DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
2. Claims 1-21 as filed on 06/17/2024 are pending and herewith considered as indicated below.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/17/2024 was filed and is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
4. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the central plate (claim 16) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
5. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show the central plate (claim 16) as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d).
7. Figs. 1A-1D, 2I-2M, 3G, 4C, 8E are objected to because they including photographs and/or shading. Photographs, including photocopies of photographs, are not ordinarily permitted in utility and design patent applications unless the photographs are the only practicable medium for illustrating the claimed invention. The use of shading may be used if it aids in understanding the invention and if it does not reduce legibility. Such shading is preferred in the case of parts shown in perspective, but NOT for cross sections. See MPEP § 608.02. In the instant case, legibility is reduced.
Claim Objections
9. Claim 1-21 are objected to because of the following informalities: The language ‘characterized in that’ is not consistent with current US practice, and it appears intended to recite, ‘wherein’. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
10. Claims 1-21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to Claim 1, see below;
“The system” in line 1 lacks antecedent basis, it appears the system is intended to state “a connection system”
The term “various structural members having different types of interconnection” in claim 1, lines 5-6 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “various structural members having different types of interconnection” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The language is being interpreted as structural members having interconnections.
The term “various connecting members adapted to the different types of interconnection” in claim 1, lines 6-7 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “various connecting members adapted to the different types of interconnection” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The language is being interpreted as connection members adapted for interconnection.
In regards to Claim 2, see below;
“The system” in line 1 lacks antecedent basis, it appears the system is intended to state “a connection system”
In regards to Claim 3, see below;
“The system” in line 1 lacks antecedent basis, it appears the system is intended to state “a connection system”
In regards to Claim 4, see below;
“The system” in line 1 lacks antecedent basis, it appears the system is intended to state “a connection system”
In regards to Claim 5, see below;
“The system” in line 1 lacks antecedent basis, it appears the system is intended to state “a connection system”
In regards to Claim 6, see below;
“The system” in line 1 lacks antecedent basis, it appears the system is intended to state “a connection system”
The term “Certain Length” in claim 6, lines 3-4 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “Certain Length” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The language is being interpreted as length.
In regards to Claim 7, see below;
“The system” in line 1 lacks antecedent basis, it appears the system is intended to state “a connection system”
In regards to Claim 8, see below;
“The system” in line 1 lacks antecedent basis, it appears the system is intended to state “a connection system”
In regards to Claim 9, see below;
“The system” in line 1 lacks antecedent basis, it appears the system is intended to state “a connection system”
“The shear key” in line 1 lacks antecedent basis, examiner has understood the term “shear key” has been defined as the raised portion (claim 7) within the specifications “ The connecting plate should have at least one opening and a shear key, named OS-Key (i.e., the raised portions having an opening shown in the figures”. The examiner has interpreted the term shear key and raised portion to be the same.
In regards to Claim 10, see below;
“The system” in line 1 lacks antecedent basis, it appears the system is intended to state “a connection system”
In regards to Claim 11, see below;
“The system” in line 1 lacks antecedent basis, it appears the system is intended to state “a connection system”
“the juxtaposed solid components” in lines 6 and 8 lacks antecedent basis, it appears the juxtaposed solid components is intended to state “the juxtaposed structural members”
In regards to Claim 12, see below;
“The system” in line 1 lacks antecedent basis, it appears the system is intended to state “a connection system”
“the juxtaposed solid components” in lines 12-13 lacks antecedent basis, it appears the juxtaposed solid components is intended to state “the juxtaposed structural members”
In regards to Claim 13, see below;
“The system” in line 1 lacks antecedent basis, it appears the system is intended to state “a connection system”
In regards to Claim 14, see below;
“The system” in line 1 lacks antecedent basis, it appears the system is intended to state “a connection system”
In regards to Claim 15, see below;
“The system” in line 1 lacks antecedent basis, it appears the system is intended to state “a connection system”
In regards to Claim 16, see below;
“The system” in line 1 lacks antecedent basis, it appears the system is intended to state “a connection system”
The term “plate-type” in claim 16, line 2 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “plate-type” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The language is being interpreted as plate member.
In regards to Claim 17, see below;
“The system” in line 1 lacks antecedent basis, it appears the system is intended to state “a connection system”
In regards to Claim 18, see below;
“The system” in line 1 lacks antecedent basis, it appears the system is intended to state “a connection system”
In regards to Claim 19, see below;
“The system” in line 1 lacks antecedent basis, it appears the system is intended to state “a connection system”
“the cubes” in line 2 lacks antecedent basis, it appears the system is intended to state “polygonal cubes”
The term “Certain angle” in claim 19 line 3 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “Certain angle” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The language is being interpreted as an 45 angel.
In regards to Claim 20, see below;
“The system” in line 1 lacks antecedent basis, it appears the system is intended to state “a connection system”
“the cubes” in line 2 lacks antecedent basis, it appears the system is intended to state “polygonal cubes”
In regards to Claim 21, see below;
“The system” in line 1 lacks antecedent basis, it appears the system is intended to state “a connection system”
The term “necessary for” in claim 21 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “necessary for” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The language is being interpreted as for.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
12. Claims 1-6, 8-9, 18 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as being clearly anticipated by Poh et al. (US 20210372115 A1)(Herein with Poh).
In regards to Claim 1, Poh a connection system [Abstract] for cubic structures [Figs 9A-D and 10A-D], characterized in that the system [Abstract] comprises structural members [Unnumbered, Figs 13] [Fig 13] and connecting members (11) [Fig 8C] , the structural members [Unnumbered, Figs 13] [Fig 13] are configured to interconnect [Fig 13] with another structural member [Unnumbered, Figs 13] [Fig 13] through the connecting members (11) [Fig 8C], the structural members [Unnumbered, Figs 13] [Fig 13] are provided with accommodating portions (4) [0126] for accommodating the connecting members (11) [Fig 8C], the structural members [Unnumbered, Figs 13] [Fig 13] include various structural members [Unnumbered, Figs 13] [Fig 13] having different types of interconnection, and the connecting members(11) [Fig 8C] include various connecting members (11) [Fig 13] adapted to the different types of interconnection (11) [Fig 8C] of the structural members [Unnumbered, Figs 13] [Fig 13] .
In regards to Claim 2, Poh discloses the system [Abstract] as claimed in claim 1, characterized in that the structural members [Unnumbered, Figs 13] [Fig 13] comprise hollow components [0130 and 0132] [Fig 13], each hollow component [0130 and 0132] [Fig 13] comprises a hollow tube [Fig 13] having two ends [0130, 0132] each provided with an end plate [0130, 0132] , each end plate [0130, 0132] is provided with an opening (214,215) (218,219) , a mouth of the hollow tube [Fig 13] is disposed at the opening of each end plate [0130, 0132].
In regards to Claim 3, Poh discloses the system [Abstract] as claimed in claim 2, characterizied in that the opening (214,215) (218,219) has a length [Fig. 9A-9D] which is greater than the width [Fig. 9A-9D, elliptical in shape] of the opening (214,215) (218,219).
In regards to Claim 4, Poh discloses the system [Abstract] as claimed in claim 2, characterized in that the hollow components [0130 and 0132] [Fig 13] are hollow linear components [0130 and 0132] [Fig 13] or hollow curve components.
In regards to Claim 5, Poh discloses the system [Abstract] as claimed in claim 4, characterized in that the connecting members (11) [8A-8C] comprise rigid strip-shaped connecting members (11) [8A-8C] or flexible strip-shaped connecting members , and the rigid strip-shaped connecting members (11) [8A-8C] or the flexible strip-shaped connecting members connect the hollow components [0130 and 0132] [Fig 13] that are stacked together [Figs 13 and 15] through the accommodating portions [Fig 13] (see examiners comments) accommodated in the hollow components [0130 and 0132] [Fig 13].
In regards to Claim 6, Poh discloses the system [Abstract] as claimed in claim 5, characterized in that the rigid strip-shaped connecting members (11) [8A-8C] comprise reinforcing bars (211) [Fig 8A], corresponding structural members [Unnumbered, Figs 13] [Fig 13] are interconnected by overlapping one reinforcing bar (211) with another reinforcing bar (211) [Fig 8A] for a certain length; or the corresponding structural members [Unnumbered, Figs 13] [Fig 13] are interconnected [Fig 13] by interconnecting one reinforcing bar (211) [Fig 8A] with another reinforcing bar (211) [Fig 8A] using a connector (210) [Figs 8A-C], wherein both ends of the reinforcing bars (211) [Fig 8A] are provided with threads (213) [Figs 8A-8C], and the connector (210) [Figs 8A-C] has a threaded socket (212) [Fig 8A] that matches the threads (213) [Fig 8A].
In regards to Claim 8, Poh discloses the system [Abstract] as claimed in claim 4, characterized in that the connecting members (11) [8A-8C] comprise a connecting plate (12) for connecting the hollow components [0130 and 0132] [Fig 13] that are juxtaposed [Fig 13], the connecting plate (12) is provided with raised portions (223) [Fig 11A] having an opening (224) , shape and arrangement of the raised portions (223) [Fig 11A] are adapted to the openings (214,215) (218,219) in the end plates [0130, 0132] of the hollow components [0130 and 0132] [Fig 13] to which the raised portions (223) [Fig 11A] are connected [Fig 13].
In regards to Claim 9, Poh discloses the system [Abstract] as claimed in claim 8, characterized in that an asymmetric shear key (223) (as interpreted in 112 rejections above) is provided on the connecting plate (12), when the hollow components [0130 and 0132] [Fig 13] are hollow linear components [0130 and 0132] [Fig 13], the connecting plate (12) is a straight connecting plate (12) [Fig 11A-D], and when the hollow components are hollow curve components, the connecting plate (12) is a curved connecting plate.
In regards to Claim 18, Poh discloses the system [Abstract] as claimed in claim 1, characterized in that the accommodating portions [Fig 13] (see examiners comments) are arranged at a center of the structural members [Unnumbered, Figs 13] [Fig 13] , or the accommodating portions [Fig 13] (see examiners comments) include a plurality of accommodating portions distributed at different locations of the structural members [Unnumbered, Figs 13] [Fig 13] .
In regards to Claim 20, Poh discloses the system [Abstract] as claimed in claim 1, characterized in that the structural members [Unnumbered, Figs 13] [Fig 13] comprise polygonal cubes (2,3) [0133] [Figs 14-15], and faces of the cubes (2,3) [0133] [Figs 14-15], comprise planar faces [Fig 14] or curved faces.
In regards to Claim 21, Poh discloses a connection [Figs 16A-H and 17, showing a connection for cubic structures] method for cubic structures [Figs 9A-D and 10A-D], characterized in that the method comprises [Figs 9A-D and 10A-D]: providing (1701) [Fig 16A-B] structural members [Figs 9A-9D, showing providing] and connecting members (11) [8A-8C] of the system [Abstract] according to claim 1 (see above) necessary for connection of the cubic structures [Figs 9A-D and 10A-D]; interconnecting (1703) [Fig 16A, showing the members interconnected] the structural members [Unnumbered, Figs 13] [Fig 13] by the connecting members (11) [8A-8C] to form a structural member assembly [Fig 16B] ; filling a gap [Fig 29, showing gap filled] at an interconnection [Fig 29] location of the structural member [Figs 9A-9D] assembly with grout [Fig 29] so that the structural member assembly [Figs 9A-9D] forms a secured single structure [29], thereby forming the cubic structures [Figs 9A-D and 10A-D] by connection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
14. Claim(s) 7, 11, 13, 16-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poh et al. (US 20210372115 A1)(Herein with Poh) in view of Wong Seng (EP 3263795 A1)(Herein with Wong).
In regards to Claim 7, Poh discloses the system [Abstract] as claimed in claim 6, the connector (210) [Figs 8A-C] the reinforcing bars (211) [Fig 8A] and a protruded portion [Fig 8A and 8C] is provided at a bottom of the connector (210) [Figs 8A-C]. However, fails to disclose the connector and the reinforcing bars are made of a same material, or the connector is made of a material stronger than a material of the reinforcing bars.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify connector of Poh to be made of a material equal or stronger to the reinforcing bars in order provide a more stable connector, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331.
In regards to Claim 11, Poh discloses the system [Abstract] as claimed in claim 1, characterized in that the structural members [Unnumbered, Figs 13] [Fig 13] comprise solid components (4) [Fig 13], each solid component (4) [Fig 13] comprises opposite first ["Upper", 0130-0131] and second ["Lower", 0130-0131] end faces [Figs 9-10] and a side face [0129 and 0131]connecting the first ["Upper", 0130-0131] and second ["Lower", 0130-0131] end faces [Figs 9-10], and juxtaposed [Fig 13] solid components (4) [Fig 13]. However, fails to disclose the side face is provided thereon with a plurality of grooves extending from the first end face to the second end face , a plurality of wire loops is arranged at intervals along each of the plurality of grooves , when juxtaposed with another solid component, the wire loops of the juxtaposed solid components overlap each other to form interconnecting channels for accommodating the connecting members interconnect the juxtaposed solid components
Furthermore, Wong discloses the side face [0129 and 0131, Poh] is provided thereon with a plurality of grooves (110,210, Wong) [Fig 4B] extending from the first ["Upper", 0130-0131 , Poh] end face [Figs 9-10, Poh] to the second ["Lower", 0130-0131, Poh] end face [Figs 9-10, Poh], a plurality of wire loops (105, 205) [Figs 12A and 14] is arranged at intervals [Fig 3A] along each of the plurality of grooves (110,210, Wong) [Fig 4B] , when juxtaposed [Fig 13, Poh] with another solid component (4, Poh) [Fig 13], the wire loops (105, 205) [Figs 12b and 14] of the juxtaposed [Fig 13, Poh] solid components (4, Poh) [Fig 13] overlap each other to form interconnecting channels [12A] for accommodating the connecting members (40) [Fig 4B] interconnect the juxtaposed [Fig 13, Poh]solid components (2,3, Poh) [Figs 14-15].
Based on the prior art relied upon above, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed by Poh to include a plurality of wire loops arranged at intervals along each of the plurality of grooves, wherein the wire loops of the juxtaposed solid components overlap each other to form interconnecting channels for accommodating the connecting members interconnect the juxtaposed solid components as disclosed by Wong. When modified, the side faces as disclosed by Poh would incorporate grooves wherein a plurality of wire loops are arranged at intervals, overlapping to create channels and furthermore, using a connecting member inside of the channels. When combined this creates an additional securing mechanism.
In regards to Claim 16, Poh discloses the system [Abstract] as claimed in claim 1, and the structural members [Unnumbered, Figs 13] [Fig 13] . However, fails to disclose the structural members comprise a plate-type member, and the plate-type member comprises a central plate , and two side plates perpendicularly connected to two ends of the central plate respectively at a central position of the two side plates , the central plate is provided therein with a plurality of rod- shaped members extending along a length direction and arranged at intervals along a height direction , each rod-shaped member is provided at intervals along the length direction with a plurality of protruded rods protruding toward a thickness direction on a same side of the central plate , and each of the plurality of protruded rods has a protruding length shorter than a length of the side plates in the thickness direction on the same side of the central plate.
Furthermore, Wong discloses a plate-type member [Fig 5], and the plate-type member comprises a central plate [Unnumbered, Fig 4A] (see examiners comments) , and two side plates (100,200) [Fig 4A] perpendicularly connected [Fig 4A] to two ends of the central plate [Unnumbered, Fig 4A] (see examiners comments) respectively at a central position of the two side plates (100,200) [Fig 4A], the central plate [Unnumbered, Fig 4A] (see examiners comments)is provided therein with a plurality of rod- shaped members (125,135) [Figs 9 and 10] extending along a length direction [Fig 9] and arranged at intervals along a height direction [Fig 9], each rod-shaped member (125,135) [Figs 9 and 10] is provided at intervals [Fig 9] along the length direction [Fig 9] with a plurality of protruded rods [Figs 9 and 10] protruding toward a thickness direction on a same side of the central plate [Unnumbered, Fig 4A] (see examiners comments) , and each of the plurality of protruded rods (125,135) [Figs 9 and 10] has a protruding length shorter [Fig 9] than a length of the side plates (100,200) [Fig 4A] in the thickness direction on the same side of the central plate [Unnumbered, Fig 4A] (see examiners comments).
Based on the prior art relied upon above, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed by Poh to a plate-type member comprises a central plate, and two side plates perpendicularly connected to two ends of the central plate respectively at a central position of the two side plates], the central is provided therein with a plurality of rod- shaped members extending along a length direction and arranged at intervals along a height direction, each rod-shaped member is provided at intervals along the length direction with a plurality of protruded rods protruding toward a thickness direction on a same side of the central plate, and each of the plurality of protruded rods has a protruding length shorter than a length of the side plates in the thickness direction on the same side of the central plate as disclosed by Wong. When modified, the structural components would be installed at the openings as shown in [Wong, Fig 5C]. It would be obvious to create frame members as intended to improve strength and rigidity of the system.
In regards to Claim 17, Poh discloses the system [Abstract] as claimed in claim 16, and the connecting members (11) [8A-8C], however fails to disclose where the connecting members comprise a connecting frame formed by connecting horizontal rod members and vertical rod members that are distributed in a staggered manner .
Furthermore, Wong discloses the connecting members (40) comprise a connecting frame [Fig 5C] formed by connecting horizontal rod members (135) and vertical rod (125) members that are distributed in a staggered manner [Fig 9].
In regards to Claim 19, Poh discloses the system [Abstract] as claimed in claim 1, characterized in that the structural members [Unnumbered, Figs 13] [Fig 13] comprise polygonal cubes (2,3) [0133] [Figs 14-15]. However, fails to disclose the cubes each comprising an inclining face that is inclined at a certain angle to an adjacent face.
However, it would have been obvious as a matter of choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify cubes of Poh to have an inclining face at a certain angle to an adjacent face for singular structural member connection as intended, since it has been held that matters relating to ornamentation only which have no mechanical function cannot be relied upon to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. MPEP 2144.04 (I)
16. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poh et al. (US 20210372115 A1)(Herein with Poh) in view of James Murray Parks (WO 2016094936 A1)(Herein with Murray)
In regards to Claim 10, Poh discloses the system [Abstract] as claimed in claim 1, characterized in that the structural members [Unnumbered, Figs 13] [Fig 13] comprise solid components (4) [Fig 13], each solid component (4) [Fig 13] comprises opposite first ["Upper", 0130-0131] and second ["Lower", 0130-0131] end faces [Figs 9-10]; structural members [Unnumbered, Figs 13] [Fig 13] that are stacked [Figs 14-15] and interconnected [Fig 13] with the solid component (4) [Fig 13]. However, fails to disclose the first end face is provided with a male connecting portion, the second end face is provided with a female connecting portion, and the male connecting portion and the female connecting portion are configured to respectively connect to a female connecting portion and a male connecting portion of other structural members.
Furthermore, Murray discloses the first end face ["Upper", 0130-0131, Poh] is provided with a male (547) [Fig 7B] connecting portion, the second end face ["Lower", 0130-0131, Poh] is provided with a female (584) [7B] connecting portion, and the male (547) [Fig 7B] connecting portion and the female connecting portion (584) [7B] are configured to respectively connect to a female connecting portion (584) [7B] and a male (547) [Fig 7B] connecting portion of other structural members (3, Poh) [Figs 9A-9D]
Based on the prior art relied upon above, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection system for cubic structures disclosed by Poh to include a male and female connecting portion and the male connecting portion and the female connecting portion are configured to respectively connect to a female connecting portion and a male connecting portion of other structural members as disclosed by Murray.
When modified, the first and second end face of the solid components would include male and female connection portions surround the edge of the faces further providing a securing mechanism to the two stacked solid components.
17. Claims 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poh et al. (US 20210372115 A1)(Herein with Poh) in view of Wong Seng (EP 3263795 A1)(Herein with Wong) and James Murray Parks (WO 2016094936 A1)(Herein with Murray)
In regards to Claim 12, Poh discloses the system [Abstract] as claimed in claim 1, characterized in that the structural members (3) [Figs 9A-9D] comprise solid components (2,3) [Figs 14-15], each solid component (2,3) [Figs 14-15] comprises opposite first ["Upper", 0130-0131] and second ["Lower", 0130-0131]end faces [Figs 9-10] and a side face [0129 and 0131] connecting the first ["Upper", 0130-0131]and second ["Lower", 0130-0131] end faces.
However, fails to disclose the first end face is provided with a male connecting portion , the second end face is provided with a female connecting portion , the male connecting portion and the female connecting portion are configured to respectively connect to a female connecting portion and a male connecting portion of other structural members stacked and interconnected with the solid component ; the side face is provided thereon with a plurality of grooves extending from the first end face to the second end face, a plurality of wire loops is arranged at intervals along each of the plurality of grooves, when juxtaposed with another solid component, the wire loops of the juxtaposed solid components overlap each other to form interconnecting channels for accommodating the connecting members that interconnect the juxtaposed solid components.
Furthermore, Murray discloses the first ["Lower", 0130-0131, Poh] end face [Figs 9-10, Poh] is provided with a male connecting portion (547) [Fig 7B], the second ["Lower", 0130-0131, Poh] end face [Figs 9-10, Poh] is provided with a female connecting portion (584) [7B] , the male connecting portion (547) [Fig 7B] and the female connecting portion (584) [7B] are configured to respectively connect to a female connecting portion (584) [7B] and a male connecting portion (547) [Fig 7B] of other structural members (3) [Figs 9A-9D, Poh] stacked [Figs 14-15, Poh] and interconnected with the solid component (4, Poh) [Figs 14-15];
Based on the prior art relied upon above, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed by Poh to include a male connecting portion, the second end face is provided with a female connecting portion, the male connecting portion and the female connecting portion are configured to respectively connect to a female connecting portion and a male connecting portion as disclosed by Murray. When modified, the first and second end face of the solid components would include male and female connection portions surround the edge of the faces further providing a securing mechanism and further facilitate alignment to the two stacked solid components
Furthermore, Wong discloses he side face is provided thereon with a plurality of grooves (110,210, Wong) [Fig 4B]extending from the first ["Upper", 0130-0131, Poh] end face [Figs 9-10] to the second ["Lower", 0130-0131, Poh] end face [Figs 9-10, Poh], a plurality of wire loops (205) [Figs 12b and 14] is arranged at intervals [Fig 3A] along each of the plurality of grooves (110,210, Wong) [Fig 4B], when juxtaposed [Fig 13] with another solid component (4, Poh) [Figs 14-15, Poh], the wire loops (205) [Figs 12b and 14] of the juxtaposed [Fig 13, Poh] solid components (4, Poh) [Figs 14-15] overlap each other to form interconnecting channels (25) [Fig 12A] for accommodating the connecting members (40) that interconnect the juxtaposed [Fig 13, Poh] solid components (4, Poh) [Figs 14-15].
Based on the prior art relied upon above, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed by Poh a plurality of grooves, a plurality of wire loops arranged at intervals along each of the plurality of grooves, the wire loops of the juxtaposed solid components overlap each other to form interconnecting channels for accommodating the connecting members that interconnect the juxtaposed solid components as disclosed by Wong. When modified, the side faces as disclosed by Poh would incorporate grooves wherein a plurality of wire loops are arranged at intervals, overlapping to create channels and furthermore, using a connecting member inside of the channels. When combined this creates an additional securing mechanism.
In regards to Claim 13, Poh discloses the system [Abstract] as claimed in claim 12 , characterized in that the solid components (4) [Fig 13] that are juxtaposed [Fig 13] against each other. However, fails to explicitly disclose that the solid components that are juxtaposed against each other have a same thickness.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify solid components of Poh to have same thickness in order to create a symmetrical juxtaposed system. In general, a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
In regards to Claim 14, Poh discloses the system [Abstract] as claimed in claim 12, characterized in that the solid components (4) [Fig 13] that are juxtaposed [Fig 13] against each other comprise a primary solid (4) [Fig 13] component and a secondary solid component (4) [Fig 13]. However, fails to disclose the primary solid component being thicker than the secondary solid component.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify solid components of Poh to have asymmetrical thicknesses in order to create an overlapping juxtaposed system. In general, a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
In regards to Claim 15, Poh discloses the system [Abstract] as claimed in claim 1, characterized in that the structural members [Unnumbered, Fig 13] (see examiners comments) comprise solid components (4) [Fig 13] , the solid components (4) [Fig 13] that are juxtaposed [Fig 13] against each other comprise a primary solid component (4) [Fig 13] and a secondary solid component (4) [Fig 13], the primary solid component (4) [Fig 13] comprises opposite first ["Upper", 0130-0131] and second ["Lower", 0130-0131] end faces [Figs 9-10] and a side face [0129 and 0131] connecting the first ["Upper", 0130-0131] and second ["Lower", 0130-0131] end faces [Figs 9-10] ,
Does not disclose the primary solid component being thicker than the secondary solid component; the first end face is provided with a male connecting portion , the second end face is provided with a female connecting portion, and the male connecting portion and the female connecting portion are configured to respectively connect to a female connecting portion and a male connecting portion of other structural members stacked and interconnected with the solid component, the side face is provided thereon with a plurality of grooves extending from the first end face to the second end face, a plurality of wire loops is arranged at intervals along each of the plurality of grooves ; the secondary solid component comprises opposite first and second end faces and a side face connecting the first and second end faces, the side face is provided with a plurality of grooves extending from the first end face to the second end face, a plurality of wire loops is arranged at intervals along each of the plurality of grooves ; when the primary solid component and the secondary solid component re juxtaposed , the wire loops of the primary and secondary solid components overlap each other to form interconnecting channels for accommodating the connecting members that interconnect the primary solid component and the secondary solid component.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify solid components of Poh to have asymmetrical thicknesses in order to create an overlapping juxtaposed system. In general, a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Furthermore, Wong discloses the side face [0129 and 0131, Poh] is provided thereon with a plurality of grooves (110,210) [Fig 4B] extending from the first ["Upper", 0130-0131, Poh] end face [Figs 9-10, Poh] to the second ["Lower", 0130-0131, Poh] end face [Figs 9-10, Poh], a plurality of wire loops (205) [Figs 12b and 14] is arranged at intervals along each of the plurality of grooves (110,210) [Fig 4B]; the secondary solid component (4, Poh) [Fig 13] comprises opposite first ["Upper", 0130-0131, Poh] and second ["Lower", 0130-0131, Poh] end faces [Figs 9-10, Poh] and a side face [0129 and 0131, Poh] connecting the first ["Upper", 0130-0131, Poh] and second ["Lower", 0130-0131, Poh] end faces [Figs 9-10, Poh], the side face [0129 and 0131, Poh] is provided with a plurality of grooves (110,210) [Fig 4B] extending from the first ["Upper", 0130-0131, Poh] end face [Figs 9-10, Poh] to the second end face ["Lower", 0130-0131, Poh], a plurality of wire loops (205) [Figs 12b and 14] is arranged at intervals [Fig 3A] along each of the plurality of grooves (110,210) [Fig 4B] ; when the primary solid component (4, Poh) [Fig 13] and the secondary solid component (4, Poh) [Fig 13]are juxtaposed [Fig 13, Poh], the wire loops (205) [Figs 12b and 14] of the primary (4, Poh) [Fig 13] and secondary solid components (4, Poh) [Fig 13] overlap each other to form interconnecting channels (25, Wong) for accommodating the connecting members (40) that interconnect the primary solid component (4, Poh) [Fig 13] and the secondary solid component (4, Poh) [Fig 13].
Based on the prior art relied upon above, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed by Poh a plurality of grooves, a plurality of wire loops arranged at intervals along each of the plurality of grooves, the wire loops of the juxtaposed solid components overlap each other to form interconnecting channels for accommodating the connecting members that interconnect the juxtaposed solid components as disclosed by Wong. When modified, the side faces as disclosed by Poh would incorporate grooves wherein a plurality of wire loops are arranged at intervals, overlapping to create channels and furthermore, using a connecting member inside of the channels. When combined this creates an additional securing mechanism.
Furthermore, Murray discloses the first ["Upper", 0130-0131, Poh] end face [Figs 9-10, Poh] is provided with a male connecting portion (547) [Fig 7B] , the second ["Lower", 0130-0131, Poh] end face [Figs 9-10, Poh] is provided with a female connecting portion (584) [7B], and the male connecting portion (547) [Fig 7B] and the female connecting portion (584) [7B] are configured to respectively connect to a female connecting portion (584) [7B] and a male connecting portion (547) [Fig 7B] of other structural members [Unnumbered, Fig 13, Poh] (see examiners comments) stacked [Figs 14 to 15, Poh] and interconnected with the solid component (4, Poh) [Fig 13],
Based on the prior art relied upon above, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed by Poh to include a male connecting portion, the second end face is provided with a female connecting portion, the male connecting portion and the female connecting portion are configured to respectively connect to a female connecting portion and a male connecting portion as disclosed by Murray. When modified, the first and second end face of the solid components would include male and female connection portions surround the edge of the faces further providing a securing mechanism and further facilitate alignment to the two stacked solid components
Examiners Comments
Poh, Figure 13
Wong, Figure 4A
Conclusion
18. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. See PTO 892.
/Z.K.A./Examiner, Art Unit 3635
/KYLE J. WALRAED-SULLIVAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635