DETAILED ACTION
This is the first office action on the merits for 18/291,145, filed 1/22/2024, which is a national stage entry of PCT/KR2022/020260, filed 12/13/2022, which claims priority to Korean application KR10-2021-0177354, filed 12/13/2021.
Claims 1-13 are pending; Claims 1-6 are considered herein.
Additional Prior Art
The Examiner wishes to apprise the Applicant of the following reference, which is not currently applied in a rejection.
U.S. Patent Application Publication 2006/0204842 A1: This reference teaches a battery cap comprising an insulating gasket 120 (Fig. 2) that comprises PFA or PET (Claim 6).
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of the invention of Group I, claims 1-6 in the reply filed on 8/25/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no undue burden in examination of all groups. This is not found persuasive because examination of all groups would require different fields of search than are required for the examination of Group I (e.g. searching for preparation methods (Group III) and battery details (Group II).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of U.S. Patent No. 10,818,959. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-2 of U.S. Patent No. 10,818,959 teach all of the limitations of instant Claims 1-2.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 4 of copending Application No. 18/840,254 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1 and 4 of copending Application No. 18/840,254 teach all of the limitations of instant Claim 1.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hyung, et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2009/0117459 A1).
In reference to Claim 1, Hyung teaches a cap assembly 130 couplable to an upper side of a battery can configured to accommodate an electrode assembly and an electrolyte therein (Fig. 1C, paragraphs [0051]-[0058]).
The cap assembly comprises a polymer gasket 134 locatable between a portion of the cap assembly and the electrode assembly and corresponding to a region in which the cap assembly and the battery can are coupled (Fig. 1F, paragraph [0056]).
Hyung teaches that the polymer gasket 134 is PET (paragraph [0056]).
The instant specification recognizes PET as a material with a melting point of 250 °C or more (see Claim 2).
Therefore, Hyung teaches that the polymer gasket includes a polymer material having a melting point of 250 °C or more.
This disclosure teaches the limitations of Claim 2, wherein the polymer material includes polyethylene terephthalate (PET).
In reference to Claim 3, Hyung teaches that the region in which the cap assembly and the battery can are coupled is at an outer periphery of the upper side of the cylindrical battery can.
In reference to Claim 4, Hyung teaches that the cap assembly further comprises: a top cap 131b (Fig. 1A, paragraph [0051]); a safety vent 133 contacting the top cap 131b while surrounding an outer periphery of the top cap 131b (Fig. 1A, paragraph [0051]); and a crimping gasket 135 configured to couple the cap assembly 130 to the battery can (Fig. 1E).
In reference to Claim 5, Hyung teaches that the polymer gasket 134 is located at a lower end of the crimping gasket 135 (Fig. 1E).
In reference to Claim 6, Hyung teaches that the polymer gasket 134 includes a groove portion (i.e. the groove portion holding items 131-132-133, Fig. 1E).
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kozuki, et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2006/0275657 A1).
In reference to Claim 1, Kozuki teaches a cap assembly couplable to an upper side of a battery can configured to accommodate an electrode assembly and an electrolyte therein (Fig. 2, paragraphs [0034]-[0035], with the battery can shown in Fig. 1).
The cap assembly comprises a polymer gasket 11 locatable between a portion of the cap assembly (e.g. item 13) and the electrode assembly and corresponding to (i.e. near) a region in which the cap assembly and the battery can are coupled (Figs. 1-2, paragraph [0034]).
Kozuki teaches that the polymer gasket 11 is PFA or PTFE (paragraph [0034]).
The instant specification recognizes PFE and PTFE as materials with a melting point of 250 °C or more (see Claim 2).
Therefore, Kozuki teaches that the polymer gasket includes a polymer material having a melting point of 250 °C or more.
This disclosure teaches the limitations of Claim 2, wherein the polymer material includes perfluoroalkoxy alkane (PFA) or polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE).
In reference to Claim 3, Kozuki teaches that the region in which the cap assembly and the battery can are coupled is at an outer periphery of the upper side of the cylindrical battery can (Fig. 1).
In reference to Claim 4, Kozuki teaches that the cap assembly further comprises: a top cap 13 (Fig. 2, paragraph [0034]); a safety vent 12 contacting the top cap 13 while surrounding an outer periphery of the top cap 13 (Fig. 2, paragraph [0034]); and a crimping gasket 15 configured to couple the cap assembly 8 to the battery can (Fig. 1, paragraph [0027]).
In reference to Claim 5, Kozuki teaches that the polymer gasket 11 is located at (i.e. near) a lower end of the crimping gasket 15 (Fig. 2).
In reference to Claim 6, Kozuki teaches that the polymer gasket 11 includes a groove portion (i.e. the groove portion holding items 12-13, Fig. 2).
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park, et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2018/0123163 A1).
In reference to Claim 1, Park teaches a cap assembly couplable to an upper side of a battery can configured to accommodate an electrode assembly and an electrolyte therein (Fig. 3A-B, paragraphs [0066]-[0094], with the battery can shown in Fig. 1).
The cap assembly comprises a polymer gasket 137 locatable between a portion of the cap assembly (e.g. item 131) and the electrode assembly and corresponding to (i.e. near) a region in which the cap assembly and the battery can are coupled (Figs. 1 and 3, paragraphs [0076] and [0082]).
Park teaches that the polymer gasket 137 includes a polymer material having a melting point of 250 °C or more (paragraph [0082]).
In reference to Claim 2, Park teaches that the polymer material includes PFA or polytetrafluoroethylene (paragraphs [0083]-[0084]).
In reference to Claim 3, Park teaches that the region in which the cap assembly and the battery can are coupled is at an outer periphery of the upper side of the cylindrical battery can (Fig. 1).
In reference to Claim 4, Park teaches that the cap assembly further comprises: a top cap 131 (Fig. 3, paragraph [0069]); a safety vent 133 contacting the top cap 131 while surrounding an outer periphery of the top cap 131 (Fig. 3, paragraph [0070]); and a crimping gasket 139 configured to couple the cap assembly to the battery can (Figs. 1 and 3, paragraph [0094]).
In reference to Claim 5, Park teaches that the polymer gasket 137 is located at (i.e. near) a lower end of the crimping gasket 139 (Fig. 3).
In reference to Claim 6, Park teaches that the polymer gasket 137 includes a groove portion (i.e. the groove portion holding item 135, Fig. 3B).
Conclusion
/SADIE WHITE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721