DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 14-15 and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention or Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/09/2026. Although Applicant identified Claims 1-19 as encompassing Invention I and Species A, it is determined that Claim 14 is drawn to Species C and Claim 15 is drawn to Species B.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I and Species A drawn to Fig. 1 in the reply filed on 3/09/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20200249754 A1 to Morozov et al.
Regarding Claim 1. Morozov discloses an image display apparatus, comprising: an image forming unit that emits image light (Fig. 9 the image forming device 20); a light guide plate that allows image light emitted from the image forming unit to enter the light guide plate, travel inside the light guide plate, and be emitted outward from the light guide plate (Fig. 9 light guide plate 8); a first optical element that allows the image light entering the light guide plate to be refracted and travel inside the light guide plate (Fig. 9 input coupler 7); and a second optical element that allows the image light traveling inside the light guide plate to be refracted and emitted outward from the light guide plate (Fig. 9 output coupler 9), wherein at least one pair of reflective curved surfaces is formed on side surfaces of the light guide plate (See Fig. 8 light guide plate 8 para 85 “the display apparatus 200 may include any of the eye-tracking devices 100′, 110, 120, and 130 of FIGS. 5 through 8”), the at least one pair of reflective curved surfaces reflecting the image light refracted by the first optical element in a direction of the second optical element (as shown in Fig. 8 para 84“ the light guide plate 8 having a curved shape”).
Regarding Claim 6. Morozov further discloses an effective light beam that enters the reflective curved surface satisfies a total internal reflection condition (See at least Fig. 8 and Fig. 9).
Regarding Claim 16. Morozov further discloses the image forming unit has an image generation unit that emits the image light (Fig. 9 spatial light modulator 24) and an optical system that converts the image light emitted from the image generation unit into collimated light for an angle of view (Fig. 9 collimating lens 5).
Regarding Claim 18. Morozov further discloses the light guide plate includes a plurality of stacked light guide plates (See at least Fig. 9 beam splitter 6 stacked with light guide plate 8).
Regarding Claim 19. Morozov further discloses the image display apparatus is an eyewear attached to vicinity of a user's eye (See Fig. 11-13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200249754 A1 to Morozov et al. as applied to claim 1 in view of US 20170067619 A1 to Son et al.
Regarding Claim 2. As stated above Morozov discloses all the limitations of base claim 1.
Morozov does not specifically disclose that the one pair of reflective curved surfaces is formed with different curvature radii.
However, Son discloses a pair of reflective surfaces and at least the radius of curvature the parabolic reflecting surface may be set based on an angle at which the beam is incident and reflected (See Fig. 1 and para 49). The radius of curvature the one pair of reflective curved surfaces are result-effective variables. In that, one having ordinary skill in the art will design the curved surfaces with a radius of curvature based on the based on incident and reflection required.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to include that the one pair of reflective curved surfaces is formed with different curvature radii is based on a result effective variable and would require routine skill in the art. Furthermore, it has been held that that determining the optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.05 (II (A) and (B)).
Regarding Claim 3. Morozov does not specifically disclose that a magnification of the curvature radius of the reflective curved surface on an output side for the image light with respect to the reflective curved surface on an input side for the image light is a value larger than 1.
However, Son discloses a pair of reflective surfaces and at least the radius of curvature the parabolic reflecting surface may be set based on an angle at which the beam is incident and reflected (See Fig. 1 and para 49). The radius of curvature the one pair of reflective curved surfaces are result-effective variables. In that, one having ordinary skill in the art will design the curved surfaces with a radius of curvature based on the incident and reflection required.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to include that a magnification of the curvature radius of the reflective curved surface on an output side for the image light with respect to the reflective curved surface on an input side for the image light is a value larger than 1 is based on a result effective variable and would require routine skill in the art. Furthermore, it has been held that that determining the optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.05 (II (A) and (B)).
Regarding Claim 5. Son further discloses a shape of the reflective curved surface is a shape selected from a group consisting of a parabolic surface shape, an elliptical surface shape, a spherical surface shape, a non-spherical surface shape, and a combination thereof (para 49).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200249754 A1 to Morozov et al. as applied to claim 1 in view of US 20180149873 A1 to Edwin et al.
Regarding Claim 7. As stated above Morozov discloses all the limitations of base claim 1.
Morozov does not specifically disclose a reflective coating is applied to the reflective curved surface.
However, Edwin discloses a reflective coating is applied to the reflective curved surface (para 45 “may include a partially reflective coating”), as the substitution of one known element for another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP2143(I)(B), KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to include a reflective coating is applied to the reflective curved surface.
Regarding Claim 8. Edwin further discloses the reflective coating is a metal film coating and/or a multi-layer film coating (para 45).
Claims 9- are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200249754 A1 to Morozov et al. as applied to claim 1
Regarding Claim 9. As stated above Morozov discloses all the limitations of base claim 1.
Morozov does not specifically disclose that the first optical element and the second optical element have same pitch and same direction.
However, Morozov discloses that the diffraction gratings can be modified according to propagation direction or diffracting light incident in a specific angle range, according to a size, a height, a period, etc. of the grating patterns (para 56). The pitch and direction of the first optical element and the second optical element are result-effective variables. In that, one having ordinary skill in the art will design the diffraction pattern based on the propagation direction and diffraction of light.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to include that the first optical element and the second optical element have same pitch and same direction is based on a result effective variable and would require routine skill in the art. Furthermore, it has been held that that determining the optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.05 (II (A) and (B)).
Regarding Claim 10. Morozov further discloses the first optical element and the second optical element are surface relief diffraction gratings (para 56 and para 91).
Regarding Claim 11. Morozov further discloses the first optical element and the second optical element are holographic optical elements (para 56 and para 91).
Regarding Claim 12. Morozov further discloses both the first optical element and the second optical element are reflection-type diffraction gratings or transmission-type diffraction gratings (para 56 and para 91).
Regarding Claim 13. Morozov further discloses the first optical element and the second optical element are either a reflection-type diffraction grating or a transmission-type diffraction grating (para 56 and para 91).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200249754 A1 to Morozov et al. as applied to claim 1 in view of US 20110109528 A1 to Mun et al.
Regarding Claim 17. As stated above Morozov discloses all the limitations of base claim 1.
Morozov does not specifically disclose that the image forming unit has a color filter.
However, Mun discloses the image forming unit has a color filter (Fig. 4B a color filter 56), to display color images.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to include that the image forming unit has a color filter.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/EDMOND C LAU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871