35 USC 103 Rejections
Claim(s) 1, 3-7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2012038558 in view of Zhang et al 7347722.
Regarding claim 1, JP '558 substantially discloses a contact system 70 for electrically connecting a high current power supply system, in particular a battery unit 10, the contact system comprising: a busbar 60, an electrode 12A,B, and a clamp 80, the clamp having clamp legs 82, one clamp leg thereof on one side and the other clamp leg thereof on the other side of an interspace between the clamp legs, the clamp leg on the one side being elastically moveable so as to vary the interspace, the busbar and the electrode and at least one of the clamp legs having a respective contact surface (Figure 11) contacting a further one of the contact surfaces, at least one of the clamp leg contact surface, the busbar contact surface and the electrode contact surface having a protrusion 83 contacting the respective other one of the contact surfaces, the protrusion being convex in two mutually vertical sectional planes. Zhang et al (front page) discloses clamp leg 40 split into two clamp legs 130,130, and to form one of the clamp legs of JP '558 as two smaller clamp legs thus would have been obvious, for more reliable electrical contact.
Regarding claim 3, JP '558 discloses the protrusion 83 is rounded in the two mutually vertical
sectional planes and preferably has radii of curvature of at most 40 mm.
Regarding claim 4, JP '558 discloses the respective other contact surface has a flat portion, the
protrusion and the flat portion contacting each other.
Regarding claim 5, JP '558 discloses the flat portion has radii of curvature of at least 100 mm.
Regarding claim 6, JP '558 discloses the protrusion 83 and the flat portion has an average
diameter in a projection into a plane perpendicular to the sectional planes of the convexity of the
protrusion of at least 10 mm.
Regarding claim 7, JP '558 discloses the electrode 12A, B and the busbar 60 are substantially
square at least in a portion thereof clamped by the clamp 80.
Regarding claim 11, JP '558 (Figure 5) discloses the at least one busbar 60 defines a direction of
longest extension of the busbar and wherein the flat portion is substantially parallel to this direction.
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aporius et al
2016/0164235 in view of JP 2012/38558 and Zhang et al.
Aporius et al substantially discloses the claimed invention, including a contact system (Figures
3a-b and 1a) for electrically connecting a high current power supply system, the contact system comprising at least two busbars 3 and a clamp 1, the clamp having at least three clamp legs 18, two clamp legs thereof (as taught by Zhang et al above) on one side and the at least one further clamp leg thereof on the other side of an interspace between the clamp legs, at least the two clamp legs on the one side being elastically moveable so as to vary the interspace, the at least two busbars and at least one of the clamp legs having a respective contact surface contacting a further one of the contact surfaces (Figures 1b,3a-5), one of the busbar contact surfaces having a protrusion 17 contacting the respective other busbar contact surfaces. JP '558 discloses protrusion 83 being convex in two mutually vertical sectional planes, and to provide Aporius et al with such a protrusion thus would have been obvious, for good electrical contact.
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2012038558 in view of Zhang et al as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of EP 3719934.
EP '934 (Figure 8) discloses the protrusion is provided at one of the electrode contact surfaces
and the busbar contact surface and wherein the flat portion is provided at the other respective
electrode contact surface thereof, and to provide JP '558 with this type of structure thus would have
been obvious, for good electrical contact.
Claim(s) 9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2012038558 in
view of Zhang et al as applied to claims 8 and 1 above, and further in view of EP 3699979.
Regarding claim 9, EP 3699979 discloses one of the clamp legs defines a hole 23 (Figure 3), the
protrusion 36 (Figure 6) being adapted to penetrate the hole when contacting the flat portion, and to
provide JP '558 (as modified by Zhang et al) with this type of structure thus would have been obvious,
for good electrical contact.
Regarding claim 13, EP 3699979 (Figure 2) discloses the electrode and the clamp are formed
integrally with each other, and to form the electrode and the clamp of JP '558 integrally with each other
thus would have been obvious, for ease and economy of manufacture.
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2012038558 in view of
Zhang et al as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of FR 3062956.
FR 3062956 (Figures 2, 10) discloses the respective other one of the contact surfaces has a
groove portion 36 being concave in at least one and preferably two mutually vertical sectional planes,
the groove portion being adapted such that the protrusion contacts only borders of the groove portion,
the contacts at the borders being in the at least one sectional plane of concavity, and the groove portion
being adapted such that the protrusion 38 can slide within the groove portion 36 in a direction being in a
sectional plane vertical to the sectional plane of the two contacts, and to provide JP '558 (as modified by
Zhang et al) with this type of structure thus would have been obvious, for good electrical contact.
Claim(s) 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 3719934 in
view of JP 2012/038558 and Zhang et al.
Regarding claim 15, EP 3719934 discloses a battery set 2 of at least two battery units (Figure 1),
each battery unit having at least two electrodes (positive and negative), and having at least one busbar 4
electrically connecting the at least two electrodes, one of each battery unit, and having at least one
contact system as disclosed in JP 2012/038558 (as modified by Zhang et al) according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, EP '934 discloses the busbar 4 and one of the electrodes of the other
battery unit and a further clamp make up a second contact system.
Response To Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 20, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. As noted above, to split one of the clamp legs of JP ‘558 into two smaller clamp legs would have been obvious as taught by Zhang et al.
Finality
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GARY F PAUMEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834