DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Inventor’s election, without traverse, of Group I (claims 1-20), and the combination of propylene glycol monooleate and soybean phosphotidylcholine, as the group and species, respectively, elected to begin prosecution is acknowledged. The election/restriction is hereby made FINAL.
Markush Search
The elected species - the combination of propylene glycol monooleate and soybean phosphatidylcholine - has been searched and is not deemed free of the prior art.
All claimed but as yet unexamined subject matter which does not read on the above combination is hereby withdrawn from consideration for, purposes of this Office Action, as being drawn to non-elected subject matter. This subject matter will be rejoined as appropriate as the Markush examination progresses.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6 and 8-10, in so far as they read on the elected combination above, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 53073206 A, whose SciFinder English language abstract has been relied upon for purposes of this Office Action.
Inventor teaches, as an elected combination, a non-lamellar liquid crystal-forming composition comprising (1) a fatty acid ester which is propylene glycol monooleate and (2) a phospholipid having a hydrophilic group (defined in the specification at page 7, line 1) and having one hydroxyl group, or a salt thereof, and which is not represented by General Formulas (A)-(D) and which is soybean phosphotidylcholine (claim 1). Dependent claim 2 teaches that the fatty acid ester has 6-24 carbons. Dependent claim 6 teaches that the fatty acid ester is of General Formula (I). Dependent claim 8 teaches that the glycol is at least propylene glycol, ethylene glycol, etc. Dependent claim 9 teaches that the phospholipid is phosphatidylcholine, phosphatidylethanolamine, or a salt thereof. Dependent claim 10 teaches that the phospholipid is soybean phosphatidylcholine, egg yolk phosphatidylcholine, etc.
JP 53073206 A teaches a mixture, utilized as an antioxidant for fats, of soybean phospholipids (or tocopherol) and propylene glycol fatty acid esters such as propylene glycol monooleate (Reg. No. 1330-80-9).
First, the examiner points out for clarity of the record that if the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention and the preamble of the claim merely states the intended use or purpose of the invention (“A non-lamellar liquid crystal-forming composition comprising…”), rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. (Note the discussion at MPEP 2111.02, II.) That being the case, limitations with respect to the intended use or purpose of the instant combination are given no patentable weight and the claims are considered to be drawn simply to, essentially, a combination of the instantly taught fatty acid ester and the instantly taught phospholipid.
Inventor distinguishes over the cited art essentially in that soybean phosphatidylcholine is explicitly taught as the soybean phospholipid. However, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant invention, would have found it obvious to choose any soybean phospholipid, which would include soybean phosphotidylcholine, as the soybean phospholipid in the prior art combination. One of ordinary skill in the art would have done so, and with a reasonable expectation of success, absent unexpected results, because the cited art explicitly teaches that the entire class of soybean phospholipids is suitable.
Conclusion
/BRIAN J DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1614 6/14/2026