DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
2. Claims 1-5, 7-9, 16-21 as filed on 05/26/2026 are pending and herewith considered as indicated below.
Drawings
4. Figs. 1A-1D, 2I-2M, 3G, 4C, 8E are objected to because they including photographs and/or shading. Photographs, including photocopies of photographs, are not ordinarily permitted in utility and design patent applications unless the photographs are the only practicable medium for illustrating the claimed invention. The use of shading may be used if it aids in understanding the invention and if it does not reduce legibility. Such shading is preferred in the case of parts shown in perspective, but NOT for cross sections. See MPEP § 608.02. In the instant case, legibility is reduced.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-4, 6-9, 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poh et al. (US20210372115)(Herein Poh) in view of Bravinksi (US 6898912 B2)
In regards to Claim 1, Poh discloses a connection system [Abstract] for cubic structures [Figs 9A-D and 10A-D], wherein the connection system [Abstract] comprises a plurality of structural members [Unnumbered, Figs 13] [Fig 13] and a plurality of connecting members (11) [Fig 8C] , the structural members [Unnumbered, Figs 13] [Fig 13] are configured to interconnect [Fig 13] with another structural member [Unnumbered, Figs 13] [Fig 13] through the connecting members (11) [Fig 8C], the structural members [Unnumbered, Figs 13] [Fig 13] are provided with accommodating portions (4) [0126] for accommodating the connecting members (11) [Fig 8C],
wherein the structural members [Unnumbered, Figs 13] [Fig 13] comprise hollow components [0130 and 0132] [Fig 13], each hollow component [0130 and 0132] [Fig 13] comprising a hollow tube [Fig 13] and end plates [0130, 0132] provided at ends of the hollow tube [Fig 13], each end plate [0130, 0132] having an opening (214,215) (218,219);
wherein the connecting members (11) [8A-8C] comprise at least one connecting plate (12) [Fig 11A] provided with an upper raised portion (223) [Fig 11A] and a lower raised portion (223) [Fig 11A] disposed on opposite sides thereof [As shown in Fig 11A], the upper and lower raised portions (223) [Fig 11A] being configured to be received [0136 “The interlocking plate 12 further includes guide projections 223 machined with engineering tolerance to be seated or fitted precisely within openings 215 and 219”] within the openings (214,215) (218,219) of the end plates [0130, 0132] of adjacent hollow components [0130 and 0132] [Fig 13], wherein a through-hole (224) [Fig 11A] extends through the upper raised portion (223) [Fig 11A], the connecting plate (12) [Fig 11A], and the lower raised portion (223) [Fig 11A];
wherein the connecting members (11) [8A-8C] further comprise a plurality of reinforcing bars (211) [Fig 8A], each reinforcing bar (211) [Fig 8A] comprising an upper end [8C, Upper end] provided with a connector (210) [Figs 8A-C] having a threaded socket (212) [Fig 8C] and a lower end [Fig 8C, Bottom] provided with external threads (213) [Fig 8C], wherein the connector (210) [Figs 8A-C] is configured to fit [Fig 13 and 0136 “The interlocking plate openings 224 are suitably dimensioned to allow penetration of the internally threaded socket head 210.”] into the through-hole (224) [Fig 11A], and the threaded socket (212) [Fig 8C] of the connector (210) [Figs 8A-C] is configured to threadably engage [As shown in Fig 13 and 0135 “a socket dimension adapted to threadably engage with a tail of another similar connection rod 11”] and external threads (213) [Fig 8C] of an adjacent reinforcing bar (211) [Fig 8c];
However, fails to disclose
wherein an annular protruded portion is provided at a bottom of the connector, an upper surface of the annular protruded portion abuts against a lower surface of the lower raised portion; and
wherein an outer diameter of the annular protruded portion is larger than a diameter of the through-hole.
Furthermore, Bravinski discloses
wherein an annular protruded portion (927) [Fig 4B] is provided at a bottom [As shown in Fig 4B] of the connector (210, Poh) [Figs 8A-C], an upper surface [Upper surface of (927) [Fig 4B]] of the annular protruded portion (927) [Fig 4B] abuts [Figs 5A-5B, Showing Abutting] against a lower surface [Lower surface of (223) [Fig 11A], Poh] of the lower raised portion (223, Poh) [Fig 11A];
Based on the prior art relied upon above, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection system by Poh to further include an annular protruded portion as disclosed by Bravinski. When modified, the annular protruded portion allows for structural stability by connecting both rods and stabilizing the rods prior to the concrete. Additionally, allowing for load distribution and ease of manufacturing.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify lower surface of the lower raised portion of Poh to be smaller than the annular protrusion portion (of Bravinski) in order to facilitate alignment. When modified, the annular protrusion portion allows for alignment and connectivity between the rods. In general, a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
In regards to Claim 2, Poh discloses the connection system [Abstract] as claimed in claim 1, wherein a mouth of the hollow tube [Fig 13] is disposed at the opening of each end plate [0130, 0132].
In regards to Claim 3, Poh discloses the connection system [Abstract] as claimed in claim 1, wherein the opening (214,215) (218,219) has a length [Fig. 9A-9D] which is greater than the width [Fig. 9A-9D, elliptical in shape] of the opening (214,215) (218,219).
In regards to Claim 4, Poh discloses the connection system [Abstract] as claimed in claim 1, wherein the hollow components [0130 and 0132] [Fig 13] are hollow linear components [0130 and 0132] [Fig 13] or hollow curve components.
In regards to Claim 7, Poh discloses the connection system [Abstract] as claimed in claim 1, wherein the connector (210) [Figs 8A-C] the reinforcing bars (211) [Fig 8A]. However, fails to disclose the connector and the reinforcing bars are made of a same material, or the connector is made of a material stronger than a material of the reinforcing bars.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify connector of Poh to be made of a material equal or stronger to the reinforcing bars in order provide a more stable connector, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331.
In regards to Claim 8, Poh discloses the connection system [Abstract] as claimed in claim 1, wherein shape and arrangement of the upper and lower raised portions (223) [Fig 11A] are adapted [0136 “The interlocking plate 12 further includes guide projections 223 machined with engineering tolerance to be seated or fitted precisely within openings 215 and 219 of the castings shown in FIGS. 9A to 9D and 10A to 10D.”] to the openings (214,215) (218,219) in the end plates [0130, 0132] of the hollow components [0130 and 0132] [Fig 13] to which the upper and lower raised portions (223) [Fig 11A] are connected [Fig 13].
In regards to Claim 9, Poh discloses the connection system [Abstract] as claimed in claim 1, wherein the upper and lower raised portions (223) [Fig 11A] define an asymmetric shear key (223) provided on the connecting plate (12). when the hollow components [0130 and 0132] [Fig 13] are hollow linear components [0130 and 0132] [Fig 13], the connecting plate (12) is a straight connecting plate (12) [Fig 11A-D], and when the hollow components are hollow curve components, the connecting plate (12) is a curved connecting plate.
However, fails to disclose
wherein the upper raised portion is oriented perpendicularly to the lower raised portion;
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify upper or lower raised portion of Poh to be perpendicular to the opposite upper or lower raised portion in order to facilitate alignment. When modified, the perpendicular orientation allows for maximizing load transfer, reducing stress concentrations and improve structural stability. It has been held that rearrangement of parts is considered within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019.
Additionally, the language “when” is language that suggests or makes optional the subsequent limitation or limitations. Language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed or does not limit a claim to a particular structure does not limit the scope of a claim or claim limitation. See § MPEP 2103 (C).
In regards to Claim 18, Poh discloses the connection system [Abstract] as claimed in claim 1, wherein the accommodating portions [Fig 13] (see examiners comments) are arranged at a center of the structural members [Unnumbered, Figs 13] [Fig 13] , or the accommodating portions [Fig 13] (see examiners comments) include a plurality of accommodating portions [As shown in Fig 13, top and bottom] distributed at different locations of the structural members [Unnumbered, Figs 13] [Fig 13] .
In regards to Claim 19, Poh discloses the connection system [Abstract] as claimed in claim 1, wherein the structural members [Unnumbered, Figs 13] [Fig 13] comprise polygonal cubes (2,3) [0133] [Figs 14-15]. However, fails to disclose the polygonal cubes each comprising an inclining face that is inclined at a right angle or an oblique angle to an adjacent face.
However, it would have been obvious as a matter of choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the polygonal cubes of Poh to have an inclining face at a right angle or an oblique angle to an adjacent face for singular structural member connection as intended, since it has been held that matters relating to ornamentation only which have no mechanical function cannot be relied upon to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. MPEP 2144.04 (I)
In regards to Claim 20, Poh discloses the connection system [Abstract] as claimed in claim 1, wherein the structural members [Unnumbered, Figs 13] [Fig 13] comprise polygonal cubes (2,3) [0133] [Figs 14-15], and faces of the polygonal cubes (2,3) [0133] [Figs 14-15], comprise planar faces [Fig 14] or curved faces.
In regards to Claim 21, Poh discloses a connection [Figs 16A-H and 17, showing a connection for cubic structures] method for cubic structures [Figs 9A-D and 10A-D], wherein the method comprises [Figs 9A-D and 10A-D]:
providing (1701) [Fig 16A-B] the structural members [Figs 9A-9D, showing providing] and the connecting members (11) [8A-8C] of the connection system [Abstract] according to claim 1 (see above) for connection of the cubic structures [Figs 9A-D and 10A-D];
interconnecting (1703) [Fig 16A, showing the members interconnected] the structural members [Unnumbered, Figs 13] [Fig 13] by the connecting members (11) [8A-8C] to form a structural member assembly [Fig 16B];
filling a gap [Fig 29, showing gap filled] at an interconnection [Fig 29] location of the structural member [Figs 9A-9D] assembly with grout [Fig 29] so that the structural member assembly [Figs 9A-9D] forms a secured single structure [29], thereby forming the cubic structures [Figs 9A-D and 10A-D] by connection.
8. Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poh et al. (US 20210372115 A1)(Herein with Poh) in view of Bravinksi (US 6898912 B2) and Wong Seng (EP 3263795 A1)(Herein with Wong).
In regards to Claim 16, Poh discloses the connection system [Abstract] as claimed in claim 1, wherein the structural members [Unnumbered, Figs 13] [Fig 13] .
However, fails to disclose the structural members comprise a plate member, and the plate member comprises a central plate , and two side plates perpendicularly connected to two ends of the central plate respectively at a central position of the two side plates , the central plate is provided therein with a plurality of rod- shaped members extending along a length direction and arranged at intervals along a height direction , each rod-shaped member is provided at intervals along the length direction with a plurality of protruded rods protruding toward a thickness direction on a same side of the central plate , and each of the plurality of protruded rods has a protruding length shorter than a length of the side plates in the thickness direction on the same side of the central plate.
Furthermore, Wong discloses a plate member [Fig 5], and the plate member comprises a central plate [Unnumbered, Fig 4A] (see examiners comments) , and two side plates (100,200) [Fig 4A] perpendicularly connected [Fig 4A] to two ends of the central plate [Unnumbered, Fig 4A] (see examiners comments) respectively at a central position of the two side plates (100,200) [Fig 4A],
Based on the prior art relied upon above, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed by Poh to a plate-type member comprises a central plate, and two side plates perpendicularly connected to two ends of the central plate respectively at a central position of the two side plates. When modified, the central plate is intended to be a load bearing wall (i.e., shear wall) as disclosed by Wong [ (Page 7/40 of translated document) “Each composite wall 55 may be a shear wall of the building structure”.]
Furthermore, Bravinski discloses, the central plate [Unnumbered, Fig 4A, Wong] (see examiners comments) is provided therein with a plurality of rod- shaped members (16,17) [Figs 1-2] extending along a length direction [Col 11, Line 51 “longitudinally oriented wire rods 16 and 17”] and arranged at intervals along a height direction [Figs 1-2], each rod-shaped member (16,17) [Figs 1-2] is provided at intervals [Figs 1-2] along the length direction [Col 11, Line 51 “longitudinally oriented wire rods 16 and 17”] with a plurality of protruded rods (18, 19) [Fig 1-2] protruding toward a thickness direction [Col 11, Line 52-53 “transversely oriented wire rods 18 and 19.”] on a same side of the central plate [Unnumbered, Fig 4A, Wong] (see examiners comments),
Based on the prior art relied upon above, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection system by Poh to further include a plurality of rod-shaped members and a plurality of protruded rods as disclosed by Bravinski. When modified, the plurality of rods allows for increase strength and connection within the concrete, as is intended use in the field. Additionally, in order to maximize life expectant of concrete, rod (rebar) is typically placed as it is known to provide tensile strength (as concrete is only strong in compression when used alone) and preventing cracking.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify plurality of protruded rods of Bravinski to have a protruding length shorter than a length of the side plates in the thickness direction on the same side of the central plate in order to facilitate strength within the middle region. When modified, this change in size allows for facilitating alignment between the central plate and panels of Wong. In general, a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
In regards to Claim 17, Poh discloses the connection system [Abstract] as claimed in claim 16, and the connecting members (11) [8A-8C], however fails to disclose where the connecting members comprise a connecting frame formed by connecting horizontal rod members and vertical rod members that are distributed in a staggered manner .
Furthermore, Wong discloses the connecting members (40) comprise a connecting frame [Fig 5C] formed by connecting horizontal rod members (135) and vertical rod (125) members that are distributed in a staggered manner [Fig 9].
9. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poh et al. (US202110372115)(Herein Poh) in view of Bravinski (US 6898912 B2) and Larin et al. (US 20190112832 A1)(Herein Larin)
In regards to Claim 5, Poh discloses the connection system [Abstract] as claimed in claim 1,
However fails to disclose wherein the connecting members (11) [8A-8C] flexible strip-shaped connecting members, and the flexible strip-shaped connecting members connect the hollow components [0130 and 0132] [Fig 13] that are stacked together [Figs 13 and 15] through the accommodating portions [Fig 13] (see examiners comments) accommodated in the hollow components [0130 and 0132] [Fig 13].
Furthermore, Larin discloses
wherein the connecting members (11, Poh) [8A-8C] flexible strip-shaped connecting members [0235, “ flexible rods (members of the second type) (45)”, Fig 14], and the flexible strip-shaped connecting members [0235, “ flexible rods (members of the second type) (45)”, Figure 14] connect the hollow components [0130 and 0132, Poh] [Fig 13] that are stacked together [Figs 13 and 15, Poh] through the accommodating portions [Fig 13, Poh] (see examiners comments) accommodated in the hollow components [0130 and 0132, Poh] [Fig 13].
Based on the prior art relied upon above, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection system by Poh to further include flexible strip-shaped connecting members as disclosed by Larin. When modified, the flexible strip-shaped connecting members allows for facilitating alignment and providing the necessary shape and body to the connection system [see Larin para 0248, “The flexible rods (members of the second type) (45) in fibreglass provide shape and body to the canvas (41)”]
Examiners Comments
Poh, Figure 13
Wong, Figure 4A
Response to Arguments
10. Objections to the Claims: Applicant' s argument with respect to the claim objections is persuasive and objection to the claims is hereby withdrawn.
11. Objections to the Drawings: Applicant' s argument with respect to the drawings is partially persuasive and objection to the drawings is hereby maintained.
In regards to drawing objections, applicant discloses Figures 2D and 6E is currently amended and revised to clearly show claimed elements. However, the objection to the shaded drawings were not corrected and is hereby maintained.
12. Claim Rejections 35 USC 112: Applicant' s argument with respect to the claims rejected under 35 USC 112 is persuasive and rejection of the claims pursuant to 35 USC 112 is hereby withdrawn.
13. Claim Rejections 35 USC 102: Applicant' s arguments with respect to all claims have been considered but are not persuasive.
In regards to 102 rejection (now 103 rejection, as disclosed in the above):
Applicant recites: Poh as relied upon does not disclose the following limitations are combined or arranged. Claim 5 discloses “flexible strip-shaped connecting members”, applicant recites Poh does not disclose or teach in the entire specification that the strip-shaped connecting members (11) are flexible.
Applicant recites: Poh does not disclose or teach that the upper raised portion is orientated perpendicularly to the lower raised portion as claimed in amended claim 9.
Examiners Response: In regards to Claim 5, Applicant has amended the claim from “the connecting members comprise rigid strip shaped connecting members or flexible strip-shaped connecting member” to now recite “wherein the connecting members comprise US202110372115) and is now relied upon by Larin et al. (US20190112832A1) as recited in the above.
In regards to Claim 9, the amended limitation “wherein the upper raised portion is oriented perpendicularly to the lower raised portion” is still relied upon by Poh, however has necessitated case law. As in the above, it has been held that rearrangement of parts is considered within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In reJapikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.);
Additionally, the principal operation of the upper/lower raised portion would not be affected by the rotation of the upper/lower raised portion. The principal operation of the upper or lower raised portion (as disclosed by Poh in paragraph 0144] is functionally used for “Socket head of a connecting rod engaged with the lower-level module is fitted within the interlocking plate opening 224 and guide projections 223 to prevent movement of the socket head including horizontal movement”.]
14. Claim Rejections 35 USC 103: Applicant' s arguments with respect to all claims have been considered but are not persuasive.
In regard to Claim 1, Applicant recites: Poh and Wong does not disclose the limitation of "annular protruded portion provided at bottom of connector".
Additionally, applicant further recites amended claim 1 recites “an outer diameter of the annular protruded portion is larger than diameter of the through-hole” which is not taught or disclosed by either Poh or Wong.
Examiners Response: The additional limitation in amended claim 1 reciting “wherein an annular protruded portion is provided at a bottom of the connector, an upper surface of the annular protruded portion abuts against a lower surface of the lower raised portion; and wherein an outer diameter of the annular protruded portion is larger than a diameter of the through-hole.” has necessitated new grounds of rejection. Furthermore, Poh or Wong were not solely or in combination relied upon to disclose an annular protruded portion, Bravinski (US 6898912 B2) is relied upon to disclose the annular protruded portion.
In regard to original Claim 16, Applicant recites: Poh or Wong do not disclose or suggest the following limitations.
Limitation 1: “the plate type member comprises a central plate”
Limitation 2: “two side plates perpendicularly connected to two ends of the central plate”
Limitation 3: "each rod-shaped member is provided at intervals along the length direction with a plurality of protruded rods protruding toward a thickness direction on a same side of the central plate, each of the plurality of protruded rods has a protruding length shorter than a length of the side plates in the thickness direction on the same side of the central plate".
Examiners Response: In regards to the first limitation, as disclosed by Wong (page 6/40 of translated document) “The gap 30 between the wall panels 100, 200 is subsequently in-filled with concrete or grout and cured to form a composite structural wall 55.”. To a person of ordinary skill in the art, a composite structural wall (55, Wong) is load bearing. Additionally, as disclosed by Wong (Page 7/40 of translated document) “Each composite wall 55 may be a shear wall of the building structure”. Taking into account the shear wall/composite structural wall is load bearing necessitates that gap (30) [to be filled with concrete and turning into (50)] is considered to be a central plate.
Additionally, each wall panel (100,200) comprises of a side wall (edges of (100,200)) as
disclosed in figures 3-4 and more clearly in figure 4B (showing one end of panels 100, 200) which are perpendicularly connected to the central plate (once constructed).
Furthermore, connected in plain meaning as based from Merriam Webster is “to become joined”. As disclosed by Wong (page 6/40 of translated document) “The embodiments of the present invention provide a mechanism to connect or join two (or a pair of) adjacently-arranged wall panels 100, 200 together” which includes the step of “The two wall panels 100, 200 are held in position, by the linking rod 40 coupling the guides 105, 205, while the grout is dispensed and cured. This makes it easier for the composite wall 55 to be constructed in a faster and more efficient manner.”
Lastly, Wong is no longer relied upon for disclosing “Claim 16 recites "each rod-shaped member is provided at intervals along the length direction with a plurality of protruded rods protruding toward a thickness direction on a same side of the central plate, each of the plurality of protruded rods has a protruding length shorter than a length of the side plates in the thickness direction on the same side of the central plate" due to the amendment in independent claim 1. Furthermore, Bravinski (US 6898912 B2) is now relied upon for disclosing this limitation. See 103-rejection above.
In regards to Claim 17, Applicant recites: Poh or Wong do not disclose the following limitation "the connecting members comprise a connecting frame formed by connecting horizontal rod members and vertical rod members that are distributed in a staggered manner". Applicant further recites connecting member 40 are all vertical connecting members. Wong does not disclose or teach that the connecting members (40) include a connecting frame that is formed by horizontal rod members.
Examiner Response: As recited in the above, a connecting frame [Fig 5C] formed by connecting horizontal rod members (135) and vertical rod (125) members that are distributed in a staggered manner [Fig 9].
Additionally, applicant is arguing one element originally recite in the non-final (element 40) of Wong, which is incorrect. Whereas both in the non-final and final both refer to the horizontal rod members (135) vertical rod members (125) and connecting frame [Fig 5C]
Conclusion
15. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Z.K.A./Examiner, Art Unit 3635
/KYLE J. WALRAED-SULLIVAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635