DETAILED ACTION
This is responsive to Application 18/291,107 filed 1/22/24 in which claims 35-54 are presented for examination.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 44 and 45 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 35-43 and 46-54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al (US 2025/0023669 A1).
Regarding claim 35, Lee teaches an apparatus (Lee: Fig. 9; UE1), comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code; the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to:
upon receipt of data of at least one of a group of services from a second device, generate a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) codebook comprising HARQ feedback and identification information for the at least one service, the group of services comprising at least one of multicast and broadcast services (MBSs) and unicast services (Lee: [0396], [0475], UE1 generates HARQ-ACK codebook for unicast and multicast services PDSCH; the unicast PDSCH HARQ-ACK is first followed by the multicast HARQ-ACK; the order (unicast first, multicast next) that is based on settings in the base station represent the identification information); and
transmit the HARQ-ACK codebook to the second device (Lee: Fig. 9; [0475], the HARQ-ACK codebook is transmitted to the gNB/second device).
Regarding claim 48, Lee teaches an apparatus (Lee: Fig. 9; gNB), comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code; the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to:
transmit, to a first device, data of a group of services comprising at least one of multicast and broadcast services (MBSs) and unicast services (Lee: Fig. 9; [0396], [0475], gNB transmits unicast and multicast PDSCH to UE1); and
receive, from the first device, a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) codebook comprising HARQ feedback and identification information for at least one of the group of services (Lee: [0396], [0475], UE1 generates HARQ-ACK codebook for unicast and multicast services PDSCH; the unicast PDSCH HARQ-ACK is first followed by the multicast HARQ-ACK; the order (unicast first, multicast next) that is based on settings in the base station represent the identification information).
Regarding claim 54, Lee teaches a method, comprising:
upon receipt of data of at least one of a group of services from a second device, generating, at a first device, a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) codebook comprising HARQ feedback and identification information for the at least one service, the group of services comprising at least one of multicast and broadcast services (MBSs) and unicast services (Lee: [0396], [0475], UE1 generates HARQ-ACK codebook for unicast and multicast services PDSCH; the unicast PDSCH HARQ-ACK is first followed by the multicast HARQ-ACK; the order (unicast first, multicast next) that is based on settings in the base station represent the identification information); and
transmitting the HARQ-ACK codebook to the second device (Lee: Fig. 9; [0475], the HARQ-ACK codebook is transmitted to the gNB/second device).
Regarding claims 36 and 49, Lee teaches wherein the apparatus is further caused to: receive, from the second device, a first message indicative of identification information for the group of services (Lee: [0382], [0475], based on settings and also gNB indicates the priority order to the UE).
Regarding claim 37, Lee teaches wherein identification information for the group of services is preconfigured at the apparatus and the second device (Lee: [0382], [0475], based on settings and also gNB indicates the priority order to the UE).
Regarding claims 38 and 51, Lee teaches wherein the identification information comprises at least one of the following: a preconfigured identifier for the unicast services, partial or complete cell radio network temporary identities (C-RNTIs) associated with the unicast services, or partial or complete group RNTIs (G-RNTIs) associated with the MBS services (Lee: [0381], [0475]).
Regarding claim 39, Lee teaches wherein the identification information comprises indexes of the group of services (Lee: [0382], [0475], based on settings and also gNB indicates the priority order/index to the UE).
Regarding claims 40 and 52, Lee teaches wherein the identification information comprises a mapping relation of combinations of the group of services that the apparatus is interested in and indexes associated with the combinations (Lee: [0179]).
Regarding claim 41, Lee teaches wherein the apparatus is further caused to: receive, from the second device, a first message comprising the mapping relation (Lee: [0267]-[0268]).
Regarding claim 42, Lee teaches wherein the at least one service comprises a first service of the group services, and the HARQ-ACK codebook comprises a HARQ feedback and identification information for the apparatus (Lee: Fig. 9; [0396], [0475]).
Regarding claim 43, Lee teaches wherein the at least one service comprises a plurality of the services in the group, and the HARQ-ACK codebook comprises a plurality of sub-codebooks each comprising HARQ feedback and identification information for one of the plurality of the services (Lee: Fig. 9; [0396], [0475]).
Regarding claim 46, Lee teaches wherein the apparatus is further caused to: receive, from the second device, retransmission of the previously unsuccessfully received data of at least one of the group of services (Lee: [0303]-[0308]).
Regarding claim 47, Lee teaches wherein the apparatus comprises a terminal device, and the second device comprises a network device (Lee: Fig. 9; [0396], [0475]).
Regarding claim 50, Lee teaches wherein the apparatus is further caused to: determine, based on the identification information, that data of at least one of the group of services is unsuccessfully received at the first device; and transmit, to the first device, retransmission of the previously unsuccessfully received data of the at least one of the group of services (Lee: Fig. 9; [0300]; [0303]-[0308]).
Regarding claim 53, Lee teaches wherein the at least one service comprises a plurality of the services in the group, and the HARQ-ACK codebook comprises a plurality of sub-codebooks each comprising HARQ feedback and identification information about one of the plurality of the services (Lee: Fig. 9; [0396], [0475]).
Conclusion
/KODZOVI ACOLATSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478