DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3, and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 is objected to because it uses a lettering system not normally used in claim formatting. Examiner suggests the removal of “a.” and “b.” to better represent a typical claim format.
In line 4 of claim 1, it is believed “the pivot shaft” should be changed to --a pivot shaft--.
In line 2 of claim 3, it is believed “the outer circumference” should be changed to --an outer circumference--.
In line 3 of claim 11, it is believed “the electrical wiring” should be changed --an electrical wiring--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 4, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 7, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 14, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hirohama et al. (US Pat. 4,922,570).
Regarding claim 1, Hirohama et al. disclose a vehicle windshield wiper cowl assembly comprising: a protective cowl panel 11 adapted to be mounted on the bodywork of a vehicle at the lower end of the vehicle's windshield 7 (see Figures 15-16; Col. 3, lines 51-57), the cowl panel 11 having a shaft opening for the pivot shaft 15 of a windshield wiper 8 (see Figures 1 and 15-16; Col. 3, line 58-Col. 4, line 7), the shaft opening having a circumferential border area with a front side and a back side, wherein the border area front side defines a circumferential bordering surface (see annotated Figure 1 below); and a hose connector 13 having a back face and a front face, wherein the hose connector 13 is set into the cowl panel's shaft opening so that the hose connector 13 is bordered by the shaft opening's circumferential border area (see annotated Figure 1 below); characterized in that the front face of the hose connector 13 is flush with the circumferential bordering surface defined by the border area front side (see annotated Figure 1 below). Merriam-Webster defines flush (adj.) as: “directly abutting or immediately adjacent”; in this way, the circumferential bordering surface is flush with, or directly abutting and immediately adjacent, the front face of the hose connector 13.
Regarding claim 2, Hirohama et al. disclose the cowl assembly of claim 1, wherein the hose connector 13 has a through-hole for receiving the pivot shaft 15 of a windshield wiper 8 (see Figure 1; Col. 4, lines 2-7).
Regarding claim 5, Hirohama et al. disclose the cowl assembly of claim 1,wherein the hose connector 13 has a fluid inlet port on its back face (see annotated Figure 1 above; Col. 4, lines 19-26) and a fluid outlet port 26 on its front face (see annotated Figure 1 above; Col. 5, lines 6-15), both ports being adapted for connecting a washer fluid hose 19, 34 thereto (see Figures 1-2 and annotated Figure 1 above; Col. 4, lines 19-26; Col. 5, lines 6-15).
Regarding claim 15, Hirohama et al. disclose a motor vehicle comprising the cowl assembly of claim 1 (see Figure 16; Col. 3, lines 51-57).
Claims 1-2 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rollet et al. (EP 3381754).
Regarding claim 1, Rollet et al. disclose a vehicle windshield wiper cowl assembly comprising: a protective cowl panel 13 adapted to be mounted on the bodywork of a vehicle at the lower end of the vehicle's windshield (see Figure 3; Paragraph 36), the cowl panel 13 having a shaft opening for the pivot shaft 7 of a windshield wiper 14 (see Figure 3; Paragraph 37), the shaft opening having a circumferential border area with a front side and a back side, wherein the border area front side defines a circumferential bordering surface; and a hose connector 12 having a back face and a front face, wherein the hose connector 12 is set into the cowl panel's shaft opening so that the hose connector 12 is bordered by the shaft opening's circumferential border area; characterized in that the front face of the hose connector 12 is flush with the circumferential bordering surface defined by the border area front side (see Figure 3; Paragraphs 37 and 43).
Regarding claim 2, Rollet et al. disclose the cowl assembly of claim 1, wherein the hose connector 12 has a through-hole for receiving the pivot shaft 7 of a windshield wiper (see Figure 3; Paragraph 37).
Regarding claim 8, Rollet et al. disclose the cowl assembly claim 1, wherein the hose connector 12 has a base plate whose front surface is flush with the circumferential bordering surface defined by the border area front side; and delimits the extent of the hose connector's front face (see Figure 3; Paragraph 37).
Regarding claim 15, Rollet et al. disclose a motor vehicle comprising the cowl assembly 13 of claim 1 (see Figure 3; Paragraphs 12 and 37).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3, as understood, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirohama et al. in view of Usuda (US Pat 8,002,335).
Regarding claim 3, as understood, Hirohama et al. disclose the cowl assembly of claim 1,wherein the outer circumference 13c of the hose connector 13 is fitted with a watertight seal O2 (see Figure 1; Col. 4, lines 37-42).
Hirohama et al. fail to disclose the seal is made of rubber.
Usuda discloses a cowl panel having a seal member 11 made of rubber (see Figure 4; Col. 4, lines 7-8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the watertight seal of Hirohama et al. from rubber, with a reasonable expectation of success, because of its elastic and hydrophobic properties, as taught by Usuda.
Claim 4, as understood, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirohama et al. in view of Riester et al. (US Pat 3,910,652).
Regarding claim 4, as understood, Hirohama et al. disclose the cowl assembly of claim 1.
Hirohama et al. fail to disclose the hose connector is made of a rigid plastic material.
Riester et al. disclose a windshield wiper pivot body 20 for a windshield wiper arm 22 that is made from a rigid molded plastic (see Figure 1; Col. 2, lines 36-50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the hose connector of Hirohama et al. from a rigid plastic material, with a reasonable expectation of success, as taught by Riester et al., because plastic is a lightweight material that would help in reducing the overall weight of the vehicle while also being cost effective to manufacture.
Claims 5-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rollet et al. in view of Liu et al. (CN 103600725).
Regarding claim 5, Rollet et al. disclose the cowl assembly of claim 1, wherein the hose connector 12 has a fluid outlet port 11 on its front face for connecting to a washer fluid hose 4 (see Figure 3; Paragraph 37). The washer fluid hose 4 is in fluid communication with a storage device under a hood of the vehicle (see Paragraph 37).
Rollet et al. fail to disclose the hose connector has a fluid inlet port on its back face that connects to a washer fluid hose.
Liu et al. disclose a windshield wiper arm 2 having a pivot shaft that is positioned in a through hole of a hose connector 6. The hose connector 6 and pivot shaft positioned in a shaft opening near a windshield glass 14 (see Page 3, lines 21-25, 36-40). The hose connector 6 has a fluid inlet port 11 on a back face and a fluid outlet port 5 on a front face (see Page 3, lines 36-47) and the fluid inlet port is adapted to connect to a washer fluid hose (not shown, see Page 4, lines 21-26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the hose connector of Rollet et al. with a fluid inlet port on the back face that can connect to a washer fluid hose, with a reasonable expectation of success, to enable the hose connector to be in fluid communication with a washer fluid reservoir, as taught by Liu et al..
Regarding claim 6, Rollet et al., as modified by Liu et al., disclose the cowl assembly of claim 5.
Rollet et al., as modified by Liu et al., fail to disclose a check-valve is arranged in the fluid inlet port to prevent a backward flow of washer fluid from the fluid outlet port to the fluid inlet port.
Liu et al. disclose a windshield wiper arm 2 having a pivot shaft that is positioned in a through hole of a hose connector 6. The hose connector 6 and pivot shaft positioned in a shaft opening near a windshield glass 14 (see Page 3, lines 21-25, 36-40). The hose connector 6 has a fluid inlet port 11 on a back face and a fluid outlet port 5 on a front face (see Page 3, lines 36-47) and the fluid inlet port 11 is adapted to connect to a washer fluid hose (not shown, see Page 4, lines 21-26). The fluid inlet port 11 is equipped with a check valve between the fluid inlet port 11 and the fluid outlet port 5 to prevent a backward flow of washer fluid from the fluid outlet port 5 to the fluid inlet port 11 (see Figure 5; Page 4, lines 21-26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the fluid inlet port with a check-valve to prevent a backward flow of washer fluid from the fluid outlet port to the fluid inlet port, with a reasonable expectation of success, to ensure that used or dirty washer fluid does not flow back into the washer supply, as taught by Liu et al..
Regarding claim 7, Rollet et al., as modified by Liu et al., disclose the cowl assembly of claim 5 having a fluid inlet port and a fluid outlet port.
Rollet et al., as modified by Liu et al., fail to disclose that the fluid inlet port and the fluid outlet port are part of an integral fluid tube that traverses the front and back face of the hose connector and the hose connector comprises a fastening hole in which the fluid tube is removably fastened.
Liu et al. disclose a windshield wiper arm 2 having a pivot shaft that is positioned in a through hole of a hose connector 6. The hose connector 6 and pivot shaft positioned in a shaft opening near a windshield glass 14 (see Page 3, lines 21-25, 36-40). The hose connector 6 has a fluid inlet port 11 on a back face and a fluid outlet port 5 on a front face (see Page 3, lines 36-47) and the fluid inlet port 11 is adapted to connect to a washer fluid hose (not shown, see Page 4, lines 21-26). The fluid inlet port 11 and the fluid outlet port 5 are part of an integral fluid tube 9 that is removably fastened in a fastening hole 7 of the hose connector 6 (see Figures 3-5; Page 3, lines 36-47; Page 4, lines 9-26). The fluid tube 9 allows for an efficient assembly process and prevents water leaks (see Page 4, lines 13-16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the fluid inlet port and fluid outlet port of Rollet et al., as modified by Liu et al., as an integral fluid tube that traverses the front and back face of the hose connector and is removably fastened in a fastening hole of the hose connector, with a reasonable expectation of success, to improve the assembly process and prevent leaks, as taught by Liu et al..
Regarding claim 9, Rollet et al. disclose the cowl assembly of claim 8 having a hose connector 12 with a back face.
Rollet et al. fail to disclose the back face of the hose connector has an outer circumferential skirt surrounding the base plate.
Liu et al. disclose a windshield wiper arm 2 having a pivot shaft that is positioned in a through hole of a hose connector 6. The hose connector 6 and pivot shaft positioned in a shaft opening near a windshield glass 14 (see Page 3, lines 21-25, 36-40). The hose connector 6 has an outer circumferential skirt 8 surrounding a base plate 6 of the hose connector (see Figures 3-4; Page 3, lines 49-50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the back face of Rollet et al. having an outer circumferential skirt surrounding the base plate, with a reasonable expectation of success, to more securely fasten the hose connector, as taught by Liu et al..
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rollet et al., as modified by Liu et al., in view of Hirohama et al..
Regarding claim 10, Rollet et al., as modified by Liu et al., disclose the cowl assembly of claim 9.
Rollet et al., as modified by Liu et al., fail to disclose the border area back side of the cowl panel shaft opening comprises a circumferential collar which surrounds the outer circumferential skirt of the hose connector.
Hirohama et al. disclose a vehicle windshield wiper cowl assembly comprising: a protective cowl panel 11 adapted to be mounted on the bodywork of a vehicle at the lower end of the vehicle's windshield 7 (see Figures 15-16; Col. 3, lines 51-57), the cowl panel 11 having a shaft opening for the pivot shaft 15 of a windshield wiper 8 (see Figures 1 and 15-16; Col. 3, line 58-Col. 4, line 7), the shaft opening having a circumferential border area with a front side and a back side, wherein the border area front side defines a circumferential bordering surface (see annotated Figure 1 below); and a hose connector 13 having a back face and a front face, wherein the hose connector 13 is set into the cowl panel's shaft opening so that the hose connector 13 is bordered by the shaft opening's circumferential border area (see annotated Figure 1 below); characterized in that the front face of the hose connector 13 is flush with the circumferential bordering surface defined by the border area front side (see annotated Figure 1 below). The hose connector 13 has an outer circumferential skirt 20 and a circumferential collar O1 is positioned between the hose connector and the outer circumferential skirt 20 to provide a watertight seal (see Figures 1-2; Col.4, lines 35-43).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the border area back side of the shaft opening of Rollet et al., as modified by Liu et al., with a circumferential collar surrounding the outer circumferential skirt, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide a watertight seal between the hose connector and the outer circumferential skirt, as taught by Hirohama et al..
Claims 11-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rollet et al. in view of Goeller et al. (DE 102012222044).
Regarding claim 11, Rollet et al. disclose the cowl assembly of claim 1.
Rollet et al. fail to disclose the hose connector is also an electrical connector, which has an electrical interface allowing to connect electrical wiring of an electrical heating device of a heated windshield wiper to an electrical power source behind the cowl panel.
Goeller et al. disclose a hose connector 180 for a windshield wiper system 100 mounted flush in an opening 170 of a cowl panel 175 of a vehicle (see Figure 1C; Paragraph 26). The hose connector 180 has a hose 105 and an electrical interface 155 that allows for connection to electrical wiring 160 of an electrical heating device 150 of a heated windshield wiper to an electrical power source 165 behind the cowl panel 175 (see Figures 1A-1C; Paragraphs 25 and 28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the hose connector of Rollet et al. to include an electrical connector, which has an electrical interface allowing to connect electrical wiring of an electrical heating device of a heated windshield wiper to an electrical power source behind the cowl panel, with a reasonable expectation of success, to easily mount a system that is able to ensure that washer fluid is still in liquid form in cold weather, as taught by Goeller et al..
Regarding claim 12, Rollet et al., as modified by Goeller et al., disclose the cowl assembly of claim 11.
Rollet et al., as modified by Goeller et al., fail to disclose the electrical interface is a plug-and-socket assembly with an electrical socket and an electrical plug received in the electrical socket.
Goeller et al. disclose a hose connector 180 for a windshield wiper system 100 mounted flush in an opening 170 of a cowl panel 175 of a vehicle (see Figure 1C; Paragraph 26). The hose connector 180 has a hose 105 and an electrical interface 155 that allows for connection to electrical wiring 160 of an electrical heating device 150 of a heated windshield wiper to an electrical power source 165 behind the cowl panel 175 (see Figures 1A-1C; Paragraphs 25 and 28). The electrical interface 155 is an electrical plug that is received in an electrical socket 160 (see Figures 1A-2C; Paragraphs 29 and 32). The connection is easily established and easily undone without the use of tools (see Paragraphs 11 and 32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the electrical interface of Rollet et al., as modified by Goeller et al., as a plug-and-socket assembly with an electrical socket and an electrical plug received in the electrical socket, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide a simple means of establishing an electrical connection that can also be easily removed without the use of special tools, as taught by Goeller et al..
Regarding claim 14, Rollet et al., as modified by Goeller et al. twice, disclose the cowl assembly of claim 12.
Rollet et al., as modified by Goeller et al. twice, fail to disclose the hose connector has a mounting lug, and the electrical socket is mounted on the mounting lug, via a joint made of a mounting rail and a pair of mounting brackets clasping the mounting rail.
Goeller et al. disclose a hose connector 180 for a windshield wiper system 100 mounted flush in an opening 170 of a cowl panel 175 of a vehicle (see Figure 1C; Paragraph 26). The hose connector 180 has a hose 105 and an electrical interface 155 that allows for connection to electrical wiring 160 of an electrical heating device 150 of a heated windshield wiper to an electrical power source 165 behind the cowl panel 175 (see Figures 1A-1C; Paragraphs 25 and 28). The electrical interface 155 is an electrical plug that is received in an electrical socket 160 (see Figures 1A-2C; Paragraphs 29 and 32). The electrical socket 160 is mounted on a mounting lug 195 that is a joint made of a mounting rail and a pair of mounting brackets 197 clasping the mounting rail (see Figures 1A-1C; Paragraph 27). The mounting lug 195 retains the electrical socket 160 and makes it easier to access the electrical socket 160 in case maintenance is required (see Paragraphs 27 and 29).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to include on the hose connector of Rollet et al., as modified by Goeller et al. twice, a mounting lug on which the electrical socket is mounted having a joint made of a mounting rail and a pair of mounting brackets clasping the mounting rail, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide a means of retaining the electrical socket that would be easy to move in case maintenance is required on the electrical socket, as taught by Goeller et al..
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 13 recites a vehicle windshield wiper cowl assembly comprising: a protective cowl panel adapted to be mounted on the bodywork of a vehicle at the lower end of the vehicle's windshield, the cowl panel having a shaft opening for the pivot shaft of a windshield wiper, the shaft opening having a circumferential border area with a front side and a back side, wherein the border area front side defines a circumferential bordering surface; and a hose connector having a back face and a front face, wherein the hose connector is set into the cowl panel's shaft opening so that the hose connector is bordered by the shaft opening's circumferential border area; characterized in that the front face of the hose connector is flush with the circumferential bordering surface defined by the border area front side. The hose connector is also an electrical connector, which has an electrical interface allowing to connect the electrical wiring of an electrical heating device of a heated windshield wiper to an electrical power source behind the cowl panel and the electrical interface is a plug and-socket assembly mounted in an aperture formed in the hose connector and having an electrical socket and an electrical plug received in the electrical socket. Rollet et al., as modified by Goeller et al., disclose a cowl assembly having a hose connector mounted flush to a cowl panel with a pivot shaft of a windshield wiper extending through the hose connector and a plug-and-socket electrical interface for a heated windshield wiper; however, Rollet et al., as modified by Goeller et al., fail to disclose that the plug-and-socket assembly is mounted in an aperture formed in the hose connector. Hirohama et al. disclose a cowl assembly having a hose connector mounted flush to a cowl panel and having a pivot shaft extending through the hose connector; however, Hirohama et al. fail to disclose an electrical interface for a heating device of a windshield wiper. Templeton et al. (US Pat 8,840,173) disclose a cowl assembly having a windshield wiper shaft connector mounted flush to a cowl panel; however, Templeton et al. fail to disclose a hose connector or an electrical interface are disposed in the cowl panel. Haas (DE 1020080633112) discloses a cowl assembly having a wiper shaft connector mounted flush to a cowl panel; however, Haas fails to disclose a hose connector or an electrical interface. Collinet et al. (FR 2733473) disclose a cowl assembly having a windshield wiper shaft connector mounted flush to a cowl panel; however, Collinet et al. fail to disclose a hose connector or an electrical interface are disposed in the cowl panel. Nogawa (US Pat 5,203,049) discloses a cowl assembly having a hose connector mounted to a cowl panel; however, Nogawa fails to disclose the hose connector is mounted flush in the cowl panel. Eaves (US Pat 2,869,166) discloses a windshield wiper shaft and an electrical interface mounted to a cowl panel; however, Eaves fails to disclose that the wiper shaft and the electrical interface are mounted to a hose connector that is mounted flush to the cowl panel. The prior art does not properly teach or suggest the recited configuration, making claim 13 allowable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Morden et al. (US Pat 8,641,130) disclose a cowl panel having openings through which a windshield wiper pivot shaft extends. Welsh (US Pat 6,981,737) discloses a heating element mounted to a dash of a vehicle using a connector that is flush with the dash. Kashigawa et al. (US Pat 6,941,611) disclose a windshield wiper pivot shaft mounted to a cowl panel by a connector. Buchanan, Jr. (US Pat 6,742,827) discloses a windshield wiper mounting apparatus having a plug-and-socket assembly. Egner-Walter et al. (US Pat 5,946,763) disclose a cowl panel to which a pivot shaft of a windshield wiper is attached having a hose passing through the cowl panel. Eaves (US Pat 2,627,011) discloses a heating device for a windshield wiper assembly.
/VERONICA M CONDO/ Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/AMY R WEISBERG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3612