DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 7/8/26 are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-8 & 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, this claim recites “a plurality of support frames”, but also recites “a pair of support frames”. It is therefore unclear whether the components to which “a pair of support frames” refers are a subset of, or entirely distinct from, the components to which “a plurality of support frames” refers. Clarification is required. For examination purposes, the examiner is considering the components to which “a pair of support frames” refers to be a subset of the components to which “a plurality of support frames” refers.
Claims 3-8 & 11 indefinite due to dependence upon an indefinite base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, & 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR870001552) in view of Arizpe-Gilmore (5688024) & An (KR20180080841).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches the structure substantially as claimed, including a foldable table, comprising: a plurality of connection members (1) disposed to define vertices of a polygonal plane (Fig. 2); a plurality of support frames (8) each having two opposite ends respectively coupled to lateral surfaces of the connection members to constitute a polygonal framework (Fig. 2); an upper board (9) coupled to upper surfaces of the connection members and supported by the plurality of support frames (Fig. 2); and a plurality of leg frames (10) each having one end detachably coupled to a lower surface of the connection member (Fig. 2), and the other end configured to come into contact with a ground surface (Fig. 2). Kim fail(s) to teach storage members having coupling blades. However, Arizpe-Gilmore teaches a pair of storage members (70) respectively attached to a pair of support frames (i.e., edge portions of 22), and configured such that a plurality of leg frames (40) separated from the lower surfaces of a plurality of connection members (30) are detachably fitted with the pair of storage members (Figs. 1-4 & 6). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add storage members, as taught by Arizpe-Gilmore, to the support frames of Kim, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to allow the leg frames to be attached to, and stored with, the support frames when not in use (as suggested by Figs. 4 & 6 of Arizpe-Gilmore). Hence, Kim as modified would teach storage members (70 of Arizpe-Gilmore) connected to support frames (8 of Kim) by unspecified fastening means. Additionally, An teaches fastening means (155, 220) comprising a pair of coupling blades (220) included in a member (210) and disposed at two opposite ends of a support frame (150). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute fastening means, as taught by An, for the unspecified fastening means of Kim as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to firmly & reliably fix the storage members to the support frames (as suggested by par. 49 of An). Hence, Kim as modified would teach a pair of storage members (70 of Arizpe-Gilmore and 220 of An) each comprising a pair of coupling blades (220 of An) disposed at two opposite ends (as in Fig. 5 of An) of a corresponding one of the pair of support frames (8 of Kim), and a plurality of holding blocks (H of Arizpe-Gilmore in Fig. 2 Annotated) disposed on lower portions of the pair of coupling blades and spaced apart from one another so that the leg frames (10 of Kim) separated from the plurality of connection members (1 of Kim) can be fitted (as in Figs. 4 & 6 of Arizpe-Gilmore).
Regarding claim 3, An further teaches making a member (210, 220) from a flexible material (par. 43-44). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to make each of the storage members of Kim as modified from a flexible material, as taught by An, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to strengthen the connection between the leg frames & storage members (as suggested by par. 44 & 49 of An). Hence, Kim as modified would teach a pair of storage members (70 of Arizpe-Gilmore and 220 of An) each made of a flexible material (as in par. 43-44 of An), and the pair of storage members are configured to elastically deform (as in par. 44 of An) to fix the plurality of leg frames (10 of Kim) when the plurality of leg frames separated from the lower surfaces of the plurality of connection members (1 of Kim) are fitted with the pair of storage members (as in Figs. 4 & 6 of Arizpe-Gilmore).
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches an upper board (9); and leg frames (10) inserted into connection members (1); but fail(s) to teach inclined leg frames. However, Arizpe-Gilmore further teaches orienting leg frames (40) to be inclined with respect to an upper board (2) so that an interval between the plurality of leg frames gradually increases toward a floor surface (Figs. 2-3) when the plurality of leg frames are inserted into connection members (30). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incline the leg frames of Kim, as taught by Arizpe-Gilmore, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a more stable support structure for the table. Hence, Kim as modified would teach a plurality of leg frames (10 of Kim) that extend and are inserted (into 1 of Kim) to be inclined (as in Figs. 2-3 of Arizpe-Gilmore) with respect to the upper board (9 of Kim).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR870001552), Arizpe-Gilmore (5688024) & An (KR20180080841) in view of Haba (JP2019092574). Kim as modified teaches the structure substantially as claimed, including connection members (1 of Kim) each having an inner surface (i.e., inner surface of 2’ of Kim) to which a leg frame (10 of Kim) is connected by unspecified connecting means (Fig. 2 of Kim); but fail(s) to teach a sleeve. However, Haba teaches connecting means (58, 62) comprising a sleeve (58) positioned between an inner surface of a connection member (i.e., recess containing 58) and an outer surface of a leg frame (14c) when the leg frame is inserted (Fig. 18H). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute connecting means, as taught by Haba, for each of the unspecified connecting means of Kim as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a stronger connection between the connection members & leg frames. Hence, Kim as modified would teach a connection member (1 of Kim) that comprises a sleeve (58 of Haba).
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR870001552), Arizpe-Gilmore (5688024) & An (KR20180080841) in view of Cheng (6158067).
Regarding claim 5, Kim as modified teaches the structure substantially as claimed, including a connection member (1 of Kim) having an inner surface (i.e., inner surface of 2’ of Kim) to which a leg frame (10 of Kim) is connected by unspecified connecting means (Fig. 2 of Kim); but fail(s) to teach a hole or pressing protrusion. However, Cheng teaches connecting means (22) comprising a hole (A in Fig. 2B Annotated) formed in an outer peripheral surface of one end of a leg frame (14); and a pressing protrusion (26) disposed in one end of the leg frame and protruding radially from the outer peripheral surface through the hole (Fig. 2B). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute connecting means, as taught by Cheng, for each of the unspecified connecting means of Kim as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a stronger connection between the connection members & leg frames. Hence, Kim as modified would teach a pressing protrusion (26 of Cheng) that can press an inner surface (i.e., inner surface of 2’ of Kim) of the connection member (1 of Kim) when a leg frame (10 of Kim) is inserted into the connection member (note that the pressing protrusion (26 of Cheng) could obviously exert such pressure on the inner surface (i.e., inner surface of 2’ of Kim) of the connection member (1 of Kim), depending on how the leg frame (10 of Kim) was oriented).
c
Regarding claim 6, Kim as modified teaches a leg frame (10 of Kim) that further comprises an elastic member (27 of Cheng) provided in one end of the leg frame and configured to apply an elastic force to the pressing protrusion (26 of Cheng) in a radial direction (as in Fig. 2B of Cheng).
Regarding claim 7, Kim as modified teaches a leg frame (10 of Kim) that comprises: a hole (A of Cheng) formed in an outer peripheral surface of one end of the leg frame; and a clip (24 of Cheng) disposed in one end of the leg frame, wherein the clip comprises: a support portion (C of Cheng) supported on an inner peripheral surface of the leg frame while being in contact with the inner peripheral surface of the leg frame (as in Fig. 2B of Cheng); a protruding portion (D of Cheng) including a protrusion (26 of Cheng) protruding radially from the outer peripheral surface through the hole (as in Fig. 2B of Cheng); and a curved portion (E of Cheng) configured to connect the support portion and the protruding portion and configured to apply an elastic force in a direction in which the support portion and the protruding portion move away from each other (implied by col. 5, lines 34-36 of Cheng, which characterize 27 of Cheng as a “V-shaped spring”), and wherein the protrusion of the protruding portion can press an inner surface (i.e., inner surface of 2’ of Kim) of the connection member (1 of Kim) when the leg frame is inserted into the connection member (note that the protrusion (26 of Cheng) could obviously exert such pressure on the inner surface (i.e., inner surface of 2’ of Kim) of the connection member (1 of Kim), depending on how the leg frame (10 of Kim) was oriented relative to the connection member).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR870001552), Arizpe-Gilmore (5688024) & An (KR20180080841) in view of Clark (20080124501). Kim as modified teaches the structure substantially as claimed, including an upper board (9 of Kim); but fail(s) to teach a honeycomb structure. However, Clark teaches making an upper board (68 - see Figs. 13-14 & par. 55) from a sandwich structure composite (12, 16, 18, 20, 22), wherein an interior of the upper board has a honeycomb structure (12 - see Figs. 1 & 13 and par. 44-45 & 55). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to make the upper board of Kim from a sandwich structure composite, as taught by Clark, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a lighter & more compact structure by reducing the weight & thickness of the upper board (as suggested by par. 17 & 19 of Clark), and to increase the durability of the table by making the upper board waterproof (as suggested by par. 17 & 19 of Clark).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/8/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Said arguments have been addressed in the prior art rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MATTHEW ING whose telephone number is (571)272-6536. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m.. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Daniel Troy can be reached at (571) 270-3742. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/MATTHEW W ING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637