DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 15 and 16 each claim a method of using a product without setting forth any actual steps in the method, and therefore the claims are indefinite (see MPEP 2173.05(q)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Palma et al. (US 2012/0297882).
Regarding claim 1, Palma et al. disclose a segment for a sensor-carrier body of a pig for inspecting a pipeline, comprising a supporting structure (11,12,22,30), on which at least one bar 18 including at least one ultrasonic transducer 16 is arranged, wherein the at least one bar is releasably fastened to the supporting structure (fastened to carrier portion 30, see Figs. 2 and 3 and par. 0027).
Regarding claim 2, Palma et al. disclose that the at least one bar 18 has a predefined interface (see Figs. 1 and 2, showing left end of bar 18 curved downward and fastened to carrier portion 30), via which the bar is fastened to the supporting structure.
Regarding claim 3, Palma et al. disclose that the predefined interface has a shape that matches an inverse shape on the supporting structure in such a way that the shape of the interface cooperates with the inverse shape on the supporting structure to ensure that the bar is securely seated on the supporting structure (see Figs. 1-3, the downwardly curved left end of bar 18 in the figures has a curved lower surface that matches with an inversely curved upper surface on left end of carrier 30, where bar 18 is attached to carrier 30).
Regarding claim 4, Palma et al. disclose that the at least one bar 18 has in each case at least one receptacle which in each case is designed to receive an ultrasonic transducer 16 in a defined orientation (see par. 0034 and Figs. 6 and 7).
Regarding claim 5, Palma et al. disclose that the at least one bar 18 has a respective surface with a normal, and the at least one ultrasonic transducer 16 is arranged on the respective bar in such a way that the at least one ultrasonic transducer can emit a signal in a direction differing from the normal and/or can receive a signal from a direction differing from the normal (par. 0021, transducers 16 can be oriented normally to pipe wall, which is also normal to surface of bar 18, or transducers 16 can be oriented at an angle).
Regarding claim 6, Palma et al. disclose that the at least one bar 18 has a respective surface with a normal (curved upper surface of bar 18) and includes a first ultrasonic transducer 16 and a second ultrasonic transducer 16, wherein the first ultrasonic transducer is designed to emit a signal in a first direction and the second ultrasonic transducer is designed to receive a signal from a second direction, the first direction and the second direction being situated in one plane (see par. 0021, sensors 16 may be oriented normally to the pipe wall; see par. 0035, the upper surfaces of sensors 16 form an arc; see Fig. 6, two sensors 16 that are positioned along the same arc and positioned to aim normal to the pipe will will emit and receive signals in directions that are perpendicular to their arc but also in the same plane and at angles relative to each other, see reproduction of Palma’s Fig. 6 below).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, in Palma’s Figure 6, the plane of the directions of two sensors 16 along the same arc in the circumferential direction of the bar upper surface 46 will be in the same plane with a normal to the curved surface 46 in between them and in the same plane (see Fig. 6); also the two sensors on the curved surface 46 next to each other along the same arc/row will point/emit/receive at an angles such that the first direction of the first sensor is inclined by an angle of +α relative to a normal that is directly between the two sensor along the arc/row, and such that the second direction of the second sensor is inclined by an angle of -α relative to the normal that is between them. (see Fig. 6 and par. 0035, sensors are on a curved surface pointing normal to the surface and along the same arc of the curved surface and therefore must satisfy these relationships).
Regarding claim 9, Palma et al. disclose that at least two ultrasonic transducers 16 are arranged on the bar 18 (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 10, Palma et la. disclose that there are at least two bars 18 arrange don the supporting structure, each bar including at least two ultrasonic transducers 16 (see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 11, Palma et al. disclose that the supporting structure (11,12,22,30) includes depressions and/or recesses which are designed and shaped to receive the bar 18 (see Fig. 3, showing part supporting structure 30 which has recesses and depressions and receives the bar 18).
Regarding claim 12, Palma et al. disclose that the supporting structure (11,12,22,30) forms a mechanical frame for the bar 18 (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, Palma et al. disclose that the supporting structure (11,12,22,30) includes depressions and/or recesses which are designed and shaped to receive the bar 18 (see Fig. 3, showing part supporting structure 30 which has recesses and depressions and receives the bar 18), and wherein the supporting structure (11,12,22,30) forms a mechanical frame for the bar 18 (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 14, Palma et al. disclose a pig for inspecting a pipeline comprising a sensor-carrier body having at least one segment according to claim 1 (see Fig. 4 showing sensor-carrier body and segment of claim 1 being part of a pig).
Regarding claims 15 and 16, Palma et al. disclose a method for inspecting a pipeline for defects comprising using a segment of claim 1 that is part of a pig according to claim 14, (par. 0007, apparatus for pipeline inspection).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Note that Frueh et al. (US 2019/0360976) and Ganin (US 2010/0199767) both teach pipeline pigs with ultrasonic transducers mounted on bar structures.
/PAUL M. WEST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855