DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure filed 2/20/25 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 is drawn to a battery unit for a high current power supply system. The examiner notes that this is a preamble statement reciting purpose of intended use, and does not recite structural limitations not does the intended use result in a structural difference from other battery units for other uses. Therefore, the intended use for the current level of the power supply system is not given patentable weight per MPEP 2111.023
Claim 1 is drawn to an electrode comprising a clamp. The examiner notes that, in the battery art, the term electrode is generally used to refer to the positive and negative elements within the battery unit cell, and is not as commonly used to describe external apparatus. However, in light of the specification, the claimed term “electrode” is interpreted as being drawn to the structural elements external to the battery unit casing that are used for electrical connection to the load (see, e.g., [0009]-[0010], [0030], [0044], etc. of the published specification). These elements are more commonly called terminals, but the interpretation described here is appropriate in light of the specification (MPEP 2111).
Claim 3 includes the limitation “wherein the battery unit further comprises a third leg …” While this limitation does have antecedent basis, it is ambiguous as to where the third leg is provided within the battery unit. For the purposes of expediting prosecution, the limitation will be interpreted as: “wherein the clamp of the battery unit further comprises a third leg …”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8-11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (US 2012/0121966).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a battery unit, or battery (100), comprising an electrode, or terminals (120, 130), comprising a clamp, or first contact spring (Figures 1-3, [0039], [0047]).
The clamp (124) of Kim comprises the structural elements of claim 1, as seen in annotated Figures 3 and 4C, below:
Kim further teaches that the clamp, or spring (124), uses elasticity to form a current path ([0056]). The examiner finds that the clamp of Kim therefore has any number of elastically deformed states such as those of claim 1.
Regarding claims 8-9, Kim teaches a connector casing, or terminal body (123f), having an opening configured such that a part of a busbar (300) may be inserted via the opening, where a clearance is provided for the busbar between the opening and a space between the first and second legs (Figures 4C and 5).
As for claim 10, Kim teaches a connector, or first current collecting terminal (122), suitable to hold a busbar (300) in contact with the clamp (124) (Figure 7).
With regard to claim 11, Kim teaches a further battery unit (100) , the busbar (300) being held in contact with the clamp (124) of the further battery unit (Figure 8).
As for claim 13, it is seen in Figure 8 that the system is assembled by providing first and second battery units and a busbar, and bringing parts of the busbar into contact with the clamps of the two battery units ([0022]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Baek (US 2012/0015240).
The teachings of Kim as discussed above are incorporated herein.
Kim teaches the legs of claim 1, including protrusions, or annular portion (124a) ([0052]), but fails to teach specifically the protrusion being convex in two non-parallel sectional planes.
Baek teaches a battery unit comprising an electrode comprising a clamp, or electrode terminal (340), having first and second legs, or first (341) and second (342) base plates, and wherein a convex protrusion, or elastic portions (345, 346), are provided having any suitable shape, which includes being convex in two non-parallel sectional planes (Figures 3-4, [0051]).
Baek further teaches that the elastic portions are desirable to elastically support the electrode connection portion when it is inserted into the clamp, or accommodation groove (344) ([0050]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the skilled artisan at the time of the invention to provide elastic portions in the clamp of Kim such as suggested by Baek in order to elastically support the electrode connection portion, or busbar of Kim, when it is inserted into the clamp.
The examiner notes that the clamp of Baek is not used in the exact same configuration of Kim; however, the person having ordinary skill in the art is also a person of ordinary creativity, and can recognize that teachings other clamps in other batteries that are also used for ensuring proper electrical connection can be used to improve clamps in generally, see MPEP 2141.03 I.
Claims 3-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kotter et al. (US 2019/0198846).
The teachings of Kim as discussed above are incorporated herein.
Regarding claims 3-4, Kim teaches first and second legs and transition section, but fails to teach a third leg and further transition section.
Kotter teaches a battery unit comprising an electrode comprising a clamp, or clamping unit (4), having a transition section, or web (7), and first and second legs, or clamping limbs (5, 6) (Figure 17, [0054]). Kotter teaches that the clamp (4) is fixedly clamped to a terminal pole by elastically deforming the elements discussed above ([0054]).
Kotter further teaches that the first and second legs may comprise additional legs, or two or more spring lamellae (8), arranged transversely to the transition section (7) to optimally adapt to the respective shape of the busbar, or cell connector (52), in order to be able to provide as large as possible a contact surface for the transmission of electrical current ([0012]-[0013]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the skilled artisan at the time of the invention to provide a third leg, or spring lamella, in the clamp of Kim such as suggested by Kotter in order to optimally adapt to the shape of the busbar. The examiner further finds that the optimal adaptation of Kim in view of Kotter obviates the claimed different amounts of distance.
Further regarding claim 4 and with regard to claim 6, the examiner notes that the claimed further transition sections are met by sections of the web (7) correlated to the lamellae (8) of Kotter as shown in annotated Figure 17 below:
The examiner notes that the clamp of Kotter is not used in the exact same configuration of Kim; however, the person having ordinary skill in the art is also a person of ordinary creativity, and can recognize that teachings other clamps in other batteries that are also used for ensuring proper electrical connection can be used to improve clamps in generally, see MPEP 2141.03 I.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Kotter as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Baek.
The teachings of Kim, Kotter, and Baek as discussed above are incorporated herein.
Kim in view of Kotter teaches the third leg of claim 4, including protrusions, or annular portion (124a) ([0052] of Kim) and a bead ([0014] of Kotter), but fails to teach specifically the protrusion being convex in two non-parallel sectional planes.
Baek teaches a battery unit comprising an electrode comprising a clamp, or electrode terminal (340), having first and second legs, or first (341) and second (342) base plates, and wherein a convex protrusion, or elastic portions (345, 346), are provided having any suitable shape, which includes being convex in two non-parallel sectional planes (Figures 3-4, [0051]).
Baek further teaches that the elastic portions are desirable to elastically support the electrode connection portion when it is inserted into the clamp, or accommodation groove (344) ([0050]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the skilled artisan at the time of the invention to provide elastic portions in the clamp of Kim such as suggested by Baek in order to elastically support the electrode connection portion, or busbar of Kim, when it is inserted into the clamp.
The examiner notes that the clamp of Baek is not used in the exact same configuration of Kim or Kotter; however, the person having ordinary skill in the art is also a person of ordinary creativity, and can recognize that teachings other clamps in other batteries that are also used for ensuring proper electrical connection can be used to improve clamps in generally, see MPEP 2141.03 I.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yoshioka (US 2014/0248517).
The teachings of Kim as discussed above are incorporated herein.
Kim teaches the battery unit of claim 1 but fails to teach a spring clamp that at least partially grips around the clamp (124).
Yoshioka teaches an electrode comprising a clamp, or clip (19), and a spring clamp, or fitting terminal (18), which grips around the clamp (19) (Figure 2, [0032]).
It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan at the time of the invention to use a spring such as suggested by Yoshioka to grip the clamp of Kim in order to ensure appropriate electrical connection. It has been held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is within the ordinary level of skill in the art. MPEP 2143 I A
The examiner notes that the clamp of Yoshioka is not used in the exact same configuration of Kim; however, the person having ordinary skill in the art is also a person of ordinary creativity, and can recognize that teachings other clamps in other batteries that are also used for ensuring proper electrical connection can be used to improve clamps in generally, see MPEP 2141.03 I.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Golubkov (US 2019/0379030).
The teachings of Kim as discussed are incorporated herein.
Kim teaches a system with the battery unit as discussed above, including further battery units being electrically connected to each other (Figure 8), but fails to teach that the battery units are arranged inside a casing of the system.
Golubkov teaches a system with battery units, or battery cells (10), electrically connected to each other (Figure 2). Golubkov further teaches a casing of the system, or housing (70), for providing a gastight assembly in which a battery monitoring system is provided for improved detection of abnormal states of the battery system (Figure 3, [0011]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the skilled artisan at the time of the invention to provide a casing of the system, or housing (70), such as taught by Golubkov in the system of Kim in order to provide a battery monitoring system for improved detection of abnormal states of the battery system.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of copending Application No. 18/291,026 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 2 of ‘026 requires all of the structural limitations of instant claim 1, including the clamp having a transition section, first and second legs, and elastically deformed states.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
The examiner notes that 18/291,026 has been allowed but has not been issued. When the patent issues, the double patenting rejection will become non-provisional.
Conclusion
/ALIX E EGGERDING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729