DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 15-16, 18 and 22-23 have been canceled.
Claims 1-14, 17, 19-21, and 24-25 are currently pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-13 and 25, and of species Ceftazidime, a hyaluronidase comprising the amino acid sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 2, subcutaneous administration, and a combination of a phosphate buffer at a concentration of 1-100 mM, trehalose, mannitol, and methionine as stabilizers at a concentration of 1-500 mM, and polysorbate 20 as a nonionic surfactant at a concentration of 0.01-0.1% w/v, in the reply filed on 5/20/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 5, 14, 17, 19-21, and 24 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected inventions and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claims.
Claims 1-4, 6-13 and 25 are being examined in this application, insofar as they read on the elected species of Ceftazidime, a hyaluronidase comprising the amino acid sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 2, subcutaneous administration, and a combination of a phosphate buffer at a concentration of 1-100 mM, trehalose, mannitol, and methionine as stabilizers at a concentration of 1-500 mM, and polysorbate 20 as a nonionic surfactant at a concentration of 0.01-0.1% w/v.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 25, line 2, recites the limitation “the recombinant human HAase”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Applicant is required to amend the claim so as to provide proper antecedent basis for this language in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-4, 6-13 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claim 1 is directed to a composition comprising an antibiotic and hyaluronidase (HAase). As disclosed in the instant specification, the antibiotic and HAase are naturally occurring. There is no indication in the instant specification that the claimed antibiotic and HAase have any characteristics that are different from the naturally occurring antibiotic and HAase, respectively. Thus, the antibiotic and HAase do not have markedly different characteristics from their natural counterparts in their natural state, and are “product of nature” exceptions. Accordingly, claim 1 is directed to an exception. Claim 1 does not include any additional features that could add significantly more to the exception. Therefore, claim 1 does not qualify as eligible subject matter, and should be rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claim 2 recites concentrations of the claimed antibiotic and HAase, and does not include any additional features that could add significantly more to the exception. Therefore, claim 2 does not qualify as eligible subject matter, and should be rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claims 3-4 recite lists of antibiotics, which can be naturally occurring. Claims 3-4 do not include any additional features that could add significantly more to the exception. Therefore, claims 3-4 do not qualify as eligible subject matter, and should be rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claim 6 recites enzyme activity of the claimed HAase, and does not include any additional features that could add significantly more to the exception. Therefore, claim 6 does not qualify as eligible subject matter, and should be rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claims 7-8 recite outcomes after administration of the composition comprises the claimed antibiotic and HAase, and do not include any additional features that could add significantly more to the exception. Therefore, claims 7-8 do not qualify as eligible subject matter, and should be rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claims 9-12 recite additional components including a buffer, a stabilizer, a nonionic surfactant, a co-solvent, a preservative, and/or an excipient. These additional components can be naturally occurring. Claims 9-12 do not include any additional features that could add significantly more to the exception. Therefore, claims 9-12 do not qualify as eligible subject matter, and should be rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claim 13 recites a form of the composition. The claimed antibiotic and HAase can occur naturally in liquid environments. Claim 13 does not include any additional features that could add significantly more to the exception. Therefore, claim 13 does not qualify as eligible subject matter, and should be rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claim 25 recites a specific HAase, which occurs naturally. Claim 25 does not include any additional features that could add significantly more to the exception. Therefore, claim 25 does not qualify as eligible subject matter, and should be rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-13 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(2) as being anticipated by Wei et al (US 2016/0362670 A1; 12/15/2016.).
The instant claims recite a pharmaceutical composition for an intradermal or subcutaneous administration, comprising an antibiotic and hyaluronidase (HAase).
Wei teaches pharmaceutical compositions for a subcutaneous administration (para 0440, 0498), comprising a PH20 polypeptide (hyaluronidase (HAase)) formulated with other agents and/or with other components (para 0037), said other agents and/or other components comprise Ceftazidimes (an antibiotic) (para 0042), wherein the PH20 polypeptide is in an amount between or about between 300 Units/mL to 2000 U/mL (para 0493). Said pharmaceutical compositions comprise one or more adjuvant(s) (para 0443), phosphate buffer (para 0041, 0444) at concentrations between or about between 1 mM to 100 mM (para 0041, 0459), trehalose (para 0468), mannitol (para 0468), methionine at concentrations between or about between 5 mM to 50 mM (para 0041, 0473), surfactants such as polysorbate 20 (para 0468) between from or between about from 0.01% to 0.1% w/v (para 0470), wherein said pharmaceutical compositions are lyophilized preparation or liquid preparation (para 0434, 0440, 0494). The PH20 polypeptide contains the sequence of amino acid residues as set forth in any of SEQ ID NOS: 32-66 (para 0009), which read on SEQ ID NO:2, see Search results filed on 06/02/2026 – 20260602_083939_us-18-291-230-2.rai file, RESULT 2: 66 DUPLICATES: US-15-226-489A-49.
Claims 7 and 8 recite intended use. The intended use of the claimed composition does not patentably distinguish the composition, per se, since such undisclosed use is inherent in the reference composition. In order to be limiting, the intended use must create a structural difference between the claimed composition and the composition of the prior art. In the instant case, the intended use fails to create a structural difference, thus, the intended use is not limiting. Please note that when applicant claims a composition in terms of function, and the composition of the prior art appears to be the same, the Examiner may make rejections under both 35 U.S.C 102 and 103. (MPEP 2112)
Therefore the reference anticipates the claimed subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al (US 2016/0362670 A1; 12/15/2016.) as applied to claims 1, 3-4, 6-13 and 25 above.
Wei does not teach the claimed antibiotic amount (claim 2).
However, Wei does teach the claimed antibiotic, Ceftazidimes (para 0042). In addition, Wei does teach the percentage of active compound is highly dependent on the specific nature thereof, as well as the activity of the compound and the needs of the subject (para 0442).
Thus, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the amount of Ceftazidimes, an antibiotic, since Wei discloses that said pharmaceutical compositions comprise Ceftazidimes, and that the percentage of active compound is highly dependent on the specific nature thereof, as well as the activity of the compound and the needs of the subject. Generally, differences in concentration will not support patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. (MPEP 2144.05 II) Moreover, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the cited reference and routine practice to optimize the amount of Ceftazidimes with a reasonable expectation for successfully obtaining pharmaceutical compositions.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Contact Information
/Lynn Y Fan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759