DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
1a. Claim 13 is objected to as dependent upon rejected claims, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2a. Claims 1-12, 14-19 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schlicht (US 2010/0142445 Al) in view of Chen (US 3 A1)).
2b. Summary of the Cited Prior Art
Schlicht discloses a method for routing data in backhaul wireless network.
Chen discloses a method for packet routing in backhaul network,
2c. Claim Analysis
Regarding Claim 1, Schlicht discloses:
A method of controlling communication (Fig 13), by a controlling communications node (Fig 13, APs), in a wireless backhaul network (Fig 13, backhaul communication, in [0023]) the wireless backhaul network (Fig 13, backhaul communication, in [0023]) comprising a plurality of communications nodes (Fig 13, Aps, SNs) one of which is the controlling communications node (Fig 13, Aps),
the method comprising maintaining information (see: [1377] … These link observation statistics may be grouped by transmitting node and mode to adjust the receiving node's suggested waveform mode for each link) at the controlling communications node (Fig 13, APs) relating to conditions for communicating data (see: [1377] …. Relative link quality is a measure of link quality relative to the link quality needed to maintain the selected link data rate) via a plurality of wireless communications links (Fig 13, Link) between the communications nodes (Fig 13, Aps, SNs) of the wireless backhaul network (Fig 13, backhaul communication, in [0023])
the wireless backhaul network (Fig 13, backhaul communication, in [0023]) being configured to communicate downstream data (Fig 13, AP to SN traffic) from a core network (Fig 13, Fixed Network) for transmitting to one or more communications devices (Fig 13, APs and SNs) or to communicate upstream data (Fig 13, SN to AP Traffic) to the core network (Fig 13, Fixed Network) received from the one or more communications devices (Fig 13, APs and SNs),
the communications nodes (Fig 13, Aps, SNs) of the wireless backhaul network (Fig 13, backhaul communication, in [0023]) being inter-connected with at least one of the communications nodes (Fig 13, Aps, SNs) connected to a plurality of other communications nodes (Fig 13, Aps, SNs) for communicating the upstream data (Fig 13, SN to AP Traffic) or the downstream data (Fig 13, AP to SN traffic),
determining (see: [1402] …. selection of routes among a plurality of diverse routes), based on the maintained information (Fig 51, Routing Tables; Examiner’s Note: routing tables are information needed to maintain the network) of conditions for communicating the data (see: [1377] …. Relative link quality is a measure of link quality relative to the link quality needed to maintain the selected link data rate) via the plurality of wireless communications links (Fig 13, Link) of the wireless backhaul network (Fig 13, backhaul communication, in [0023]),
routing information (Fig 51, Routing Tables) defining one or more possible routes (Fig 13, Link) for communicating the upstream data (Fig 13, SN to AP Traffic) or the downstream data (Fig 13, AP to SN traffic) via the plurality of wireless communications links (Fig 13, Link) and the conditions (see: [1360] …. environmental conditions, traffic loading) for communicating the upstream (Fig 13, SN to AP Traffic) or the downstream data (Fig 13, AP to SN traffic) on the one or more possible routes (Fig 13, Link), and
communicating (see: [1373] …. When A broadcasts information to B, C, D and E) the routing information (Fig 51, Routing Tables) to one or more of the communications nodes (Fig 13, Aps, SNs), for each of the one of more communications nodes (Fig 13, Aps, SNs) to configure a routing table (Fig 51, Routing Tables) for communicating the upstream data (Fig 13, SN to AP Traffic) or the downstream data (Fig 13, AP to SN traffic) on the one or more possible routes (Fig 13, Link) via the plurality of wireless communications links (Fig 13, Link),
wherein one of the plurality of wireless communications links (Fig 13, Link) is formed (see: [1402] …. selection of routes among a plurality of diverse routes) at least in part from communications resources of an unlicensed wireless access interface (see: optimize both unlicensed and licensed spectrum in [1391]), and
the conditions (see: [1360] …. environmental conditions, traffic loading) for communicating the upstream (Fig 13, SN to AP Traffic) or the downstream data (Fig 13, AP to SN traffic) on the one or more possible routes (Fig 13, Link) forming part of the routing information (Fig 51, Routing Tables) includes an indication of communications characteristics (see: [1377] … A combination of measurements characterizing link performance may be used to drive adjustments …… received signal strength (RSSI), Eb/No (SNR), pre-FEC bit-error rate (BER)) for communicating via unlicensed wireless access interfaces (see: optimize both unlicensed and licensed spectrum in [1391]).
Schlicht does not elaborate about backhaul network.
However, Chen discloses:
A method of controlling communication, by a controlling communications node, in a wireless backhaul network (Fig 8, see: [0001] …. particularly within an Integrated Access and Backhaul (IAB) network).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to integrate Schlicht’s method for routing data in backhaul wireless network with Chen’s method for packet routing in backhaul network with the motivation being to enhance the network's ability to meet future demands (Chen, [0002]).
Regarding Claim 2, Schlicht discloses:
wherein the indication of communications characteristics (see: [1377] … A combination of measurements characterizing link performance may be used to drive adjustments …… received signal strength (RSSI), Eb/No (SNR), pre-FEC bit-error rate (BER)) for communicating via unlicensed wireless access interfaces (see: optimize both unlicensed and licensed spectrum in [1391]) includes at least one of
a likelihood of contention (see: [1361] …. providing contention-based access) when accessing communications resources of a wireless communications link (Fig 13, Link),
a delay in accessing (see: [1386] …. prioritizing delay sensitive traffic across the mobile ad hoc network) communications resources on a wireless communications link (Fig 13, Link),
a signal to interference ratio (see: [1364] …. power control for intra-network interference) when communicating via a wireless communications link (Fig 13, Link),
a maximum transmission power (see: [1364] …. power control for intra-network interference) when transmitting via a wireless communications link (Fig 13, Link), and
a bandwidth (see: [1394] …. maximum bandwidth demand) when transmitting via a wireless communications link (Fig 13, Link).
Regarding Claim 3, Schlicht discloses:
wherein the indication (see: [1403] …. periodically reporting activity levels) of the communications conditions (see: [1360] …. environmental conditions, traffic loading) for communicating the upstream data (Fig 13, SN to AP Traffic) or the downstream data (Fig 13, AP to SN traffic) on the one or more possible routes (Fig 13, Link) via the plurality of wireless communications links (Fig 13, Link) included in the routing information (Fig 51, Routing Tables) is used by the one of more communications nodes (Fig 13, Aps, SNs) to configure their routing table (Fig 18, configure routes and table) from which the one or more of communications nodes (Fig 13, Aps, SNs) can select one or more of the possible routes (see: [1402] …. selection of routes among a plurality of diverse routes) based on the routing information (Fig 51, Routing Tables).
Regarding Claim 4, Schlicht discloses:
wherein the determining (see: [1402] …. selection of routes among a plurality of diverse routes) the routing information (Fig 51, Routing Tables), comprises determining, based on the maintained information (Fig 51, Routing Tables; Examiner’s Note: routing tables are information needed to maintain the network), a path cost (Fig 43, Route Cost Function) for the one or more possible routes (Fig 13, Link) for communicating the upstream data (Fig 13, SN to AP Traffic) and the downstream data (Fig 13, AP to SN traffic), and
the communicating (see: [1373] …. When A broadcasts information to B, C, D and E) the routing information (Fig 51, Routing Tables) to one or more of the communications nodes (Fig 13, Aps, SNs) for each of the one or more communications nodes (Fig 13, Aps, SNs) to configure a routing table comprises including, in the routing information (Fig 51, Routing Tables), the path cost (Fig 43, Route Cost Function) of the possible routes (Fig 13, Link) for each of the one or more communications nodes (Fig 13, Aps, SNs) to configure the routing table for communicating the upstream data (Fig 13, SN to AP Traffic) or the downstream data (Fig 13, AP to SN traffic) on the one or more possible routes (Fig 13, Link),
wherein the indication of communications characteristics (see: [1377] … A combination of measurements characterizing link performance may be used to drive adjustments …… received signal strength (RSSI), Eb/No (SNR), pre-FEC bit-error rate (BER)) for communicating via unlicensed wireless access interfaces (see: optimize both unlicensed and licensed spectrum in [1391]) is represented by a path cost (Fig 43, Route Cost Function) for routes which include the one or more wireless communications links (Fig 13, Link); and
communicating (see: [1373] …. When A broadcasts information to B, C, D and E), to each of the one or more communications nodes (Fig 13, Aps, SNs), the routing information (Fig 51, Routing Tables) including the path cost (Fig 43, Route Cost Function) for each of the one or more possible routes (Fig 13, Link) for each of the one or more communications nodes (Fig 13, Aps, SNs) to configure the routing table (Fig 51, Routing Tables) for communicating the upstream data (Fig 13, SN to AP Traffic) or the downstream data (Fig 13, AP to SN traffic) on the one or more possible routes (Fig 13, Link).
Regarding Claim 5, Schlicht discloses:
wherein the routing information (Fig 51, Routing Tables) includes the indication of communications characteristics (see: [1377] … A combination of measurements characterizing link performance may be used to drive adjustments …… received signal strength (RSSI), Eb/No (SNR), pre-FEC bit-error rate (BER)) for communicating via unlicensed wireless access interfaces (see: optimize both unlicensed and licensed spectrum in [1391]) and one or more of a link capacity, bandwidth (see: [1394] …. maximum bandwidth demand) or load (see: [1360] … environmental conditions, traffic loading) of the plurality of wireless communications links (Fig 13, Link) and
the determining (see: [1402] …. selection of routes among a plurality of diverse routes), based on the routing information (Fig 51, Routing Tables), a path cost (Fig 43, Route Cost Function) for the one or more routes for communicating the upstream data (Fig 13, SN to AP Traffic) and the downstream data (Fig 13, AP to SN traffic) comprises determining, the path cost (Fig 43, Route Cost Function) based on the indication of communications characteristics (see: [1377] … A combination of measurements characterizing link performance may be used to drive adjustments …… received signal strength (RSSI), Eb/No (SNR), pre-FEC bit-error rate (BER)) for communicating via unlicensed wireless access interfaces (see: optimize both unlicensed and licensed spectrum in [1391]) and one or more of a link capacity, bandwidth or load of the wireless communications links (Fig 13, Link).
Regarding Claim 6, Schlicht discloses:
comprising receiving (see: [1486] …. Multicast routing addresses packets to a group of receivers), from one or more of the communications nodes (Fig 13, Aps, SNs) which received the routing information (Fig 51, Routing Tables) to configure a routing table (Fig 51, Routing Tables) for communicating the upstream data (Fig 13, SN to AP Traffic) or the downstream data (Fig 13, AP to SN traffic) on the one or more possible routes (Fig 13, Link),
an assistance information report (see: [1403] …. periodically reporting activity levels) including an updated indication of communications characteristics (see: [1377] … A combination of measurements characterizing link performance may be used to drive adjustments …… received signal strength (RSSI), Eb/No (SNR), pre-FEC bit-error rate (BER)) for communicating via unlicensed wireless access interfaces (see: optimize both unlicensed and licensed spectrum in [1391]); and
in response, updating (see: [1403] …. recording their activities and periodically reporting activity levels) the determined path cost (Fig 43, Route Cost Function, constantly updating) of the routes which include the one or more wireless communications links resources (Fig 13, Link);
updating (see: [1403] …. recording their activities and periodically reporting activity levels) the routing information (Fig 51, Routing Tables) to include the updated path cost (Fig 43, Route Cost Function) of the routes which include the one or more wireless communications (Fig 13, Link); and
communicating (see: [1373] …. When A broadcasts information to B, C, D and E) the updated routing information to one or more of the communications nodes (Fig 13, Aps, SNs) from which the assistance information report (see: [1403] …. periodically reporting activity levels) was received to configure an updated routing table (Fig 51, Routing Tables) for communicating the upstream data (Fig 13, SN to AP Traffic) or the downstream data (Fig 13, AP to SN traffic) one or more possible routes (Fig 13, Link).
Regarding Claim 7, Schlicht discloses:
wherein the assistance information report (see: [1403] …. periodically reporting activity levels) includes one or more of a received signal strength indicator, RSSI (see: [1377] …. received signal strength (RSSI), Eb/No (SNR)), an interference level (see: [1364] …. power control for intra-network interference), a number of detected collisions in a pre-defined period of time or a channel occupancy associated with the one or more wireless communications links (Fig 13, Link).
Regarding Claim 8, Schlicht discloses:
wherein the communicating (see: [1373] …. When A broadcasts information to B, C, D and E), to each of the one or more communications nodes (Fig 13, Aps, SNs),
the routing information (Fig 51, Routing Tables) including the path cost (Fig 43, Route Cost Function) of each of the determined routes (see: [1402] …. selection of routes among a plurality of diverse routes) for each of the one or more communications nodes (Fig 13, Aps, SNs) to configure the routing table for communicating the upstream data (Fig 13, SN to AP Traffic) or the downstream data (Fig 13, AP to SN traffic) one the one or more possible routes (Fig 13, Link)
comprises communicating (see: [1373] …. When A broadcasts information to B, C, D and E) the path cost (Fig 43, Route Cost Function) for each of the determined routes (see: [1402] …. selection of routes among a plurality of diverse routes) in a Backhaul Adaptation Protocol, BAP, header of a data packet.
Schlicht does not disclose about BAP.
However, Chen discloses:
for each of the determined routes in a Backhaul Adaptation Protocol, BAP, header of a data packet (Fig 8; see: [0040] …. The routing selection configuration may include at least one of the following fields: a Backhaul Adaptation Protocol (BAP) routing ID).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to integrate Schlicht’s method for routing data in backhaul wireless network with Chen’s method for packet routing in backhaul network with the motivation being to enhance the network's ability to meet future demands (Chen, [0002]).
Regarding Claim 9, Schlicht discloses:
A method of controlling communication (Fig 13), in a wireless backhaul network (Fig 13, backhaul communication, in [0023]) by a communications node (Fig 13, Aps, SNs) in the wireless backhaul network (Fig 13, backhaul communication, in [0023]), the method comprising
Receiving (see: [1486] …. Multicast routing addresses packets to a group of receivers), by the communications node from one of a plurality of other communications nodes in the wireless backhaul network (Fig 13, backhaul communication, in [0023]),
information relating to conditions for communicating data (see: [1377] …. Relative link quality is a measure of link quality relative to the link quality needed to maintain the selected link data rate) via a plurality of wireless communications links (Fig 13, Link) between the communications node and the plurality of other communications nodes (Fig 13, Aps, SNs),
the communications node being configured to communicate downstream data (Fig 13, AP to SN traffic) from a core network (Fig 13, Fixed Network) to one or more communications devices (Fig 13, APs and SNs) or to communicate upstream data (Fig 13, SN to AP Traffic) to the core network (Fig 13, Fixed Network) received from the one or more communications devices (Fig 13, APs and SNs) via the plurality of wireless communications links (Fig 13, Link),
wherein one of the wireless communications links (Fig 13, Link) is formed (see: [1402] …. selection of routes among a plurality of diverse routes) at least in part from communications resources of an unlicensed wireless access interface (see: optimize both unlicensed and licensed spectrum in [1391]) and the received conditions for communicating the data (see: [1377] …. Relative link quality is a measure of link quality relative to the link quality needed to maintain the selected link data rate) via the plurality of wireless communications links (Fig 13, Link) forming part of the received information includes an indication of communications characteristics (see: [1377] … A combination of measurements characterizing link performance may be used to drive adjustments …… received signal strength (RSSI), Eb/No (SNR), pre-FEC bit-error rate (BER)) for communicating via unlicensed wireless access interfaces (see: optimize both unlicensed and licensed spectrum in [1391]);
receiving (see: [1373] …. When A broadcasts information to B, C, D and E), by the communications node, upstream data (Fig 13, SN to AP Traffic) from the one or more communications devices (Fig 13, APs and SNs) to communicate to a donor communications node (Fig 13, AP) connected to the core network (Fig 13, Fixed Network), or downstream data (Fig 13, AP to SN traffic) from the donor communications node (Fig 13, AP) to transmit to the one or more communications devices;
selecting (see: [1402] …. selection of routes among a plurality of diverse routes), based on the received information of conditions for communicating the data (see: [1377] …. Relative link quality is a measure of link quality relative to the link quality needed to maintain the selected link data rate) via the wireless communications links, one of the plurality of wireless communications links (Fig 13, Link) for communicating the upstream (Fig 13, SN to AP Traffic) or the downstream data (Fig 13, AP to SN traffic), and
communicating (see: [1373] …. When A broadcasts information to B, C, D and E) the upstream data (Fig 13, SN to AP Traffic) or the downstream data (Fig 13, AP to SN traffic) via the selected one of the wireless communications links (see: [1402] …. selection of routes among a plurality of diverse routes).
Regarding Claim 10, the claim discloses similar features as of Claim 2, and is rejected accordingly.
Regarding Claim 11, Schlicht discloses:
Receiving (see: [1373] …. When A broadcasts information to B, C, D and E), from the donor communications node (Fig 13, AP), a routing table indicating a plurality of communications paths along which the communications node is configured to communicate the received upstream (Fig 13, SN to AP Traffic) or the received downstream data (Fig 13, AP to SN traffic),
wherein the selecting (see: [1402] …. selection of routes among a plurality of diverse routes), based on the received information of conditions for communicating the data (see: [1377] …. Relative link quality is a measure of link quality relative to the link quality needed to maintain the selected link data rate) via the wireless communications links,
one of the plurality of wireless communications links (Fig 13, Link) for communicating the upstream (Fig 13, SN to AP Traffic) or the downstream data (Fig 13, AP to SN traffic) comprises determining a path cost (Fig 43, Route Cost Function) for each of the plurality of communications paths indicated by the received routing table (Fig 51, Routing Tables) based on the received information of conditions for communicating the data (see: [1377] …. Relative link quality is a measure of link quality relative to the link quality needed to maintain the selected link data rate) via the wireless communications links, and
selecting (see: [1402] …. selection of routes among a plurality of diverse routes), based on the determined path cost (Fig 43, Route Cost Function) for each of the plurality of communications paths indicated by the routing table (Fig 51, Routing Tables), one of the plurality of communications paths along which to communicate the received upstream (Fig 13, SN to AP Traffic) or the received downstream data (Fig 13, AP to SN traffic).
Regarding Claim 12, Schlicht discloses:
wherein the routing table (Fig 51, Routing Tables) received from the donor communications node (Fig 13, AP) includes an indication of a path cost (Fig 43, Route Cost Function) calculated by the donor communications node (Fig 13, AP) for each of the plurality of communications paths, and
the determining a path cost (Fig 43, Route Cost Function) for each of the plurality of communications paths indicated by the received routing table (Fig 51, Routing Tables) based on the received information of conditions for communicating the data (see: [1377] …. Relative link quality is a measure of link quality relative to the link quality needed to maintain the selected link data rate) via the wireless communications links (Fig 13, Link) comprises
modifying (see: [1403] …. recording their activities and periodically reporting activity levels), based on the received information of conditions for communicating the data (see: [1377] …. Relative link quality is a measure of link quality relative to the link quality needed to maintain the selected link data rate) via the wireless communications links, the path cost (Fig 43, Route Cost Function) calculated by the donor communications node (Fig 13, AP) for each of the plurality of communications paths.
Regarding Claim 14, Schlicht discloses:
wherein the receiving (see: [1373] …. When A broadcasts information to B, C, D and E), by the communications node, the information relating to conditions for communicating data (see: [1377] …. Relative link quality is a measure of link quality relative to the link quality needed to maintain the selected link data rate) via the wireless communications links (Fig 13, Link) comprises
receiving (see: [1373] …. When A broadcasts information to B, C, D and E) the information from one or more of the plurality of other communications nodes in the wireless backhaul network (Fig 13, backhaul communication, in [0023]) as part of a broadcast;
or receiving (see: [1373] …. When A broadcasts information to B, C, D and E) the information from one or more of the plurality of other communications nodes in the wireless backhaul network (Fig 13, backhaul communication, in [0023]) as dedicated signals.
Regarding Claim 15, Schlicht discloses:
wherein the receiving (see: [1373] …. When A broadcasts information to B, C, D and E), by the communications node, the information relating to conditions for communicating data (see: [1377] …. Relative link quality is a measure of link quality relative to the link quality needed to maintain the selected link data rate) via the wireless communications links (Fig 13, Link) comprises receiving (see: [1373] …. When A broadcasts information to B, C, D and E) the information from one or more of the plurality of other communications nodes in the wireless backhaul network (Fig 13, backhaul communication, in [0023]) as part of an access procedure performed (see: [1416] The MBRI MAC layer may utilize node activated multiple access (NAMA) channel access) between the communications node and the one or more communications nodes (Fig 13, SNs and APs)from which the information is received.
Regarding Claim 16, Schlicht discloses:
wherein the receiving (see: [1373] …. When A broadcasts information to B, C, D and E), by the communications node, the information relating to conditions for communicating the data (see: [1377] …. Relative link quality is a measure of link quality relative to the link quality needed to maintain the selected link data rate) via the wireless communications links (Fig 13, Link) comprises receiving (see: [1373] …. When A broadcasts information to B, C, D and E), from one or more of the plurality of other communications nodes, an assistance information report (see: [1403] …. periodically reporting activity levels) including an updated indication of communications characteristics (see: [1377] … A combination of measurements characterizing link performance may be used to drive adjustments …… received signal strength (RSSI), Eb/No (SNR), pre-FEC bit-error rate (BER)) for communicating via unlicensed wireless access interfaces (see: optimize both unlicensed and licensed spectrum in [1391]),
wherein the selecting (see: [1402] …. selection of routes among a plurality of diverse routes), based on the received information of conditions for communicating the data (see: [1377] …. Relative link quality is a measure of link quality relative to the link quality needed to maintain the selected link data rate) via the wireless communications links, one of the plurality of wireless communications links (Fig 13, Link) for communicating the upstream (Fig 13, SN to AP Traffic) or the downstream data (Fig 13, AP to SN traffic) comprises
selecting (see: [1402] …. selection of routes among a plurality of diverse routes) the one of the plurality of wireless communications links (Fig 13, Link) for communicating the upstream (Fig 13, SN to AP Traffic) or the downstream data (Fig 13, AP to SN traffic) based on the received assistance information report (see: [1403] …. periodically reporting activity levels).
Regarding Claim 17, the claim discloses similar features as of Claim 7, and is rejected accordingly.
Regarding Claim 18, Schlicht discloses:
wherein the indication of communications characteristics (see: [1377] … A combination of measurements characterizing link performance may be used to drive adjustments …… received signal strength (RSSI), Eb/No (SNR), pre-FEC bit-error rate (BER)) for communicating via unlicensed wireless access interfaces (see: optimize both unlicensed and licensed spectrum in [1391]) includes an indication of characteristics (see: [1377] … A combination of measurements characterizing link performance may be used to drive adjustments …… received signal strength (RSSI), Eb/No (SNR), pre-FEC bit-error rate (BER)) of the communications resources of the unlicensed wireless access interfaces (see: optimize both unlicensed and licensed spectrum in [1391]).
Regarding Claim 19, Schlicht discloses:
wherein the indication of the characteristics (see: [1377] … A combination of measurements characterizing link performance may be used to drive adjustments …… received signal strength (RSSI), Eb/No (SNR), pre-FEC bit-error rate (BER)) of the communications resources of the unlicensed wireless access interfaces (see: optimize both unlicensed and licensed spectrum in [1391]) include an indication of whether the communications resources of the unlicensed wireless access interface (see: optimize both unlicensed and licensed spectrum in [1391]) belong to a millimetre wave band or Wi-Fi wave band (see: [1471] … a seamless integration with Internet communications facilities, such as WiMax, Wi-Fi).
Regarding Claim 25, the claim discloses similar features as of Claim 9, and is rejected accordingly.
Conclusion
/JUNG LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473