BATTERY MODULE
DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 8/7/2025, 8/12/2025, 3/13/2025, and 1/22/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 discloses a “left-right” direction. However, there is no explanation for how this “left-right” direction is oriented with respect to the frame and the entirety of the cell.
Claim 1 further discloses the “front edge” of the barrier but this is not sufficiently defined. In particular, it is unclear how the “front edge” is oriented with respect to the structure features “frame” and the “bus bar”.
Claims 2-14 are also rejected under 35 USC 112(b) due to their dependence on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2022/0037715 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim et al. teach a battery module (Fig. 3, element 10) comprising:
a frame providing an interior space (Fig. 3 discloses a housing, element 20 wherein the sidewall members, element 22, provide an interior space.);
a plurality of battery cells accommodated inside the frame and disposed in the left-right direction (Fig. 3 shows a plurality of battery cells, element 10, disposed in a left-right direction with respect to the sidewall members, element 22.);
a bus bar flame assembly located in front of the plurality of battery cells and electrically connected to the plurality of battery cells (Fig. 3, element 25 shows bus bar members electrically connected to the cells, element 10.); and
a barrier disposed between the plurality of battery cells (Figs. 4, 8; paragraph 0076 discloses a heat absorption layer, element 32.); a front edge of the barrier being covered by a fire-resistant coating (Figs. 4, 8; paragraph 0076 discloses a fireproof layer, element 31, covering the heat adsorption layer.).
Regarding claim 11, Kim et al. teach a battery pack comprising a battery module according to claim 1 (Paragraph 0002).
Regarding claim 12, Kim et al. teach a vehicle comprising a battery module according to claim 1 (Paragraph 0003).
Claims 1 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi et al. (US 2017/0294634 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Choi et al. teach a battery module (Abstract; Fig. 5, element 100) comprising:
a frame providing an interior space (Fig.2a; paragraph 0037 discloses a frame, element 10, surrounding a cell receiving part, element 20.);
a plurality of battery cells accommodated inside the frame and disposed in the left-right direction (Fig. 5 shows a plurality of battery cells, element 10, disposed in a left-right direction with respect to the upper and lower covers, elements 16 and 17.);
a bus bar flame assembly located in front of the plurality of battery cells and electrically connected to the plurality of battery cells (Fig. 2a discloses a terminal connection part, element 15.) and
a barrier disposed between the plurality of battery cells (Fig. 2b discloses an inter-cell separation plate, element 11.) a front edge of the barrier being covered by a fire-resistant coating (Fig. 2b; paragraphs 0039-0040 disclose an inner sidewall, element 12a, which covers a front edge of the inter-cell separator, element 11, and is made of a metal having a high thermal conductivity which absorbs heat or blocks flames and radiates the heat.).
Regarding claim 12, Choi et al. teach a vehicle comprising a battery module according to claim 1 (Paragraph 0006).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2022/0037715 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Kim et al. teach the battery module according to claim 1. However, they do not teach wherein the fire-resistant coating has a U-shaped cross section.
However, this is merely an example of changes in shape. MPEP 2144.04 IV B: Changes in Shape In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 2017/0294634 A1)
Regarding claim 13, Choi et al. teach the battery module according to claim 1. However, they do not teach wherein the fire-resistant coating has a U-shaped cross section.
However, this is merely an example of changes in shape. MPEP 2144.04 IV B: Changes in Shape In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 2017/0294634 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2022/0037715 A1).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Choi et al. teach the battery module according to claim 1. However, they do not teach wherein the barrier comprises: a pad; and a fire-resistant sheet covering each of a left surface and a right surface of the pad, and wherein the coating covers a front edge of the fire-resistant sheet and a front edge of the pad.
Kim et al. teach a barrier disposed between the plurality of battery cells (Figs. 4, 8; paragraph 0075 discloses a multilayered firewall, element 30.); wherein the barrier comprises: a pad (Figs. 4, 8; paragraph 0076 discloses a heat absorption layer, element 32.); and a fire-resistant sheet covering each of a left surface and a right surface of the pad (Figs. 4, 8; paragraph 0076 discloses a fireproof layer, element 31, covering the heat adsorption layer.).
Choi et al., in combination of Kim, teaches wherein the coating covers a front edge and extends to cover an outer surface of the fire-resistant sheet and a front edge of the pad (Fig. 2b; paragraphs 0039-0040 disclose an inner sidewall, element 12a, which covers a front edge of the inter-cell separator, element 11, and is made of a metal having a high thermal conductivity which absorbs heat or blocks flames and radiates the heat.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the inter-cell separator of Choi with the fire-resistant sheet and pad of Kim in order to prevent or delay the occurrence of heat transfer to the adjacent battery cell.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Choi and Kim teach the battery module according to claim 2. Further, Choi et al. teach wherein the coating extends along a perimeter of the pad (Fig. 2a shows the sidewall part, element 12, which contains element 12a, extends along a perimeter of the inter-cell separator, element 11.).
Claims 5-7, 9, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2022/0037715 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jang et al. (WO 2022/244985 A1 using US 2024/0106068 A1 as an English language translation.).
Regarding claims 5-7 and 9, Kim et al. teach the battery module according to claim 1. However, they do not teach wherein the barrier is in close contact with the bus bar frame assembly; wherein a rear surface of the bus bar frame assembly comprises a groove, and wherein the barrier is inserted into the groove; wherein the bus bar frame assembly comprises a slot protruding from a rear surface of the bus bar frame assembly, and wherein the barrier is inserted into the slot; wherein the bus bar frame assembly has a hole formed in the vertical direction, and wherein the barrier penetrates the hole.
Jang et al. teach a barrier member (Paragraph 0076; Fig. 6, element 300) is configured to have at least one end inserted into the inner surface of a bus bar assembly (Paragraph 0076; Fig. 6, element 400 discloses the bus bar assembly and the insertion is labeled with an A4.). In this case, the bus bar assembly (Fig. 6, element 400), particularly the bus bar housing (Fig. 6, element 420), may have a groove formed concavely in the outer direction so that one end of the barrier member (Fig. 6, element 300) may be inserted therein. For example, as shown in FIG. 6, the bus bar housing (Fig. 6, element 420) located at the front side of the battery cell (Fig. 6, element 100) may have an insert groove (Fig. 6, element G1) concavely formed in the outer direction (−Y-axis direction) at the inner surface (Paragraph 0076).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim with Jang in order to improve fixing force of the barrier member by suppressing movement and yielding a more stable configuration.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Kim and Jang et al. teach the battery module according to claim 7. However, they do not teach wherein the slot has a pair of convex inner surfaces.
However, this is merely an example of changes in shape. MPEP 2144.04 IV B: Changes in Shape In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)
Claims 5-7, 9, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 2017/0294634 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jang et al. (WO 2022/244985 A1 using US 2024/0106068 A1 as an English language translation.).
Regarding claims 5-7 and 9, Choi et al. teach the battery module according to claim 1. However, they do not teach wherein the barrier is in close contact with the bus bar frame assembly; wherein a rear surface of the bus bar frame assembly comprises a groove, and wherein the barrier is inserted into the groove; wherein the bus bar frame assembly comprises a slot protruding from a rear surface of the bus bar frame assembly, and wherein the barrier is inserted into the slot; wherein the bus bar frame assembly has a hole formed in the vertical direction, and wherein the barrier penetrates the hole.
Jang et al. teach a barrier member (Paragraph 0076; Fig. 6, element 300) is configured to have at least one end inserted into the inner surface of a bus bar assembly (Paragraph 0076; Fig. 6, element 400 discloses the bus bar assembly and the insertion is labeled with an A4.). In this case, the bus bar assembly (Fig. 6, element 400), particularly the bus bar housing (Fig. 6, element 420), may have a groove formed concavely in the outer direction so that one end of the barrier member (Fig. 6, element 300) may be inserted therein. For example, as shown in FIG. 6, the bus bar housing (Fig. 6, element 420) located at the front side of the battery cell (Fig. 6, element 100) may have an insert groove (Fig. 6, element G1) concavely formed in the outer direction (−Y-axis direction) at the inner surface (Paragraph 0076).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Choi with Jang in order to improve fixing force of the barrier member by suppressing movement and yielding a more stable configuration.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Choi and Jang et al. teach the battery module according to claim 7. However, they do not teach wherein the slot has a pair of convex inner surfaces.
However, this is merely an example of changes in shape. MPEP 2144.04 IV B: Changes in Shape In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2022/0037715 A1) and Jang et al. (WO 2022/244985 A1 using US 2024/0106068 A1 as an English language translation.) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Huang et al. (CN 216563355 U).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Kim and Jang et al. teach the battery module according to claim 7. However, they do not teach wherein a second coating covers a gap between the slot and the barrier.
Huang et al. disclose a battery cell is provided with a tab, the tab is provided with a first coating, and the first coating is a fire-resistant insulating coating. Further, a grid (Fig. 3, element 152) of a bus bar assembly (Figs. 2 and 3, element 15) is larger than the size of a tab (Fig. 2, element 112) so that the tab easily passes through the grid and thus a gap is formed and a fireproof insulating filler is disposed in the gap (Paragraph 0040).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination of Kim and Jang with that of Huang in order to improve safety.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 2017/0294634 A1) and Jang et al. (WO 2022/244985 A1 using US 2024/0106068 A1 as an English language translation.) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Huang et al. (CN 216563355 U).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Choi and Jang et al. teach the battery module according to claim 7. However, they do not teach wherein a second coating covers a gap between the slot and the barrier.
Huang et al. disclose a battery cell is provided with a tab, the tab is provided with a first coating, and the first coating is a fire-resistant insulating coating. Further, a grid (Fig. 3, element 152) of a bus bar assembly (Figs. 2 and 3, element 15) is larger than the size of a tab (Fig. 2, element 112) so that the tab easily passes through the grid and thus a gap is formed and a fireproof insulating filler is disposed in the gap (Paragraph 0040).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination of Choi and Jang with that of Huang in order to improve safety.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2022/0037715 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yoon et al. (US 2022/0037710 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Kim et al. teach the battery module according to claim 1. However, they do not teach a thermal resin disposed on an inner surface of the frame, wherein at least a portion of an upper edge or a lower edge of the barrier is adhered to the thermal resin.
Yoon et al. teach a battery module (Figs. 4-6, element 120) comprising a plurality of cells (Figs. 4-6, element 110) including a frame member (Figs. 4 and 5, element 100). Further, a thermally conductive resin layer (Fig. 6, element 400) is positioned between the lower surface (Fig. 6, element 101) of the frame member (Figs. 4-5, element 100).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim with Yoon in order to discharge heat from the cells.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 2017/0294634 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yoon et al. (US 2022/0037710 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Choi et al. teach the battery module according to claim 1. However, they do not teach a thermal resin disposed on an inner surface of the frame, wherein at least a portion of an upper edge or a lower edge of the barrier is adhered to the thermal resin.
Yoon et al. teach a battery module (Figs. 4-6, element 120) comprising a plurality of cells (Figs. 4-6, element 110) including a frame member (Figs. 4 and 5, element 100). Further, a thermally conductive resin layer (Fig. 6, element 400) is positioned between the lower surface (Fig. 6, element 101) of the frame member (Figs. 4-5, element 100).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Choi with Yoon in order to discharge heat from the cells.
Conclusion
Daniel S. Gatewood, Ph.D.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1729
/DANIEL S GATEWOOD, Ph. D/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729 June 2nd, 2026