DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. “MPPDS: Multilevel Privacy-Preserving Data Sharing in a Collaborative eHealth System” (IDS reference, hereinafter Kim) in view of Vinayagamurthy et al. U.S. 2022/0188446 (hereinafter Vinayagamurthy) and further in view of Damewood et al. U.S. 2021/0256151 (hereinafter Damewood).
As per claim 1 and 19, Kim discloses an apparatus/method for privacy control, the apparatus comprising:
first interface circuitry configured to receive, from a data consumer, a request for accessing data of a user;
processing circuitry configured to:
determine privacy budget for user data, privacy budget controls how much data may be leaked (Kim: p. 109912: privacy budget controls the level of privacy according to differential privacy);
define an access policy for the data consumer for accessing the data based on the request and the global privacy policy of the user, wherein the access policy defines to what extent the data consumer is allowed to access the data (Kim: p. 109916-109917, 5) An Example Data Sharing Scenario: To share the perturbed data copies, the data owner defines access policies according to attribute sets of data users; p. 109918-109919, IV Experiment: different privacy budgets for different levels of privacy protections, i.e. more trusted data users can access less noisy (perturbed) copies of the true data; Fig. 4 shows increased budget reduces noises); and
generate an access key for accessing the data, wherein the access key encodes the determined access policy (Kim: p. 109914-1099115: Fig. 2: secret keys/access keys are generated based on access structure and attribute associated with data users); and
second interface circuitry configured to send the access key to the data consumer (Kim: p. 109914, Fig. 2: access key/secret key is provided to data user/consumer).
Kim discloses a multilevel privacy-preserving data sharing in a collaborative system that allows data owners to encrypt perturbed data, wherein the perturbed data are provided by data owners based on privacy budget (Kim: p. 109912: local differential privacy using privacy budget to adjust amount of noise injected into data).
Kim does not explicitly disclose the collaborative system determines global privacy budget specified by data owners to determine how much noise should be added to data according to privacy policy, wherein the access policy specifies the allocated privacy budget, and wherein the access policy specifies a level of noise to be added to the data based on the allocated privacy budget, wherein a higher allocated privacy budget permits access to the data with a lower level of noise; wherein the access key enables enforcement of the level of noise at a device storing the data, wherein noise is added according to the level of noise specified in the access key prior to providing the data to the data consumer. However, Vinayagamurthy discloses a data provider system that collects data from data owners and inject noise into data to preserve privacy according to data owner’s privacy budget (Vinayagamurthy: [0002]-[0004]: privacy budget provided by the data owners identifies a set of privacy requirement to be employed by the service provider on data of the data owner and the amount of noise added to each response is based upon the privacy budget of the data owner corresponding to a given response, i.e. based on request). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to receive global privacy budget from data owner and enforce data privacy protections according to the budget specified by data owner because it shifts data management functions to cloud service providers so that data owners no longer have to manage the data by responding to query responses (Vinayagamurthy: [0001]).
Kim as modified discloses use of privacy budget according to differential privacy protections to adjust level of noise applied to user data. Kim as modified does not explicitly disclose determining a remaining privacy budget of the global privacy budget. However, Damewood discloses allocate a privacy budget to the data consumer based on the request and the remaining privacy budget (Damewood: [0022]-[0025]: determine remaining budget to allocate to the request, privacy budget may be specified in terms of a query, analyst, client, entity, globally, and/or time period). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to determine remaining balance of the total privacy budget specified by data owner to allow multiple queries from data consumers without exceeding permissible data exposure (Damewood: [0022]).
As per claim 2, Kim as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Kim as modified further discloses wherein the request is for accessing the data of the user on a plurality of devices of the user, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to generate a plurality of access keys for accessing the data, wherein each one of the plurality of access keys is for accessing the data on a respective one of the plurality of devices, and wherein the second interface circuitry is further configured to send the plurality of access keys to the data consumer (Kim: p. 109914, Fig. 2: data is collected from plurality of data owners for different data users using different attribute-based encryption keys).
As per claim 3, Kim as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Kim as modified further discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: generate an asymmetric key pair comprising a public key and a private key; and generate the access key based on the private key, wherein the apparatus further comprises third interface circuitry configured to send the public key to a device of the user to enable the device to encrypt the data of the user based on the public key (Kim: p. 109914, Fig. 2: pubic key is provided to data owner to encrypt data to be sent to cloud server/trusted authority and secret key is generated based on user’s attributes; p. 109916: encryption and decryption algorithms).
As per claim 4, Kim as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Kim as modified further discloses wherein the processing circuitry is configured to generate the access key based on attribute-based encryption (Kim: p. 109915, C. 2) Key Generation Algorithm: attribute-based encryption algorithm for generating user key to access data).
As per claim 5, Kim as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 3. Kim as modified further discloses wherein the processing circuitry is configured to generate the access key based on attribute-based encryption by: generating the access key based on the private key and attributes defined in the access policy, wherein the access key enables decryption of the data if the data is encrypted based on an access structure approving the attributes (Kim: p. 109916, 4) Decryption Algorithm: the data user has to prove her identity by satisfying the set of attributes specified in the access structure).
As per claim 6, Kim as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 3. Kim as modified further discloses wherein the processing circuitry is configured to generate the access key based on attribute-based encryption by: generating the access key based on the private key and an access structure defined in the access policy, wherein the access structure determines a decryption rule for decrypting the data if the data is encrypted based on attributes matching the access structure (Kim: p. 109914, Fig. 2; p. 109915, C. 2) Key Generation Algorithm: attribute-based encryption algorithm for generating user key to access data).
As per claim 7, Kim as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Kim as modified further discloses wherein the second interface circuitry is further configured to exchange negotiation data with the data consumer for negotiating terms of the access policy with the data consumer, and wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: determine whether the negotiated terms are in accordance with the global privacy policy; and if it is determined that the negotiated terms are in accordance with the global privacy policy, define the access policy based on the negotiated terms (Kim: p. 109916-109917: 5) Data Sharing Scenario: different access based on different attributes).
As per claim 8, Kim as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Kim as modified further discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine a remaining privacy budget: and allocate a privacy budget to the request in accordance with the remaining privacy budget (Damewood: [0022]-[0025]: determine remaining budget to allocate to the request, privacy budget may be specified in terms of a query, analyst, client, entity, globally, and/or time period). Same rationale applies here as above in rejecting claim 1.
As per claim 9, Kim as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Kim as modified further discloses fifth interface circuitry configured to receive, from a device of the user, a request for a privacy report, wherein, in response to the request for the privacy report, the processing circuitry is further configured to: load a privacy history from a data storage, wherein the privacy history indicates at least one of prior requests of prior data consumers, prior defined access policies, prior allocated privacy budgets, prior access keys, and prior copies of priorly requested data of the user; and generate the privacy report based on the privacy history; and sixth interface circuitry configured to send the privacy report to the device of the user (Vinayagamurthy: [0044]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to maintain transaction log associated with data owners for reporting and auditing purposes to ensure service providers have provided required privacy protection.
As per claim 10. Kim as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Kim as modified further discloses seventh interface circuitry configured to receive, from a device of the user, a request to modify the global privacy policy, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to modify the global privacy policy according to the request of the user (Vinayagamurthy: [0048]: data owner can change privacy budget at any time). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to adjust privacy budget dynamically to control access to user data as well known in the art.
Claims 11-15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lokamathe et al. U.S. 2015/0372997 (hereinafter Lokamathe) in view of Vinayagamurthy.
As per claim 11 and 20, Lokamathe discloses an apparatus/method for local privacy control, comprising
first interface circuitry configured to receive, from a data consumer, a request for accessing data of a user and an access key encoding an access policy, wherein the access policy defines to what extent the data consumer is allowed to access the data (Lokamathe: [0085]-[0087]: receive request to access data, the request includes access key associated with attribute of user);
processing circuitry configured to:
verify the access key (Lokamathe: [0085]: validate the request attribute/access key; [0103]); and
allow access by the data consumer based on different levels of access based on access tree corresponding to attribute-based encryption (Lokamathe: [0029]; Fig. 6 step 614).
Lokamathe does not explicitly disclose generating updated data by adding noise to the requested data according to the access policy, wherein the access policy specifies an allocated privacy budget and a level of noise to be added to the data based on the allocated privacy budget, and wherein a higher allocated privacy budget permits access to the data with a lower level of noise, and wherein the noise is added to the data according to the level of noise specified in the access policy prior to sending the updated data to the data consumer. However, Vinayagamurthy discloses a data provider system that collects data from data owners and inject noise into data to preserve privacy according to data owner’s privacy budget prior to sending the data to data consumer (Vinayagamurthy: [0002]-[0004]: privacy budget provided by the data owners identifies a set of privacy requirement to be employed by the service provider on data of the data owner and the amount of noise added to each response is based upon the privacy budget of the data owner corresponding to a given response, i.e. based on request). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to receive global privacy budget from data owner and enforce data privacy protections according to the budget specified by data owner because Lokamathe and Vinayagamurthy both discloses data sharing while preserving user privacy. The motivation to combine would be to provide fine-grained access control based on local differential privacy protection.
As per claim 12, Lokamathe as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 11. Lokamathe as modified further discloses wherein the processing circuitry is configured to generate the updated data by enforcing the access policy and/or a local access policy (Vinayagamurthy: [0002]-[0004]). Same rationale applies here as above in rejecting claim 11.
As per claim 13, Lokamathe as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 11. Lokamathe as modified further discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to generate the updated data by encrypting the data based on attribute-based encryption (Lokamathe: [0029]).
As per claim 14, Lokamathe as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 11. Lokamathe as modified further discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine whether the access policy is in accordance with a local access policy; and if it is determined that the access policy is in accordance with the local access policy, generate the updated data (Vinayagamurthy: [0002]-[0004]: determine if request complies with privacy requirement). Same rationale applies here as above in rejecting claim 11.
As per claim 15, Lokamathe as modified discloses the apparatus of claim 14. Lokamathe as modified further discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: if it is determined that the access policy is not in accordance with the local access policy, deny the request of the data consumer; and raise a policy exception (Vinayagamurthy: [0043]: deny request when privacy requirement is not met). Same rationale applies here as above in rejecting claim 11.
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lokamathe in view of Vinayagamurthy and further in view of Benahloh et al. U.S. 2019/0147188 (hereinafter Benaloh).
As per claim 16, Lokamathe as modified discloses a device comprising the apparatus for local privacy control of claim 11. Lokamathe as modified further discloses at least one sensor configured to generate data of the user and send the data to the apparatus (Lokamathe: [0034]; [0048]). Lokamathe as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the apparatus is part of a trusted execution environment. However, Benaloh discloses a secure enclave/a trusted execution environment (TEE) to process data request from data consumer and enforce privacy rules associated with the requested data based on remaining privacy budget to generate perturbed data (Benaloh: Figs. 3 and 5; [0003]-[0005]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to utilize secure enclave of Benaloh to securely process privacy data request of Lokamathe because they are analogous art. The motivation to combine would be to enhance security of the data processing system as well known in the art.
As per claim 17 and 18, Lockamathe as modified discloses a cloud server comprising the apparatus for local privacy control of claim 11 and 1 respectively. Lockamathe as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the apparatus is part of a trusted execution environment. However, Benaloh discloses a secure enclave/a trusted execution environment (TEE) to process data request from data consumer and enforce privacy rules associated with the requested data based on remaining privacy budget to generate perturbed data (Benaloh: Figs. 3 and 5; [0003]-[0005]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to utilize secure enclave of Benaloh to securely process privacy data request of Lokamathe because they are analogous art. The motivation to combine would be to enhance security of the data processing system as well known in the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Neurukar et al. U.S. 2019/0138743 discloses differentially private processing and database storage.
Casella et al. U.S. 2018/0234403 discloses data owner restricted secure key distribution.
/SHIN-HON (ERIC) CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2431