DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description:
Fig. 1A does not show series connection 110 as disclosed in paragraph 0061 of the specification.
Fig. 1A does not show main positive terminal 112 and main negative terminal 114 as disclosed in paragraph 0063 of the specification.
Fig. 3A does not show series connection 310 as disclosed in paragraph 0069 of the specification.
Fig. 4A does not show series connection 310 as disclosed in paragraph 0070 of the specification.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph 0021, line 13, “two sets, , of parallelly” should read “two sets of parallelly”.
In paragraph 0057, line 1, “FIGs. 1 to1C” should read “FIGs. 1A to 1C”.
In paragraph 0058, line 3, “1-2-3” should read “102-3”.
In paragraph 0058, line 6, “103-6of” should read “103-6 of”.
In paragraph 0060, line 4, “columnsincludes” should read “columns includes”.
In paragraph 0060, line 6, “columnshaving” should read “columns having”.
In paragraph 0069, line 1, “wherein.12” should read “wherein 12”.
Appropriate correction is required. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any additional errors of which Applicant may become aware of in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 objected to because of the following informalities: in line 1, “wherein of the positive terminals” should read “wherein the positive terminals”; and in line 6, “as well as series connection” should read “as well as a series connection”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "two or more columns" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 2, which claim 3 depends upon, recites “a plurality of parallelly arranged rows and columns,” but it is unclear if the limitation of claim 3 refers to the columns of “a plurality of parallelly arranged rows and columns” of claim 2. For examination purposes, the examiner has interpreted the limitation of claim 3 to refer to the limitation of claim 2. Claims 4-11 are similarly rejected because they depend upon claim 3.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “each group of adjacently located columns” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Lines 2-3 of claim 3 recite “a group of adjacently located columns”, which does not provide antecedent basis for a plurality of groups. For examination purposes, the examiner has interpreted the limitation “a group of adjacently located columns” as “groups of adjacently located columns”. Claims 4-11 are similarly rejected because they depend upon claim 3, and because they each recite the limitation “groups of adjacently located columns”.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the remaining mutually connected positive terminals and the mutually connected negative terminals" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the examiner has interpreted the limitation of claim 5 as excluding “the mutually connected positive terminals” and “the mutually connected negative terminals” that are connected to “a main positive terminal” and “a main negative terminal”, respectively, of claim 4, which claim 5 depends upon. Claims 6-11 are similarly rejected because they depend upon claim 5.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “the connection between the criss-cross connections” in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 5, which claim 7 depends upon, recites “a series connection of the sets of parallelly connected cells” in lines 5-6, but it is unclear if the limitation of claim 7 refers to the “a series connection” of claim 5. For examination purposes, the examiner has interpreted the limitation of claim 7 to refer to the limitation of claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zemany et al. (US 2019/0148781 A1, cited by Applicant in IDS filed on January 22, 2024, and hereinafter “Zemany”) in view of Seman Jr. et al. (US 2005/0110458 A1, hereinafter “Seman”).
Regarding claim 1, Zemany discloses a battery pack ([0043]-[0044] and Fig. 6, battery pack 314) comprising a plurality of cells ([0043]-[0044] and Fig. 6, battery cells 316, 318, 320, 322, 324, 326, 328, and 330), wherein the cells are arranged in parallel disposition such that positive and negative terminals of any of the cells and the closest surrounding cells are oppositely placed which results in magnetic field generated due to internal current of the cells to be minimized by opposite magnetic field generated due to internal current of the oppositely placed surrounding cells ([0043]-[0044] and Fig. 6, battery pack magnetic dipole moment is significantly reduced due to alternating positive and negative terminals).
Zemany does not disclose wherein the cells are cylindrical cells.
Seman discloses a battery pack with cylindrical cells ([0051] and Fig. 2, battery cells 9 that are lithium ion battery cells).
Zemany and Seman are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of battery cells. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery pack of Zemany with the teachings of Seman according to known methods to yield the predictable result of a battery pack with cylindrical batteries, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. See MPEP § 2143(I)(A).
Regarding claim 2, modified Zemany discloses the limitations of claim 1. Zemany further discloses wherein the plurality of cells are arranged in a plurality of parallelly arranged rows and columns ([0043]-[0044] and Fig. 6, eight battery cells stacked in two rows of four cells), and wherein adjacent cells in each of the rows and the columns are having respective positive and negative terminals in opposite directions, and wherein the plurality of rows and columns are arranged such that the closest surrounding cells of any of the cells are oppositely placed cells ([0043]-[0044] and Fig. 6, alternating positive and negative terminals).
Regarding claim 12, modified Zemany discloses the limitations of claim 1. Modified Zemany further discloses wherein the cells are li-ion cells (Seman [0051] and Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 13, modified Zemany discloses the limitations of claim 1. Zemany further discloses wherein the battery pack is used for an un-manned Aerial Vehicle ([0012] and Fig. 8).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zemany (US 2019/0148781 A1) in view of Seman (US 2005/0110458 A1) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Delans (US 4983475 A).
Regarding claim 3, modified Zemany discloses the limitations of claim 2. Zemany discloses groups of adjacently located columns that each comprise two columns ([0043]-[0044] and Fig. 6, four columns that can be organized into two groups of two columns each).
Modified Zemany does not disclose wherein each of the positive terminals and the negative terminals at any of or both of upper ends and lower ends of the cells in a group of adjacently located columns, each group of adjacently located columns comprising two or more columns, are connected in a criss-cross manner by one or more conductors, wherein the mutually connected positive terminals and the negative terminals at any or both ends of the cells in the group of adjacently located columns provide a parallel electric connection of the cells thereby providing two sets of parallelly connected cells in the group of adjacently located columns.
Delans discloses diagonal bars that connect identically charged terminals on the upper ends of batteries (pages 7-8, col. 6, line 32 to col. 7, line 22 and Fig. 11, positive diagonal bar 68 connecting positive terminal posts 37A and 37B, and negative diagonal bar 64 connecting negative terminal posts 33A and 33B).
Delans is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of battery packs. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery pack of modified Zemany with the teachings of Delans according to known methods to yield the predictable result of connecting identically charged terminals in parallel, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. See MPEP § 2143(I)(A).
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zemany (US 2019/0148781 A1) in view of Seman (US 2005/0110458 A1) and Delans (US 4983475 A) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Viele et al. (US 2019/0051881 A1, hereinafter “Viele”).
Regarding claim 4, modified Zemany discloses the limitations of claim 3. Modified Zemany does not disclose wherein the mutually connected positive terminals at the upper end of the cells of one of the groups of adjacently located columns are connected to a main positive terminal of the battery pack, and the mutually connected negative terminals at the upper end of the cells of one of the groups of adjacently located columns are connected to a main negative terminal of the battery pack.
Viele discloses a series battery 400 with a positive output terminal 402 and a negative output terminal 404, which are connected to a positive end of a rightmost charge storage device and a negative end of a leftmost charge storage device, respectively ([0024], [0042]-[0043], and Fig. 4).
Viele is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of battery packs. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery pack of modified Zemany with the teachings of Viele according to known methods to yield the predictable result of connecting the battery pack to power an external load, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. See MPEP § 2143(I)(A).
Regarding claim 5, modified Zemany discloses the limitations of claim 4. Zemany does not disclose wherein the remaining mutually connected positive terminals and the mutually connected negative terminals at any or both of the upper ends and the lower ends of the cells of the groups of adjacently located columns are connected to the mutually connected terminals of opposite polarity at the respective ends of the cells of the adjacent group of adjacently located columns to provide a series connection of the sets of parallelly connected cells of the different groups of adjacently located columns.
Delans discloses a connection between oppositely charged diagonal bars on the upper ends of adjacent batteries (pages 7-8, col. 6, line 32 to col. 7, line 22 and Fig. 11, short bus bar 62L connecting second diagonal bar 68 and first diagonal bar 64).
Delans is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of battery packs. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery pack of modified Zemany with the teachings of Delans according to known methods to yield the predictable result of connecting oppositely charged terminals in series, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. See MPEP § 2143(I)(A).
Regarding claim 6, modified Zemany discloses the limitations of claim 5. Modified Zemany further discloses wherein of the positive terminals and the negative terminals only at the upper end of the cells in a group of adjacently located columns are connected in a criss-cross manner by one or more conductors (Delans pages 7-8, col. 6, line 32 to col. 7, line 22 and Fig. 11, positive diagonal bar 68 and negative diagonal bar 64 on upper end of batteries 30).
Modified Zemany does not disclose wherein the positive terminals and the negative terminals at the lower ends of all the cells are connected to each other by shorting to provide a parallel connection of the cells in the sets of cells of the different groups of adjacently located columns, as well as series connection of the sets of parallelly connected cells.
Seman discloses conductive elements 210 that connect terminals 222 of two or more adjacent battery cells 9 to connect the battery cells in series or in parallel to provide desired interconnections between the battery cells ([0036] and Figs. 2 and 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery pack of modified Zemany with the teachings of Zemany according to known methods to yield the predictable result of providing desired series and parallel interconnections between the cells of modified Zemany, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so.
Regarding claim 7, modified Zemany discloses the limitations of claim 5. Zemany further discloses wherein the connection between the criss-cross connections of the different groups of adjacently located columns are configured to cause flow of current through the criss-cross connections such that magnetic effect of the current through all the criss-cross connections is minimized ([0038], [0043], and [0055], wiring interconnecting battery cells are twisted pairs with equal and opposite currents, which reduces the B field of the battery pack).
Claims 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zemany (US 2019/0148781 A1) in view of Seman (US 2005/0110458 A1), Delans (US 4983475 A), and Viele (US 2019/0051881 A1) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Giessel et al. (US 2018/0212217 A1, cited by Applicant in IDS filed on January 22, 2024, and hereinafter “Giessel”).
Regarding claims 8-11, modified Zemany discloses the limitations of claim 6. Zemany further discloses wherein the battery pack comprises eight cells arranged in two rows and four columns ([0043]-[0044] and Fig. 6). Zemany does not disclose the limitations of claims 8-11.
Giessel discloses a battery pack that may comprise more than six cylindrical-steel electrochemical cells, which may be conductively connected to form any series and/or parallel arrangement suitable to the number of electrochemical cells being used as part of the battery pack and/or the needs of the device being powered thereby ([0030]-[0031]).
Giessel is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of battery packs. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery pack of modified Zemany with the teachings of Giessel according to known methods to yield the predictable result of a battery pack with at least six cells arranged in rows and columns with varying sizes of groups of adjacently located columns, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. See MPEP § 2143(I)(A). Mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. See In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(B)).
Conclusion
/J.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1726
/JEFFREY T BARTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1726 5 August 2026