first side of the concrete barrier wall 4 is arranged so as to face away from a roadway when the concrete barrier wall is in an installed state (Figures 1-9; paragraphs [0031,0036]).
As to claim 31, Maba Fertigteilindustrie discloses a vehicle restraint system wherein, in response to an impact causing the concrete barrier wall 4 to tilt, a frictional force between the pin 7 and the at least one through hole 5 and the blind hole associated with the at least one through hole is increased (Figures 1-9; paragraphs [0031,0036]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20, 23 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maba Fertigteilindustrie.
As to claim 20, Maba Fertigteilindustrie fails to explicitly disclose a vehicle restraint system wherein the pin has a diameter of at least 1.5 cm. Maba Fertigteilindustrie does not disclose any structural or functional significance as to the specific diameter of the pin.
Applicant is reminded that a change in the size of a prior art device, wherein there is no structural or functional significance disclosed as to the specific size of an element, is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle restraint system disclosed by Maba Fertigteilindustrie wherein the pin has a diameter of at least 1.5 cm, as Maba Fertigteilindustrie does not disclose any structural or functional significance as to the specific diameter of the pin, and as such change in size is a design consideration within the skill of the art that would yield expected and predictable results; and as it would be expected that one of ordinary skill in the art would routinely experiment to arrive at the optimum or workable dimensions for a given application.
As to claim 23, Maba Fertigteilindustrie fails to explicitly discloses a vehicle restraint system wherein the pin has a depth in the supporting surface of no more than 60 cm. Maba Fertigteilindustrie does not disclose any structural or functional significance as to the specific length of the pin.
Applicant is reminded that a change in the size of a prior art device, wherein there is no structural or functional significance disclosed as to the specific size of an element, is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle restraint system disclosed by Maba Fertigteilindustrie wherein the pin has a depth in the supporting surface of no more than 60 cm, as Maba Fertigteilindustrie does not disclose any structural or functional significance as to the specific length of the pin, and as such change in size is a design consideration within the skill of the art that would yield expected and predictable results; and as it would be expected that one of ordinary skill in the art would routinely experiment to arrive at the optimum or workable dimensions for a given application.
As to claim 25, Maba Fertigteilindustrie fails to explicitly disclose a vehicle restraint system wherein the pin is made of a reinforcing steel. Maba Fertigteilindustrie does not disclose any structural or functional significance as to the specific material of the pin.
Applicant is reminded that the selection of a known material based upon its suitability for the intended use, wherein there is no structural or functional significance disclosed as to the specific material of an element, is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle restraint system disclosed by Maba Fertigteilindustrie wherein the pin is made of a reinforcing steel, as Maba Fertigteilindustrie does not disclose any structural or functional significance as to the specific material of the pin, and as such selection of material is a design consideration within the skill of the art which would yield expected and predictable results.
Claims 18, 26, 29, 30 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maba Fertigteilindustrie in view of Nihon Samicon (JP H07-8425).
As to claim 18, Maba Fertigteilindustrie fails to disclose a vehicle restraint system wherein the supporting surface has a bonded base layer beneath the at least one through hole.
Nihon Samicon teaches a vehicle restraint system wherein a supporting surface has a bonded base layer 3 beneath at least one through hole 5 in a concrete barrier wall 2; the bonded base layer providing for more secure seating and attachment of the barrier wall to the support surface (Figures 1,10; paragraph [0012]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Maha Fertigteilindustrie wherein the supporting surface comprises a bonded base layer, as taught by Nihon Samicon, in order to provide for more secure seating and attachment of the barrier wall to the support surface.
As to claim 19, Maba Fertigteilindustrie as modified by Nihon Samicon discloses a vehicle restraint system wherein the blind hole that is associated with at least one through hole (5 Maba Fertigteilindustrie Figure 2) penetrates the bonded base layer (3 Nihon Samicon Figure 10).
As to claim 26, Maba Fertigteilindustrie fails to disclose a vehicle restraint system wherein at least one of the at least one through hole and the blind hole has a seal.
Nihon Samicon teaches a vehicle restraint system wherein at least one of at least one through hole 6 in a concrete barrier wall 2 and a blind hole 3A in a support surface 3 has a seal 7,G; the sealing materials within the through hole and the blind hole providing for secure seating of pin 8 therein (Figures 1,10; paragraph [0012]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Maba Fertigteilindustrie to comprise sealing materials within the through hole and the blind hole, as taught by Nihon Samicon, in order to provide for secure seating of pin 8 therein
As to claim 29, Maba Fertigteilindustrie discloses a method for constructing a vehicle restraint system, comprising:
forming a blind hole in a supporting surface 8 beneath at least one through hole 5, the at least one through hole being in a concrete barrier wall 4 of the vehicle restraint system, the blind hole being associated with the at least one through hole;
arranging a pin 7 being both within the at least one through hole and within the blind hole associated with the at least one through hole; and
selecting a diameter of the blind hole so that the pin has a specifiable amount of play relative to the blind hole;
wherein the specifiable amount of play of the pin relative to the blind hole corresponds to at least 5% of the diameter of the pin (dimples 26,27 and notches 30 comprise a depth and corresponding play of at least 5% of the diameter of pin 7; Figures 1-9; paragraphs [0031,0036]).
Maba Fertigteilindustrie fails to disclose a method comprising drilling a blind hole in a supporting surface beneath at least one through hole.
Nihon Samicon teaches a vehicle restraint system wherein a supporting surface has a bonded base layer 3 beneath at least one through hole 5 in a concrete barrier wall 2; wherein a blind hole in the supporting surface beneath the at least one through hole is drilled; the bonded base layer providing for more secure seating and attachment of the barrier wall to the support surface (Figures 1,10; paragraph [0012]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Maha Fertigteilindustrie wherein the supporting surface comprises a bonded base layer, as taught by Nihon Samicon, such that the blind hole is drilled in the supporting surface, in order to provide for more secure seating and attachment of the barrier wall to the support surface.
As to claim 30, Maba Fertigteilindustrie as modified by Nihon Samicon discloses a method wherein the blind hole associated with at least one through hole (5 Maba Fertigteilindustrie Figure 2) is drilled through the at least one through hole into the supporting surface (3 Nihon Samicon Figure 10).
As to claim 32, Maba Fertigteilindustrie, discloses a method wherein, in response to an impact causing the concrete barrier wall 4 to tilt, a frictional force between the pin 7 and the at least one through hole 5 and the blind hole associated with the at least one through hole is increased (Figures 1-9; paragraphs [0031,0036]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 23, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to claims 16 and 29, Attorney argues that:
Maba Fertigteilindustrie fails to disclose a vehicle restraint system wherein the specifiable amount of play of the pin relative to the blind hole corresponds to at least 5% of the diameter of the pin, as profile rod 7 of the Maba Fertigteilindustrie reference is driven into the ground and thus dimples 26,27 and notches 30 do not provide play but actually secure the pin in a friction fit.
Examiner disagrees. As to claims 16 and 29, Maba Fertigteilindustrie discloses a vehicle restraint system wherein the specifiable amount of play of the pin 7 relative to the blind hole corresponds to at least 5% of the diameter of the pin (dimples 26,27 and notches 30 comprise a depth and corresponding play of at least 5% of the diameter of pin 7; Figures 1-9; paragraphs [0031,0036]).
Examiner notes that while indeed pin 7 is driven into the ground, dimples 26,27 and notches 30 nonetheless comprise a depth and corresponding “play” of at least 5% of the diameter of the pin; such depth and corresponding “play” existing between the dimples and notches and the outer diameter of the pin which is driven into and initially frictionally engages the compacted ground.
As to claims 31 and 32, Attorney argues that:
Maba Fertigteilindustrie fails to disclose a vehicle restraint system wherein, in response to an impact causing the concrete barrier wall to tilt, a frictional force between the pin and the at least one through hole and the blind hole associated with the at least one through hole is increased.
Examiner disagrees. As to claims 31 and 32, Maba Fertigteilindustrie discloses a vehicle restraint system wherein, in response to an impact causing the concrete barrier wall 4 to tilt, a frictional force between the pin 7 and the at least one through hole 5 and the blind hole associated with the at least one through hole is increased (Figures 1-9; paragraphs [0031,0036]).
Examiner notes that clearly as concrete barrier wall 4 tilts, pin 7 likewise tilts; applying torsion pressure the pin and the through and blind holes, thus increasing a frictional force therebetween.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
05/04/26
/MICHAEL P FERGUSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619