DETAILED ACTION
This communication is response to the application filed 01/23/2024. Claims 1-18, 34, and 35 are pending and presented for examination. A preliminary amendment submitted on 01/23/2024 is acknowledged and entered.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/23/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-18 are objected to because of the following informalities: “A method” recited in the claims should be changed to “The method” since they depend(s) on a previous claim. “U2N” and “U2N” recited in claim 2 should be written in full at the first occurrence. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-10, 13-16, 34, and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2016/164808 A1 to Interdigital Patent Holdings (hereafter Interdigital), see IDS dated 01/23/2024.
Regarding claim 1, Interdigital discloses a method of operating a communications device (see Interdigital, Figure 7, “Remote WTRU” 718), the method comprising
detecting, by the communications device, an indication of a relay service which can be provided by a communications node (see Interdigital, Figure 7, Mobile Relay WTRU 702 and 720) acting as a relay (see Interdigital, Fig 7, steps 704 and 706; ¶ 0069: the WTRU may act as a mobile relay, for example to extend network coverage; ¶ 0097: The mobile relay announcements may include an indication of services provided by or supported by the mobile relay WTRUs. For example, the mobile relay announcements may include an indication that the mobile relays WTRUs support one or more services requested by the remote WTRU 718), and
determining, by the communications device, based at least in part on the detected indication of the relay service which can be provided by the relay communications node, whether to select the relay communications node (see Interdigital, Fig 7, step 708; ¶ 0098: The remote WTRU 718 may select a mobile relay at 708. For example, the remote WTRU may select a ranked mobile relay that supports certain service and meets certain quality criteria).
Regarding claim 4, Interdigital discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the determining, by the communications device, whether to select the relay communications node, includes determining whether to select the relay communications node as an attachment to a wireless communications network, or as a target communications device for handover, or as an initial access to the wireless communications network (see Interdigital, ¶ 0276: Service continuity may be maintained for mobile relay WTRU handover from one eNB to another eNB. Mobility for a mobile relay WTRU may be considered. The mobile relay WTRU may move from the control of an eNB to another eNB. An eNB may contain information related to the status of the WTRU as a mobile relay. The eNB may contain mobile relay context information (e.g., D2D resource pools used by the mobile relay). The information may be transferred from an eNB to another eNB. In a handover procedure, the mobile relay context of an eNB may be transferred to another eNB over the X2 interface. The information which may be transferred over the X2 interface during the handover of a mobile relay WTRU may include one or more of: indication that the WTRU performing the handover is acting as a mobile relay, resource pools used by the mobile relay WTRU for D2D communication (e.g., including those specific to mobile relay functionality), the number or list of remote WTRUs being served by the mobile relay, and identification of the services being used by the collection of remote WTRUs served by the mobile relay).
Regarding claim 5, Interdigital discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the detecting, by the communications device, the indication of a relay service which can be provided by the relay communications node comprises identifying, by the communications device, a plurality of communications nodes in the wireless communications network with which the communications device can attach to form a wireless communications link for transmitting data or for receiving data via the attached communications node, at least one of the plurality of communications nodes being the relay communications node, the at least one relay communications node being configured to transmit data to, or receive data from, another communications node via a next-hop communications node (see Interdigital, ¶ 0074: se of D2D communications for mobile relays may be studied to enhance to allow WTRUs to act as a mobile relay for a WTRU which is out of coverage. As an example, consider two types of mobile relays: 1) WTRU-to-Network mobile relays, and 2) WTRU-to-WTRU mobile relays. A mobile relay WTRU may be considered a WTRU-to-Network mobile relay by being configured to act as a mobile relay between the eNB (e.g., and/or any other mobile network infrastructure node, other RAN nodes, etc.) and a remote WTRU. The remote WTRU may or may not be out of coverage of the eNB and/or other network infrastructure. A mobile relay WTRU may be considered a WTRU-to-WTRU mobile relay by being configured to facilitate communication among two or more remote WTRUs; ¶ 0097; ¶ 0102).
Regarding claim 6, Interdigital discloses the method according to claim 5, wherein the determining, by the communications device, based at least in part on the detected indication of the relay service which can be provided by the relay communications node, whether to select the relay communications node, includes selecting, by the communications device based at least in part on the detected indication of the type of the relay service which can be provided by the relay communications node, one of the plurality of communications nodes with which to attach, or which is attached to the communications device, to form a wireless communications link for transmitting or receiving data via the selected communications node (see Interdigital, ¶ 0074: consider two types of mobile relays: 1) WTRU-to-Network mobile relays, and 2) WTRU-to-WTRU mobile relays. A mobile relay WTRU may be considered a WTRU-to-Network mobile relay by being configured to act as a mobile relay between the eNB (e.g., and/or any other mobile network infrastructure node, other RAN nodes, etc.) and a remote WTRU. The remote WTRU may or may not be out of coverage of the eNB and/or other network infrastructure).
Regarding claim 7, Interdigital discloses the method according to claim 1 wherein the detecting, by the communications device, the indication of the relay service which can be provided by the relay communications node comprises receiving the indication of the relay service from the relay communications node (see Interdigital, ¶ 0097: The mobile relay announcements may include an indication of services provided by or supported by the mobile relay WTRUs. For example, the mobile relay announcements may include an indication that the mobile relays WTRUs support one or more services requested by the remote WTRU 718. The mobile relay announcements may include an indication of a PLMN that serves the mobile relay WTRUs. For example, the mobile relay announcements may include an indication that the mobile relays WTRUs are associated with one or more PLMNs that the remote WTRU 718 is allowed to connect to; ¶ 0128).
Regarding claim 8, Interdigital discloses the method according to claim 7, wherein the receiving the indication of the relay service from the relay communications node comprises receiving the indication of the relay service in a broadcast signal from the relay communications node (see Interdigital, ¶ 0112).
Regarding claim 9, Interdigital discloses the method according to claim 7, wherein the receiving the indication of the relay service from the relay communications node comprises receiving a discovery message from the relay communications node including the indication of the relay service which can be provided by the relay communications node (see Interdigital, ¶ 0077; ¶ 0113).
Regarding claim 10, Idac discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the detecting, by the communications device, the indication of the relay service which can be provided by the relay communications node comprises transmitting, by the communications device, a discovery signal to the relay communications node, and in response, receiving, from the relay communications node, a discovery response signal including the indication of the relay service((see Interdigital, ¶ 0077; ¶ 0086: The messages 5-6 sent at 620-622 may comprise information type, discovery type, PLMN ID, connection information, proSe mobile relay WTRU ID, status, group information, and/or the like. In the messages 5-6 sent at 620-622, the type may be a response. The discovery type may be a mobile relay discovery; ¶ 0113).
Regarding claim 13, Interdigital discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the detecting, by the communications device, the indication of the relay service which can be provided by the relay communications node comprises transmitting, by the communications device, a relay type request to the relay communications node, and in response, receiving the indication of the relay service from the relay communications node (see Interdigital, ¶ 0074: consider two types of mobile relays: 1) WTRU-to-Network mobile relays, and 2) WTRU-to-WTRU mobile relays. A mobile relay WTRU may be considered a WTRU-to-Network mobile relay by being configured to act as a mobile relay between the eNB (e.g., and/or any other mobile network infrastructure node, other RAN nodes, etc.) and a remote WTRU; ¶ 0158; ¶ 0161).
Regarding claim 14, Interdigital discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the detecting, by the communications device, the indication of the relay service which can be provided by the relay communications node comprises
transmitting, by the communications device, a relay type request to an infrastructure equipment which provides a communications cell for the communications device (see Interdigital, ¶ 0098: the remote WTRU may initiate a connection establishment to a selected mobile relay. The remote WTRU may send a connection request to the selected mobile relay at 710. The selected mobile relay may send the mobile relay request at 712 to the eNB 722; ¶ 0138; ¶ 0157), and in response,
receiving, from the infrastructure equipment which provides the communications cell for the communications device, the indication of the relay service which can be provided by the relay communications node (see Interdigital, ¶ 0098: The eNB may send the mobile relay accept at 714 to the selected mobile relay 702. The selected mobile relay 702 may send a connection accept at 716 to the remote WTRU 718; ¶ 0157; ¶ 0158; ¶ 0163).
Regarding claim 15, Interdigital discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the detecting, by the communications device, the indication of the relay service which can be provided by the relay communications node comprises receiving the indication of the relay service which can be provided by the relay communications node from an infrastructure equipment of a wireless communications network (see Interdigital, ¶ 0097: The mobile relay announcements may include an indication of services provided by or supported by the mobile relay WTRUs. For example, the mobile relay announcements may include an indication that the mobile relays WTRUs support one or more services requested by the remote WTRU 718; ¶ 0157; ¶ 0174).
Regarding claim 16, Interdigital discloses the method according to claim 15, wherein the detecting, by the communications device, the indication of the relay service which can be provided by the relay communications node comprises
receiving an identification of the relay communications node from the infrastructure equipment of the wireless communications network (see Interdigital, ¶ 0109: The WTRU may inform the eNB the identity of the selected mobile relay. The WTRU may inform the eNB of relevant information about the selected mobile relay. Relevant information about the selected mobile relay may include one or more of mobile relay identification information (e.g., Mobile relay L2 ID, PHY layer ID, and/or the like); ¶ 0174: The eNB's response may include sending to the mobile relay WTRU identifications of one or more mobile relay WTRUs (e.g. , L2 ID of the mobile relay); ¶ 0289: the cell identification of the mobile relay WTRU to which the WTRU wishes to perform a connection may be sent to the WTRUs serving eNB), and
the receiving the indication of the relay service which can be provided by the relay communications node from the infrastructure equipment of the wireless communications network includes receiving the indication of the relay service which can be provided by the relay communications node along with the identification of the relay communications node see Interdigital, ¶ 0098: The eNB may send the mobile relay accept at 714 to the selected mobile relay 702. The selected mobile relay 702 may send a connection accept at 716 to the remote WTRU 718; ¶ 0157; ¶ 0158; ¶ 0163.
Regarding claim 34, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1. Although phrased as an apparatus claim, the claim is nevertheless simple repetitions of the subject matter of claim 1.
Regarding claim 35, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1. Although phrased as an apparatus claim, the claim is nevertheless simple repetitions of the subject matter of claim 1.
Claim(s) 1-10, 13-17, 34, and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2021/092480 A1 to IDAC Holdings (hereafter Idac), see IDS dated 01/23/2024.
Regarding claim 1, Idac discloses a method of operating a communications device (see Idac, Fig 9), the method comprising
detecting, by the communications device (see Idac, Fig 9, Relay Access WTRU), an indication of a relay service which can be provided by a communications node (see Idac, Fig 9, WTRU-to-network Relay) acting as a relay (see Idac, Fig 9, step 905), and
determining, by the communications device, based at least in part on the detected indication of the relay service which can be provided by the relay communications node, whether to select the relay communications node (see Idac, Fig, step 906; ¶ 0005: A WTRU-to-network relay may be selected on a condition that the relay service types broadcasted by the WTRU-to-network includes a relay service type of interest identified by the relay access WTRU).
Regarding claim 2, Idac discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the indication of the relay service which can be provided by the relay communications node includes one or more of an indication of a mobility of the relay communications node, an indication that a next-hop communications node for the relay communications node is an infrastructure equipment, U2N, or another communications device, U2U, an indication that the relay communications node is configured to be used as a relay communications node for a finite time duration, an indication that the relay communications node is reserved for emergency communications, or an indication of a height of the relay communications node (see Idac, ¶ 0104: A remote WTRU may select a WTRU-to-network relay based on at least a relay selection policy. The remote WTRU may select the WTRU-to-network relay, for example, based on the services offered by the WTRU-to-network relay. The remote WTRU may select the WTRU-to-network relay in order to minimize the number of PC5 links it may need to setup with multiple WTRU-to-network relays (e.g., with overlapping service offering)).
Regarding claim 3, Idac discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the determining, by the communications device, based at least in part on the detected indication of the relay service which can be provided by the relay communications node, whether to select the relay communications node, includes determining whether to select the relay communications node based on a combination of a communications service required by the communications device and the detected indication of the relay service which can be provided by the relay communications node (see Idac, ¶ 0103: A remote WTRU (e.g., an out of coverage WTRU) may detect a broadcast message announcing one or more relayed service type(s), that the remote WTRU may use (e.g. to satisfy a network requirement, such as an application's requirement, and/or service continuity), for example, based on the relay access WTRU provisioning parameters; ¶ 0104: A remote WTRU may select a WTRU-to-network relay based on at least a relay selection policy).
Regarding claim 4, Idac discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the determining, by the communications device, whether to select the relay communications node, includes determining whether to select the relay communications node as an attachment to a wireless communications network, or as a target communications device for handover, or as an initial access to the wireless communications network (see Idac, ¶ 0009: A WTRU-to-network relay may perform access control of a remote WTRU accessing a CAG cell. A relay WTRU may determine that the remote WTRU is authorized to access the CAG ID based on a successful per application/service type authentication, e.g., wherein the application may be associated with the CAG ID, and PC5 layer keys may be established/derived using application layer keys; ¶ 0083: The remote WTRU as shown in FIG.3 may discover and select a WTRU-to-network relay. The WTRU-to-network relay may establish a PDU session (or a PDN connection in evolved packet core (EPC)) for the remote WTRU. The traffic between the remote WTRU and the core network may be relayed via the WTRU-to-network relay; ¶ 0092: discovery and selection of a WTRU-to-network relay that can provide access (e.g. via a CAG cell); access control of a remote WTRU (e.g., CAG or non-CAG enabled) that wants to access the network using a WTRU-to-network relay connected via a cell (e.g., CAG or non-CAG)).
Regarding claim 5, Idac discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the detecting, by the communications device, the indication of a relay service which can be provided by the relay communications node comprises identifying, by the communications device, a plurality of communications nodes in the wireless communications network with which the communications device can attach to form a wireless communications link for transmitting data or for receiving data via the attached communications node, at least one of the plurality of communications nodes being the relay communications node, the at least one relay communications node being configured to transmit data to, or receive data from, another communications node via a next-hop communications node (see Idac, ¶ 0007; ¶ 0092; ¶ 0143).
Regarding claim 6, Idac discloses the method according to claim 5, wherein the determining, by the communications device, based at least in part on the detected indication of the relay service which can be provided by the relay communications node, whether to select the relay communications node, includes selecting, by the communications device based at least in part on the detected indication of the type of the relay service which can be provided by the relay communications node, one of the plurality of communications nodes with which to attach, or which is attached to the communications device, to form a wireless communications link for transmitting or receiving data via the selected communications node (see Idac, ¶ 0005; ¶ 0172; ¶ 0175; ¶ 0177).
Regarding claim 7, Idac discloses the method according to claim 1 wherein the detecting, by the communications device, the indication of the relay service which can be provided by the relay communications node comprises receiving the indication of the relay service from the relay communications node (see Idac, ¶ 0099: A WTRU-to-network relay may broadcast one or more messages over its PC5 interface announcing the service type(s) it may support. The broadcast message(s) may include a WTRU-to-network relay indication, for example, based on one or more WTRU-to-network relay provisioning parameters. The WTRU-to-network relay may broadcast a service type, for example, if the corresponding S-NSSAI is included in the granted network resources, such as the allowed NSSAIs) (see Idac, ¶ 0135: A relay access WTRU may detect a broadcast message over PC5 from the relay. The broadcast message may include a WTRU-to-network relay capability indication, one or more service type(s) supported by the relay, the WTRU-to-network relay allowed CAG IDs, the supported CAG IDs (e.g. from the cell the relay is currently connected to or camping on), the WTRU-to-network relay CAG only indication (e.g. specifying whether the relay is allowed to access the network via CAG cells), and/or a CAG/non-CAG cell indication for the cell the relay is currently connected to (e.g. indicating whether it is a CAG or non-CAG cell). [0136] A relay access WTRU may select a WTRU-to-network relay according to the relay selection policy).
Regarding claim 8, Idac discloses the method according to claim 7, wherein the receiving the indication of the relay service from the relay communications node comprises receiving the indication of the relay service in a broadcast signal from the relay communications node (see Idac, ¶ 0008: A remote WTRU may perform discovery and selection of a WTRU-to-network relay based on relay broadcast of service type associated with control access group (CAG) IDs, for example during provisioning (e.g., implicit CAG based selection) or based on relay broadcast of CAG information including one or more of the following: current CAG cell supported CAG IDs, relay allowed CAG IDs, or CAG only indication (e.g., explicit CAG based selection). [0009] A WTRU-to-network relay may perform access control of a remote WTRU accessing a CAG cell; ¶ 0099).
Regarding claim 9, Idac discloses the method according to claim 7, wherein the receiving the indication of the relay service from the relay communications node comprises receiving a discovery message from the relay communications node including the indication of the relay service which can be provided by the relay communications node (see Idac, ¶ 0084: At 403, the remote WTRU may perform a discovery procedure. At 404, the remote WTRU may establish a connection with the WTRU-to-network relay. At 405, the WTRU- to-network relay may send a PDU session establishment request to the SMF/UPF of the core network; ¶ 0090: Mechanisms may be provided for a remote WTRU's discovery and/or selection of a WTRU-to- network relay that may satisfy the remote WTRU's communication requirements (e.g., for a single NSSAI (S-NSSAI)). Mechanisms may also be provided for a WTRU-to-network relay handling a WTRU-to-network relay configuration update (e.g., update of slicing configuration) regarding relay discovery and one or more relay communications; ¶ 0096: A WTRU-to-network relay may be configured to provide discovery mechanisms for one or more remote WTRUs).
Regarding claim 10, Idac discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the detecting, by the communications device, the indication of the relay service which can be provided by the relay communications node comprises transmitting, by the communications device, a discovery signal to the relay communications node, and in response, receiving, from the relay communications node, a discovery response signal including the indication of the relay service (see Idac, ¶ 0084: At 403, the remote WTRU may perform a discovery procedure. At 404, the remote WTRU may establish a connection with the WTRU-to-network relay. At 405, the WTRU- to-network relay may send a PDU session establishment request to the SMF/UPF of the core network; ¶ 0090: Mechanisms may be provided for a remote WTRU's discovery and/or selection of a WTRU-to- network relay that may satisfy the remote WTRU's communication requirements (e.g., for a single NSSAI (S-NSSAI)). Mechanisms may also be provided for a WTRU-to-network relay handling a WTRU-to-network relay configuration update (e.g., update of slicing configuration) regarding relay discovery and one or more relay communications; ¶ 0096: A WTRU-to-network relay may be configured to provide discovery mechanisms for one or more remote WTRUs).
Regarding claim 13, Idac discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the detecting, by the communications device, the indication of the relay service which can be provided by the relay communications node comprises transmitting, by the communications device, a relay type request to the relay communications node, and in response, receiving the indication of the relay service from the relay communications node (see Idac, ¶ 0099; ¶ 0116: the remote WTRU may execute its discovery procedure to discover a WTRU-to-network relay. At 604, the remote WTRU and the discovered WTRU-to-network relay may establish a PC5 connection. If no PDU session parameters associated with the remote WTRU are known to the WTRU-to- network relay (e.g., if the WTRU-to-network relay did not request PDU session parameters during its registration with the core network), at 605, the WTRU-to-network relay may send a routing policy request message to the core network (e.g., to the AMF of the core network). The routing policy request message may include one or more ID associated with one or more of remote WTRUs. The request may include a ProSe service type/service id; ¶ 0177).
Regarding claim 14, Idac discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the detecting, by the communications device, the indication of the relay service which can be provided by the relay communications node comprises
transmitting, by the communications device, a relay type request to an infrastructure equipment which provides a communications cell for the communications device, and in response (see Idac,¶ 0166: For example, the WTRU-to-network relay's serving AMF may receive a request message from the relay to authorize the remote WTRU; ¶ 0084: the WTRU-to-network relay may send a registration request to the access and mobility management function in the core network. At 402, the WTRU-to-network relay may receive a registration accept message. At 403, the remote WTRU may perform a discovery procedure. At 404, the remote WTRU may establish a connection with the WTRU-to-network relay),
receiving, from the infrastructure equipment which provides the communications cell for the communications device, the indication of the relay service which can be provided by the relay communications node (see Idac, ¶ 0166: The AMF may send to the relay a response message including the PC5 root key and ID (e.g., Krelay and Krelay ID). The AMF response message may include a core network the remote WTRU identity (e.g., GPSI); ¶ 0084: the WTRU- to-network relay may send a PDU session establishment request to the SMF/UPF of the core network. At 406 the WTRU-to-network relay may receive an establishment response from the SMF/UPF. At 407, an IP address/prefix allocated to the remote WTRU and the traffic between the remote WTRU and the core network may be relayed via the WTRU-to-network relay).
Regarding claim 15, Idac discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the detecting, by the communications device, the indication of the relay service which can be provided by the relay communications node comprises receiving the indication of the relay service which can be provided by the relay communications node from an infrastructure equipment of a wireless communications network (see Idac, ¶ 0170: the relay may receive one or more relay service types as part of the relay provisioning parameters authorized by the core network (e.g., the AMF/PCF of the core network) and associated communication parameters (e.g., in a registration accept message). The associated communication parameters may include PDU session parameters, such as an S-NSSAI, a DNN, and/or an SSC mode; ¶ 0175).
Regarding claim 16, Idac discloses the method according to claim 15, wherein the detecting, by the communications device, the indication of the relay service which can be provided by the relay communications node comprises
receiving an identification of the relay communications node from the infrastructure equipment of the wireless communications network (see Idac, ¶ 0164: the remote WTRU may send a request message (e.g., Direct Communication Request) to the relay to establish a PC5 link. The message may include a remote WTRU identity (e.g., Subscription Concealed Identifier (SUCI)); ¶ 0165: The relay may receive from its serving AMF a response message including a PC5 root key and ID (e.g., Krelay and Krelay ID) indicating successful authentication and authorization of the remote WTRU. The response message may include a core network remote WTRU identity (e.g., Globally Unique Temporary Identifier (GUTI), Generic Public Subscription Identifier (GPSI)). The relay may store the root key, key id and core network remote WTRU identity (e.g., associating them with the PC5 link context)), and
the receiving the indication of the relay service which can be provided by the relay communications node from the infrastructure equipment of the wireless communications network includes receiving the indication of the relay service which can be provided by the relay communications node along with the identification of the relay communications node (see Idac, ¶ 0166: The AMF may send to the relay a response message including the PC5 root key and ID (e.g., Krelay and Krelay ID). The AMF response message may include a core network the remote WTRU identity (e.g., GPSI); ¶ 0084: the WTRU- to-network relay may send a PDU session establishment request to the SMF/UPF of the core network. At 406 the WTRU-to-network relay may receive an establishment response from the SMF/UPF. At 407, an IP address/prefix allocated to the remote WTRU and the traffic between the remote WTRU and the core network may be relayed via the WTRU-to-network relay).
Regarding claim 17, Idac discloses the method according to claim 16, the indication of the relay service which can be provided by the relay communications node received along with the identification of the relay communications node is received from the infrastructure equipment as a broadcast signal (see Idac, ¶ 0003: an authorized relay service type may be identified for broadcasting on a condition that the communication parameter(s) associated with the relay service type is supported by the granted network resource associated with the WTRU-to-network relay; ¶ 0150: WTRU-to-network relay WTRU may send a PC5 broadcast message (e.g. including relay service related information such as application ID, relay service code, relay capability indication current cell CAG information, cell supported CAG IDs, and/or relay CAG information such as allowed CAG ID, CAG only indication)).
Regarding claim 34, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1. Although phrased as an apparatus claim, the claim is nevertheless simple repetitions of the subject matter of claim 1.
Regarding claim 35, it is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1. Although phrased as an apparatus claim, the claim is nevertheless simple repetitions of the subject matter of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IDAC in view of US 2012/0113887 to Shen et al. (hereafter Shen).
Regarding claim 11, Idac discloses the method according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose comprising receiving a handover configuration signal for a handover of the communications device, the relay communications node being a source or a target of the handover, wherein the indication of the relay service which can be provided by the relay communications node is included in the handover configuration signal, and the determining, by the communications device, based at least in part on the detected indication of the relay service which can be provided by the relay communications node, whether to select the relay communications node comprises determining whether or not to handover from the relay communications node to another communications node if the relay communications node is the source of the handover, or whether or not to handover from the other communications node to the relay communications node if the relay communications node is the target for the handover, and, if the communications device determines not to handover, transmitting a handover reject signal.
However, Shen discloses receiving a handover configuration signal for a handover of the communications device, the relay communications node being a source or a target of the handover, wherein the indication of the relay service which can be provided by the relay communications node is included in the handover configuration signal, and the determining, by the communications device, based at least in part on the detected indication of the relay service which can be provided by the relay communications node, whether to select the relay communications node (see Shen, ¶ 0045-0058 and ¶ 0071-0090) comprises
determining whether or not to handover from the relay communications node to another communications node if the relay communications node is the source of the handover, or whether or not to handover from the other communications node to the relay communications node if the relay communications node is the target for the handover, and, if the communications device determines not to handover, transmitting a handover reject signal (see Shen, ¶ 0045-0058 and ¶ 0071-0090).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above teaching as taught by Shen and incorporate it into the system Idac to achieve efficient handover in the communication system (see Shen, ¶ 0022).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Idac in view of US 2021/0084559 to CHAPONNIERRE et al. (hereafter Chaponnierre).
Regarding claim 12, Idac discloses the method according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose comprising receiving a conditional handover configuration message including an indication of one or more conditions which must be met to trigger a handover of the communications device, the relay communications node being a source or a target of the handover, wherein the indication of relay service which can be provided by the relay communications node is included in the conditional handover signal, and the determining, by the communications device, based at least in part on the detected indication of the relay service which can be provided by the relay communications node, whether to select the relay communications node comprises determining whether or not to handover from the relay communications node to another communications node if the relay communications node is the source of the handover, or whether or not to handover from the other communications device to the relay communications node if the relay communications node is the target for the handover.
receiving a conditional handover configuration message including an indication of one or more conditions which must be met to trigger a handover of the communications device, the relay communications node being a source or a target of the handover, wherein the indication of relay service which can be provided by the relay communications node is included in the conditional handover signal, and the determining, by the communications device, based at least in part on the detected indication of the relay service which can be provided by the relay communications node, whether to select the relay communications node (see Chaponnierre, ¶ 0113: the UE is dual-connected to the source and the target relay until the transfer of ongoing sessions is completed) (alternatively, the donor gNB prepares the candidate target relays reported by the UE, and the UE decides when and to which target relay to handover (“conditional handover” being specified by RAN2 for Rel-16)); and the UE may be configured with conditions for the UE-initiated handover such as discussed for conditions handover (CHO) in 3GPP, for example, the Donor gNB may configure the UE with events under which the UE can proactively initiate handover (These events may include load-, location-, distance- or proximity-related information and the load/location may refer to the service or the target relays (or stationary gNB-DUs') load or location)) comprises
determining whether or not to handover from the relay communications node to another communications node if the relay communications node is the source of the handover, or whether or not to handover from the other communications device to the relay communications node if the relay communications node is the target for the handover (see Chaponnierre, ¶ 0101; ¶ 0113; ¶ 0118).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the above teaching as taught by Chaponnierre and incorporate it into the system of Idac to achieve efficient handover determination in the communication system (see Chaponnierre, ¶ 0006).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2024/0323776 to ZHAO discloses the handover request acknowledgement message is sent by the target network device after receiving a first response message sent by the target relay terminal, and the first response message is configured to indicate that the target relay terminal is able to provide relay services for the first terminal.
US 2017/0332425 to Tenny et al. discloses system and method for relay device discovery. The RD selects the relay UE with the strongest measurement, for example. Alternatively, the UE uses the information and/or parameters provided by the eNB to select the relay UE. As an illustrative example, the RD selects a relay UE that does not have the strongest measurement if the relay UE selected is indicated by the eNB as a relay UE that is willing to provide relay services, while the relay UE with the strongest measurement is not indicated to be willing to provide relay services.
US 2024/0306229 to CHANG et al. discloses a relay user equipment (UE) device comprising: a controller configured to determine whether the relay UE device is capable of providing relay service to each of a target UE device and a base station, the controller configured to select a relay capability indicator from a set comprising a U2U relay only indicator, a U2N relay only indicator, and a dual relay indicator, the U2U relay only indicator selected when the relay UE device is capable of providing relay service to a target UE device without relay service to the base station, the U2N relay only indicator selected when the relay UE device is capable of providing relay service to the base station without relay service directly to the target UE device, the dual relay indicator selected when the relay UE device is capable of providing relay service to the base station and relay service to the target UE device, and a transmitter configured to transmit a sidelink discovery message comprising the relay capability indicator.
US 2017/0244468 to ZHAO discloses the information, carried in the discovery signal, indicating that the adjacent terminal is capable of providing the source terminal with a relay service refers to information indicating that the adjacent terminal is capable of being a UE-to-UE replay to provide the source terminal with a relay service.
US 2024/0022994 to Pan et al. discloses that in a communication system, to improve communication quality, appropriate relay UE may be selected for remote user equipment (UE), to provide a relay service for the remote UE. By using a relay discovery procedure, relay UEs around the remote UE may be discovered, and the relay UE that provides a relay service for the remote UE is selected.
/RASHEED GIDADO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464