Interview Summary
Applicants’ representative contacted the examiner of record to request supplemental office action. Specifically part of the office action on page 4 was cut off. Additionally, the examiner clarified claims 3 and 7 where the claimed 2,2,4-trimethyl-1,2-dihydroquinone is sold under NOCRAC RD. This will also be clarified in the supplemental office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9, 10, 12, 13, 16, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tahara (US 2019/0225775.
With respect to claim 1, Tahara teaches composition of the instant invention wherein Age resistor*7 6PPD is N-phenyl-N’-(1,3-dimethylbutyl)-p-phenylenediamine; Age resistor*8 TMDQ-1 is (2,2,4-trimethyl-1,2-dihydroquinoline polymer; age resistor*9 TMDQ-2 is 2,2,4-trimethyl-1,2-dihydroquinoline polymer. Both dihydroquinoline compounds include dimer and trimers which constitute polymer according to applicant’s own definition in the specification as originally filed.
In Examples 1-3 (Table 1) composition includes Styrene-butadiene rubber, natural rubber, 2 parts by weight of wax, 1.5 parts by weight of diamine antioxidant and 0.3 parts of quinoline antioxidant (see legend under the tables). These amounts are within ranges claimed by applicants.
Rubber in examples 1-3 meets the requirement of instant claim 2.
Quinoline antioxidant meets the requirement of instant claims 3 and 7.
Amount of wax meets instant claims 5, 9, 12, 18 and 20.
With respect to claims 6, 10, 13, 16 and 19, claim 16 of Tahara teaches a tire comprising claimed composition.
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9, 10, 12, 13, 16, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by ONO (US 2019/0160870).
With respect to claim 1, Ono discloses rubber composition comprising antioxidant 1 NOCRAC 6C which is N-(1,3-dimethylbutyl)-N-phenyl-p-phenylenediamine [0143], antioxidant 2 NOCRAC RD which is poly(2,2,4-trimethyl-1,2-dihydroquinoline. Examples 1-3 in Table 1 disclose use of natural rubber (polyisoprene), butadiene rubber, 2 parts by weight of antioxidant 1, 0.5 parts by weight of antioxidant 2, and 1.5 parts by weight of wax.
Rubber in examples 1-3 meets the requirement of instant claim 2.
Quinoline antioxidant meets the requirement of instant claims 3 and 7.
Amount of wax meets instant claims 5, 9, 12, 18 and 20.
With respect to claims 6, 10, 13, 16 and 19, claims 6 as well as Abstract and title of the invention of Ono teaches a tire comprising claimed composition.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Otsubo (WO 2020/059673) wherein US 2021/0403684 is used as translation.
With respect to claim 1, Otsubo discloses composition comprising rubber [0134-0135], wax [0149-0150], antioxidant 2: Vulcanox 4030, 77PD which is N,N’-bis(1,4-dimethylbutyl-pentyl)-p-phenylenediamine [0154], quinoline antioxidant NOCRAC 224, TMQ which is a polymer of 2,2,4-trimethyl-1,2-dihydroquinoline [0158]. All other components are encompassed by term “comprising”.
Diamine antioxidant is utilized in amount of 2-10 parts [0054], quinoline antioxidant is 0.1-3 parts [0056], which ranges fully encompass claimed content.
With respect to claim 2, SBR and BR rubbers [0134-0135] meet rubbers of the instant invention.
With respect to claims 3, 7, 2,2,4-trimethyl-1,2-dihyroquinoline is sold under tradname NOCRAC 224 disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above..
With respect to claims 4, 8, 11, 14 and 17, R1 and R2 of 77PD meets, specifically 1,4-dimethyl-pentyl, meets the definition of R1 and R2 of the instant invention.
With respect to claims 5, 9, 12, 14, 18 and 20, content of wax is in preferably less than 5 parts [0062].
With respect to claims 6, 10, 13, 15, 16 and 19, claims of Otsubo are clearly directed to a tire comprising disclosed composition.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 18/294,157 (‘157). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claims 1 and 3 of ‘157 discloses composition comprising a rubber, amine age resistor having the same structure as amine resistor of the instant invention and quinoline age resistor. While content of each is not explicitly recited, claim 3 of ‘157 discloses that the amount of amine resistor is in a range of 0.1-11 which is the same content as that of instant claim 1. Additionally claim 1 of ‘157 recites that the ratio of quinoline to amine is in a range of 0.05-2. Consequently, the content of quinoline has to be lower than content of amine. For example, to meet ratio of 0.2 the amount of quinoline has to be 0.4, which falls within instantly claimed amount.
Claim 2 of ‘157 is the same as instant claim 2.
Claim 4 of ‘157 is the same as instant claims 4, 8, 11 and 17.
Claim 5 of ‘157 is the same as instant claims 5, 9, 12, 14, 18 and 20.
Claim 6 of ‘157 is the same as instant claims 3 and 7.
Claim 7 of ‘157 is the same as instant claims 6, 10, 13, 15, 16 and 19.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Correspondence
/KATARZYNA I KOLB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767 July 2, 2026