DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 16 December 2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-6, 12-15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horsnell et al. (US Patent 7,331,654 – hereinafter Horsnell) in view of Chikuma et al. (US 2020/0070503 – hereinafter Chikuma.)
Regarding claim 1,
Horsnell discloses a head driving device coupled to a head unit to discharge a liquid from a nozzle [101 in fig. 8], the head driving device comprising:
voltage application circuitry configured to apply a voltage to the head unit [col. 18, lines 65-67; electric pulse applied as shown in fig. 16],
the head unit including:
a valve [1 in fig. 1 / 113 in fig. 8] to move between a nozzle open position to open the nozzle and a nozzle close position to close the nozzle [col. 14, lines 24-34]; and
an actuator [3 in fig. 1 / 112 in fig. 8] to move the valve [col. 19, lines 40-45; col. 21, line 63 – col. 22, line 29]; and
circuitry [processor; col. 15, lines 30-40] configured to:
estimate a temperature of the actuator [col. 17, lines 36-39; col. 20, lines 50-55; please note that a sensor is a component of the circuitry, and its output is acquired and processed by said circuitry to determine a temperature of the actuator/head unit];
cause the voltage application circuitry to apply a first voltage [lowest voltage on fig. 16c; “zero”] to the actuator to move the valve to the nozzle close position not to discharge the liquid from the nozzle;
cause the voltage application circuitry to apply a second voltage [top voltage on fig. 16c] different from the first voltage to the actuator to move the valve to the nozzle open position to discharge the liquid from the nozzle; and
cause the voltage application circuitry to vary the second voltage based on the temperature detected which has been estimated [col. 16, lines 16-19 and 49-51; col. 20, lines 50-55.]
Horsnell fails to expressly disclose the circuitry being further configured to:o
acquire drive data of the actuator including at least one of a number of times of driving of the actuator or a drive frequency of the actuator; and
estimate the temperature of the actuator based on the drive data which has been acquired.
However, Chikuma discloses a head driving device [304 in fig. 3; paragraphs 0029-0030] coupled to a head unit [105-108 in fig. 3] to discharge a liquid from a nozzle [paragraphs 0022-0025], the head driving device comprising circuitry [CPU 306 in fig. 3] being further configured to:o
acquire drive data of the actuator including at least one of a number of times of driving of the actuator or a drive frequency of the actuator [paragraph 0048 recites acquiring the temperature of the head unit/actuator in different drive frequencies; also, see fig. 7 and corresponding paragraphs 0049-0057]; and
estimate the temperature of the actuator based on the drive data which has been acquired [paragraphs 0048-0057; also note that the CPU 306 acquires data from different components (e.g., temperature detector 24) to control the functions of each unit in the printing apparatus (paragraph 0031).]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Horsnell invention to include circuitry for acquiring drive data of the actuator including a drive frequency of the actuator; and estimating the temperature of the actuator based on the drive data which has been acquired as taught by Chikuma for the purpose of having real-time thermal monitoring (and corresponding adjustment), which can enhance print quality and speed.
Regarding claim 5,
In the obvious combination, Horsnell further discloses wherein the second voltage is higher than the first voltage [as seen in fig. 16c.]
Regarding claim 6,
In the obvious combination, Horsnell discloses a liquid discharge device comprising:
a liquid discharge head [as seen in fig. 2] including:
a valve [1 in fig. 1 / 113 in fig. 8] to move between a nozzle open position to open a nozzle and a nozzle close position to close the nozzle [col. 14, lines 24-34]; and
an actuator [3 in fig. 1 / 112 in fig. 8] to move the valve [col. 19, lines 40-45; col. 21, line 63 – col. 22, line 29];
voltage application circuitry configured to apply a voltage to the actuator [col. 18, lines 65-67; electric pulse applied as shown in fig. 16]; and
circuitry [processor; col. 15, lines 30-40] configured to:
estimate a temperature of the actuator [col. 17, lines 36-39; col. 20, lines 50-55; please note that a sensor is a component of the circuitry, and its output is acquired and processed by said circuitry to determine a temperature of the actuator (and the head unit)];
cause the voltage application circuitry to apply a first voltage [lowest voltage on fig. 16c; “zero”] to the actuator to move the valve to the nozzle close position not to discharge the liquid from the nozzle;
cause the voltage application circuitry to apply a second voltage [top voltage on fig. 16c] different from the first voltage to the actuator to move the valve to the nozzle open position to discharge the liquid from the nozzle; and
cause the voltage application circuitry to vary the second voltage based on the temperature which has been estimated [col. 16, lines 16-19 and 49-51; col. 20, lines 50-55],
whereas Chikuma discloses the circuitry being further configured to:
acquire drive data of the actuator including at least one of a number of times of driving of the actuator or a drive frequency of the actuator [paragraph 0048 recites acquiring the temperature of the head unit/actuator in different drive frequencies; also, see fig. 7 and corresponding paragraphs 0049-0057]; and
estimate the temperature of the actuator based on the drive data which has been acquired [paragraphs 0048-0057; also note that the CPU 306 acquires data from different components (e.g., temperature detector 24) to control the functions of each unit in the printing apparatus (paragraph 0031).]
Regarding claim 12,
In the obvious combination, Horsnell further discloses wherein the nozzle includes multiple nozzles,
the valve includes multiple valves respectively open and close the multiple nozzles, and
the actuator includes multiple actuators respectively move the multiple valves [as seen in fig. 8.]
Regarding claim 13,
In the obvious combination, Horsnell as modified by Chikuma further discloses a liquid discharge apparatus comprising:
the head driving device according to claim 1 [see rejection above];
the head unit [as seen in fig. 2 of Horsnell]; and
a driver configured to relatively move the head unit and an object onto which the liquid is to be discharged [implicit from teachings on col. 19, lines 46-49 of Horsnell.]
Regarding claim 14,
In the obvious combination, Horsnell as modified by Chikuma further discloses a liquid discharge apparatus comprising:
the liquid discharge device according to claim 1 [see rejection above]; and
a driver to relatively move the liquid discharge head and an object onto which the liquid is to be discharged [implicit from teachings on col. 19, lines 46-49 of Horsnell.]
Regarding claim 15,
In the obvious combination, Horsnell discloses a method for discharging a liquid by a liquid discharge head, the method comprising:
moving a valve [1 in fig. 1 / 113 in fig. 8] of the liquid discharge head between a nozzle open position to open a nozzle of the liquid discharge head and a nozzle close position to close the nozzle [col. 14, lines 24-34];
applying a voltage to an actuator [3 in fig. 1 / 112 in fig. 8] of the liquid discharge head to move the valve [col. 18, lines 65-67; electric pulse applied as shown in fig. 16; col. 19, lines 40-45; col. 21, line 63 – col. 22, line 29], the applying the voltage comprising:
applying a first voltage [lowest voltage on fig. 16c; “zero”] to the actuator to move the valve to the nozzle close position not to discharge the liquid from the nozzle; and
applying a second voltage [top voltage on fig. 16c] different from the first voltage to the actuator to move the valve to the nozzle open position to discharge the liquid from the nozzle;
estimating a temperature of the actuator [col. 17, lines 36-39; col. 20, lines 50-55; please note that a sensor is a component of the circuitry, and its output is acquired and processed by said circuitry to determine a temperature of the actuator/head unit]; and
varying the second voltage based on the temperature which has been estimated [col. 16, lines 16-19 and 49-51; col. 20, lines 50-55],
whereas Chikuma discloses
acquiring drive data of the actuator including at least one of a number of times of driving of the actuator or a drive frequency of the actuator [paragraph 0048 recites acquiring the temperature of the head unit/actuator in different drive frequencies; also, see fig. 7 and corresponding paragraphs 0049-0057]; and
estimating the temperature of the actuator based on the drive data [paragraphs 0048-0057; also note that the CPU 306 acquires data from different components (e.g., temperature detector 24) to control the functions of each unit in the printing apparatus.]
Regarding claim 19,
In the obvious combination, Horsnell further discloses wherein:
the second voltage is higher than the first voltage [as seen in fig. 16c.]
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 11, 15-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fliess et al. (US 2021/0023585 – hereinafter Fliess) in view of Chikuma et al. (US 2020/0070503 – hereinafter Chikuma.)
Regarding claim 1,
Fliess discloses a head driving device coupled to a head unit to discharge a liquid from a nozzle [40 in fig. 1], the head driving device comprising:
voltage application circuitry [64 in fig. 1] configured to apply a voltage to the head unit [paragraph 0111],
the head unit including:
a valve [31 in fig. 1] to move between a nozzle open position to open the nozzle and a nozzle close position to close the nozzle [paragraph 0110]; and
an actuator [60 in fig. 1 / 61 in fig. 4] to move the valve [paragraphs 0108 and 0130-0131]; and
circuitry [control unit 50 in fig. 1; paragraph 0111] configured to:
estimate a temperature of the actuator [paragraph 0112; the measurements output by sensor 78 are processed by the controller to determine the temperature];
cause the voltage application circuitry to apply a first voltage to the actuator to move the valve to the nozzle close position not to discharge the liquid from the nozzle [paragraph 0110];
cause the voltage application circuitry to apply a second voltage different from the first voltage to the actuator to move the valve to the nozzle open position to discharge the liquid from the nozzle [paragraphs 0004 and 0110]; and
cause the voltage application circuitry to vary the second voltage based on the temperature which has been estimated [paragraphs 0045, 0112 and 0133-0138.]
Fliess fails to expressly disclose the circuitry being further configured to:o
acquire drive data of the actuator including at least one of a number of times of driving of the actuator or a drive frequency of the actuator; and
estimate the temperature of the actuator based on the drive data which has been acquired.
However, Chikuma discloses a head driving device [304 in fig. 3; paragraphs 0029-0030] coupled to a head unit [105-108 in fig. 3] to discharge a liquid from a nozzle [paragraphs 0022-0025], the head driving device comprising circuitry [CPU 306 in fig. 3] being further configured to:o
acquire drive data of the actuator including at least one of a number of times of driving of the actuator or a drive frequency of the actuator [paragraph 0048 recites acquiring the temperature of the head unit/actuator in different drive frequencies; also, see fig. 7 and corresponding paragraphs 0049-0057]; and
estimate the temperature of the actuator based on the drive data which has been acquired [paragraphs 0048-0057; also note that the CPU 306 acquires data from different components (e.g., temperature detector 24) to control the functions of each unit in the printing apparatus (paragraph 0031).]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Fliess invention to include circuitry for acquiring drive data of the actuator including a drive frequency of the actuator; and estimating the temperature of the actuator based on the drive data which has been acquired as taught by Chikuma for the purpose of having real-time thermal monitoring (and corresponding adjustment), which can enhance print quality and speed.
Regarding claim 2,
In the obvious combination, Fliess further discloses wherein the circuitry is configured to vary the first voltage based on the temperature detected by the temperature detector [varying the voltages is well-known in the art and implicit from the teachings in paragraphs 0045 and 0119-0124.]
Regarding claim 3,
In the obvious combination, Fliess further discloses wherein the circuitry is configured to vary the first voltage and the second voltage while keeping a potential difference between the first voltage and the second voltage constant [varying the voltages is well-known in the art and implicit from the teachings in paragraphs 0045, and 0119-0124.]
Regarding claim 4,
In the obvious combination, Fliess further discloses wherein the second voltage is lower than the first voltage [varying the voltages is well-known in the art and implicit from the teachings in paragraphs 0045 and 0119-0124.]
Regarding claim 6,
In the obvious combination, Fliess discloses a liquid discharge device comprising:
a liquid discharge head [as seen in fig. 1] including:
a valve [31 in fig. 1] to move between a nozzle open position to open a nozzle and a nozzle close position to close the nozzle [paragraph 0110]; and
an actuator [60 in fig. 1 / 61 in fig. 4] to move the valve [paragraphs 0108 and 0130-0131];
voltage application circuitry [64 in fig. 1] configured to apply a voltage to the actuator [paragraph 0111]; and
circuitry configured to:
estimate a temperature of the actuator [paragraph 0112; the measurements output by sensor 78 are processed by the controller to determine the temperature];
cause the voltage application circuitry to apply a first voltage to the actuator to move the valve to the nozzle close position not to discharge the liquid from the nozzle;
cause the voltage application circuitry to apply a second voltage different from the first voltage to the actuator to move the valve to the nozzle open position to discharge the liquid from the nozzle [paragraphs 0004 and 0110]; and
cause the voltage application circuitry to vary the second voltage based on the temperature detected by the temperature detector [para 0045, 0112 and 0133-0138],
whereas Chikuma discloses the circuitry being further configured to:
acquire drive data of the actuator including at least one of a number of times of driving of the actuator or a drive frequency of the actuator [paragraph 0048 recites acquiring the temperature of the head unit/actuator in different drive frequencies; also, see fig. 7 and corresponding paragraphs 0049-0057]; and
estimate the temperature of the actuator based on the drive data which has been acquired [paragraphs 0048-0057; also note that the CPU 306 acquires data from different components (e.g., temperature detector 24) to control the functions of each unit in the printing apparatus (paragraph 0031).]
Regarding claim 7,
In the obvious combination, Fliess further discloses wherein the circuitry is configured to vary the first voltage based on the temperature detected by the temperature detector [varying the voltages is well-known in the art and implicit from the teachings in paragraphs 0045 and 0119-0124.]
Regarding claim 8,
In the obvious combination, Fliess further discloses wherein the circuitry is configured to vary the first voltage and the second voltage while keeping a potential difference between the first voltage and the second voltage constant [varying the voltages is well-known in the art and implicit from the teachings in paragraph 0045, 0119-0124.]
Regarding claim 9,
In the obvious combination, Fliess further discloses wherein the second voltage is lower than the first voltage [varying the voltages is well-known in the art and implicit from the teachings in paragraphs 0045 and 0119-0124.]
Regarding claim 11,
In the obvious combination, Fliess further discloses wherein the actuator is a piezoelectric element [61 in fig. 4] configured to expand and contract in directions in which the valve moves between the nozzle open position and the nozzle close position [paragraphs 0064, 0108 and 0130.]
Regarding claim 15,
In the obvious combination, Fliess discloses a method for discharging a liquid by a liquid discharge head, the method comprising:
moving a valve [31 in fig. 1] of the liquid discharge head between a nozzle open position to open a nozzle of the liquid discharge head and a nozzle close position to close the nozzle [paragraph 0110];
applying a voltage to an actuator [60 in fig. 1 / 61 in fig. 4] of the liquid discharge head to move the valve [para 0108, and 0130-0131], the applying the voltage comprising:
applying a first voltage to the actuator to move the valve to the nozzle close position not to discharge the liquid from the nozzle [paragraph 0110]; and
applying a second voltage different from the first voltage to the actuator to move the valve to the nozzle open position to discharge the liquid from the nozzle [paragraphs 0004 and 0110];
estimating a temperature of the actuator [paragraph 0112; the measurements output by sensor 78 are processed by the controller to determine the temperature]; and
varying the second voltage based on the temperature which has been estimated [paragraphs 0045, 0112, 0112, and 0133-0138],
whereas Chikuma discloses
acquiring drive data of the actuator including at least one of a number of times of driving of the actuator or a drive frequency of the actuator [paragraph 0048 recites acquiring the temperature of the head unit/actuator in different drive frequencies; also, see fig. 7 and corresponding paragraphs 0049-0057]; and
estimating the temperature of the actuator based on the drive data [paragraphs 0048-0057; also note that the CPU 306 acquires data from different components (e.g., temperature detector 24) to control the functions of each unit in the printing apparatus (paragraph 0031).]
Regarding claim 16,
In the obvious combination, Fliess further discloses the method further comprising:
varying the first voltage based on the estimated temperature [varying the voltages is well-known in the art and implicit from the teachings in paragraphs 0045, 0119-0124.]
Regarding claim 17,
In the obvious combination, Fliess further discloses wherein the varying the first voltage and the varying the second voltage comprises:
varying the first voltage and the second voltage while keeping a potential difference between the first voltage and the second voltage constant [varying the voltages is well-known in the art and implicit from the teachings in paragraphs 0045, 0119-0124.]
Regarding claim 18,
In the obvious combination, Fliess further discloses wherein:
the second voltage is lower than the first voltage [varying the voltages is well-known in the art and implicit from the teachings in paragraphs 0045 and 0119-0124.]
Regarding claim 20,
In the obvious combination, Fliess further discloses wherein:
the actuator is a piezoelectric element [61 in fig. 4], and
the applying the voltage causes the piezoelectric to expand and contract to move the valve [paragraphs 0064, 0108 and 0130.]
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horsnell as modified by Chikuma and in view of Murai et al. (WO 2020/204101 – hereinafter Murai.)
Regarding claim 10,
Horsnell/Chikuma discloses the claimed limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the circuitry is configured to cause the voltage application circuitry to apply the second voltage higher than the first voltage to the actuator [as seen in fig. 16c], but fails to expressly disclose wherein the liquid discharge head further includes a mover between the valve and the actuator, and the second voltage higher than the first voltage being applied to the actuator to cause the mover to move the valve to the nozzle open position.
However, Murai discloses a liquid discharge head [300 in fig. 13] including: a valve [307 in fig. 13] to move between a nozzle open position to open a nozzle [302 in fig. 13; as seen in the lower part of fig. 13; paragraphs 0075-0077] and a nozzle close position to close the nozzle [as seen in the upper part of fig. 13]; an actuator [305 in fig. 13] to move the valve [paragraph 0077]; voltage application circuitry configured to apply a voltage to the actuator [paragraph 0077]; a mover between the valve and the actuator [308 in fig. 13; paragraph 0077]; and circuitry configured to: cause the voltage application circuitry to apply a voltage to the actuator to cause the mover to move the valve to the nozzle open position [paragraphs 0075-0078 and 0083-0086.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Horsnell/Chikuma invention to include a mover between the valve and the actuator that moves the valve to the nozzle open position when a voltage is applied to the actuator as taught by Murai for the purpose of amplifying and reduce the displacement of the piezoelectric element and, so that the size of the piezoelectric element can be reduced [paragraph 0089.]
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Communication with the USPTO
/JANNELLE M LEBRON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853