DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Claims 1-11 and 16-20 in the reply filed on 04 August 2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that US 2015/0072151 to Saito et al. does not teach the technical feature common among the identified groups of inventions (see Response at Pgs. 8-9). This argument is moot in view of the grounds of rejection set forth herein over US 2017/0247563 to Saito et al.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 12-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 22 January 2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
1. Claims 1-11 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regard to Claim 1, there is no antecedent basis for i) “… blocked or non-blocked isocyanate groups of the isocyanate crosslinking agent …”; and ii) “… hydroxyl groups of the polyester resin …” For purposes of examination, the polyester resin is presumed to comprise hydroxyl groups, and the isocyanate crosslinking agent is presumed to comprise isocyanate groups that are either blocked or non-blocked. Claims 2-11 and 16-20 are similarly rejected to the extent they depend from Claim 1 and do not resolve the noted ambiguity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claims 1, 3-5, 8-11, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2017/0247563 to Saito et al. (“Saito”).
With regard to Claims 1, 3-4, and 17, Saito teaches a powder coating composition comprising at least one fluoropolymer resin, at least one polyester resin, and an isocyanate crosslinking agent (see ¶ [0031]). According to Saito, the polyester resin comprises hydroxyl functionality, and the isocyanate is a blocked isocyanate (see Id.; ¶¶ [0057], [0159]-[0163], [0175]). Saito further teaches molar ratio of isocyanate groups to crosslinkable groups within the claimed range (see ¶ [0220]).
With regard to Claim 5, Saito teaches inclusion of composition constituents at amounts within the claimed range (see ¶ [0221]).
With regard go Claim 8, Saito teaches the claimed fluoropolymer resins (see ¶¶ [0054]-[0055]).
With regard to Claim 9, Saito teaches the claimed isocyanate crosslinking agents (see ¶ [0161]).
With regard to Claims 10 and 20, Saito teaches particle volume median diameters within the claimed range (see ¶ [0233]).
With regard to Claim 11, Saito teaches inclusion of additives as claimed (see ¶¶ [0208], [0236]-[0238]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 2, 6-7, 16, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of US 2020/0010717 to Brustle et al. (“Brustle”).
With regard to Claims 2, 6-7, 16, and 18-19, Saito does not expressly teach semi-crystalline polyester resin. Brustle is similarly directed to powder coating compositions, and teaches inclusion of the claimed types of semi-crystalline polyester resin therein, noting that the inclusion of semi-crystalline polyester resin yields improved deformability and smoother surfaces (see Abstract; ¶¶ [0032], [0050]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have incorporated semi-crystalline polyester resin in the powder coating compositions of Saito in order to obtain compositions with improved properties as taught by Brustle.
Conclusion
/Michael P. Rodriguez/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1715